Christmas for Canadian soldiers overseas was very different from those they had experienced at home. With many goods rationed, gifts were often small, useful items that could be easily shipped through the mail like this handkerchief. For a soldier stationed on the front lines, their only remembrance of the holiday might be a Christmas carol sung with his fellows, an extra ration of food, or a card or package from home, if he celebrated the day at all.

For the soldiers stationed in Great Britain, however, the holiday was usually observed. Soldiers celebrated in barracks, attended church services, and went to canteens and dances. Packages were sent and received and the cooks prepared special Christmas dinners.

For members of the Canadian Women’s Army Corps, Christmas trees were put up and barracks decorated. They also held Christmas parties for the bombed-out children of London and distributed handmade toys and candy.

Despite being in the middle of a war, Canadian soldiers did their best to celebrate the Christmas season. For example, on Christmas Day 1944 The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa (M.G.) held a Christmas dinner "somewhere in Holla Read More
Christmas for Canadian soldiers overseas was very different from those they had experienced at home. With many goods rationed, gifts were often small, useful items that could be easily shipped through the mail like this handkerchief. For a soldier stationed on the front lines, their only remembrance of the holiday might be a Christmas carol sung with his fellows, an extra ration of food, or a card or package from home, if he celebrated the day at all.

For the soldiers stationed in Great Britain, however, the holiday was usually observed. Soldiers celebrated in barracks, attended church services, and went to canteens and dances. Packages were sent and received and the cooks prepared special Christmas dinners.

For members of the Canadian Women’s Army Corps, Christmas trees were put up and barracks decorated. They also held Christmas parties for the bombed-out children of London and distributed handmade toys and candy.

Despite being in the middle of a war, Canadian soldiers did their best to celebrate the Christmas season. For example, on Christmas Day 1944 The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa (M.G.) held a Christmas dinner "somewhere in Holland". The menu – which included soup, trout, turkey, pork, peas, potatoes, pudding, pie, cheese, crackers, coffee, oranges, candy, cigars and beer – listed each of the entrees with a geographical title. This reflected the towns and cities that the battalion had either helped to capture or the areas in which they had fought so far. Printed on paper supplied by the Canadian YMCA, the menu also noted that "no tips" were to be paid.

© 2002, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Pink silk handkerchief edged with white lace

Pink silk handkerchief edged with white lace. Printed in one corner is a Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (PPCLI) cap badge and "Christmas in England, 1942."

Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry Regimental Museum and Archives
1942-12-25
© Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry Regimental Museum and Archives


This menu details the meal served to the Cameron Highlanders in Holland, 1944.

This menu details the meal served to the Cameron Highlanders in Holland, 1944. The dishes are named after cities and towns the regiment had passed through in the previous few months.

Ken Reynolds
1944-12-25
© The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa Regimental Museum


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Develop an understanding of the participation and role of Canada’s Army in the World War II
  • Examine the contributions, sacrifices and experiences of individuals who participated in military events during World War II
  • Identify key locations in which Canada’s military operated during World War II
  • Evaluate the weapons and technology used by Canadian soldiers

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Noël pour les soldats canadiens outre-mer se déroulait très différemment de ce qu’ils avaient connu jusque-là dans leurs foyers. Comme bien des denrées étaient rationnées, les cadeaux étaient souvent modestes. Il s’agissait d’articles utiles qu’il était facile d’envoyer par la poste, comme ce mouchoir. Le seul élément permettant à un soldat stationné sur le front de savoir que Noël existait encore était parfois une chanson chantée avec des camarades, une ration supplémentaire de nourriture ou encore une carte ou un colis envoyés par les siens, mais cela m'était toujours pas la case.

Les soldats stationnés en Grande-Bretagne, eux, avaient généralement droit à des vacances. Ils célébraient dans les casernes, assistaient à des offices religieux et allaient dans les cantines et dans les bals populaires. Des colis étaient échangés de part et d’autre de l’Atlantique et les cuisiniers préparaient des dîners de fêt Pour en lire plus
Noël pour les soldats canadiens outre-mer se déroulait très différemment de ce qu’ils avaient connu jusque-là dans leurs foyers. Comme bien des denrées étaient rationnées, les cadeaux étaient souvent modestes. Il s’agissait d’articles utiles qu’il était facile d’envoyer par la poste, comme ce mouchoir. Le seul élément permettant à un soldat stationné sur le front de savoir que Noël existait encore était parfois une chanson chantée avec des camarades, une ration supplémentaire de nourriture ou encore une carte ou un colis envoyés par les siens, mais cela m'était toujours pas la case.

Les soldats stationnés en Grande-Bretagne, eux, avaient généralement droit à des vacances. Ils célébraient dans les casernes, assistaient à des offices religieux et allaient dans les cantines et dans les bals populaires. Des colis étaient échangés de part et d’autre de l’Atlantique et les cuisiniers préparaient des dîners de fête pour la Noël.

Pour les membres du Service féminin de l’armée canadienne, des arbres de Noël avaient été dressés et les casernes étaient décorées. Il y avait aussi des fêtes pour les enfants chassés de leur foyer par les bombardements à Londres, et des jouets faits à la main et des sucreries étaient distribués.

Même si la guerre faisait encore rage, les soldats canadiens célébraient de leur mieux la Noël. Ainsi, le jour de Noël 1944, les Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa (MIT) ont organisé un dîner de Noël « quelque part en Hollande ». Sur le menu – soupe, truite, dinde, porc, petits pois, pommes de terre, pouding, tarte, fromage, craquelins, café, oranges, sucreries, cigares et bière – chaque mets portait un nom géographique correspondant aux villes et aux villages que le bataillon avait aidé à capturer ou les secteurs dans lesquels il s’était battu. Imprimé sur du papier envoyé par le YMCA canadien, le menu mentionnait aussi qu’il était inutile de laisser un pourboire.

© 2002, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Mouchoir de soie rose bordé de dentelle blanche

Mouchoir de soie rose bordé de dentelle blanche. Marqué au coin de l'insigne du Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (PPCLI) et portant l'inscription « Christmas in England, 1942 ».

Musée et archives régimentaires du Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry
1942-12-25
© Musée et archives régimentaires du Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry


Ce menu donne le détail d'un repas qui a été servi aux Cameron Highlanders en Hollande en 1944.

Ce menu donne le détail d'un repas qui a été servi aux Cameron Highlanders en Hollande en 1944. Les plats portaient les noms de villes et de villages que le régiment avait traversés au cours des derniers mois.

Ken Reynolds
1944-12-25
© Le Musée régimentaire, The Cameron Highlanders of Ottawa


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • comprendre la participation et le rôle des Forces canadiennes pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale;
  • étudier les contributions, les sacrifices et les expériences vécues par les individus qui ont participé aux opérations militaires pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale;
  • identifier les principaux endroits où se sont déroulées les opérations militaires auxquelles a pris part le Canada pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale;
  • étudier les armes et la technologie employées par les soldats canadiens.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons