The World Hockey Association was conceived as a viable alternative to the NHL. It had no intention of being a minor or a second tier professional league but a true competitor of the National Hockey League. While the NHL had little concern when the new league was announced, the WHA got its rivals attention quickly by signing NHL superstar Bobby Hull to hockey’s first million-dollar contract. Much like the PCHA, players began to jump ship to the greener pastures of the WHA. Many long-ignored markets were granted WHA franchises and the ambitious league launched operations for the 1972-73 season with twelve teams spread over Canada and the United States. When the first season ended, it became clear to the NHL and to hockey fans that the league was for real. Hockey legend Gordie Howe was lured out of retirement by the chance to play with his sons, Mark and Marty. With Hull and Howe on the marquee, the league gained considerable credibility.

The league, however, was never able to set its foundation on stable ground. Teams continually folded or relocated. This became painfully clear in the 1977-78 season when four teams folded, including the new Minnesota franchise that Read More

The World Hockey Association was conceived as a viable alternative to the NHL. It had no intention of being a minor or a second tier professional league but a true competitor of the National Hockey League. While the NHL had little concern when the new league was announced, the WHA got its rivals attention quickly by signing NHL superstar Bobby Hull to hockey’s first million-dollar contract. Much like the PCHA, players began to jump ship to the greener pastures of the WHA. Many long-ignored markets were granted WHA franchises and the ambitious league launched operations for the 1972-73 season with twelve teams spread over Canada and the United States. When the first season ended, it became clear to the NHL and to hockey fans that the league was for real. Hockey legend Gordie Howe was lured out of retirement by the chance to play with his sons, Mark and Marty. With Hull and Howe on the marquee, the league gained considerable credibility.

The league, however, was never able to set its foundation on stable ground. Teams continually folded or relocated. This became painfully clear in the 1977-78 season when four teams folded, including the new Minnesota franchise that didn’t even last through its inaugural season. When Houston and Indianapolis ceased operations in 1978, it became clear that the WHA was on its last legs. But there was a light at the end of the tunnel for the troubled league as Howard Baldwin, then league president, was able to broker a deal with the NHL. The war between the two leagues for players, fans, dollars and markets taxed both operations. An inevitable cease-fire was finally negotiated and on March 22nd, 1978 the NHL agreed to accept four WHA franchises, the Edmonton Oilers, Hartford Whalers, Quebec Nordiques and Winnipeg Jets for the 1979-80 season. After seven rocky seasons, the NHL and the WHA had finally found common ground and at the end of the 1978-79 season the WHA was dead.

While many remember the WHA as a league that featured older superstars like Bobby Hull, Gordie Howe, Frank Mahovolich and Dave Keon, the league was also the first professional home for young guns who went on to become major superstars in the National Hockey League, notably: Wayne Gretzky (Indianapolis/Edmonton) Mike Gartner, Rob Ramage and Michel Goulet (all Birmingham,) Mike Liut (Cincinnati) and Mark Messier, (Indianapolis/Cincinnati) Messier was the last professional player to have roots in the WHA.


© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Bobby "the Golden Jet" Hull

Bobby "the Golden Jet" Hull was a key part of one of the top lines in pro hockey in the 1970's. The Winnipeg Jets unit he formed with Ulf Nilsson and Anders Hedberg lit up the WHA for many years.

CHIN

© Mecca/Hockey Hall of Fame


Gordie Howe Poses with His Sons Marty and Mark

Gordie Howe poses with his sons Marty and Mark. Years later, he realized a seemingly improbable dream of playing pro-hockey with them first in the WHA (pictured) and later in the NHL with the Hartford Whalers. Gordie was 52 in his final NHL season.

CHIN

© O-Pee-Chee/Hockey Hall of Fame


WHA Stars

The WHA allowed players to turn pro younger than the NHL, and many future stars took advantage: Rick Vaive, Mike Gartner, Wayne Gretzky, Mike Liut and Michel Goulet.

CHIN

© Graphic Artists/Hockey Hall of Fame


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Investigate the role that hockey plays in Canada’s national identity
  • Identify significant people involved in hockey in Canada
  • Describe the development of professional hockey in Canada
  • Describe the evolution of the National Hockey League
  • Demonstrate an understanding of the early regional hockey leagues in Canada
  • Investigate the rise of the World Hockey Association and its inclusion into the National Hockey League
  • Examine the history of the Stanley Cup

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

L’Association mondiale de hockey a été mise sur pied afin de trouver une alternative à la LNH. L’intention n’était surtout pas de créer une ligue professionnelle mineure ou de moindre importance, mais plutôt de faire concurrence à la Ligue nationale de hockey. Au départ, la LNH porta peu d’attention à l’annonce d’une nouvelle ligue, or l’AMH surprit sa rivale en accordant à Bobby Hull, supervedette de la LNH, le premier contrat de plus d’un million de dollars. Il s’agissait d’une première dans le monde du hockey. Le même scénario que connut l’AHCP se répéta, les joueurs délaissèrent peu à peu la LNH en faveur des pâturages plus attrayants de l’AMH. De nombreux marchés que l’on avait autrefois boudés se virent accorder des concessions de l’AMH. L’ambitieuse ligue entreprenait ses activités pour la saison 1972-1973 avec douze équipes réparties au Canada et aux États-Unis. Au terme de la première saison, la LNH et le Pour en lire plus

L’Association mondiale de hockey a été mise sur pied afin de trouver une alternative à la LNH. L’intention n’était surtout pas de créer une ligue professionnelle mineure ou de moindre importance, mais plutôt de faire concurrence à la Ligue nationale de hockey. Au départ, la LNH porta peu d’attention à l’annonce d’une nouvelle ligue, or l’AMH surprit sa rivale en accordant à Bobby Hull, supervedette de la LNH, le premier contrat de plus d’un million de dollars. Il s’agissait d’une première dans le monde du hockey. Le même scénario que connut l’AHCP se répéta, les joueurs délaissèrent peu à peu la LNH en faveur des pâturages plus attrayants de l’AMH. De nombreux marchés que l’on avait autrefois boudés se virent accorder des concessions de l’AMH. L’ambitieuse ligue entreprenait ses activités pour la saison 1972-1973 avec douze équipes réparties au Canada et aux États-Unis. Au terme de la première saison, la LNH et les partisans de hockey constatèrent que la Ligue était loin d’être un feu de paille. Le légendaire Gordie Howe, désormais à la retraite, revint au jeu car il pouvait maintenant jouer avec ses fils, Mark et Marty. Avec des joueurs comme Hull et Howe, la Ligue devint de plus en plus prospère.

Cependant, elle n’a jamais été capable de s’implanter fermement dans le milieu du hockey. Les équipes cessaient leurs activités ou encore déménageaient dans une autre ville. Au cours de la saison 1977-1978, cette réalité affecta durement la ligue lorsque quatre équipes décidèrent de fermer boutique, dont la nouvelle concession du Minnesota qui ne termina pas sa première saison. En 1978, lorsque les équipes de Houston et d’Indianapolis ont cessé leurs activités, l’AMH était à son dernier souffle. cependant, tout n’était pas perdu pour la ligue qui éprouvait de graves difficultés. En effet, son président, Howard Baldwin, négocia un accord avec la LNH. La guerre que se livraient les deux ligues pour les joueurs, les partisans, les dollars et les marchés avait durement affecté les deux ligues. Un cessez-le-feu fut finalement négocié, et le 22 mars 1978, la LNH accepta dans ses rangs quatre équipes de l’AMH : les Oilers d’Edmonton, les Whalers de Hartford, les Nordiques de Québec et les Jets de Winnipeg, pour la saison 1979-1980. Après sept saisons houleuses, la LNH et l’AMH avaient finalement trouvé un terrain d’entente et l’AMH cessa d’exister au terme de la saison de 1978-1979.

Plusieurs se souviendront de l’AMH comme une ligue qui mit en vedette les grands du hockey tels, Bobby Hull, Gordie Howe, Frank Mahovlich et Dave Keon qui étaient plus âgés à cette époque. Elle fut également le premier circuit professionnel pour de jeunes joueurs talentueux qui devinrent de très grandes vedettes de la Ligue nationale de hockey, notamment Wayne Gretzky (Indianapolis/Edmonton), Mike Gartner, Rob Ramage et Michel Goulet (tous de Birmingham), Mike Liut (Cincinnati) et Mark Messier (Indianapolis/Cincinnati). Messier est en effet le dernier joueur de la Ligue Nationale qui avait entrepris sa carrière dans l’AMH.


© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Bobby Hull, « la comète blonde »

Bobby Hull, « la comète blonde », a été l’un des pivots de l’une des meilleures lignes du hockey professionnel dans les années 1970. Le trio qu’il formait avec Ulf Nilsson et Anders Hedberg, avec les Jets de Winnipeg, a illuminé l’AMH pendant de nombreuses années.

RCIP

© Mecca/Temple de la renommée du hockey


Gordie Howe pose avec ses fils Marty et Mark

Gordie Howe pose avec ses fils Marty et Mark. Des années plus tard, il a réalisé le rêve presque improbable de jouer au hockey professionnel avec eux, tout d’abord dans l’AMH (en photo), et ensuite dans la LNH, avec les Whalers de Hartford. Gordie avait 52 ans à sa dernière saison dans la LNH.

RCIP

© O-Pee-Chee/ Temple de la renommée du hockey


Vedette de l'AHM

L’AMH permettait aux joueurs de devenir des professionnels plus jeunes que dans la LNH, et bon nombre des futures vedettes en ont profité : Rick Vaive, Mike Gartner, Wayne Gretzky, Mike Liut et Michel Goulet.

RCIP

© Graphistes/ Temple de la renommée du hockey


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • étudier le rôle que le hockey joue dans l’identité canadienne;
  • être en mesure d’identifier les personnes importantes qui ont participé au hockey au Canada;
  • décrire le développement du hockey professionnel au Canada;
  • décrire l’évolution de la Ligue nationale de hockey;
  • comprendre les premières ligues régionales de hockey au Canada;
  • étudier la création de l’Association mondiale de hockey et son inclusion dans la Ligue nationale de hockey;
  • étudier l’histoire de la Coupe Stanley.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons