La grande vigile pascale

Painting by Adrien Arsenault (1925-1989).

Adrien ARSENAULT
Photo: Noëlla Richard
c. 1983
Acrylic on masonite
120 x 90 cm
© Acadian Museum of Prince Edward Island


Adrien Arsenault (1925-1989)

Adrien Arsenault was born at Mont-Carmel, Prince Edward Island, on June 23, 1925. He was a priest, art history and French professor, painter, sculptor, actor, musician, poet, author, director, critic and traveller. He studied for eight years at the Petit Séminaire de Québec and earned a Bachelor of Arts in 1948. He spent four years at Holy Heart Seminary in Halifax, and was ordained a lay priest in Charlottetown in 1952.

He studied French literature at Université Laval and art history at Concordia University. He earned a masters in drama at the Catholic University of America in Washington, D.C. He spent one year at the Sorbonne on a grant from the French government. A sabbatical year allowed him to study religious architecture and Italian Rennaissance art in Italy. He began his teaching career in 1952 and retired in 1988.

He held the position of representative on the Canada Council for six years. Considered one of the main sources of inspiration for the PEI arts community, the P.E.I. Council of the Arts created the Award for Artistic Excellence in honour of Fat Read More
Adrien Arsenault (1925-1989)

Adrien Arsenault was born at Mont-Carmel, Prince Edward Island, on June 23, 1925. He was a priest, art history and French professor, painter, sculptor, actor, musician, poet, author, director, critic and traveller. He studied for eight years at the Petit Séminaire de Québec and earned a Bachelor of Arts in 1948. He spent four years at Holy Heart Seminary in Halifax, and was ordained a lay priest in Charlottetown in 1952.

He studied French literature at Université Laval and art history at Concordia University. He earned a masters in drama at the Catholic University of America in Washington, D.C. He spent one year at the Sorbonne on a grant from the French government. A sabbatical year allowed him to study religious architecture and Italian Rennaissance art in Italy. He began his teaching career in 1952 and retired in 1988.

He held the position of representative on the Canada Council for six years. Considered one of the main sources of inspiration for the PEI arts community, the P.E.I. Council of the Arts created the Award for Artistic Excellence in honour of Father Adrien Arsenault. This award provides a grant to artists who display the spirit and quality that characterized the work of Father Adrien. His works are found in collections on three continents.

© 1997, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Understand that art can influence and reflect culture by conveying social and ethical issues
  • Be aware that the creative process is influenced by personal experience.
  • Understand that our reaction to art is based on our own experiences
  • Be aware of the diversity of Francophone art across Canada
  • Develop an appreciation of historical and contemporary Francophone art in Canada
  • Recognize the role of the curator in choosing, researching and interpreting art for exhibition

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La grande vigile pascale

Œuvre de Adrien Arsenault (1925-1989).

Adrien ARSENAULT
Photo : Noëlla Richard
vers 1983
Acrylique sur masonite
120 x 90 cm
© Musée acadien de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard


Adrien Arsenault (1925-1989)

Adrien Arsenault est né à Mont-Carmel, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le 23 juin. 1925. Il est prêtre, professeur d’histoire de l’art et de français, peintre, sculpteur, comédien, musicien, poète, écrivain, metteur en scène, critique et voyageur. Il a étudié pendant huit ans au Petit Séminaire de Québec et il a obtenu un Baccalauréat ès arts en 1948. Il passa quatre ans au séminaire Holy Heart à Halifax, et il fut ordonné prêtre séculier à Charlottetown en 1952.

Il a fait des études en littérature française à l’université Laval et en histoire de l’art à l’Université Concordia. Il obtient une maîtrise en théâtre du Catholic University of America à Washington, D.C. Il étudia un an à la Sorbonne grâce à une subvention du gouvernement français. Une année sabbatique lui a permit d’étu Pour en lire plus
Adrien Arsenault (1925-1989)

Adrien Arsenault est né à Mont-Carmel, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le 23 juin. 1925. Il est prêtre, professeur d’histoire de l’art et de français, peintre, sculpteur, comédien, musicien, poète, écrivain, metteur en scène, critique et voyageur. Il a étudié pendant huit ans au Petit Séminaire de Québec et il a obtenu un Baccalauréat ès arts en 1948. Il passa quatre ans au séminaire Holy Heart à Halifax, et il fut ordonné prêtre séculier à Charlottetown en 1952.

Il a fait des études en littérature française à l’université Laval et en histoire de l’art à l’Université Concordia. Il obtient une maîtrise en théâtre du Catholic University of America à Washington, D.C. Il étudia un an à la Sorbonne grâce à une subvention du gouvernement français. Une année sabbatique lui a permit d’étudier l’architecture religieuse et l’art de la Renaissance Italienne en Italie. Il débuta sa carrière d’enseignant en 1952 et pris sa retraite en 1988.

Il occupa le poste de représentant au Conseil des Arts du Canada pendant six ans. Considéré comme une des principales sources d’inspiration pour la communauté artistique de l’Île, on créa le Prix d’excellence artistique en l’honneur du Père Adrien Arsenault. Ce prix accorde une bourse aux artistes chez qui nous retrouvons l’esprit et la qualité qui caractérisaient le travail du Père Adrien. On retrouve ses oeuvres dans des collections de trois continents.

© 1997, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • comprendre que l’art peut avoir une influence sur la culture et être le reflet de cette dernière parce qu’il véhicule des questions sociales et éthiques;
  • reconnaître l’influence de l’expérience personnelle sur le processus créatif;
  • comprendre que notre réaction vis-à-vis de l’art est fondée sur nos propres expériences;
  • reconnaître la diversité des œuvres des artistes francophones du Canada;
  • apprendre à apprécier les œuvres d’artistes francophones historiques et contemporains du Canada;
  • découvrir le rôle que le curateur joue dans le choix, la recherche et l’interprétation des œuvres d’art destinées à une exposition.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons