The sky has special meaning for many people, from the astronomer seeking to understand the mysteries of the universe, to indigenous peoples who look to the stars for guidance in daily life. Astronomy is a fascinating field of study that attracts many students with an interest in math, science (especially physics) or computer science. Meet the people who study the stars, and learn why astronomy is important to them. Hear from some of the astronomers working in today’s observatories, and learn more about what they do.
The sky has special meaning for many people, from the astronomer seeking to understand the mysteries of the universe, to indigenous peoples who look to the stars for guidance in daily life. Astronomy is a fascinating field of study that attracts many students with an interest in math, science (especially physics) or computer science. Meet the people who study the stars, and learn why astronomy is important to them. Hear from some of the astronomers working in today’s observatories, and learn more about what they do.

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Raylee Stathakis is an astronomer at the Anglo-Australian Observatory and was once a guide-lecturer at Sydney Observatory in Australia. For her doctoral thesis she studied the remains of the star that exploded in the Large Magellanic Cloud in February 1987.

Raylee Stathakis is an astronomer at the Anglo-Australian Observatory and was once a guide-lecturer at Sydney Observatory in Australia. For her doctoral thesis she studied the remains of the star that exploded in the Large Magellanic Cloud in February 1987.

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Dr. Raylee Stathakis

Dr. Raylee Stathakis.

Zoltan Nemes-Nemeth

© Powerhouse Museum


Video of Dr. Raylee Stathakis discussing her work as an astronomer at the Anglo-Australian Observatory, Siding Spring, New South Wales, Australia.

The AAT (Anglo-Australian Telescope) is situated in the beautiful Warrumbungles. With a mirror nearly four metres wide, it is one of the largest optical telescopes in the world and the largest in Australia. Astronomers from Britain, Australia and many other countries come to observe at our telescope. Being an astronomer today is very different from being an astronomer in Henry Russell’s time. We no longer have to stand in the cold dome and put our eye to the eye piece. We sit in front of computers in an air-conditioned room off to one side and we let detectors far more sensitive than the human eye pick up the light from the objects we’re observing. We’re able to get much more than just pictures of the objects, we’re able to do things like split the light into its colours and form a spectrum, which tells us much more about the object.

Zoltan Nemes-Nemeth

© Powerhouse Museum


Dr. Wendy Freedman is director of the Carnegie Observatories in Pasadena, California. She grew up in Ontario, Canada, and studied physics and astronomy at university. She also studied in the United States and has used some of the biggest and best telescopes in the world, like the Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope on top of the extinct volcano Mauna Kea in Hawaii. Now she gets to use one of the most incredible telescopes of all-the Hubble Space Telescope.

One of Dr. Freedman’s interests is measuring the Hubble constant, which is the rate at which the universe is expanding. Knowing this rate of expansion will help us figure out the exact age of the universe.

"I was always interested in astronomy as a kid. Growing up in Northern Ontario, it was the dark sky that really got me fascinated with astronomy in the first place. It’s a particularly exciting time in astronomy now because we’re learning things about the universe that we never anticipated-new mysteries are surfacing. It’s a very exciting field.

I’m doing something that I love to do, and that would be my advice to anyone: find something that you love to do and p Read More
Dr. Wendy Freedman is director of the Carnegie Observatories in Pasadena, California. She grew up in Ontario, Canada, and studied physics and astronomy at university. She also studied in the United States and has used some of the biggest and best telescopes in the world, like the Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope on top of the extinct volcano Mauna Kea in Hawaii. Now she gets to use one of the most incredible telescopes of all-the Hubble Space Telescope.

One of Dr. Freedman’s interests is measuring the Hubble constant, which is the rate at which the universe is expanding. Knowing this rate of expansion will help us figure out the exact age of the universe.

"I was always interested in astronomy as a kid. Growing up in Northern Ontario, it was the dark sky that really got me fascinated with astronomy in the first place. It’s a particularly exciting time in astronomy now because we’re learning things about the universe that we never anticipated-new mysteries are surfacing. It’s a very exciting field.

I’m doing something that I love to do, and that would be my advice to anyone: find something that you love to do and pursue it, because there’s really nothing more rewarding."

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Dr. Wendy Freedman

Dr. Wendy Freedman.

The Manitoba Museum

© The Manitoba Museum


Dr. Ian Shelton was raised in Winnipeg, Canada. In 1987, while he was working at an observatory in Las Companas, Chile, he developed a photograph of the Tarantula Nebula and saw something unusual in the picture. He and several others went outside to check, and they saw a shining light in the Large Magellanic Cloud (the galaxy that encompasses the Tarantula Nebula) that wasn’t there before. It was a supernova-a giant star that blew itself apart at the end of its life.

Dr Shelton’s discovery was the first supernova visible to the naked eye in almost 200 years. It was called "SuperNova 1987A Shelton," and for the several months that it lasted, it was among the most studied phenomena in the night sky.

"Growing up in Winnipeg, we had lots of dark sky-it was always in your face, and I was curious about it. Then we got a small telescope as a gift from an aunt. With that telescope, I got my first view of Saturn. That got me hooked, and it just snowballed from there.

"I like studying the oldest objects in the universe. I do this by looking at individual stars and things that are close by. Stars seem to be real places-you c Read More
Dr. Ian Shelton was raised in Winnipeg, Canada. In 1987, while he was working at an observatory in Las Companas, Chile, he developed a photograph of the Tarantula Nebula and saw something unusual in the picture. He and several others went outside to check, and they saw a shining light in the Large Magellanic Cloud (the galaxy that encompasses the Tarantula Nebula) that wasn’t there before. It was a supernova-a giant star that blew itself apart at the end of its life.

Dr Shelton’s discovery was the first supernova visible to the naked eye in almost 200 years. It was called "SuperNova 1987A Shelton," and for the several months that it lasted, it was among the most studied phenomena in the night sky.

"Growing up in Winnipeg, we had lots of dark sky-it was always in your face, and I was curious about it. Then we got a small telescope as a gift from an aunt. With that telescope, I got my first view of Saturn. That got me hooked, and it just snowballed from there.

"I like studying the oldest objects in the universe. I do this by looking at individual stars and things that are close by. Stars seem to be real places-you can put a name to them and everybody can see them.

"My advice to anyone who is curious about astronomy is to start with a good pair of binoculars. They’ll give you far more detail than if you spent the same amount of money on a telescope."

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Supernova 1987A

Dr. Ian Shelton discovered Supernova 1987A, located in the large Magellanic Cloud.

NASA

© NASA


It takes a big team to run the eight-metre Gemini North telescope in Hawaii. Visit the control room of Gemini North, where you’ll meet the people who run the telescope and learn what they do.

It takes a big team to run the eight-metre Gemini North telescope in Hawaii. Visit the control room of Gemini North, where you’ll meet the people who run the telescope and learn what they do.

© Canadian Heritage Information Network 2003

Flash Video

This is a quick time VR movie in which you can move around within.

Flash Movie

The image above shows the Gemini North Sea-Level Control Room in Hilo Hawaii. This is a quick time VR movie in which you can move around within.

Several of the people in the scene are also linked and if you click on them you will go to a short interview and learn what they do and how Gemini operates./n/nClick to go to a short interview and learn what they do and how Gemini operates.

Isobel Hook
My name is Isobel Hook. And I am an astronomer from the United Kingdom visiting Hawaii for about a year to learn as much as I can on the Gemini telescopes. The reason for being here is to work with one of the instruments which is built in the United Kingdom and in Canada. This is the first optical instrument to be put on the Gemini telescopes and it works like a giant digital camera. The sensitivity of this instrument combined with the superb sharp images that the telescope produces and the excellent observing conditions on Mauna Kea allow astronomers to see far more details on distant objects that was possible ever before.

John Hamilton
Hi, I am John Hamilton one of the systems support associate here at Gemini Observatory. My main job at night is to operate the facility and the telescope in a manner such as the astronomer can collect the best possible data. One of the ways we do this, is each night we have to tune the primary mirror. At Gemini, the primary mirror is eight metres in diameter but compared to other telescopes it is very thin and flexible. Mounted behind the primary mirror are hydraulic actuators which can actually bend the primary mirror in very small sized steps. This effect sharpens the image of the star. When this is all done, we are ready to start observations for the night. It is then that the astronomers tells me what objects that they would like to go to and off we go.

Dolores
I am Dolores. I am a system support associate. I run the telescope on behalf of the astronomers and the engineers and I also prepare the telescope for night time operations. I do a safety walk around the telescope and then I open up the shutters. And when all of that is done I go into the Control Room and I start the night time observations. I ask the astronomers where they want to point the telescope they give the coordinates, I put those coordinates into the software and the telescope points at that part of the sky. And when that is done, we collect the data and we give that data to the astronomers to take away with them. I also do all the scheduling for all the system support associates and when there is time left, I do a little bit of science as well. My favourite science is star forming regions because it is really great fun to look at stars that are just being born.

Colin Aspin
Hi my name is Colin Aspin. I am a Gemini Scientist. I work here in Hawaii at the Gemini North Operation Center. I assist many of the visiting Astronomers who come to our Island to use our telescope. They come from all over the world and arrive knowing not very much about how we operate our systems. I look after them and make sure they get the best possible data from the telescope.

Canadian Heritage Information Network

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003


(DAO)

Hear about the building of the telescope.

Video

Almost as soon as the telescope had recorded its first spectrogram astronomers at DAO began establishing research landmarks. A comprehensive survey of pairs of stars in orbit around each other vastly expanded our knowledge of their sizes, temperatures and masses through study of their gravitational effects on each other. Discovery of the most massive binary star, and the most massive star known. Determination of the size and mass of the Milky Way galaxy, the beautiful system of stars, dust and gas which is home to our very own star, the sun, and its planets. Revelation of the two hundred and twenty million year orbit we follow above the center of the galaxy. Demonstration that matter is widely distributed between the stars, a fact that made us reconsider the true size of the galaxy. Discovery of the first molecules in interstellar space, including organic molecules that are central to life, and measurement of the temperature of inter-stellar space, warmed by heat left over from the birth of the universe some fifteen billion years ago.

Canadian Heritage Information Network

© Canadian Heritage Information Network 2003


Astronomy student and Guide at Sydney Observatory

"I’m currently in my final year of a bachelor of science degree (astronomy and astrophysics) at Macquarie University. My main interests are black holes, active galactic nuclei (including quasars), gravitational lensing and cosmology-the study of the birth and evolution of the universe. I hope to have a career in astrophysics working at the Anglo-Australian Observatory, after the completion of my PhD."

"Working at the Observatory has been great for me, as it has put me in contact with many people with similar interests as well as professional astronomers. I get to work with lots of people and talk to them about my favourite subject-the universe."
Astronomy student and Guide at Sydney Observatory

"I’m currently in my final year of a bachelor of science degree (astronomy and astrophysics) at Macquarie University. My main interests are black holes, active galactic nuclei (including quasars), gravitational lensing and cosmology-the study of the birth and evolution of the universe. I hope to have a career in astrophysics working at the Anglo-Australian Observatory, after the completion of my PhD."

"Working at the Observatory has been great for me, as it has put me in contact with many people with similar interests as well as professional astronomers. I get to work with lots of people and talk to them about my favourite subject-the universe."

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Richard Lane

Astronomy student and Guide at Sydney Observatory.

Powerhouse Museum

Sydney, AUSTRALIA
© Powerhouse Museum


Astronomy student and Guide at Sydney Observatory

"I am currently completing a masters degree in astronomy and astrophysics at the University of New South Wales. My main area of research relates to planetary nebulae-old stars that have shed their outer layers. I have also researched comets and comet impacts, including the impact of Comet Shoemaker-Levy 9 with Jupiter in July 1994. I especially enjoy astrophotography and like nothing better than to venture out under the stars with a few friends and photograph the night sky."

"I love working at the Observatory as astronomy is an exciting and ever-changing subject, and I really enjoy bringing the wonders of the night sky to interested people."
Astronomy student and Guide at Sydney Observatory

"I am currently completing a masters degree in astronomy and astrophysics at the University of New South Wales. My main area of research relates to planetary nebulae-old stars that have shed their outer layers. I have also researched comets and comet impacts, including the impact of Comet Shoemaker-Levy 9 with Jupiter in July 1994. I especially enjoy astrophotography and like nothing better than to venture out under the stars with a few friends and photograph the night sky."

"I love working at the Observatory as astronomy is an exciting and ever-changing subject, and I really enjoy bringing the wonders of the night sky to interested people."

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Melissa Hulbert

Astronomy student and Guide at Sydney Observatory Melissa Hulbert.

Powerhouse Museum

Sydney, AUSTRALIA
© Powerhouse Museum


Astronomer, former Guide at Sydney Observatory and Young Australian of the Year 1999

"I first got interested in astronomy by looking at the planets and constellations through a small telescope. During the time I worked at the Observatory, the thing I enjoyed most was showing other people the same things that got me into astronomy all those years ago."

"My main job as an astronomer today is to make observations of distant objects and then to use these observations to understand more about how the universe works. In particular, my goals are to understand the huge explosions produced when stars die, and to study the collapsed cinders left behind. To make my measurements and observations, I use telescopes in Parkes and Narrabri, in Chile and in the USA, and even telescopes up in space."
Astronomer, former Guide at Sydney Observatory and Young Australian of the Year 1999

"I first got interested in astronomy by looking at the planets and constellations through a small telescope. During the time I worked at the Observatory, the thing I enjoyed most was showing other people the same things that got me into astronomy all those years ago."

"My main job as an astronomer today is to make observations of distant objects and then to use these observations to understand more about how the universe works. In particular, my goals are to understand the huge explosions produced when stars die, and to study the collapsed cinders left behind. To make my measurements and observations, I use telescopes in Parkes and Narrabri, in Chile and in the USA, and even telescopes up in space."

© Canadian Heritage Information Network, 2003

Bryan Gaensler

Astronomer, former Guide at Sydney Observatory and Young Australian of the Year 1999, Bryan Gaensler.

Powerhouse Museum

Sydney, AUSTRALIA
© Powerhouse Museum


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Identify a range of astronomy careers
  • Describe the activities of astronomy students and professionals

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le ciel a une signification particulière pour de nombreuses personnes, depuis l’astronome qui cherche à comprendre les mystères de l’Univers jusqu’aux peuples autochtones qui utilisent les étoiles comme guides dans la vie quotidienne. L’astronomie est une discipline fascinante qui attire de nombreux étudiants intéressés par les mathématiques, les sciences (en particulier la physique) ou l’informatique. Rencontrez les gens qui étudient les étoiles et apprenez pourquoi l’astronomie est importante pour elles. Renseignez-vous sur quelques astronomes qui travaillent aujourd’hui dans les observatoires ainsi que sur ce qu’ils font.
Le ciel a une signification particulière pour de nombreuses personnes, depuis l’astronome qui cherche à comprendre les mystères de l’Univers jusqu’aux peuples autochtones qui utilisent les étoiles comme guides dans la vie quotidienne. L’astronomie est une discipline fascinante qui attire de nombreux étudiants intéressés par les mathématiques, les sciences (en particulier la physique) ou l’informatique. Rencontrez les gens qui étudient les étoiles et apprenez pourquoi l’astronomie est importante pour elles. Renseignez-vous sur quelques astronomes qui travaillent aujourd’hui dans les observatoires ainsi que sur ce qu’ils font.

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Raylee Stathakis est astronome à l’Observatoire anglo-australien et a déjà été guide et conférencière à l’Observatoire de Sydney, en Australie. Pour sa thèse de doctorat, elle a étudié les restes de l’étoile qui a explosé dans le Grand Nuage de Magellan en février 1987.

Raylee Stathakis est astronome à l’Observatoire anglo-australien et a déjà été guide et conférencière à l’Observatoire de Sydney, en Australie. Pour sa thèse de doctorat, elle a étudié les restes de l’étoile qui a explosé dans le Grand Nuage de Magellan en février 1987.

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Raylee Stathakis, Ph. D

Raylee Stathakis, Ph. D.

Zoltan Nemes-Nemeth

© Powerhouse Museum


Raylee Stathakis présente son travail d'astronome au télescope de l'Observatoire anglo-australien, situé à Siding Spring (Nouvelle-Galles du Sud), en Australie.

Le télescope anglo-australien est situé dans la belle chaîne des Warrumbungles. Avec un miroir de près de quatre mètres de diamètre, c’est l’un des plus gros télescopes optiques au monde et le plus gros en Australie. Des astronomes de Grande-Bretagne, d’Australie et de nombreux autres pays viennent faire des observations avec notre télescope. La profession d’astronome est bien différente aujourd’hui de ce qu’elle était du temps de Henry Russell. Nous n’avons plus besoin de rester dans un dôme froid et d’avoir l’œil rivé sur l’objectif. Nous sommes assis en face d’ordinateurs, dans une pièce climatisée, et nous laissons des détecteurs beaucoup plus sensibles que l’œil humain capter la lumière des objets que nous observons. Nous pouvons obtenir beaucoup plus que des photographies de ces objets. Nous pouvons décomposer leur lumière et obtenir leur spectre qui nous renseigne bien davantage à leur sujet.

Zoltan Nemes-Nemeth

© Powerhouse Museum


Wendy Freedman est directrice des observatoires Carnegie à Pasadena, en Californie. Elle a grandi en Ontario, au Canada, et a étudié la physique et l’astronomie à l’université. Elle a également étudié aux États-Unis et a utilisé certains des plus gros et des meilleurs télescopes au monde, dont le télescope Canada-France-Hawaii situé au sommet du volcan éteint Mauna Kea à Hawaii. Elle se sert maintenant du télescope le plus fabuleux de tous, le télescope spatial Hubble.

Wendy Freedman s’intéresse entre autres à la mesure de la constante de Hubble, qui donne le rythme d’expansion de l’Univers. Si nous connaissons le rythme d’expansion de l’Univers, cela nous aidera à déterminer avec plus de précision son âge.

« Je m’intéresse à l’astronomie depuis mon plus jeune âge. Dans le nord de l’Ontario, où j’ai grandi, c’est le ciel noir qui m’a tout d’abord fascinée. L’époque Pour en lire plus
Wendy Freedman est directrice des observatoires Carnegie à Pasadena, en Californie. Elle a grandi en Ontario, au Canada, et a étudié la physique et l’astronomie à l’université. Elle a également étudié aux États-Unis et a utilisé certains des plus gros et des meilleurs télescopes au monde, dont le télescope Canada-France-Hawaii situé au sommet du volcan éteint Mauna Kea à Hawaii. Elle se sert maintenant du télescope le plus fabuleux de tous, le télescope spatial Hubble.

Wendy Freedman s’intéresse entre autres à la mesure de la constante de Hubble, qui donne le rythme d’expansion de l’Univers. Si nous connaissons le rythme d’expansion de l’Univers, cela nous aidera à déterminer avec plus de précision son âge.

« Je m’intéresse à l’astronomie depuis mon plus jeune âge. Dans le nord de l’Ontario, où j’ai grandi, c’est le ciel noir qui m’a tout d’abord fascinée. L’époque actuelle est particulièrement intéressante pour les astronomes parce que nous apprenons sur l’Univers des choses que nous n’aurions jamais imaginées - et de nouveaux mystères font leur apparition. C’est un domaine vraiment passionnant.

« Je fais quelque chose que j’aime, et c’est le conseil que je donnerais à tous : trouvez quelque chose que vous aimez et poursuivez dans cette direction car rien n’est plus satisfaisant. »

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Wendy Freedman, Ph. D.

Wendy Freedman, Ph. D.

Le Musée du Manitoba

© Le Musée du Manitoba


Ian Shelton a grandi à Winnipeg, au Canada. En 1987, alors qu’il travaillait à Las Companas, au Chili, il développa une photographie de la nébuleuse de la Tarentule et vit dans la photo quelque chose d’inhabituel. Lui et plusieurs autres allèrent dehors pour vérifier, et ils virent dans le Grand Nuage de Magellan (la galaxie dans laquelle est située la nébuleuse de la Tarentule) une lumière qui n’y était pas auparavant. C’était une supernova - une étoile géante qui explosait à la fin de sa vie.

La découverte de Ian Shelton était la première supernova visible à l’oeil nu depuis presque 200 ans. On l’a baptisée SuperNova 1987A Shelton, et pendant les quelques mois de son existence, elle fut l’un des phénomènes célestes les plus étudiés.

« À Winnipeg, pendant mon enfance, le ciel était souvent très noir - il était constamment là et piquait ma curiosité. Un jour, une tante nous a offert un télescope e Pour en lire plus
Ian Shelton a grandi à Winnipeg, au Canada. En 1987, alors qu’il travaillait à Las Companas, au Chili, il développa une photographie de la nébuleuse de la Tarentule et vit dans la photo quelque chose d’inhabituel. Lui et plusieurs autres allèrent dehors pour vérifier, et ils virent dans le Grand Nuage de Magellan (la galaxie dans laquelle est située la nébuleuse de la Tarentule) une lumière qui n’y était pas auparavant. C’était une supernova - une étoile géante qui explosait à la fin de sa vie.

La découverte de Ian Shelton était la première supernova visible à l’oeil nu depuis presque 200 ans. On l’a baptisée SuperNova 1987A Shelton, et pendant les quelques mois de son existence, elle fut l’un des phénomènes célestes les plus étudiés.

« À Winnipeg, pendant mon enfance, le ciel était souvent très noir - il était constamment là et piquait ma curiosité. Un jour, une tante nous a offert un télescope en cadeau. Avec ce télescope, j’ai vu Saturne pour la première fois. J’ai eu la piqûre et ma passion n’a fait qu’augmenter depuis.

« J’aime étudier les objets les plus anciens de l’Univers. Pour cela, j’observe les étoiles et ce qui les entoure. Les étoiles sont de véritables lieux - on peut les nommer et tout le monde peut les voir.

« Mon conseil à toute personne qui s’intéresse à l’astronomie est de commencer avec une bonne paire de jumelles. Elles permettent de voir beaucoup plus de détails qu’un télescope qui coûte le même prix. »

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Supernova 1987A

Ian Shelton a découvert la supernova 1987A située dans le Grand nuage de Magellan

NASA

© NASA


Il faut une grosse équipe pour faire fonctionner le télescope de l’Observatoire Gemini Nord à Hawaii. Visitez la salle de contrôle de l’observatoire. Vous y rencontrerez les personnes qui font fonctionner le télescope et vous vous renseignerez sur ce qu’elles font.

Il faut une grosse équipe pour faire fonctionner le télescope de l’Observatoire Gemini Nord à Hawaii. Visitez la salle de contrôle de l’observatoire. Vous y rencontrerez les personnes qui font fonctionner le télescope et vous vous renseignerez sur ce qu’elles font.

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine 2003

Vidéo flash

C’est une séquence QuickTime de réalité virtuelle à l’intérieur de laquelle tu peux te déplacer.

Vidéo

L’image ci-dessus montre la salle de contrôle du télescope Gemini Nord. Cette salle est située au niveau de la mer, à Hilo, Hawaii. C’est une séquence QuickTime de réalité virtuelle à l’intérieur de laquelle tu peux te déplacer.

Un hyperlien est associé à plusieurs personnes de cette scène. Clique dessus pour écouter une brève entrevue avec ces personnes, afin d’en savoir davantage sur leur travail et sur le fonctionnement de Gemini.

Clique pour écouter une brève entrevue, afin d’en savoir davantage sur le travail de ces personnes et sur le fonctionnement de Gemini.

Isobel Hook
Je m’appelle Isobel Hook et je suis une astronome du Royaume-Uni. Je suis à Hawaii pour environ un an afin d’en apprendre le plus possible sur les télescopes Gemini. Je suis venue travailler avec un instrument fabriqué au Royaume-Uni et au Canada. C’est le premier instrument optique ajouté aux télescopes Gemini. Il fonctionne comme un appareil photographique numérique géant. Grâce à la sensibilité de cet instrument, aux images très nettes produites par le télescope et aux excellentes conditions d’observation à Mauna Kea, les astronomes peuvent voir des objets éloignés avec beaucoup plus de détails qu’auparavant.

John Hamilton
Bonjour. Je m’appelle John Hamilton et je suis l’un des agents de soutien système ici, à l’Observatoire Gemini. La nuit, ma principale tâche est de faire fonctionner les installations et le télescope de manière à ce que les astronomes puissent obtenir les meilleures données possibles. Pour cela, il faut entre autres régler chaque soir le miroir principal. À Gemini, le miroir principal a un diamètre de huit mètres mais, comparé à celui d’autres télescopes, il est très mince et souple. Derrière le miroir principal, il y a des vérins hydrauliques capables de déformer très légèrement le miroir principal de manière à rendre l’image de l’étoile plus nette. Lorsque ce réglage est terminé, nous sommes prêts à commencer les observations pour la nuit. C’est à ce moment-là que les astronomes me disent quels objets célestes ils voudraient explorer, et nous y allons.

Dolores
Je m’appelle Dolores. Je suis agente de soutien système. Je fais fonctionner le télescope pour les astronomes et les ingénieurs. Je prépare aussi le télescope pour les observations nocturnes. Je fais une ronde de sécurité autour du télescope, puis j’ouvre les volets. Ensuite, je vais dans la salle de contrôle et je commence les observations de nuit. Je demande aux astronomes où ils veulent pointer le télescope. Ils me donnent les coordonnées, je les introduis dans le logiciel, et le télescope pointe vers l’endroit voulu dans le ciel. Ensuite, nous recueillons les données et nous les remettons aux astronomes qui les emportent avec eux. Je prépare l’horaire de tous les agents de soutien système. S’il me reste du temps, je fais aussi un peu de recherche. Je m’intéresse surtout aux régions où se forment des étoiles car c’est vraiment passionnant de voir des étoiles qui viennent de naître.

Colin Aspin
Bonjour. Je m’appelle Colin Aspin. Je suis scientifique à l’Observatoire Gemini. Je travaille ici, à Hawaii, au Centre des opérations de Gemini Nord. J’assiste de nombreux astronomes visiteurs qui viennent à Hawaii de partout dans le monde pour utiliser notre télescope mais qui ne connaissent pas très bien le fonctionnement de nos systèmes. Je m’occupe d’eux et veille à ce qu’ils obtiennent les meilleures données possibles grâce à notre télescope.

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003


(OFA)

Pour en savoir plus sur la construction du télescope.

Vidéo

À l’Observatoire fédéral d’astrophysique (OFA) du Conseil national de recherches du Canada, nous combinons la science et l’imagination, la technologie et l’inspiration. Pour savoir qui nous sommes vraiment. Pour essayer de déterminer notre place dans l’Univers et, du coup, découvrir la véritable nature de cet univers. Nous contemplons les étoiles, nous explorons l’Univers avec nos yeux et nos oreilles, des lentilles et des miroirs, des spectromètres et des ordinateurs. Et nous faisons cela depuis trois-quarts de siècle.

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine 2003


Étudiant en astronomie et guide à l’Observatoire de Sydney

« Je suis actuellement en dernière année d’un baccalauréat en sciences (astronomie et astrophysique) à l’Université Macquarie. Je m’intéresse principalement aux trous noirs, aux noyaux galactiques actifs (y compris les quasars), à la courbure gravitationnelle et à la cosmologie - l’étude de la naissace et de l’évolution de l’Univers. Lorsque j’aurai terminé mon doctorat, j’espère pouvoir faire carrière en astrophysique et travailler à l’Observatoire anglo-australien.

« J’aime beaucoup travailler à l’Observatoire, car cela me permet de rencontrer de nombreuses personnes qui ont les mêmes intérêts que moi, de même que des astronomes professionnels. J’ai l’occasion de travailler avec beaucoup de gens et de leur parler de mon sujet favori - l’Univers. »
Étudiant en astronomie et guide à l’Observatoire de Sydney

« Je suis actuellement en dernière année d’un baccalauréat en sciences (astronomie et astrophysique) à l’Université Macquarie. Je m’intéresse principalement aux trous noirs, aux noyaux galactiques actifs (y compris les quasars), à la courbure gravitationnelle et à la cosmologie - l’étude de la naissace et de l’évolution de l’Univers. Lorsque j’aurai terminé mon doctorat, j’espère pouvoir faire carrière en astrophysique et travailler à l’Observatoire anglo-australien.

« J’aime beaucoup travailler à l’Observatoire, car cela me permet de rencontrer de nombreuses personnes qui ont les mêmes intérêts que moi, de même que des astronomes professionnels. J’ai l’occasion de travailler avec beaucoup de gens et de leur parler de mon sujet favori - l’Univers. »

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Richard Lane

Étudiant en astronomie et guide à l'Observatoire de Sydney.

Powerhouse Museum

Sydney, AUSTRALIE
© Powerhouse Museum


Étudiante en astronomie et guide à l’Observatoire de Sydney

« Je termine actuellement une maîtrise en astronomie et en astrophysique à l’Université de la Nouvelle-Galles du Sud. Mon principal domaine de recherche a trait aux nébuleuses planétaires - d’anciennes étoiles qui ont perdu leur enveloppe extérieure. J’ai également fait des recherches sur les comètes et les impacts de comète, notamment la collision de la comète Shoemaker-Levy 9 avec Jupiter en juillet 1994. J’aime particulièrement l’astrophotographie. Mon activité favorite consiste à me promener la nuit avec quelques amis et à photographier le ciel.

« J’aime travailler à l’Observatoire, car l’astronomie est un domaine passionnant et en constante évolution, et j’aime vraiment faire découvrir les merveilles du ciel nocturne aux personnes intéressées. »
Étudiante en astronomie et guide à l’Observatoire de Sydney

« Je termine actuellement une maîtrise en astronomie et en astrophysique à l’Université de la Nouvelle-Galles du Sud. Mon principal domaine de recherche a trait aux nébuleuses planétaires - d’anciennes étoiles qui ont perdu leur enveloppe extérieure. J’ai également fait des recherches sur les comètes et les impacts de comète, notamment la collision de la comète Shoemaker-Levy 9 avec Jupiter en juillet 1994. J’aime particulièrement l’astrophotographie. Mon activité favorite consiste à me promener la nuit avec quelques amis et à photographier le ciel.

« J’aime travailler à l’Observatoire, car l’astronomie est un domaine passionnant et en constante évolution, et j’aime vraiment faire découvrir les merveilles du ciel nocturne aux personnes intéressées. »

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Melissa Hulbert

Étudiante en astronomie et guide à l'Observatoire de Sydney Melissa Hulbert.

Powerhouse Museum

Sydney, AUSTRALIE
© Powerhouse Museum


Astronome, ancien guide à l'Observatoire de Sydney et Jeune Austalien de l'année 1999.

« Mon intérêt pour l’astronomie est né de l’observation des planètes et des constellations avec un petit télescope. Lorsque je travaillais à l’Observatoire, ce que j’aimais le plus, c’était de montrer à d’autres les choses qui m’avaient amené moi-même à l’astronomie il y a plusieurs années. »

« Aujourd’hui, ma principale tâche en tant qu’astronome consiste à observer des objets éloignés, puis à utiliser ces observations pour mieux comprendre le fonctionnement de l’Univers. En particulier, je cherche à comprendre les énormes explosions qui se produisent lorsque des étoiles meurent et j’étudie ce qui en reste. Pour faire mes mesures et mes observations, j’utilise des télescopes situés à Parkes et à Narrabri, en Australie, ainsi qu’au Chili et aux États-Unis, et même des té Pour en lire plus
Astronome, ancien guide à l'Observatoire de Sydney et Jeune Austalien de l'année 1999.

« Mon intérêt pour l’astronomie est né de l’observation des planètes et des constellations avec un petit télescope. Lorsque je travaillais à l’Observatoire, ce que j’aimais le plus, c’était de montrer à d’autres les choses qui m’avaient amené moi-même à l’astronomie il y a plusieurs années. »

« Aujourd’hui, ma principale tâche en tant qu’astronome consiste à observer des objets éloignés, puis à utiliser ces observations pour mieux comprendre le fonctionnement de l’Univers. En particulier, je cherche à comprendre les énormes explosions qui se produisent lorsque des étoiles meurent et j’étudie ce qui en reste. Pour faire mes mesures et mes observations, j’utilise des télescopes situés à Parkes et à Narrabri, en Australie, ainsi qu’au Chili et aux États-Unis, et même des télescopes spatiaux. »

© Le Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, 2003

Bryan Gaensler

Astronome, ancien guide à l'Observatoire de Sydney et jeune Australien de l'année en 1999, Bryan Gaensler.

Musée Powerhouse

Sydney, AUSTRALIE
© Musée Powerhouse


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • expliquer une gamme de carrières en astronomie;
  • décrire les activités des étudiants et des professionnels du domaine de l’astronomie.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons