The Windsor Arena was built to house the city’s Ontario Hockey Association club and opened in 1925. With seating for six thousand, it was the Biggest rink in the OHA loop. The next major tenant in the building came from just south of the border - the NHL’s Detroit Cougars, later known as the Red Wings. The Cougars had been transferred to Detroit in 1926 were supposed to play out of the brand new Olympia but building delays forced the owners to scramble for an alternate location. The new Windsor Arena, with three thousand additional seats added, was more then adequate. The Cougars intended to play just a handful of games at the Arena but slow construction meant that the Arena was home to the Detroit franchise for its entire inaugural season. When the NHL left, the Bulldogs moved in and later the Ontario Hockey League’s Windsor Spitfires followed suit. They continue to play out of the building.

The link to the Olympia continued when the Detroit building closed its doors following the 1979 season. The Windsor Arena is now home to the seats, front doors and sound system that previously were part of the Olympia.

While the exterior has been redo Read More
The Windsor Arena was built to house the city’s Ontario Hockey Association club and opened in 1925. With seating for six thousand, it was the Biggest rink in the OHA loop. The next major tenant in the building came from just south of the border - the NHL’s Detroit Cougars, later known as the Red Wings. The Cougars had been transferred to Detroit in 1926 were supposed to play out of the brand new Olympia but building delays forced the owners to scramble for an alternate location. The new Windsor Arena, with three thousand additional seats added, was more then adequate. The Cougars intended to play just a handful of games at the Arena but slow construction meant that the Arena was home to the Detroit franchise for its entire inaugural season. When the NHL left, the Bulldogs moved in and later the Ontario Hockey League’s Windsor Spitfires followed suit. They continue to play out of the building.

The link to the Olympia continued when the Detroit building closed its doors following the 1979 season. The Windsor Arena is now home to the seats, front doors and sound system that previously were part of the Olympia.

While the exterior has been redone a few times, the Windsor Arena is essentially the same rink it was when it opened in 1925 and it is currently one of the longest serving hockey buildings in Canada.

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Windsor Arena

The Windsor Arena.

CHIN

© Hockey Hall of Fame


The Galt Arena Gardens was built in the fall of 1921 and hosted its first game on January 22nd 1922. Still operating today in Cambridge, Ontario, it is the longest continually operating hockey facility in Canada. The Galt Arena housed the Galt Terriers Hockey Club who were the 1926 winners of the OHA Intermediate Championship. The Terriers also played in the Canadian Professional Hockey League after the OHA ceased operations.

Between 1995 and 1997, the Galt Arena Gardens underwent a $4.5 million renovation ensuring it will continue in service as one of Canada’s most historic hockey buildings.

The Galt Arena Gardens was built in the fall of 1921 and hosted its first game on January 22nd 1922. Still operating today in Cambridge, Ontario, it is the longest continually operating hockey facility in Canada. The Galt Arena housed the Galt Terriers Hockey Club who were the 1926 winners of the OHA Intermediate Championship. The Terriers also played in the Canadian Professional Hockey League after the OHA ceased operations.

Between 1995 and 1997, the Galt Arena Gardens underwent a $4.5 million renovation ensuring it will continue in service as one of Canada’s most historic hockey buildings.

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Galt Arena Gardens

The Galt Arena Gardens - Canada's oldest ice rink.

CHIN

© Hockey Hall of Fame


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Investigate the role that hockey plays in Canada’s national identity
  • Explore the history of hockey in Canada
  • Investigate how the evolution of hockey equipment used by Canadian hockey players improved the quality and safety of the game.
  • Explore the evolution of the rules of hockey in Canada
  • Identify significant people involved in hockey in Canada
  • Identify historically significant arenas and rinks in Canada
  • Describe the involvement over time of Aboriginal peoples in hockey

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le Windsor Arena a été construit pour accueillir le club local de la Ligue de hockey de l’Ontario (LHO) et a ouvert ses portes en 1925. Avec ses 6 000 sièges, l’aréna était le plus grand du circuit de la LHO. Le deuxième principal locataire de l’édifice venait du sud de la frontière : les Cougars de la LNH, qui plus tard devinrent les Red Wings. Les Cougars avaient été transférés à Détroit en 1926 et devaient jouer dans le tout nouvel Olympia. Toutefois, des retards de construction obligèrent les propriétaires à trouver rapidement un autre domicile. Le nouveau Windsor Arena, qui comptait 3 000 sièges supplémentaires, était beaucoup plus adéquat. Les Cougars prévoyaient jouer seulement quelques parties au Canada. Or, comme les travaux tardèrent, le Windsor Arena devint le domicile de la concession de Détroit pour sa première saison. Lorsque l’équipe de la LNH quitta l’aréna, les Bulldogs s’y installèrent, suivis par les Windsor Spitfires de la Ligue de h Pour en lire plus
Le Windsor Arena a été construit pour accueillir le club local de la Ligue de hockey de l’Ontario (LHO) et a ouvert ses portes en 1925. Avec ses 6 000 sièges, l’aréna était le plus grand du circuit de la LHO. Le deuxième principal locataire de l’édifice venait du sud de la frontière : les Cougars de la LNH, qui plus tard devinrent les Red Wings. Les Cougars avaient été transférés à Détroit en 1926 et devaient jouer dans le tout nouvel Olympia. Toutefois, des retards de construction obligèrent les propriétaires à trouver rapidement un autre domicile. Le nouveau Windsor Arena, qui comptait 3 000 sièges supplémentaires, était beaucoup plus adéquat. Les Cougars prévoyaient jouer seulement quelques parties au Canada. Or, comme les travaux tardèrent, le Windsor Arena devint le domicile de la concession de Détroit pour sa première saison. Lorsque l’équipe de la LNH quitta l’aréna, les Bulldogs s’y installèrent, suivis par les Windsor Spitfires de la Ligue de hockey de l’Ontario. Ces derniers logent toujours au Windsor Arena.

Les liens avec l’Olympia furent renoués lorsque l’édifice de Détroit a fermé ses portes à la fin de la saison de 1979. Le Windsor Arena contient maintenant les sièges, les portes de l’entrée principale et le matériel de sonorisation de l’ancien Olympia.

L’extérieur du Windsor Arena fut rénové à plusieurs reprises. Toutefois, il s’agit du même amphithéâtre tel qu’il était à son ouverture en 1925. Aujourd’hui, il constitue l’un des plus anciens édifices de hockey du Canada.


© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Le Windsor Arena

Le Windsor Arena.

RCIP

© Temple de la renommée du hockey


Le Galt Arena Gardens a été érigé à l’automne de 1921. Le premier match de hockey y fut présenté le 22 janvier 1922. L’aréna existe toujours aujourd’hui, à Cambridge, en Ontario. Il est le plus ancien bâtiment de hockey en service au Canada. Il fut le domicile des Galt Terriers, champions de hockey intermédiaire de la LHO, en 1926. Les Terriers ont également joué dans la Ligue canadienne de hockey professionnel après la disparition de la LHO.

Entre 1995 et 1997, le Galt Arena Gardens a été rénové au coût de 4,5 millions de dollars. Il est toujours l’un des plus anciens édifices de hockey du Canada.

Le Galt Arena Gardens a été érigé à l’automne de 1921. Le premier match de hockey y fut présenté le 22 janvier 1922. L’aréna existe toujours aujourd’hui, à Cambridge, en Ontario. Il est le plus ancien bâtiment de hockey en service au Canada. Il fut le domicile des Galt Terriers, champions de hockey intermédiaire de la LHO, en 1926. Les Terriers ont également joué dans la Ligue canadienne de hockey professionnel après la disparition de la LHO.

Entre 1995 et 1997, le Galt Arena Gardens a été rénové au coût de 4,5 millions de dollars. Il est toujours l’un des plus anciens édifices de hockey du Canada.

© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Le Galt Arena Gardens

Le Galt Arena Gardens – la plus ancienne patinoire du Canada.

RCIP

© Temple de la renommée du hockey


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • étudier le rôle que le hockey joue dans l’identité canadienne;
  • explorer l’histoire du hockey au Canada;
  • étudier l’évolution de l’équipement de hockey utilisé par les joueurs de hockey canadiens et comment celui-ci a amélioré la qualité et la sécurité du jeu;
  • explorer l’évolution des règlements du hockey au Canada;
  • être en mesure d’identifier les personnes importantes qui ont participé au hockey au Canada;
  • identifier les arénas et patinoires d’importance historique au Canada;
  • décrire la participation des peuples autochtones dans le hockey au fil du temps.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons