In the Christian feast of Saint Valentine on February 14, and in its popular form with the giving of cards and gifts to one’s beloved, we hear the ancient echo of ideas on affection, love and marriage. In a myth from Mesopotamia we have the earliest account of marriage as a sacred act. Philosophers speculate on the origins of the passion women and men have for each other. Images of rituals, etched on stone monuments and recorded texts, remind us of the seminal place affection, love and marriage have in the culture and heart of human beings and, for that reason, in the heart of culture.
In the Christian feast of Saint Valentine on February 14, and in its popular form with the giving of cards and gifts to one’s beloved, we hear the ancient echo of ideas on affection, love and marriage. In a myth from Mesopotamia we have the earliest account of marriage as a sacred act. Philosophers speculate on the origins of the passion women and men have for each other. Images of rituals, etched on stone monuments and recorded texts, remind us of the seminal place affection, love and marriage have in the culture and heart of human beings and, for that reason, in the heart of culture.

© 2004, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Tenderly, he caresses her, murmuring words of love:
“ O my Holy Jewel! O my wondrous Inanna!”
(Hymns to Inanna, Queen of Heaven [No. 7])

In a 6,000-year-old record there is an account of marriage between the Mesopotamian great goddess Inanna, patron of love, birth and war, and Dumuzi, the god associated with new life and growth on earth. It is in such stories in ancient Sumer, and various other cultures, that we first encounter the reflections of human beings on the sacred dimensions of love and the gift of new life that may flow from the love of a couple. Such couples were depicted surrounded with images of flowers and perfume. These stories and depictions recognized the earth’s life-bearing energy.
Tenderly, he caresses her, murmuring words of love:
“ O my Holy Jewel! O my wondrous Inanna!”
(Hymns to Inanna, Queen of Heaven [No. 7])

In a 6,000-year-old record there is an account of marriage between the Mesopotamian great goddess Inanna, patron of love, birth and war, and Dumuzi, the god associated with new life and growth on earth. It is in such stories in ancient Sumer, and various other cultures, that we first encounter the reflections of human beings on the sacred dimensions of love and the gift of new life that may flow from the love of a couple. Such couples were depicted surrounded with images of flowers and perfume. These stories and depictions recognized the earth’s life-bearing energy.

© 2004, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Affectionate Couple

Affectionate Couple

This mass-produced plaque may have had magical or religious significance. It was recovered in Ur, southern Iraq, by Leonard Woolley.

The British Museum
c. 1900-1600 B.C.E
Terracotta
10.5 x 6.2 cm
ANE 116812.
© The British Museum


“Eros is man's conversion from the sensible to the super-sensible; it is the upward movement of the soul; it is a real force, driving the soul upwards to seek the world of forms.”
(Anders Nygren, Agape and Eros, New York: Macmillan, 1937, I:127)

In the ancient Greek pantheon of deities, Eros (Cupid) is the son of Penia (need) and Poros (initiative). Poros is imbued with the virtues of beauty, goodness and courage, but also with impetuousness and cunning. Their union results in Eros, the rash god of love who lies midway between morality and immorality, the carnal and the spiritual, wisdom and ignorance, mortality and divinity. Eros provided the ancient Greeks with a way of speaking about the human experience of division and longing, the desire that propels men and women alike to seek love and love's gifts: wisdom and beauty.
“Eros is man's conversion from the sensible to the super-sensible; it is the upward movement of the soul; it is a real force, driving the soul upwards to seek the world of forms.”
(Anders Nygren, Agape and Eros, New York: Macmillan, 1937, I:127)

In the ancient Greek pantheon of deities, Eros (Cupid) is the son of Penia (need) and Poros (initiative). Poros is imbued with the virtues of beauty, goodness and courage, but also with impetuousness and cunning. Their union results in Eros, the rash god of love who lies midway between morality and immorality, the carnal and the spiritual, wisdom and ignorance, mortality and divinity. Eros provided the ancient Greeks with a way of speaking about the human experience of division and longing, the desire that propels men and women alike to seek love and love's gifts: wisdom and beauty.

© 2004, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Amor Carving His Bow

Amor Carving His Bow

Depicted as a man, adolescent, or child, the cute, beautiful, heavenly, mischievous, dangerous, vengeful Cupid is the embodiment of the inherent struggles and joys of love.

Kunsthistorisches Museum, Gemäldegalerie

Oil on limewood
135 x 65,3 cm
613, Inv. 275.
© Erich Lessing


“They attained to know…the time that was at hand, in which no longer should the bullock of the herd be a sacrifice to God, nor the ram of the flock, nor the he-goat, but all these things should be fulfilled in a purely spiritual manner.”
(Athanasius, Festal Letters 19.3-4)

Pope Gelasius I (492–496) opposed the rituals of Lupercalia. Saint Valentine’s Day, February 14, was thus elevated as a feast day for young lovers. Fertility rituals of purification, ordeal, sexual extravagance and sacrifice central to Lupercalia were challenged by the emerging ideas of Christian love under the patronage of a priest and martyr who had lived a short distance from the Palatine hill in Rome and met his death defending the right of lovers to marry. Lupercalia slowly became a feast for Saint Valentine, commemorating the gift of love beyond fertility.
“They attained to know…the time that was at hand, in which no longer should the bullock of the herd be a sacrifice to God, nor the ram of the flock, nor the he-goat, but all these things should be fulfilled in a purely spiritual manner.”
(Athanasius, Festal Letters 19.3-4)

Pope Gelasius I (492–496) opposed the rituals of Lupercalia. Saint Valentine’s Day, February 14, was thus elevated as a feast day for young lovers. Fertility rituals of purification, ordeal, sexual extravagance and sacrifice central to Lupercalia were challenged by the emerging ideas of Christian love under the patronage of a priest and martyr who had lived a short distance from the Palatine hill in Rome and met his death defending the right of lovers to marry. Lupercalia slowly became a feast for Saint Valentine, commemorating the gift of love beyond fertility.

© 2004, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Capitoline She-wolf

Capitoline She-wolf

Brothers Romulus and Remus, being suckled by the wolf, were the legendary founders of Rome. They took part in the first Roman celebration of the Lupercalia, circa 753 B.C.E.

Corey Chimko
Musei Capitolini, Archivio Fotografico dei Musei Capitolini
c. 5th century B.C.E.
Bronze
75 cm
MC1181
© Musées Capitolins


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
• Explain the history and premise of St. Valentine as it originated in ancient Rome
• Demonstrate an understanding of the history of courtship and marriage
• Communicate the connections between contemporary Christian holidays and pagan feasts.
• Describe how historically the notion of romance was broader than physical attraction and reached higher meanings such as courtly love in Medieval times and passionate and divine love in Biblical themes

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Dans la fête chrétienne de Saint Valentin, le 14 février, et dans la forme populaire qui consiste à échanger des cartes de souhaits et des cadeaux avec un être cher, nous retrouvons l’écho ancien des idées d’affection, d’amour et de mariage. Dans un mythe mésopotamien, nous trouvons le premier compte rendu d’un mariage célébré par un acte sacré. Les philosophes s’interrogent sur les origines de la passion entre homme et femme. Des images de rituels, gravées dans des monuments de pierre et expliquées dans des textes, nous rappellent la place essentielle qu’occupent l’affection, l’amour et le mariage dans la culture et dans les cœurs des êtres humains et, pour cette raison, au cœur de la culture.
Dans la fête chrétienne de Saint Valentin, le 14 février, et dans la forme populaire qui consiste à échanger des cartes de souhaits et des cadeaux avec un être cher, nous retrouvons l’écho ancien des idées d’affection, d’amour et de mariage. Dans un mythe mésopotamien, nous trouvons le premier compte rendu d’un mariage célébré par un acte sacré. Les philosophes s’interrogent sur les origines de la passion entre homme et femme. Des images de rituels, gravées dans des monuments de pierre et expliquées dans des textes, nous rappellent la place essentielle qu’occupent l’affection, l’amour et le mariage dans la culture et dans les cœurs des êtres humains et, pour cette raison, au cœur de la culture.

© 2004, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Tendrement, il la caresse, murmurant des mots d’amour :
« Oh ! Joyau précieux ! Oh ! Merveilleuse Inanna ! »
(Hymnes à Inanna, Reine du Ciel [no 7])

Dans un document vieux de 6 000 ans, on trouve le compte rendu d’un mariage entre la grande déesse mésopotamienne Inanna, déesse de l’amour, de la naissance et de la guerre, et Dumuzi, le dieu associé à la vie nouvelle et à la croissance sur terre. Dans de tels récits de l’ancienne Sumer et de diverses autres cultures, nous trouvons les premières réflexions sur les dimensions sacrées de l’amour et sur le don de vie nouvelle qui peut découler de l’amour d’un couple. Les couples étaient décrits entourés d’images de fleurs et de parfums. Ces récits et descriptions reconnaissent l’énergie féconde de la terre.
Tendrement, il la caresse, murmurant des mots d’amour :
« Oh ! Joyau précieux ! Oh ! Merveilleuse Inanna ! »
(Hymnes à Inanna, Reine du Ciel [no 7])

Dans un document vieux de 6 000 ans, on trouve le compte rendu d’un mariage entre la grande déesse mésopotamienne Inanna, déesse de l’amour, de la naissance et de la guerre, et Dumuzi, le dieu associé à la vie nouvelle et à la croissance sur terre. Dans de tels récits de l’ancienne Sumer et de diverses autres cultures, nous trouvons les premières réflexions sur les dimensions sacrées de l’amour et sur le don de vie nouvelle qui peut découler de l’amour d’un couple. Les couples étaient décrits entourés d’images de fleurs et de parfums. Ces récits et descriptions reconnaissent l’énergie féconde de la terre.

© 2004, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Couple affectueux

Couple affectueux

Cette plaque produite en série avait peut-être une importance magique ou religieuse. Elle a été découverte à Our, dans le sud de l’Iraq, par Léonard Woolley.

The British Museum
vers 1900–1600 avant notre ère
Terre cuite
10,5 x 6,2 cm
ANE 116812.
© The British Museum


« Eros is man’s conversion from the sensible to the super-sensible; it is the upward movement of the soul; it is a real force, driving the soul upwards to seek the world of forms. »

(Éros est la conversion humaine du sensible au supersensible ; c’est le mouvement ascendant de l’âme ; c’est une force réelle, qui hisse l’âme vers le haut pour chercher le monde des formes.)

(Anders Nygren, Agape and Eros, New York, Macmillan, 1937, I:127)

Dans le panthéon des dieux de la Grèce antique, Éros (Cupidon) est le fils de Pénia (la Pauvreté) et de Poros (la Richesse). Poros est imbue des vertus que sont la beauté, la bonté et le courage, mais aussi remplie de fougue et de ruse. Éros, le cruel dieu de l’Amour qui se tient à mi-chemin entre la moralité et l’immoralité, la chair et l’esprit, la sagesse et l’ignorance, la mortalité et la divinité, est le fruit de leur union. Éros a donné aux anciens Grecs un moyen de parler de l’expérience humaine de la di Pour en lire plus
« Eros is man’s conversion from the sensible to the super-sensible; it is the upward movement of the soul; it is a real force, driving the soul upwards to seek the world of forms. »

(Éros est la conversion humaine du sensible au supersensible ; c’est le mouvement ascendant de l’âme ; c’est une force réelle, qui hisse l’âme vers le haut pour chercher le monde des formes.)

(Anders Nygren, Agape and Eros, New York, Macmillan, 1937, I:127)

Dans le panthéon des dieux de la Grèce antique, Éros (Cupidon) est le fils de Pénia (la Pauvreté) et de Poros (la Richesse). Poros est imbue des vertus que sont la beauté, la bonté et le courage, mais aussi remplie de fougue et de ruse. Éros, le cruel dieu de l’Amour qui se tient à mi-chemin entre la moralité et l’immoralité, la chair et l’esprit, la sagesse et l’ignorance, la mortalité et la divinité, est le fruit de leur union. Éros a donné aux anciens Grecs un moyen de parler de l’expérience humaine de la division et de l’attente, du désir qui pousse tant les hommes que les femmes à chercher l’amour et ses dons : la sagesse et la beauté.

© 2004, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Amour en train de tailler un arc

Amour en train de tailler un arc

Représenté comme un homme, un adolescent ou un enfant, Cupidon peut être mignon, beau, délicieux, espiègle, dangereux, vengeur, et il incarne les combats et les bonheurs inhérents à l’amour.

Kunsthistorisches Museum, Gemäldegalerie

Huile sur bois de tilleul
135 x 65,3 cm
613, Inv. 275.
© Erich Lessing


« Ils parvenaient à connaître […] les temps qui les attendaient, lorsqu’il ne serait plus nécessaire de sacrifier à Dieu les jeunes bœufs, les béliers ou les boucs des troupeaux, lorsque tout se ferait de façon purement spirituelle ».
(Athanase, Lettres festales 19.3-4)

Le pape Gélase Ier (492–496) s’opposait aux rituels des Lupercales. La Saint-Valentin, le 14 février, a donc été élevée au rang de fête pour les jeunes amants. Les rituels de fertilité qui consistaient en purifications, en épreuves, en extravagances sexuelles et en sacrifices, pivot des Lupercales, ont été remplacés par les idées nouvelles de l’amour chrétien, sous l’influence d’un prêtre et martyr qui avait vécu non loin du mont Palatin, à Rome, et qui avait trouvé la mort en défendant le droit des amants de se marier. Les Lupercales ont peu à peu cédé la place à la Saint-Valentin, pour commémorer le don de l’amour au- Pour en lire plus
« Ils parvenaient à connaître […] les temps qui les attendaient, lorsqu’il ne serait plus nécessaire de sacrifier à Dieu les jeunes bœufs, les béliers ou les boucs des troupeaux, lorsque tout se ferait de façon purement spirituelle ».
(Athanase, Lettres festales 19.3-4)

Le pape Gélase Ier (492–496) s’opposait aux rituels des Lupercales. La Saint-Valentin, le 14 février, a donc été élevée au rang de fête pour les jeunes amants. Les rituels de fertilité qui consistaient en purifications, en épreuves, en extravagances sexuelles et en sacrifices, pivot des Lupercales, ont été remplacés par les idées nouvelles de l’amour chrétien, sous l’influence d’un prêtre et martyr qui avait vécu non loin du mont Palatin, à Rome, et qui avait trouvé la mort en défendant le droit des amants de se marier. Les Lupercales ont peu à peu cédé la place à la Saint-Valentin, pour commémorer le don de l’amour au-delà de la fertilité.

© 2004, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Louve du Capitole

Louve du Capitole

Les frères Romulus et Remus, allaités par la louve, sont les fondateurs légendaires de Rome. Ils ont participé à la première célébration romaine des Lupercales, v. 753 avant notre ère.

Corey Chimko
Musei Capitolini, Archivio Fotografico dei Musei Capitolini
vers Ve siècle avant notre ère
Bronze
75 cm
MC1181
© Musées Capitolins


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
• Expliquer l’histoire et le principe de la Saint-Valentin, comme ce dernier a évolué dans l’ancienne ville de Rome
• Faire preuve d’une compréhension de l’histoire de la cour et du mariage
• Communiquer les liens qui existent entre les fêtes chrétiennes et les festins païens
• Décrire comment, historiquement parlant, la notion de la romance était plus vaste que l’attraction physique, pour prendre une ampleur bien plus supérieure que le simple amour courtois dans le Moyen Âge, où l’amour passionné et divin est reflété dans les thèmes bibliques

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons