In 1892, Canada’s former Governor-General, Lord Stanley of Preston purchased a simple silver bowl for a small sum and donated it "to be awarded from year to year to the champion hockey club in the Dominion (of Canada)." Though Lord Stanley never saw any of the on-ice battles his trophy inspired, he would be proud of what that small silver cup symbolizes. Originally an Amateur trophy, it soon became the symbol of excellence for professional hockey in North America and, with the formation of the National Hockey League in 1917, the Stanley Cup began taking on its current shape. Over one hundred years have passed since the trophy was first awarded and in that time it has grown substantially, now standing nearly three feet tall. But not just the size of the trophy has changed; it also now bears the names of the teams and the hundreds of the players that have claimed it over the years.

The following Amateur and professional leagues provided some of the early champions who contested for the Stanley Cup:

Alberta Hockey League
Amateur Hockey Association of Canada
Canadian Amateur Hockey League
Central Canada Association
Easter Read More
In 1892, Canada’s former Governor-General, Lord Stanley of Preston purchased a simple silver bowl for a small sum and donated it "to be awarded from year to year to the champion hockey club in the Dominion (of Canada)." Though Lord Stanley never saw any of the on-ice battles his trophy inspired, he would be proud of what that small silver cup symbolizes. Originally an Amateur trophy, it soon became the symbol of excellence for professional hockey in North America and, with the formation of the National Hockey League in 1917, the Stanley Cup began taking on its current shape. Over one hundred years have passed since the trophy was first awarded and in that time it has grown substantially, now standing nearly three feet tall. But not just the size of the trophy has changed; it also now bears the names of the teams and the hundreds of the players that have claimed it over the years.

The following Amateur and professional leagues provided some of the early champions who contested for the Stanley Cup:

Alberta Hockey League
Amateur Hockey Association of Canada
Canadian Amateur Hockey League
Central Canada Association
Eastern Canada Amateur Hockey Association
Eastern Canada Hockey Association
Federal Amateur Hockey League
Manitoba Hockey League
Manitoba and Northwestern Hockey League
Maritime Hockey League
Ontario Professional Hockey League

© 2001, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Lord Stanley

Lord Stanley of Preston.

CHIN
Health and Physical Education, Games, Healthy Active Living Education, Outdoor Activities, Hockey in Canada, Canada, Hockey, nhl, jersey, center, ice skates, hockey stick, playoffs, goal, hockey skates, Toronto Maple Leafs, CHA, forward, world juniors, Junior Hockey, hockey Canada, wing, Vancouver Canucks, national hockey league, Calgary Flames, hockey game, Montreal Canadiens, oha, Edmonton Oilers, stanley cup, goalie, Mario Lemieux, BCHL, hockey gloves, goalie mask, Ottawa Senators, Western Hockey League, defense, Puck, canadian hockey, right wing, ontario hockey association, slap shot, hockey arenas, hockey puck, Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, left wing, rinks, international hockey, Maple Leaf Gardens, Canadian Hockey Association, olympic hockey, Montreal Forum, memorial cup, Wayne Gretzkey, amateur hockey, Windsor Nova Scotia, shin pads, Championship Cup, ciau, Air Canada Cup, allan cup, goal tender

© Hockey Hall of Fame


The Trophy as it Originally Looked

The Trophy as it Originally Looked

CHIN

© Doug MacLellan/Hockey Hall of Fame


The Stanley Cup

Hockey's ultimate prize - the Stanley Cup.

CHIN

© Dave Sandford/Hockey Hall of Fame


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Investigate the role that hockey plays in Canada’s national identity
  • Identify significant people involved in hockey in Canada
  • Describe the development of professional hockey in Canada
  • Describe the evolution of the National Hockey League
  • Demonstrate an understanding of the early regional hockey leagues in Canada
  • Investigate the rise of the World Hockey Association and its inclusion into the National Hockey League
  • Examine the history of the Stanley Cup

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

En 1892, l’ancien gouverneur général du Canada, lord Stanley de Preston, acheta un simple bol en argent pour une somme modique et en fit cadeau pour qu’il « soit remis chaque année à l’équipe de hockey championne du Dominion (du Canada) ». Lord Stanley n’a jamais assisté aux affrontements sur glace inspirés par son trophée, mais il serait fier aujourd’hui de ce que cette petite coupe d’argent symbolise. Un trophée de hockey amateur à l’origine, la Coupe est rapidement devenue le symbole de l’excellence au hockey professionnel en Amérique du Nord et, après la formation de la Ligue nationale de hockey en 1917, la Coupe Stanley a commencé à prendre sa forme actuelle. Plus d’un siècle s’est écoulé depuis la première attribution du trophée; avec le temps, la Coupe a beaucoup grandi et elle fait maintenant presque trois pieds. Mais il n’y a pas que la taille de la coupe qui ait changé : elle porte maintenant les noms des équipes et des centaines de joueurs qui l& Pour en lire plus

En 1892, l’ancien gouverneur général du Canada, lord Stanley de Preston, acheta un simple bol en argent pour une somme modique et en fit cadeau pour qu’il « soit remis chaque année à l’équipe de hockey championne du Dominion (du Canada) ». Lord Stanley n’a jamais assisté aux affrontements sur glace inspirés par son trophée, mais il serait fier aujourd’hui de ce que cette petite coupe d’argent symbolise. Un trophée de hockey amateur à l’origine, la Coupe est rapidement devenue le symbole de l’excellence au hockey professionnel en Amérique du Nord et, après la formation de la Ligue nationale de hockey en 1917, la Coupe Stanley a commencé à prendre sa forme actuelle. Plus d’un siècle s’est écoulé depuis la première attribution du trophée; avec le temps, la Coupe a beaucoup grandi et elle fait maintenant presque trois pieds. Mais il n’y a pas que la taille de la coupe qui ait changé : elle porte maintenant les noms des équipes et des centaines de joueurs qui l’ont remportée au fil des ans.

Les ligues de hockey amateur et professionnel suivantes ont compté quelques-uns des meilleurs joueurs qui ont été à la conquête de la coupe Stanley :

Ligue de hockey de l’Alberta
Association de hockey amateur du Canada
Ligue de hockey amateur du Canada
Association du Centre du Canada
Association de hockey amateur de l’Est du Canada
Association de hockey de l’Est du Canada
Ligue de hockey amateur fédérale
Ligue de hockey du Manitoba
Ligue de hockey du Manitoba et du Nord-Ouest
Ligue de hockey des Maritimes
Ligue de hockey professionnel de l’Ontario


© 2001, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Lord Stanley

Lord Stanley de Preston.

RCIP
Santé et éducation physique, Jeux, Initiation à une vie active saine, Participation active, hockey au Canada, Canada, hockey, LNH, chandail, centre, patins à glace, bâton de hockey, séries éliminatoires, but, patins de hockey, Maple Leafs de Toronto, Association canadienne de hockey, avant, championnats du monde juniors, hockey junior, Hockey Canada, ailier, Canucks de Vancouver, ligue nationale de hockey, Flames de Calgary, match de hockey, Canadiens de Montréal, OHA, Oilers d'Edmonton, Coupe Stanley, gardien de but, Mario Lemieux, BCHL, gants de hockey, masque protecteur de gardien de but, Sénateurs d'Ottawa, Western Hockey League, défenseur, rondelle, hockey canadien, ailier droit, Ontario Hockey Association, lancer frappé, stade de hockey, rondelle de hockey, Ligue de hockey junior majeur du Québec, ailier gauche, patinoires, hockey international, Maple Leaf Gardens, hockey olympique, Forum de Montréal, Coupe Mémorial, Wayne Gretzkey, hockey amateur, Windsor Nouvelle-Écosse, jambières, coupe de championnat, USIC, Coupe Air Canada, Coupe Allan, gardien

© Temple de la renommée du hockey


Le trophée tel qu’il était à l’origine

Le trophée tel qu’il était à l’origine

RCIP

© Doug MacLellan/ Temple de la renommée du hockey


La coupe Stanley

La récompense suprême a hockey – la Coupe Stanley.

RCIP

© Dave Sandford/Temple de la renommée du hockey


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • étudier le rôle que le hockey joue dans l’identité canadienne;
  • être en mesure d’identifier les personnes importantes qui ont participé au hockey au Canada;
  • décrire le développement du hockey professionnel au Canada;
  • décrire l’évolution de la Ligue nationale de hockey;
  • comprendre les premières ligues régionales de hockey au Canada;
  • étudier la création de l’Association mondiale de hockey et son inclusion dans la Ligue nationale de hockey;
  • étudier l’histoire de la Coupe Stanley.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons