The Quebec Senior Hockey League was formed for the 1945-46 season and later on it rose to prominence in the hockey world. History will remember the Quebec Hockey League as the league that Jean Béliveau built. The young Quebec Aces star put the QHL on the map with his dogged loyalty to his team. While the Montreal Canadiens actively pursued him, Béliveau, out of loyalty to his organization and the fans of Quebec, put off turning pro to continue to play with the Aces. Béliveau proved to be such a great draw that the Colisée, the arena that eventually housed the NHL’s Quebec Nordiques, had to be rebuilt to accommodate fan interest, following the fire of 1949. After three full seasons, Béliveau finally joined the Canadiens full-time in 1953-54 and the heyday of the Quebec Senior League ended. The league ceased operations in 1959.

Herb Carnegie along with his brother Ossie Carnegie and Manny McIntyre, made headlines in the late 1940’s when they became the first all-black hockey line, playing for the Sherbrooke Red Raiders, later called The Saints. The center on that line was Herbie, and he was the Quebec League’s MVP for Read More
The Quebec Senior Hockey League was formed for the 1945-46 season and later on it rose to prominence in the hockey world. History will remember the Quebec Hockey League as the league that Jean Béliveau built. The young Quebec Aces star put the QHL on the map with his dogged loyalty to his team. While the Montreal Canadiens actively pursued him, Béliveau, out of loyalty to his organization and the fans of Quebec, put off turning pro to continue to play with the Aces. Béliveau proved to be such a great draw that the Colisée, the arena that eventually housed the NHL’s Quebec Nordiques, had to be rebuilt to accommodate fan interest, following the fire of 1949. After three full seasons, Béliveau finally joined the Canadiens full-time in 1953-54 and the heyday of the Quebec Senior League ended. The league ceased operations in 1959.

Herb Carnegie along with his brother Ossie Carnegie and Manny McIntyre, made headlines in the late 1940’s when they became the first all-black hockey line, playing for the Sherbrooke Red Raiders, later called The Saints. The center on that line was Herbie, and he was the Quebec League’s MVP for three straight seasons between 1946 and 1948. Despite a social climate that didn’t fully accept a black hockey player, Carnegie made it impossible to ignore him, scoring 127 points in just forty QHL games. Despite his incredible skills, Carnegie never got the opportunity to play in the NHL, though he played an important pioneering role for a QHL player who followed him, Willie O’Ree, the first black hockey player in the NHL in 1957-58.


© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Willie O'Ree

Willie O'Ree was the first player to break the color barrier in th e NHL in 1947. O'Ree played parts of two seasons with the Boston Bruins scoring four goals and fourteen points in forty-five games.

CHIN

© James McCarthy/Hockey Hall of Fame


Jean Béliveau Discusses His start With the Canadiens

Jean Béliveau racante ses débuts avec les Canadiens. Click 'View the Transcript' for video link

Clip One:

Jean Béliveau discusses his start with the Canadiens.


For three years I came to the Canadiens’ training camp which started before the one in Quebec. And each time I left Quebec, they were scared that I would not return. And particularly, at that moment, let’s not forget that the Aces of Quebec in the Senior League of Quebec was the property of the paper mill, that was financially very comfortable. And yes it’s true, each time I left, they would tell me: "Whatever they offer in Montreal, the same thing here".

Well, it’s true perhaps that I could have joined the Canadiens, two or three years earlier, I could see it by the training camp’s performance, but for me in life, people are very important. They treated me well during those two years with the junior Citadelles. And the two years I finally spent with the Aces were an act of recognition towards the population of Quebec. And I’ve said it, I had announced one year finally with the paper mill, and Punch Imlach as the coach; I had played the second year with the Aces of Quebec.

Clip Two:

Jean Béliveau remembers the beginning of televised broadcasts.

I remember very well the first games when we would pass through the villages and that the merchant would place a television set in the window. It’s very clear in my mind. I remember, there were 25 or 30 people outside that would be watching the games. Because you know, in those days, we weren’t all fortunate enough to have a television set in ’52, ’53.


Clip Three:

Jean Béliveau talks about goaltenders.

Everyone talks about how Terry Sawchuck was such a great goaltender. If we are speaking here of elegance, Terry Sawchuck is my choice; but the one that gave me the most trouble is Johnny Bower. Johnny Bower was a stand-up goaltender. If you can remember, I use to love to make fakes, and most goaltenders would tend to move on fakes, but not Bower. And this was what would make the situation much more difficult. I’ve always had admiration for a goaltender that had a stand-up style. I admire many goaltenders, but Bower is the one that gave me the most difficulty (throughout my career).

CHIN

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Senior Hockey

Senior Hockey. Click 'View the Transcript' for video link

CHIN

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Investigate the role that hockey plays in Canada’s national identity
  • Identify significant people involved in hockey in Canada
  • Describe the development of professional hockey in Canada
  • Describe the evolution of the National Hockey League
  • Demonstrate an understanding of the early regional hockey leagues in Canada
  • Investigate the rise of the World Hockey Association and its inclusion into the National Hockey League
  • Examine the history of the Stanley Cup

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La Ligue de hockey senior du Québec, créée en 1945-1946, connut un immense succès dans le monde du hockey. L’histoire se souviendra certainement de cette ligue comme étant celle mise sur pied par Jean Béliveau. La LHQ se fit notamment connaître grâce au dévouement de la jeune vedette envers son équipe, les As de Québec. Alors que le Canadien tentait d’attirer Béliveau à Montréal, il décida de retarder son arrivée chez les professionnels pour se dévouer à son organisation et rester fidèle aux partisans de Québec. Il continua donc de jouer pour les As. Sa popularité fut davantage rehaussée par la construction d’un nouveau Colisée en 1949, futur domicile des Nordiques de Québec qui allaient ultérieurement faire partie de la LNH. Après trois saisons complètes avec les As, Béliveau se joignit finalement à l’équipe du Canadien pour la saison 1953 -1954. Même si une glorieuse époque venait de prendre fin, et malgré l’arrivée de Pour en lire plus
La Ligue de hockey senior du Québec, créée en 1945-1946, connut un immense succès dans le monde du hockey. L’histoire se souviendra certainement de cette ligue comme étant celle mise sur pied par Jean Béliveau. La LHQ se fit notamment connaître grâce au dévouement de la jeune vedette envers son équipe, les As de Québec. Alors que le Canadien tentait d’attirer Béliveau à Montréal, il décida de retarder son arrivée chez les professionnels pour se dévouer à son organisation et rester fidèle aux partisans de Québec. Il continua donc de jouer pour les As. Sa popularité fut davantage rehaussée par la construction d’un nouveau Colisée en 1949, futur domicile des Nordiques de Québec qui allaient ultérieurement faire partie de la LNH. Après trois saisons complètes avec les As, Béliveau se joignit finalement à l’équipe du Canadien pour la saison 1953 -1954. Même si une glorieuse époque venait de prendre fin, et malgré l’arrivée de la télévision, la LHQ réussit à tenir le coup jusqu’en 1959, dernière année de son existence.

Vers la fin des années 1940, Herb Carnegie, son frère Ossie et Manny McIntyre, firent la une des médias : ils furent les trois premiers hockeyeurs de race noire à jouer sur la même ligne de l’équipe des Red Raiders, puis des Saints de Sherbrooke. Joueur de centre, Herbie se mérita le titre du joueur le plus utile de la Ligue senior du Québec pendant trois années consécutives, soit de 1946 à 1948. À cette époque, la société acceptait difficilement la présence de hockeyeurs noirs au sein d’une ligue. Toutefois, Herb Carnegie se fit remarquer de façon magistrale en comptant 127 points en seulement 40 matchs dans la LHQ. Hormis son potentiel, Herb Carnegie n’eut jamais la chance d’évoluer dans la LNH. Cependant, il ouvrit le chemin à un joueur de la LHQ, Willie O’Ree, qui fut le premier joueur de hockey de race noire à faire partie de la LNH en 1957-1958.


© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Willie O'Ree

Willie O’Ree a été le premier Noir à évoluer dans la LNH en 1947. Il a joué des façon épisodique pendant deux saisons avec les Bruins de Boston, marquant quatre buts et quatorze points en quarante-cinq matchs.

RCIP

© James McCarthy/ Temple de la renommée du hockey


Jean Béliveau discute son début avec les Canadiens

Jean Béliveau discute son début avec les Canadiens. Cliquez sur 'Lire la transcription' pour la vidéo

Un :

Jean Béliveau racante ses débuts avec les Canadiens.

Je venais depuis trois ans au camp d’entraînement du Canadien qui débutait avant celui de Québec. Et chaque fois que je quittais Québec, on avait peur que je ne revienne pas. Et particulièrement à ce moment-là, il ne faudrait pas oublier que les As de Québec, dans la ligue senior du Québec, étaient la propriété du moulin à papier qui étai très à l’aise. Et, oui c’est vrai, chaque fois que je quittais, on me disait : « Quoi qu’on offre à Montréal, la même chose ici. »

Alors, il est vrai peut-être que j’aurais pu joindre les Canadiens deux ou trois ans plus tôt, je le voyais par la performance au camp d’entraînement, mais pour moi dans la vie, les gens ont beaucoup d’importance. On m’avait bien traité ces deux années avec les Citadelles juniors. Et les deux années finalement que j’ai passées avec les As étaient un geste de reconnaissance envers la population de Québec. Et je l’avais dit, j’avais annoncé une année finalement avec le moulin à papier et Punch Imlach comme entraîneur, j’avais joué une deuxième année avec les As de Québec.

Deux :

Jean Béliveau se souvient des premières émissions télévisées.


Je me souviens très bien des premières joutes quand on passait dans les petits villages et que le marchand plaçait une télévision dans la vitrine. C’est clair dans mon esprit que je voyais 25 ou 30 personnes dehors qui regardaient les joutes. Parce que vous savez, à ce moment-là, on n'était pas favorisé d’avoir une télévision en ’52, ’53.


Trois :

Jean Béliveau parle des gardiens de but.


Tout le monde parle de Terry Sawchuck, qui un gardien de but formidable. Si vous me parlez d’élégance, Terry Sawchuck est mon choix. Mais celui qui m’a donné le plus de trouble est Johnny Bower. Johnny Bower était un gardien de but qui se tenait debout. Et si tu te rappelles, moi j’aimais faire des feintes et la plupart des gardiens de but bougent sur une feinte, mais pas Bower. Alors, ça rendait la situation beaucoup plus difficile. J’ai toujours eu de l’admiration pour un gardien qui se tient debout. Et j’ai beaucoup d’admiration pour plusieurs gardiens de but, mais Bower est celui qui m’a donné le plus de difficultés.

RCIP

© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Hockey senior

Hockey senior. Cliquez sur 'Lire la transcription' pour la vidéo

RCIP

© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • étudier le rôle que le hockey joue dans l’identité canadienne;
  • être en mesure d’identifier les personnes importantes qui ont participé au hockey au Canada;
  • décrire le développement du hockey professionnel au Canada;
  • décrire l’évolution de la Ligue nationale de hockey;
  • comprendre les premières ligues régionales de hockey au Canada;
  • étudier la création de l’Association mondiale de hockey et son inclusion dans la Ligue nationale de hockey;
  • étudier l’histoire de la Coupe Stanley.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons