When Toronto Maple Leafs owner Conn Smythe announced plans to build a new hockey arena in the midst of the Great Depression, many laughed. The doubters were silenced, however, when the grand building was completed just five and a half months after its June 1st, 1931 start date. The first hockey game in the building saw the Toronto Maple Leafs host the Chicago Black Hawks in a game they lost. The first season in the building was a great success on and off the ice and culminated with the Toronto Maple Leafs winning their first Stanley Cup championship.

The building, designed by the same architects who were responsible for two other Toronto landmarks, the Royal York Hotel and Union Station, quickly became a Toronto icon. Over the years, the Leafs won ten more Stanley Cups, eight of which were won on the ice at Maple Leaf Gardens. It was at the Gardens where Darryl Sittler, the former Leaf captain, scored an unmatched ten points in a game versus the Bruins. Gardens was the site of Foster Hewitt’s first nation-wide hockey radio broadcast in 1933 from his famous gondola. The Maple Leaf Gardens hosted then-princess and current Queen Elizabeth for an exhibition hockey ga Read More
When Toronto Maple Leafs owner Conn Smythe announced plans to build a new hockey arena in the midst of the Great Depression, many laughed. The doubters were silenced, however, when the grand building was completed just five and a half months after its June 1st, 1931 start date. The first hockey game in the building saw the Toronto Maple Leafs host the Chicago Black Hawks in a game they lost. The first season in the building was a great success on and off the ice and culminated with the Toronto Maple Leafs winning their first Stanley Cup championship.

The building, designed by the same architects who were responsible for two other Toronto landmarks, the Royal York Hotel and Union Station, quickly became a Toronto icon. Over the years, the Leafs won ten more Stanley Cups, eight of which were won on the ice at Maple Leaf Gardens. It was at the Gardens where Darryl Sittler, the former Leaf captain, scored an unmatched ten points in a game versus the Bruins. Gardens was the site of Foster Hewitt’s first nation-wide hockey radio broadcast in 1933 from his famous gondola. The Maple Leaf Gardens hosted then-princess and current Queen Elizabeth for an exhibition hockey game and has been home to many memories, many records, and many dreams.

On February 13th, 1999 the Gardens shut its doors to NHL hockey the same way it began, with a loss to the Blackhawks. The result of the game was insignificant when compared to the emotional post-game ceremony. Hundreds of former Leafs took to the ice for a final farewell, with the crowd on their feet for the last time, applauding their heroes and cheering the building that they had called home for sixty-seven years.

Maple Leaf Gardens continued to be a hockey building after the Leafs moved on to the shiny new Air Canada Centre, becoming the home of the St. Michael’s Majors of the Ontario Hockey League until ’99-00.


© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Maple Leafs Gardens

Maple Leafs Gardens

CHIN

© Hockey Hall of Fame


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Investigate the role that hockey plays in Canada’s national identity
  • Explore the history of hockey in Canada
  • Investigate how the evolution of hockey equipment used by Canadian hockey players improved the quality and safety of the game.
  • Explore the evolution of the rules of hockey in Canada
  • Identify significant people involved in hockey in Canada
  • Identify historically significant arenas and rinks in Canada
  • Describe the involvement over time of Aboriginal peoples in hockey

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Lorsque le propriétaire des Maple Leafs de Toronto, Conn Smythe, annonça son intention de construire une nouvelle patinoire au moment où sévissait la Crise, plusieurs personnes se sont moquées de lui. Or, il eut raisons des sceptiques lorsque le grand édifice fut terminé, cinq mois et demi après le début des travaux le 1er juin 1931. Les Maple Leafs de Toronto essuyèrent un revers contre les Black Hawks de Chicago au cours du premier match disputé dans l’amphithéâtre. La première saison de hockey au Gardens remporta un énorme succès couronné par la victoire des Maple Leafs, qui gagnèrent leur première Coupe Stanley.

Cet amphithéâtre, conçu par les mêmes architectes qui dessinèrent les plans des prestigieux édifices de Toronto, l’hôtel Royal York et la gare Union, est rapidement devenu un symbole dans la ville. Au fil des ans, les Leafs ont remporté dix autres Coupes Stanley, dont huit chez eux. C’est au Maple Leafs Gardens que Darryl Sittler, ancien capi Pour en lire plus
Lorsque le propriétaire des Maple Leafs de Toronto, Conn Smythe, annonça son intention de construire une nouvelle patinoire au moment où sévissait la Crise, plusieurs personnes se sont moquées de lui. Or, il eut raisons des sceptiques lorsque le grand édifice fut terminé, cinq mois et demi après le début des travaux le 1er juin 1931. Les Maple Leafs de Toronto essuyèrent un revers contre les Black Hawks de Chicago au cours du premier match disputé dans l’amphithéâtre. La première saison de hockey au Gardens remporta un énorme succès couronné par la victoire des Maple Leafs, qui gagnèrent leur première Coupe Stanley.

Cet amphithéâtre, conçu par les mêmes architectes qui dessinèrent les plans des prestigieux édifices de Toronto, l’hôtel Royal York et la gare Union, est rapidement devenu un symbole dans la ville. Au fil des ans, les Leafs ont remporté dix autres Coupes Stanley, dont huit chez eux. C’est au Maple Leafs Gardens que Darryl Sittler, ancien capitaine des Leafs, a compté dix points, dont six buts, lors d’un match contre les Bruins. Personne n’a jamais égalé son record. C’est aussi au Gardens que Foster Hewitt a radiodiffusé, à l’échelle nationale, la première description d’un match de hockey en 1933, à partir de sa fameuse petite télécabine improvisée. Le Maple Leaf Gardens eut droit aux honneurs de la reine Elizabeth, princesse à l’époque, lors d’un match hors concours. Cet amphithéâtre qui a laissé d’innombrables souvenirs, a vu s’établir de nombreux records et a nourri des milliers de rêves.

Le 13 février 1999, le Gardens a fermé ses portes au hockey de la LNH, affichant le même résultat que celui du match d’ouverture : un revers contre les Black Hawks. L’issue de la rencontre était toutefois sans importance. La cérémonie d’après-match allait en effet retenir toute l’attention. Une centaine d’anciens joueurs des Leafs ont pris place sur la patinoire pour un dernier adieu, et la foule, debout pour une dernière fois, salua ses héros ainsi que cet amphithéâtre qui leur donna rendez-vous pendant 67 ans.


Le Maple Leaf Gardens est demeuré un édifice pour le hockey à la suite du déménagement des Leafs dans le splendide et nouveau Centre Air Canada. Le Gardens est devenu le domicile des St. Michael’s Majors de la Ligue de hockey de l’Ontario jusqu’en 1999-2000.


© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Le Maple Leaf Gardens

Le Maple Leaf Gardens

RCIP

© Temple de la renommée du hockey


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • étudier le rôle que le hockey joue dans l’identité canadienne;
  • explorer l’histoire du hockey au Canada;
  • étudier l’évolution de l’équipement de hockey utilisé par les joueurs de hockey canadiens et comment celui-ci a amélioré la qualité et la sécurité du jeu;
  • explorer l’évolution des règlements du hockey au Canada;
  • être en mesure d’identifier les personnes importantes qui ont participé au hockey au Canada;
  • identifier les arénas et patinoires d’importance historique au Canada;
  • décrire la participation des peuples autochtones dans le hockey au fil du temps.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons