Over time, some idealistic landscape images become central to a culture’s definition of itself. These archetypal icons are so ingrained in national identity that successive generations accept them and their cultural importance without question.

During the twentieth century, changes in social, political, and economic spheres have altered North American worldviews. As a result, interpretation of some iconic landscapes has shifted. For example, a place that was considered a natural wonder a century ago may now be considered a tourist trap - two very different interpretations. These landscapes remain loaded with meaning, except the meaning has changed. What was once a serious cultural icon may be transformed by shifting social values into a cultural stereotype.
Over time, some idealistic landscape images become central to a culture’s definition of itself. These archetypal icons are so ingrained in national identity that successive generations accept them and their cultural importance without question.

During the twentieth century, changes in social, political, and economic spheres have altered North American worldviews. As a result, interpretation of some iconic landscapes has shifted. For example, a place that was considered a natural wonder a century ago may now be considered a tourist trap - two very different interpretations. These landscapes remain loaded with meaning, except the meaning has changed. What was once a serious cultural icon may be transformed by shifting social values into a cultural stereotype.

© CHIN 2001. All Rights Reserved

Fuentes Brotantes

Fuentes Brotantes (Fuentes Brotantes Park)

Joaquín Clausell (1866 - 1935)
National Museum of Art. INBA. CONACULTA
1910 - 1920
MEXICO
oil on canvas
© National Museum of Art. INBA. CONACULTA


The novel aspect of Clausell's works lies not only in his use of a technique with certain Impressionistic associations, but above all in his search for new localities to represent the Mexican landscape, as an alternative to the already worn cliché of the volcanoes of the Valley of Mexico, Popocatepetl and Iztaccihuatl. Small villages such as Tlalpan, Santa Anita, Ixtacalco and Xochimilco were chosen by the landscape artists of the first and second decades of the 20th century. Devoid of human figures, this recreation of small areas or spots relates to end-of-century ideas of Symbolist inspiration in that it reflects the interest in returning to the countryside and nature.
The novel aspect of Clausell's works lies not only in his use of a technique with certain Impressionistic associations, but above all in his search for new localities to represent the Mexican landscape, as an alternative to the already worn cliché of the volcanoes of the Valley of Mexico, Popocatepetl and Iztaccihuatl. Small villages such as Tlalpan, Santa Anita, Ixtacalco and Xochimilco were chosen by the landscape artists of the first and second decades of the 20th century. Devoid of human figures, this recreation of small areas or spots relates to end-of-century ideas of Symbolist inspiration in that it reflects the interest in returning to the countryside and nature.

© CHIN 2001. All Rights Reserved

Garita de la Viga

Garita de la Viga (Customs Gate on the Viga Canal)

Ernst Wardsworth Longfellow (1845 - 1921)
Colección de Arte of the Banco Nacional de México, S.A.
Date ?
MEXICO
oil on wood
39.00 X 57.00 cm
© Banco Nacional de México, S.A.


Ernst Wardsworth Longfellow, a native of New England, was in Paris in 1865, where he was in contact with the open-air Barbizon schools. We do not know when he arrived in Mexico, where he left for us this painting of the Viga Canal, depicting the daily routine of the populace--almost all dressed in white-- busy transporting foodstuffs from Xochimilco and Chalco on their punts. The "Garitas" were the entry gates into the city, the place where customs duties were paid for bringing products into the city.
Ernst Wardsworth Longfellow, a native of New England, was in Paris in 1865, where he was in contact with the open-air Barbizon schools. We do not know when he arrived in Mexico, where he left for us this painting of the Viga Canal, depicting the daily routine of the populace--almost all dressed in white-- busy transporting foodstuffs from Xochimilco and Chalco on their punts. The "Garitas" were the entry gates into the city, the place where customs duties were paid for bringing products into the city.

© CHIN 2001. All Rights Reserved

Canal de Tláhuac con el Iztaccíhuatl al fondo

Canal de Tláhuac con el Iztaccíhuatl al fondo (The Tlahuac Canal with the Iztaccihuatl Volcano in the Distance)

Hugo Brehme (1882 - 1954)
Sistema Nacional de Fototecas del INAH. Fototeca de Pachuca
1910 - 1920
MEXICO
photograph on paper
21.00 X 15.00 cm
© Sistema Nacional de Fototecas del INAH. Fototeca de Pachuca


The afternoon light revealed through the shadow of the young oarsman serves as a pretext for bringing together in a single scene a number of defining elements of the countryside around the Valley of Mexico, which are: the archetypal, white-clad aboriginal person, the Tlahuac canal, the snowy slopes of Iztaccihuatl, and the Mexican willow trees typical of the canals in the south of the city. The depiction of these elements and their elevation to mythical status sprang from the need, in the years following the Revolution, to struggle against the established paradigm, that of Western culture. Mexican identity was thus forged in images which later degenerated into banal stereotypes.
The afternoon light revealed through the shadow of the young oarsman serves as a pretext for bringing together in a single scene a number of defining elements of the countryside around the Valley of Mexico, which are: the archetypal, white-clad aboriginal person, the Tlahuac canal, the snowy slopes of Iztaccihuatl, and the Mexican willow trees typical of the canals in the south of the city. The depiction of these elements and their elevation to mythical status sprang from the need, in the years following the Revolution, to struggle against the established paradigm, that of Western culture. Mexican identity was thus forged in images which later degenerated into banal stereotypes.

© CHIN 2001. All Rights Reserved

Xochimilco

Xochimilco

Gabriel Figueroa (1907 - 1997)
Figueroa Collection
1943
MEXICO
original still shot, restored and digitized from María Candelaria, 35mm transparancies
© Figueroa Collection


Mexican cinema, through its desire for artifice, does not merely reproduce reality but rather, in using artificial forms of construction, creates a reality which it uses to seduce the general public, teaching the latter to look at itself and recognize itself. Gabriel Figueroa has the eyes of an intruder into paradise in this shot which he took with his camera among the canals of Xochimilco for the film María Candelaria. The beauty which the photographer has managed to capture is no doubt true to life, but Figueroa heightens it to give the observer the freedom to reflect upon it.
Mexican cinema, through its desire for artifice, does not merely reproduce reality but rather, in using artificial forms of construction, creates a reality which it uses to seduce the general public, teaching the latter to look at itself and recognize itself. Gabriel Figueroa has the eyes of an intruder into paradise in this shot which he took with his camera among the canals of Xochimilco for the film María Candelaria. The beauty which the photographer has managed to capture is no doubt true to life, but Figueroa heightens it to give the observer the freedom to reflect upon it.

© CHIN 2001. All Rights Reserved

Una tarde en Xochimilco

Una tarde en Xochimilco (An Afternoon in Xochimilco)

Miguel Covarrubias (1904 - 1957)
Hotel Ritz, Mexico City
1947
MEXICO
mural
© Hotel Ritz, Mexico City


The desolate canals of Xochimilco, depicted years before in the work of Joaquín Clausell and Hugo Brehme in tranquil, private scenes characterized by a certain primitive quality, now reflect a new Mexico painted in Miguel Covarrubias' mural: their waters are more crowded with people, not precisely local inhabitants, but rather groups of domestic and foreign tourists. By 1947, Xochimilco had become one of the major tourist attractions of the city and a key destination for the obligatory Sunday outing. In Una tarde en Xochimilco, Covarrubias successfully gives a humorous portrait of the people going on the outing and at the same time returns to the festive, anecdotal and descriptive character of the manners and customs genre of the 19th century. The stylized approach to the figures is a product of his intensive work as a caricaturist.
The desolate canals of Xochimilco, depicted years before in the work of Joaquín Clausell and Hugo Brehme in tranquil, private scenes characterized by a certain primitive quality, now reflect a new Mexico painted in Miguel Covarrubias' mural: their waters are more crowded with people, not precisely local inhabitants, but rather groups of domestic and foreign tourists. By 1947, Xochimilco had become one of the major tourist attractions of the city and a key destination for the obligatory Sunday outing. In Una tarde en Xochimilco, Covarrubias successfully gives a humorous portrait of the people going on the outing and at the same time returns to the festive, anecdotal and descriptive character of the manners and customs genre of the 19th century. The stylized approach to the figures is a product of his intensive work as a caricaturist.

© CHIN 2001. All Rights Reserved

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Be conscious of the emotional impact that is caused and shaped by a work of art
  • Give examples of iconic landscapes from North American nations
  • Describe how the meaning of iconic landscapes has changed over time through examples
  • Be aware of the commonality of themes in landscape art among the three North American countries

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Avec le temps, les représentations idéalisées de certains paysages deviennent inséparables de la définition qu’une culture se donne. Ces archétypes picturaux s’incrustent dans l’identité nationale à tel point que les générations se succèdent en les acceptant, ainsi que leur importance culturelle, sans les remettre en cause.

Au XXe siècle, la conception nord-américaine du monde s’est transformée sous l’effet de l’évolution du milieu social, politique et économique. De ce fait, l’interprétation de certains paysages emblématiques a changé. Ainsi, un lieu qui passait pour une merveille de la nature il y a un siècle peut être considéré de nos jours comme un piège à touristes. Les deux interprétations sont bien différentes. Ces paysages demeurent chargés de sens, mais le sens n’est plus le même. Ce qui fut autrefois un symbole culturel peut s’être mué en stéréotype culturel sous l’ Pour en lire plus
Avec le temps, les représentations idéalisées de certains paysages deviennent inséparables de la définition qu’une culture se donne. Ces archétypes picturaux s’incrustent dans l’identité nationale à tel point que les générations se succèdent en les acceptant, ainsi que leur importance culturelle, sans les remettre en cause.

Au XXe siècle, la conception nord-américaine du monde s’est transformée sous l’effet de l’évolution du milieu social, politique et économique. De ce fait, l’interprétation de certains paysages emblématiques a changé. Ainsi, un lieu qui passait pour une merveille de la nature il y a un siècle peut être considéré de nos jours comme un piège à touristes. Les deux interprétations sont bien différentes. Ces paysages demeurent chargés de sens, mais le sens n’est plus le même. Ce qui fut autrefois un symbole culturel peut s’être mué en stéréotype culturel sous l’effet du déplacement des valeurs sociales.

© RCIP 2001. Tous droits réservés

Fuentes Brotantes

Fuentes Brotantes (Sources jaillissantes)

Joaquín Clausell (1866 - 1935)
National Museum of Art. INBA. CONACULTA
1910 - 1920
MEXIQUE
huile sur toile
© National Museum of Art. INBA. CONACULTA


Le caractère innovateur des œuvres de Clausell tient non seulement à l'usage qu'il fait d'une technique qui rappelle certes l'impressionnisme, mais aussi et surtout à la recherche d'autres lieux symboliques du paysage mexicain, en remplacement du cliché déjà surfait des volcans de la vallée de Mexico : le Popocatépetl et l'Iztaccíhuatl. De petits villages, situés aux environs de Mexico, comme Tlalpan, Santa Anita, Ixtacalco et Xochimilco, furent choisis par les paysagistes des première et deuxième décennies du XXe siècle. Privées de personnages, ces œuvres recréent des lieux peu importants ou des lieux éloignés qui évoquent les idées de la fin du siècle, enracinées dans le symbolisme en raison de ce désir de retour à la campagne et à la nature.
Le caractère innovateur des œuvres de Clausell tient non seulement à l'usage qu'il fait d'une technique qui rappelle certes l'impressionnisme, mais aussi et surtout à la recherche d'autres lieux symboliques du paysage mexicain, en remplacement du cliché déjà surfait des volcans de la vallée de Mexico : le Popocatépetl et l'Iztaccíhuatl. De petits villages, situés aux environs de Mexico, comme Tlalpan, Santa Anita, Ixtacalco et Xochimilco, furent choisis par les paysagistes des première et deuxième décennies du XXe siècle. Privées de personnages, ces œuvres recréent des lieux peu importants ou des lieux éloignés qui évoquent les idées de la fin du siècle, enracinées dans le symbolisme en raison de ce désir de retour à la campagne et à la nature.

© RCIP 2001. Tous droits réservés

Garita de la Viga

Garita de la Viga (Guérite de la Viga)

Ernst Wardsworth Longfellow (1845 - 1921)
Colección de Arte, Banco Nacional de México, S.A.
Date ?
MEXIQUE
huile sur bois
39,00 X 57,00 cm
© Banco Nacional de México, S.A.


Natif de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, Longfellow était à Paris en 1865, où il se mit en contact avec les écoles en plein air de Barbizon. On ignore l'année de son arrivée au Mexique, auquel il légua cette peinture du canal de la Viga, qu'il a représenté dans sa quotidienneté avec des gens du peuple, presque entièrement vêtus de blanc, occupés à transporter dans leurs barques les aliments provenant de Xochimilco et de Chalco. Les guérites étaient les portes d'entrée de la ville et c'était là qu'on payait les taxes pour introduire des produits dans la ville.
Natif de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, Longfellow était à Paris en 1865, où il se mit en contact avec les écoles en plein air de Barbizon. On ignore l'année de son arrivée au Mexique, auquel il légua cette peinture du canal de la Viga, qu'il a représenté dans sa quotidienneté avec des gens du peuple, presque entièrement vêtus de blanc, occupés à transporter dans leurs barques les aliments provenant de Xochimilco et de Chalco. Les guérites étaient les portes d'entrée de la ville et c'était là qu'on payait les taxes pour introduire des produits dans la ville.

© RCIP 2001. Tous droits réservés

Canal de Tláhuac con el Iztaccíhuatl al fondo

Canal de Tláhuac con el Iztaccíhuatl al fondo (Canal de Tláhuac avec l'Iztaccíhuatl en arrière-plan)

Hugo Brehme (1882 - 1954)
Sistema Nacional de Fototecas del INAH. Fototeca de Pachuca
1910 - 1920
MEXIQUE
photographie sur papier
21,00 X 15,00 cm
© Sistema Nacional de Fototecas del INAH. Fototeca de Pachuca


La lumière d'après-midi que suggère l'ombre du jeune rameur sert de prétexte pour capturer d'un seul coup des caractéristiques du paysage des environs de la vallée de Mexico, soit l'indigène primitif en culottes courtes blanches, le canal Tláhuac, les hauteurs enneigées de l'Iztaccíhuatl, les saules typiques des canaux du sud de la ville. La représentation de ces symboles et leur conversion en mythes répondaient, dans les années postrévolutionnaires, à l'urgence de la lutte contre le modèle alors prédominant, soit celui de la culture occidentale. L'identité mexicaine s'est alors figée dans des images qui devinrent plus tard très courantes.
La lumière d'après-midi que suggère l'ombre du jeune rameur sert de prétexte pour capturer d'un seul coup des caractéristiques du paysage des environs de la vallée de Mexico, soit l'indigène primitif en culottes courtes blanches, le canal Tláhuac, les hauteurs enneigées de l'Iztaccíhuatl, les saules typiques des canaux du sud de la ville. La représentation de ces symboles et leur conversion en mythes répondaient, dans les années postrévolutionnaires, à l'urgence de la lutte contre le modèle alors prédominant, soit celui de la culture occidentale. L'identité mexicaine s'est alors figée dans des images qui devinrent plus tard très courantes.

© RCIP 2001. Tous droits réservés

Xochimilco

Xochimilco

Gabriel Figueroa (1907 - 1997)
Collection Figueroa
1943
MEXIQUE
photogramme original, restauré et numérisé du film María Candelaria, diapositive de 35 mm
© Collection Figueroa


Par son artifice, le cinéma mexicain non seulement reproduit la réalité mais aussi construit un monde artificiel; il engendre une réalité créée, avec laquelle il séduit le grand public qui apprendra à se voir et à se reconnaître. Gabriel Figueroa, avec le regard d'un intrus qui pénètre au paradis, a filmé, avec sa caméra, le long des canaux de Xochimilco ce panorama pour le film María Candelaria. La beauté que capte le photographe est certes présente ici, mais Figueroa l'amplifie, donnant ainsi à l'observateur l'occasion d'y réfléchir.
Par son artifice, le cinéma mexicain non seulement reproduit la réalité mais aussi construit un monde artificiel; il engendre une réalité créée, avec laquelle il séduit le grand public qui apprendra à se voir et à se reconnaître. Gabriel Figueroa, avec le regard d'un intrus qui pénètre au paradis, a filmé, avec sa caméra, le long des canaux de Xochimilco ce panorama pour le film María Candelaria. La beauté que capte le photographe est certes présente ici, mais Figueroa l'amplifie, donnant ainsi à l'observateur l'occasion d'y réfléchir.

© RCIP 2001. Tous droits réservés

Una tarde en Xochimilco

Una tarde en Xochimilco (Un après-midi à Xochimilco)

Miguel Covarrubias (1904 - 1957)
Hotel Ritz, Mexico
1947
MEXIQUE
murale
© Hotel Ritz, Mexico


Les canaux désolés de Xochimilco, reproduits des années auparavant par Clausell et Hugo Brehme, et qui évoquaient le repos, l'intimité et un certain primitivisme, font place à un autre Mexique, maintenant peint sur la fresque de Covarrubias : ses eaux commencent à se peupler, non pas précisément par les habitants de l'endroit, mais par des groupes de touristes mexicains et étrangers. En 1947, Xochimilco était devenu l'un des sites touristiques les plus fréquentés de la ville et une promenade dominicale obligée. Dans Un après-midi à Xochimilco, Covarrubias a réussi à nous montrer, avec humour, les personnages qui assistaient à ces promenades tout en évoquant une atmosphère de fête, anecdotique et descriptive des scènes de mœurs du XIXe siècle. La stylisation des figures découle de son intense travail comme caricaturiste.
Les canaux désolés de Xochimilco, reproduits des années auparavant par Clausell et Hugo Brehme, et qui évoquaient le repos, l'intimité et un certain primitivisme, font place à un autre Mexique, maintenant peint sur la fresque de Covarrubias : ses eaux commencent à se peupler, non pas précisément par les habitants de l'endroit, mais par des groupes de touristes mexicains et étrangers. En 1947, Xochimilco était devenu l'un des sites touristiques les plus fréquentés de la ville et une promenade dominicale obligée. Dans Un après-midi à Xochimilco, Covarrubias a réussi à nous montrer, avec humour, les personnages qui assistaient à ces promenades tout en évoquant une atmosphère de fête, anecdotique et descriptive des scènes de mœurs du XIXe siècle. La stylisation des figures découle de son intense travail comme caricaturiste.

© RCIP 2001. Tous droits réservés

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L'apprenant va :

  • prendre conscience de l’impact émotionnel qui est provoqué et façonné par les œuvres d’art;
  • donner des exemples de paysages iconiques des nations d’Amérique du Nord;
  • décrire à l’aide d’exemples comment la signification des paysages iconiques a changé au fil du temps;
  • être sensibilisé aux thèmes communs abordés dans l’art du paysage des différents pays d’Amérique du Nord.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons