Debris

Debris from an airplane explosion above Sault-aux-Cochons.

Musée de la civilisation
c. 1949
1996 - 1183
© Musée de la civilisation


The Guay affair involved another spectacular crime. On September 9, 1949, a plane exploded over Sault-aux-Cochons, a town located at the confluence of little St. Francis River and the St. Lawrence. The plane had been scheduled to leave Montreal for Ancienne-Lorette (a Quebec City suburb) before heading to Baie-Comeau and Sept-Îles. The entire airline crew and all the passengers perished in the explosion, including Rita Morel, the wife of Albert Guay.

The marriage of Albert Guay and Rita Morel was a happy union until the birth of their first and only child, whereupon both embarked on a series of extramarital affairs. After a few stormy attempts at reconciliation, the couple moved back in together. However, Guay was still madly in love with one of his mistresses, Marie-Ange Robitaille. When she dropped him, he promised to leave Rita Morel.

It was during this period (September 1949) that Guay, a watchmaker-jeweller, asked his wife Rita to travel to Baie-Comeau to pick up some jewels. He purchased the plane ticket himself and, in what was a common practice at the time, took out $10,000 worth of life insurance on his wife. Guay had to insist, because Rita ba Read More
The Guay affair involved another spectacular crime. On September 9, 1949, a plane exploded over Sault-aux-Cochons, a town located at the confluence of little St. Francis River and the St. Lawrence. The plane had been scheduled to leave Montreal for Ancienne-Lorette (a Quebec City suburb) before heading to Baie-Comeau and Sept-Îles. The entire airline crew and all the passengers perished in the explosion, including Rita Morel, the wife of Albert Guay.

The marriage of Albert Guay and Rita Morel was a happy union until the birth of their first and only child, whereupon both embarked on a series of extramarital affairs. After a few stormy attempts at reconciliation, the couple moved back in together. However, Guay was still madly in love with one of his mistresses, Marie-Ange Robitaille. When she dropped him, he promised to leave Rita Morel.

It was during this period (September 1949) that Guay, a watchmaker-jeweller, asked his wife Rita to travel to Baie-Comeau to pick up some jewels. He purchased the plane ticket himself and, in what was a common practice at the time, took out $10,000 worth of life insurance on his wife. Guay had to insist, because Rita balked at making the trip. She finally agreed to do her husband the favour.

Before take-off, Guay, with the help of Généreux Ruest, made a bomb that he hid in a package. He got Marguerite Ruest-Pitre, Généreux’s sister, to take the package to the airport in Ancienne-Lorette. When the plane exploded, Guay thought he had killed two birds with one stone: get rid of his wife and pocket the insurance money.

© 1998, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Emission Spectrograph

Emission spectrograph manufactured by Bausch & Lomb.

Musée de la civilisation
c. 1950
242 x 164.5 x 58.5cm
1996 - 1178
© Musée de la civilisation


"Causes célèbres" Album

"Causes célèbres" album showing various cases and lab analyses.

Musée de la civilisation
1922 - 1952
1996 - 1183
© Musée de la civilisation


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Develop enthusiasm and continuing interest in the study of science
  • Identify and appreciate the way history and culture shape a society’s science and technology
  • Develop enthusiasm and continuing interest in Canadian history

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Débris

Débris retrouvés suite à l'explosion de l'avion à Sault-aux-Cochons.

Musée de la civilisation
vers 1949
1996 - 1183
© Musée de la civilisation


L’affaire Guay est un autre crime qui revêt un caractère spectaculaire. Le 9 septembre 1949, un avion explose au-dessus de Sault-aux-Cochons, municipalité de taille modeste, située au confluent de la petite rivière Saint-François et du fleuve Saint-Laurent. L’appareil en question devait partir de Montréal, faire escale à l’Ancienne-Lorette (en banlieue de Québec) pour se diriger ensuite vers Baie-Comeau et Sept-Îles. Tout le personnel de la compagnie d’aviation et les passagers périssent dans l’explosion, y compris Rita Morel, la femme d’Albert Guay.

Le mariage d’Albert Guay et de Rita Morel est une union heureuse jusqu’à la naissance de leur premier et seul enfant. Dès lors, les deux époux s’engagent dans une série de relations extraconjugales. Suite à des épisodes de réconciliations houleuses, le couple Morel-Guay se remet en ménage. Guay est cependant toujours follement amoureux d’une de ses maîtresses, Marie-Ange Robitaille. Celle-ci l’ayant laissé tombé Pour en lire plus
L’affaire Guay est un autre crime qui revêt un caractère spectaculaire. Le 9 septembre 1949, un avion explose au-dessus de Sault-aux-Cochons, municipalité de taille modeste, située au confluent de la petite rivière Saint-François et du fleuve Saint-Laurent. L’appareil en question devait partir de Montréal, faire escale à l’Ancienne-Lorette (en banlieue de Québec) pour se diriger ensuite vers Baie-Comeau et Sept-Îles. Tout le personnel de la compagnie d’aviation et les passagers périssent dans l’explosion, y compris Rita Morel, la femme d’Albert Guay.

Le mariage d’Albert Guay et de Rita Morel est une union heureuse jusqu’à la naissance de leur premier et seul enfant. Dès lors, les deux époux s’engagent dans une série de relations extraconjugales. Suite à des épisodes de réconciliations houleuses, le couple Morel-Guay se remet en ménage. Guay est cependant toujours follement amoureux d’une de ses maîtresses, Marie-Ange Robitaille. Celle-ci l’ayant laissé tombé, il lui promet de quitter Rita Morel.

C’est durant cette période (septembre 1949) que Guay, horloger-bijoutier demande à sa femme Rita d’aller chercher des bijoux à Baie-Comeau. Il achète lui-même le billet d’avion et comme c’était pratique courante à l’époque, il prend une assurance-vie pour sa femme, au montant de 10 000$. Guay dû insister, car sa conjointe se refuse à faire le voyage. Elle décide finalement de rendre service à son mari.

Avant le décollage, Guay fabrique, avec l’aide de Généreux Ruest, une bombe qu’il cache dans un colis. Il charge Marguerite Ruest-Pitre, la soeur de Généreux, de porter le paquet à l’aéroport de l’Ancienne-Lorette. Avec l’explosion de l’avion, Guay pense faire d’une pierre deux coups : il se débarrasse de sa femme et empoche l’argent des assurances.

© 1998, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Spectrographe à émissions

Spectrographe à émissions fabriqué par Bausch & Lomb.

Musée de la civilisation
vers 1950
242 x 164,5 x 58,5 cm
1996 - 1178
© Musée de la civilisation


Album « Causes célèbres »

Album « Causes célèbres » présentant différentes causes et les analyses effectuées au laboratoire.

Musée de la civilisation
1922 - 1952
1996 - 1183
© Musée de la civilisation


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • être amené à éprouver un enthousiasme et un intérêt durables à l’endroit de l’étude des sciences ;
  • reconnaître et comprendre l’influence que l’histoire et la culture exercent sur la science et la technologie au sein d’une société ;
  • être amené à éprouver un enthousiasme et un intérêt durables à l’endroit de l’histoire canadienne.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons