The Victoria Skating Rink, built in Montreal in 1862, won its place in history of great hockey buildings for a very simple feat: hosting the first organized hockey game indoors. James Creighton, a native Nova Scotian, came to Montreal and brought the great game of hockey with him. Upon arriving in Montreal, he befriended many avid sportsmen, some of them students at McGill College, and he felt they would enjoy the game from his native province. With the co-operation of the management of the Victoria Skating Rink, Creighton planned the first indoor version of a hockey game that was played on March 3rd 1875.

The Victoria Skating Rink, built in Montreal in 1862, won its place in history of great hockey buildings for a very simple feat: hosting the first organized hockey game indoors. James Creighton, a native Nova Scotian, came to Montreal and brought the great game of hockey with him. Upon arriving in Montreal, he befriended many avid sportsmen, some of them students at McGill College, and he felt they would enjoy the game from his native province. With the co-operation of the management of the Victoria Skating Rink, Creighton planned the first indoor version of a hockey game that was played on March 3rd 1875.

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Victoria Skating Rink

The Victoria Skating Rink.

CHIN

© Hockey Hall of Fame


The Auditorium in Ottawa, built on O’Connor Street, opened its doors for the first time on December 1st, 1923 hosting a hockey game featuring the buildings’ main tenants, the defending Stanley Cup Champion Ottawa Senators. Make no mistake, this modern 10,000 seat building was built primarily as the home for what was then hockey’s greatest team. On that opening night the Senators iced legends like "King" Clancy, Frank Nighbor, Cy Denneny and Clint Benedict. While the Senators were the class of the league in the 1920’s, they ran into financial trouble in the early ’30’s. After suspending operations for a year, they were still in trouble and returned to the NHL, eventually transferring to St. Louis. After the departure of the Senators, the Auditorium became home to many other hockey clubs. Its existence spanned an era where three different Ottawa clubs captured the Allan Cup. The rink was also home to a new Senators club, this time participating in inter-city play in the Montreal Senior Group which later became the Quebec League.

It seems fitting that the Ottawa Auditorium, home to one of the greatest teams of the NHL’s Read More
The Auditorium in Ottawa, built on O’Connor Street, opened its doors for the first time on December 1st, 1923 hosting a hockey game featuring the buildings’ main tenants, the defending Stanley Cup Champion Ottawa Senators. Make no mistake, this modern 10,000 seat building was built primarily as the home for what was then hockey’s greatest team. On that opening night the Senators iced legends like "King" Clancy, Frank Nighbor, Cy Denneny and Clint Benedict. While the Senators were the class of the league in the 1920’s, they ran into financial trouble in the early ’30’s. After suspending operations for a year, they were still in trouble and returned to the NHL, eventually transferring to St. Louis. After the departure of the Senators, the Auditorium became home to many other hockey clubs. Its existence spanned an era where three different Ottawa clubs captured the Allan Cup. The rink was also home to a new Senators club, this time participating in inter-city play in the Montreal Senior Group which later became the Quebec League.

It seems fitting that the Ottawa Auditorium, home to one of the greatest teams of the NHL’s early glory days, closed in 1967, the same year the NHL expanded and began what is commonly referred to as the modern era of the league.

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Ottawa Auditorium

Drawing of the Ottawa Auditorium taken from the Senators official program for a match versus Boston on February 28th, 1929.

CHIN

© Hockey Hall of Fame


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Investigate the role that hockey plays in Canada’s national identity
  • Explore the history of hockey in Canada
  • Investigate how the evolution of hockey equipment used by Canadian hockey players improved the quality and safety of the game.
  • Explore the evolution of the rules of hockey in Canada
  • Identify significant people involved in hockey in Canada
  • Identify historically significant arenas and rinks in Canada
  • Describe the involvement over time of Aboriginal peoples in hockey

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le Victoria Skating Rink, construit à Montréal en 1862, s’est taillé une place dans l’histoire des grands édifices de hockey parce que c’est sous son toit que se disputa le premier match de hockey intérieur. James Creighton, originaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse, est déménagé à Montréal, amenant avec lui le merveilleux sport du hockey. À son arrivée à Montréal, il se lia d’amitié avec des passionnés de ce sport, dont certains étudiants du collège McGill. Il crut en effet que ceux-ci aimeraient ce jeu qui provenait de sa province d’origine. Avec la collaboration de la direction du Victoria Skating Rink, Creighton organisa la première version d’un match de hockey intérieur, lequel fut présenté le 3 mars 1875.
Le Victoria Skating Rink, construit à Montréal en 1862, s’est taillé une place dans l’histoire des grands édifices de hockey parce que c’est sous son toit que se disputa le premier match de hockey intérieur. James Creighton, originaire de la Nouvelle-Écosse, est déménagé à Montréal, amenant avec lui le merveilleux sport du hockey. À son arrivée à Montréal, il se lia d’amitié avec des passionnés de ce sport, dont certains étudiants du collège McGill. Il crut en effet que ceux-ci aimeraient ce jeu qui provenait de sa province d’origine. Avec la collaboration de la direction du Victoria Skating Rink, Creighton organisa la première version d’un match de hockey intérieur, lequel fut présenté le 3 mars 1875.

© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Le Victoria Skating Rink

La patinoire Victoria Rink.

RCIP

© Temple de la renommée du hockey


L’Auditorium d’Ottawa, situé rue O’Connor, a ouvert ses portes le 1er décembre 1923, en présentant un match des principaux locataires de l’édifice, les Sénateurs d’Ottawa, également champions en titre de la Coupe Stanley. Qu’on ne s’y trompe pas, cet édifice moderne de 10 000 sièges a été construit principalement pour accueillir la plus grande équipe de hockey de l’époque. En cette soirée d’ouverture, les Sénateurs alignèrent les légendaires «King» Clancy, Frank Nighbor, Cy Denneny et Clint Benedict. Or, les Sénateurs, qui dominaient la Ligue dans les années 1920, connurent des ennuis financiers au début des années 1930. Après avoir interrompu leurs activités durant une année, et toujours en difficulté, ils sont néanmoins revenus à la LNH et ont finalement été cédés à la ville de Saint Louis. Après le départ des Sénateurs, l’Auditorium a accueilli de nombreux a Pour en lire plus
L’Auditorium d’Ottawa, situé rue O’Connor, a ouvert ses portes le 1er décembre 1923, en présentant un match des principaux locataires de l’édifice, les Sénateurs d’Ottawa, également champions en titre de la Coupe Stanley. Qu’on ne s’y trompe pas, cet édifice moderne de 10 000 sièges a été construit principalement pour accueillir la plus grande équipe de hockey de l’époque. En cette soirée d’ouverture, les Sénateurs alignèrent les légendaires «King» Clancy, Frank Nighbor, Cy Denneny et Clint Benedict. Or, les Sénateurs, qui dominaient la Ligue dans les années 1920, connurent des ennuis financiers au début des années 1930. Après avoir interrompu leurs activités durant une année, et toujours en difficulté, ils sont néanmoins revenus à la LNH et ont finalement été cédés à la ville de Saint Louis. Après le départ des Sénateurs, l’Auditorium a accueilli de nombreux autres clubs de hockey. Au cours de son règne, trois différentes équipes d’Ottawa ont remporté la Coupe Allan. L’aréna a aussi accueilli une nouvelle équipe des Sénateurs qui participa, cette fois-ci, aux compétitions interurbaines du Groupe senior de Montréal, lequel est devenu plus tard la Ligue senior du Québec.

L’Auditorium d’Ottawa, domicile de l’une des plus grandes équipes des premières années de gloire de la LNH, a fermé ses portes en 1967, l’année même où la LNH s’est agrandie et où commençait ce qu’on a appelé l’ère moderne de la Ligue.

© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

L'Auditorium d'Ottawa

Dessin de l'Auditorium d'Ottawa tiré du programme officiel des Sénators pour un match les opposant à Boston le 28 février 1929.

RCIP

© Temple de la renomée du hockey


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • étudier le rôle que le hockey joue dans l’identité canadienne;
  • explorer l’histoire du hockey au Canada;
  • étudier l’évolution de l’équipement de hockey utilisé par les joueurs de hockey canadiens et comment celui-ci a amélioré la qualité et la sécurité du jeu;
  • explorer l’évolution des règlements du hockey au Canada;
  • être en mesure d’identifier les personnes importantes qui ont participé au hockey au Canada;
  • identifier les arénas et patinoires d’importance historique au Canada;
  • décrire la participation des peuples autochtones dans le hockey au fil du temps.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons