In 1911, backed by the financial power of their millionaire lumberman father, former NHA stars Lester and Frank Patrick formed the Pacific Coast Hockey Association. The Patricks knew that, in order for their league to be successful, they would require top-flight talent and they knew the best players were in the NHA. By the time the puck dropped on the first PCHA season, many stars, including Newsy Lalonde, had been lured to the PCHA. Each year the league operated, there was a flow of players switching from one league to the other. Though the two leagues warred over talent, they were able to reach an agreement with the Stanley Cup trustees that would see the winner of each league battle for the Cup.

In 1921-22, the Western Canada Hockey League was formed and the PCHA adopted an interlocking schedule with the new league. Unfortunately, by '23-'24, owners were no longer able to compete with the NHL for players and the PCHA was hurting as a result. The Pacific Coast Hockey League, with its membership down to just two teams, ceased operations following the 1923-24 season. The two remaining teams applied for and received membership in the Western Canada Hockey League. After Read More
In 1911, backed by the financial power of their millionaire lumberman father, former NHA stars Lester and Frank Patrick formed the Pacific Coast Hockey Association. The Patricks knew that, in order for their league to be successful, they would require top-flight talent and they knew the best players were in the NHA. By the time the puck dropped on the first PCHA season, many stars, including Newsy Lalonde, had been lured to the PCHA. Each year the league operated, there was a flow of players switching from one league to the other. Though the two leagues warred over talent, they were able to reach an agreement with the Stanley Cup trustees that would see the winner of each league battle for the Cup.

In 1921-22, the Western Canada Hockey League was formed and the PCHA adopted an interlocking schedule with the new league. Unfortunately, by '23-'24, owners were no longer able to compete with the NHL for players and the PCHA was hurting as a result. The Pacific Coast Hockey League, with its membership down to just two teams, ceased operations following the 1923-24 season. The two remaining teams applied for and received membership in the Western Canada Hockey League. After thirteen seasons, the Patricks' league was disbanded, but not before leaving a large footprint on the development of professional hockey.

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Lester Patrick

Lester Patrick

CHIN

© Hockey Hall of Fame


Frank Patrick

Frank Patrick

CHIN

© Hockey Hall of Fame


The Western Hockey League was formed in 1922 under its original name, the Western Canada Hockey Association. It quickly made an agreement with the established Pacific Coast Hockey Association to operate with an interlocking schedule that would see each league play against the other through the course of the season. Eventually, the PCHA folded; the WCHA absorbed two of their teams and renamed itself the Western Hockey League. The WHL, much like the PCHA before it, was soon in trouble because the Big money was in the East with the NHL and, by the spring of 1926, players were being sold in wholesale lots to NHL clubs.

The Western Hockey League was formed in 1922 under its original name, the Western Canada Hockey Association. It quickly made an agreement with the established Pacific Coast Hockey Association to operate with an interlocking schedule that would see each league play against the other through the course of the season. Eventually, the PCHA folded; the WCHA absorbed two of their teams and renamed itself the Western Hockey League. The WHL, much like the PCHA before it, was soon in trouble because the Big money was in the East with the NHL and, by the spring of 1926, players were being sold in wholesale lots to NHL clubs.

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Upon its formation in 1904, the International Hockey League became the first professional hockey circuit. The only Canadian team was based in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, with the others in the Pittsburgh and three in Michigan; Calumet, Houghton, and the American Soo. After the 1906-07 season, problems began to arise. While the league was discussing plans to expand into Toronto, Cleveland and Duluth, the reality was they had problems with their current clubs. The Pittsburgh franchise was actively seeking another league to play in and the Houghton team, the flagship Portage Lake club, wasn’t interested in another season. The league scrambled to add new franchises to fill the holes but the fatal blow came when the American Soo franchise announced it would not ice a team for the following season. The league announced that operations would cease for one season but this proved overly optimistic, and the league never recovered.
Upon its formation in 1904, the International Hockey League became the first professional hockey circuit. The only Canadian team was based in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, with the others in the Pittsburgh and three in Michigan; Calumet, Houghton, and the American Soo. After the 1906-07 season, problems began to arise. While the league was discussing plans to expand into Toronto, Cleveland and Duluth, the reality was they had problems with their current clubs. The Pittsburgh franchise was actively seeking another league to play in and the Houghton team, the flagship Portage Lake club, wasn’t interested in another season. The league scrambled to add new franchises to fill the holes but the fatal blow came when the American Soo franchise announced it would not ice a team for the following season. The league announced that operations would cease for one season but this proved overly optimistic, and the league never recovered.

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Investigate the role that hockey plays in Canada’s national identity
  • Identify significant people involved in hockey in Canada
  • Describe the development of professional hockey in Canada
  • Describe the evolution of the National Hockey League
  • Demonstrate an understanding of the early regional hockey leagues in Canada
  • Investigate the rise of the World Hockey Association and its inclusion into the National Hockey League
  • Examine the history of the Stanley Cup

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

En 1911, grâce à l'appui financier de leur père millionnaire qui avait fait fortune dans l'exploitation forestière, les anciennes vedettes de l'ANH, Lester et Frank Patrick, formèrent l'Association de hockey de la Côte du Pacifique. Afin d'assurer le succès de leur ligue, les deux frères Patrick étaient conscients qu' il fallait aligner des joueurs de premier plan. Ils savaient que les meilleurs joueurs jouaient dans l'ANH. Au cours de la première saison de l'AHCP, juste au moment ou la rondelle allait être mise au jeu, de nombreux joueurs vedettes, dont Newsy Lalonde, avaient déjà été attirés dans les rangs de l'AHCP. Chaque année d'activité de la ligue, il y eut un échange constant de joueurs qui passaient d'une ligue à l'autre. Même si les deux ligues se disputaient les meilleurs joueurs, elles conclurent une entente avec les administrateurs de la Coupe Stanley selon laquelle les champions de chaque ligue rivaliseraient pour la Coupe.

En 1921-1922, la Ligue de hockey de l'Ouest canadien fut créée, et l'AHCP adop Pour en lire plus
En 1911, grâce à l'appui financier de leur père millionnaire qui avait fait fortune dans l'exploitation forestière, les anciennes vedettes de l'ANH, Lester et Frank Patrick, formèrent l'Association de hockey de la Côte du Pacifique. Afin d'assurer le succès de leur ligue, les deux frères Patrick étaient conscients qu' il fallait aligner des joueurs de premier plan. Ils savaient que les meilleurs joueurs jouaient dans l'ANH. Au cours de la première saison de l'AHCP, juste au moment ou la rondelle allait être mise au jeu, de nombreux joueurs vedettes, dont Newsy Lalonde, avaient déjà été attirés dans les rangs de l'AHCP. Chaque année d'activité de la ligue, il y eut un échange constant de joueurs qui passaient d'une ligue à l'autre. Même si les deux ligues se disputaient les meilleurs joueurs, elles conclurent une entente avec les administrateurs de la Coupe Stanley selon laquelle les champions de chaque ligue rivaliseraient pour la Coupe.

En 1921-1922, la Ligue de hockey de l'Ouest canadien fut créée, et l'AHCP adopta un calendrier mixte avec la nouvelle ligue. Malheureusement, en 1923-1924, les propriétaires n'étaient plus de taille à rivaliser avec la LNH pour attirer les joueurs. Ce fut un dur coup pour l'AHCP. L'Association de hockey de la Côte du Pacifique, qui ne comptait plus que deux équipes, cessa ses activités après la saison 1923-1924. Les deux dernières équipes se joignirent à la Ligue de hockey de l'Ouest canadien qui les accepta volontiers. Après treize saisons, la ligue des frères Patrick fut dissoute. Elle a toutefois contribué au développement du hockey professionnel.

© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Lester Patrick

Lester Patrick

RCIP

© Temple de la renommée du hockey


Frank Patrick

Frank Patrick

RCIP

© Temple de la renommée du hockey


La Ligue de hockey de l’Ouest a été formée, en 1922, sous le nom d’Association de hockey de l’Ouest canadien (AHOC). Elle conclut une entente avec l’Association de hockey de la Côte du Pacifique afin d’établir un calendrier mixte qui permettait de disputer des matchs interligues au cours de la saison. Quelques années plus tard, l’AHCP mit fin à ses activités. L’AHOC accueillit deux de ses équipes et elle fut rebaptisée la Ligue de hockey de l’Ouest. Cette dernière, tout comme l’AHCP, a connu certains ennuis financiers en raison des salaires élevés que recevaient les joueurs de l’Est et de la LNH. Au printemps de 1926, les joueurs ont été vendus en bloc aux équipes de la LNH.

La Ligue de hockey de l’Ouest a été formée, en 1922, sous le nom d’Association de hockey de l’Ouest canadien (AHOC). Elle conclut une entente avec l’Association de hockey de la Côte du Pacifique afin d’établir un calendrier mixte qui permettait de disputer des matchs interligues au cours de la saison. Quelques années plus tard, l’AHCP mit fin à ses activités. L’AHOC accueillit deux de ses équipes et elle fut rebaptisée la Ligue de hockey de l’Ouest. Cette dernière, tout comme l’AHCP, a connu certains ennuis financiers en raison des salaires élevés que recevaient les joueurs de l’Est et de la LNH. Au printemps de 1926, les joueurs ont été vendus en bloc aux équipes de la LNH.

© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

À sa création en 1904, la Ligue internationale de hockey devint le premier circuit professionnel de hockey. La seule équipe canadienne avait élu domicile à Sault Sainte-Marie, en Ontario. Les autres étaient à Pittsburgh et il y en avait trois au Michigan : à Calumet, à Houghton et à Sault Ste. Marie (aux États-Unis). Après la saison 1906-1907, la ligue éprouva certaines difficultés. Au moment où elle envisageait une expansion dans les villes de Toronto, Cleveland et Duluth, elle dut d’abord résoudre les problèmes que lui occasionmaient ses propres équipes. La concession de Pittsburgh cherchait activement une autre ligue dans laquelle elle pourrait évoluer, et l’équipe de Houghton, l’équipe porte-étendard de Portage Lake, n’était pas intéressée à disputer une autre saison. La Ligue s’empressa d’offrir de nouvelles concessions afin de remplacer celles qu’elle venait de perdre. Elle encaissa un dur coup lorsque l’équipe de Sault Ste. Marie, (aux &Eacu Pour en lire plus
À sa création en 1904, la Ligue internationale de hockey devint le premier circuit professionnel de hockey. La seule équipe canadienne avait élu domicile à Sault Sainte-Marie, en Ontario. Les autres étaient à Pittsburgh et il y en avait trois au Michigan : à Calumet, à Houghton et à Sault Ste. Marie (aux États-Unis). Après la saison 1906-1907, la ligue éprouva certaines difficultés. Au moment où elle envisageait une expansion dans les villes de Toronto, Cleveland et Duluth, elle dut d’abord résoudre les problèmes que lui occasionmaient ses propres équipes. La concession de Pittsburgh cherchait activement une autre ligue dans laquelle elle pourrait évoluer, et l’équipe de Houghton, l’équipe porte-étendard de Portage Lake, n’était pas intéressée à disputer une autre saison. La Ligue s’empressa d’offrir de nouvelles concessions afin de remplacer celles qu’elle venait de perdre. Elle encaissa un dur coup lorsque l’équipe de Sault Ste. Marie, (aux États-Unis) annonça qu’elle ne jouerait pas la saison suivante. La Ligue prit la décision de cesser ses activités pour une saison. Elle fit preuve d’optimisme, mais elle ne s’en est jamais remise.

© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • étudier le rôle que le hockey joue dans l’identité canadienne;
  • être en mesure d’identifier les personnes importantes qui ont participé au hockey au Canada;
  • décrire le développement du hockey professionnel au Canada;
  • décrire l’évolution de la Ligue nationale de hockey;
  • comprendre les premières ligues régionales de hockey au Canada;
  • étudier la création de l’Association mondiale de hockey et son inclusion dans la Ligue nationale de hockey;
  • étudier l’histoire de la Coupe Stanley.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons