After over forty years, the Quebec International Pee-Wee Hockey Tournament still offers unforgettable games and memorable moments, as thousands of players between the ages of 12 and 13 defend their team colours. Big names in hockey such as Brad Park, Guy Lafleur, the Gretzky and Howe brothers, Mario Lemieux, Eric Lindros and many others have taken part in this event at some time in their careers. Others, like Jean Béliveau, Maurice Richard and Gordie Howe have watched from the stands.


In 1960, twenty-eight Canadian and American teams participated in the first Quebec International Pee-Wee Hockey Tournament. Now over a hundred teams from fifteen countries grace the ice at Colisée Pepsi.


In 1959, in the interest of fostering a social atmosphere, Father Bolduc decided to create a Pee-Wee hockey tournament in Quebec. Tired of taking his teams to Goderich, Ontario, he was determined to make the Old Capital the host of just that kind of sports event, the very next year. The tournament then became part of the Quebec Carnival celebrations held every February.

One of the very first players to take part in the tournament and then Read More
After over forty years, the Quebec International Pee-Wee Hockey Tournament still offers unforgettable games and memorable moments, as thousands of players between the ages of 12 and 13 defend their team colours. Big names in hockey such as Brad Park, Guy Lafleur, the Gretzky and Howe brothers, Mario Lemieux, Eric Lindros and many others have taken part in this event at some time in their careers. Others, like Jean Béliveau, Maurice Richard and Gordie Howe have watched from the stands.


In 1960, twenty-eight Canadian and American teams participated in the first Quebec International Pee-Wee Hockey Tournament. Now over a hundred teams from fifteen countries grace the ice at Colisée Pepsi.


In 1959, in the interest of fostering a social atmosphere, Father Bolduc decided to create a Pee-Wee hockey tournament in Quebec. Tired of taking his teams to Goderich, Ontario, he was determined to make the Old Capital the host of just that kind of sports event, the very next year. The tournament then became part of the Quebec Carnival celebrations held every February.

One of the very first players to take part in the tournament and then go on to reach the pinnacle of professional hockey in the NHL was Brad Park. In 1962, a young Guy Lafleur skated on the rink at the Coliseum. For the next three years (1962-1964), he was the star of the Pee-Wee tournament and scored a total of 64 goals.


Since that time, he has held the record for the best individual performance at the Quebec Pee-Wee tournament. Ten years later, in a single game, Wayne Gretzky outplayed the goalie 26 times. In 1984, Manon Rhéaume was the first girl to defend her team’s goal net. "I wanted to go to the Pee-Wee tournament, I was happy to reach my goal; then I wanted to play double AA, and then the Olympics; that was my dream" [translation] (RDS, Le Hockey sans limites) In 1989, to everyone’s great surprise, Russia and Japan took part in the tournament.


In 1975, Father Bolduc passed the torch on to Alex Légaré, who has managed the organization up until 1999. The priority then was to innovate. The tournament was to attract new teams and a greater number of spectators. Two years later, hockey games were no longer played during the Quebec Carnival. In 1980, Légaré created the American Cup and, the following year, the Quebec Cup was added to the International Class and the International Cup events.

In 1960, there were close to 20,000 spectators cheering on the little players in the tournament; as of February 2000 there have been more than 600,000. How can these young players generate so much passion and emotion? The secret to such longevity and fervour among fans lies in the very spirit of the tournament.

The work of veteran organizers and the help of the many volunteers have contributed to the international reputation of the Quebec Pee-Wee international hockey tournament.


© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved

Team from Rockland

Team from Rockland, Quebec, 1962. Guy Lafleur, 4th player from the left, second row.

CHIN

© Photo: Neuville Bazin. Archives nationales du Quebec, Quebec City


Minor Hockey Action

Minor hockey action.

CHIN

© Hockey Hall of Fame Film Archives


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Investigate the role that hockey plays in Canada’s national identity
  • Explore the history of hockey in Canada
  • Identify significant people involved in hockey in Canada
  • Examine the evolution of non-professional hockey in Canada
  • Explore the major amateur leagues, tournaments and awards available to male and female athletes

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Après plus de 40 années d'existence le Tournoi international de hockey Pee-Wee de Québec demeure toujours un lieu de rencontres inoubliables et de souvenirs mémorables où des milliers de joueurs âgés entre 12 et 13 ans viennent défendre les couleurs de leur équipe. Les grands noms du hockey tels Brad Park, Guy Lafleur, les frères Gretzky et Howe, Mario Lemieux, Eric Lindros et plusieurs autres ont, au cours de leur carrière, participé à cet événement. D’autres, comme Jean Béliveau, Maurice Richard et Gordie Howe ont pris place dans les gradins.

En 1960, vingt-huit équipes canadiennes et américaines participaient au premier Tournoi international de hockey Pee-Wee de Québec. Aujourd’hui, plus d’une centaine d’équipes provenant de quinze pays défilent sur la glace du Colisée Pepsi.

C’est dans un esprit de convivialité que le père Bolbuc décide, en 1959, de créer un tournoi de hockey Pee-Wee à Québec. Fatigué de traîner se Pour en lire plus
Après plus de 40 années d'existence le Tournoi international de hockey Pee-Wee de Québec demeure toujours un lieu de rencontres inoubliables et de souvenirs mémorables où des milliers de joueurs âgés entre 12 et 13 ans viennent défendre les couleurs de leur équipe. Les grands noms du hockey tels Brad Park, Guy Lafleur, les frères Gretzky et Howe, Mario Lemieux, Eric Lindros et plusieurs autres ont, au cours de leur carrière, participé à cet événement. D’autres, comme Jean Béliveau, Maurice Richard et Gordie Howe ont pris place dans les gradins.

En 1960, vingt-huit équipes canadiennes et américaines participaient au premier Tournoi international de hockey Pee-Wee de Québec. Aujourd’hui, plus d’une centaine d’équipes provenant de quinze pays défilent sur la glace du Colisée Pepsi.

C’est dans un esprit de convivialité que le père Bolbuc décide, en 1959, de créer un tournoi de hockey Pee-Wee à Québec. Fatigué de traîner ses troupes à Goderich en Ontario, il tient à ce que la Vieille Capitale soit, l’année suivante, l’hôte d’une telle rencontre sportive. Le tournoi est alors intégré aux festivités du Carnaval de Québec qui a lieu au mois de février.

Un des premiers joueurs à participer au tournoi et à atteindre les sommets du hockey professionnel au sein de la Ligue nationale est Brad Park. En 1962, le petit Guy Lafleur fait son apparition sur la patinoire du Colisée. Pendant trois années consécutives (1962-1964), il est la vedette du tournoi Pee-Wee et récolte un total de 64 buts.

Depuis, il détient la meilleure performance individuelle du tournoi Pee-Wee de Québec. Dix ans plus tard, au cours d’une seule participation, Wayne Gretzky réussit à déjouer le gardien de but 26 fois. En 1984, Manon Rhéaume est la première fille à défendre le filet de son équipe. « Je voulais y aller au tournoi Pee-Wee, j’étais heureuse de réaliser mon objectif, après, je voulais jouer dans le double AA, puis les Olympiques, j’avais eu cette vision ». (RDS, Le Hockey sans limites) En 1989, au grand étonnement de tous, la Russie et le Japon participent au tournoi.

En 1975, le père Bolduc cède le flambeau à Alex Légaré qui assura la direction de l’organisation jusqu’en 1999. Un point important figure alors à l’ordre du jour : innover. Le tournoi doit attirer de nouvelles équipes et un plus grand nombre de spectateurs. Deux ans plus tard, les parties de hockey ne sont plus disputées dans le cadre du Carnaval de Québec. En 1980, M. Légaré instaure la Coupe Amérique et, l’année suivante, la Coupe Québec s’ajoute aux rencontres de la Classe internationale et de la Coupe Internationale.

En 1960, ils sont près de 20 000 spectateurs à encourager les petits favoris du tournoi, et en février 2000, plus de 600 000. Comment de jeunes joueurs peuvent-ils soulever autant de passion et d’émotions ? Le secret d’une telle longévité et d’un tel engouement chez les amateurs réside dans l’esprit même du tournoi.

L’initiative d’organisateurs chevronnés et la collaboration de nombreux bénévoles ont contribué à la renommée mondiale du Tournoi international de hockey Pee-Wee de Québec.

© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés

Équipe de Rockland

Équipe de Rockland (Québec), en 1962. Guy Lafleur, 4e joueur à partir de la gauche, sur la 2e rangée.

RCIP

© Photo : Neuville Bazin. Archives nationales du Québec à Québec


Hockey mineur

Hockey mineur.

RCIP

© Archives du Temple de la renommée du hockey


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • étudier le rôle que le hockey joue dans l’identité canadienne;
  • explorer l’histoire du hockey au Canada;
  • être en mesure d’identifier les personnes importantes qui ont participé au hockey au Canada;
  • explorer l’évolution du hockey non professionnel au Canada;
  • explorer les principales ligues d’amateurs, les principaux tournois et prix pouvant être décernés aux athlètes, hommes et femmes.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons