Black Swallowtail [Papilio polyxenes asterius Stoll]

Black Swallowtail [Papilio polyxenes asterius Stoll]

Photos : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


Description: Large black butterfly spotted with yellow and blue. The colour is quite variable, however, and the yellow spots are often replaced with orange ones. The spots are sometimes very small. The females have more blue spots and fewer yellow spots than the males. Wingspan: 5-9.5 cm.

Life Cycle: The round eggs range in colour from white to cream-coloured. This species overwinters in the chrysalis stage on or near the ground. Two generations per year in the province.

Active Period: The flight season for the adults is mid-May to August. The caterpillars are active from late June to mid-September.

Abundance: Common in some years.

Habitat and Distribution: Fields (particularly near cultivated carrot fields) and flower gardens. Occurs east of the Rockies from Canada to northern South America, including Central America.

Similar Species: The Short-tailed Swallowtail (P. brevicauda), as its Read More
Description: Large black butterfly spotted with yellow and blue. The colour is quite variable, however, and the yellow spots are often replaced with orange ones. The spots are sometimes very small. The females have more blue spots and fewer yellow spots than the males. Wingspan: 5-9.5 cm.

Life Cycle: The round eggs range in colour from white to cream-coloured. This species overwinters in the chrysalis stage on or near the ground. Two generations per year in the province.

Active Period: The flight season for the adults is mid-May to August. The caterpillars are active from late June to mid-September.

Abundance: Common in some years.

Habitat and Distribution: Fields (particularly near cultivated carrot fields) and flower gardens. Occurs east of the Rockies from Canada to northern South America, including Central America.

Similar Species: The Short-tailed Swallowtail (P. brevicauda), as its name implies, can be distinguished from this species by its smaller tail.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Clouded Sulphur [Colias philodice philodice Godart]

Clouded Sulphur [Colias philodice philodice, Godart]

Photo : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


Description: This butterfly has lemon-yellow wings with a black border, solid black in the male and spotted with yellow in the female. Both forewings have a black spot and both hindwings, an orange spot. Wingspan: 3-5.5 cm.

Life Cycle: The eggs are laid singly on the leaves of legumes (Fabaceae family), particularly clovers (Trifolium spp.). The butterfly overwinters as a larva or pupa. There are three generations a year in Québec.

Active Period: The flight season of the adults is from the end of May to October. The caterpillars are active from June to September.

Abundance: Very common, particularly in late summer.

Habitat and Distribution: Fields, clearings with flowers, moist places and roadsides. The Clouded Sulphur is limited to the eastern part of the continent, and is not found south of the Mexican border.

Similar Species: The Orange Sulphur (Colias eurytheme Read More
Description: This butterfly has lemon-yellow wings with a black border, solid black in the male and spotted with yellow in the female. Both forewings have a black spot and both hindwings, an orange spot. Wingspan: 3-5.5 cm.

Life Cycle: The eggs are laid singly on the leaves of legumes (Fabaceae family), particularly clovers (Trifolium spp.). The butterfly overwinters as a larva or pupa. There are three generations a year in Québec.

Active Period: The flight season of the adults is from the end of May to October. The caterpillars are active from June to September.

Abundance: Very common, particularly in late summer.

Habitat and Distribution: Fields, clearings with flowers, moist places and roadsides. The Clouded Sulphur is limited to the eastern part of the continent, and is not found south of the Mexican border.

Similar Species: The Orange Sulphur (Colias eurytheme), as its name implies, is darker than the Clouded Sulphur, while the Pink-edged Sulphur (Colias interior) has a pink border on all four wings.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Monarch [danaus plexippus plexippus] (Linnaeus)

Monarch [danaus plexippus plexippus] (Linnaeus)

Photo : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


Description: The Monarch is our largest butterfly (wingspan: 7.5-10 cm). The brightly contrasting wings, orange with black veins, indicate to potential predators that the Monarch may be poisonous. The males have a black spot, or sex patch, on each hindwing (consisting of androconial or scented scales). The females are distinguished by their lack of a sex patch and their broader veins.

Life Cycle: The Monarch arrives in Québec in June. The female lays her eggs on milkweeds (Asclepias spp.), which are the caterpillars’ sole food plants. The larvae feed for around two weeks before pupating. After a dozen days or so, in late summer, the adults emerge from their cocoons. In fall, they migrate to Mexico, where they overwinter (for more information, see the Questions and and Answers section on Monarchs).

Active Period: In Québec, the adults can be seen from June to September. The caterpillars are active from August to early September.

Abundance: Common.

Read More
Description: The Monarch is our largest butterfly (wingspan: 7.5-10 cm). The brightly contrasting wings, orange with black veins, indicate to potential predators that the Monarch may be poisonous. The males have a black spot, or sex patch, on each hindwing (consisting of androconial or scented scales). The females are distinguished by their lack of a sex patch and their broader veins.

Life Cycle: The Monarch arrives in Québec in June. The female lays her eggs on milkweeds (Asclepias spp.), which are the caterpillars’ sole food plants. The larvae feed for around two weeks before pupating. After a dozen days or so, in late summer, the adults emerge from their cocoons. In fall, they migrate to Mexico, where they overwinter (for more information, see the Questions and and Answers section on Monarchs).

Active Period: In Québec, the adults can be seen from June to September. The caterpillars are active from August to early September.

Abundance: Common.

Habitat and Distribution: Found in a wide range of habitats except for heavily forested areas, the Monarch is renowned for its migratory feats. From its initial range in the New World, the Monarch has colonized Indonesia, Australia and the Canary Islands. It has also recently become established locally in the Mediterranean region (observed in France).

Similar Species: Resembles the Viceroy (Limenitis archippus), except that the Monarch does not have a black line through its hindwings and the Monarch has two rows of white spots on the thick black wing margin. The Monarch is also larger (wingspan of 7.5-10 cm versus 6.5-7.5 cm for the Viceroy).

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Mourning Cloak [Nymphalis antiopa antiopa] (Linné)

Mourning Cloak [Nymphalis antiopa antiopa] (Linnaeus)

Photo : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


Description: Large purple-brown butterfly (wingspan: 6-8 cm). The wing margins are marked with a row of blue spots bordered by a broad yellow band. The sexes are identical.

Life Cycle: The eggs are laid in masses, in trees such as willows (Salix spp.), poplars and aspens (Populus spp.), elms (Ulmus spp.), birches (Betula spp.) and alders (Alnus spp.). The caterpillars feed communally. The species overwinters in the adult phase. When the adults emerge early in spring, their wing margins are white. Two generations a year.

Active Period: The adults are active from early April to early October and the caterpillars, from July to August.

Abundance: Very common.

Habitat and Distribution: Urban parks, deciduous forest edges and near rivers, streams, lakes and logging roads in mixed forests. Occurs throughout North America.
Description: Large purple-brown butterfly (wingspan: 6-8 cm). The wing margins are marked with a row of blue spots bordered by a broad yellow band. The sexes are identical.

Life Cycle: The eggs are laid in masses, in trees such as willows (Salix spp.), poplars and aspens (Populus spp.), elms (Ulmus spp.), birches (Betula spp.) and alders (Alnus spp.). The caterpillars feed communally. The species overwinters in the adult phase. When the adults emerge early in spring, their wing margins are white. Two generations a year.

Active Period: The adults are active from early April to early October and the caterpillars, from July to August.

Abundance: Very common.

Habitat and Distribution: Urban parks, deciduous forest edges and near rivers, streams, lakes and logging roads in mixed forests. Occurs throughout North America.

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Big Poplar Sphinx [Pachysphinx modesta] (Harris)

Big Poplar Sphinx [Pachysphinx modesta/] (Harris)

Photo : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


During the day, the Big Poplar Sphinx often remains near the sources of light that it frequents at night, inactive or asleep. This is a good opportunity to observe this moth.

Description: The forewings of this species have alternating bands of grey and brown and the hindwings are tinged with red; the wing base is blue-grey. It is the largest (wingspan: 9-14 cm) and most common of our Sphinx moths.

Life Cycle: The mature female caterpillar may be as long as 9 cm, while the male is usually smaller (7.5 cm). In late summer, the caterpillar pupates. The chrysalis spends nearly a year buried just under the surface of the soil at the foot of a poplar, the food plant of the caterpillar. One generation a year.

Active Period: The Big Poplar Sphinx is active at dusk, in June and July, while the caterpillar is active from August to early September.

Abundance: Common.

Habitat and Distribution: Deciduous and mixed forests. Ranges across southern Ca Read More
During the day, the Big Poplar Sphinx often remains near the sources of light that it frequents at night, inactive or asleep. This is a good opportunity to observe this moth.

Description: The forewings of this species have alternating bands of grey and brown and the hindwings are tinged with red; the wing base is blue-grey. It is the largest (wingspan: 9-14 cm) and most common of our Sphinx moths.

Life Cycle: The mature female caterpillar may be as long as 9 cm, while the male is usually smaller (7.5 cm). In late summer, the caterpillar pupates. The chrysalis spends nearly a year buried just under the surface of the soil at the foot of a poplar, the food plant of the caterpillar. One generation a year.

Active Period: The Big Poplar Sphinx is active at dusk, in June and July, while the caterpillar is active from August to early September.

Abundance: Common.

Habitat and Distribution: Deciduous and mixed forests. Ranges across southern Canada through the southern United States, as far south as the Gulf of Mexico in the east and southern Colorado (the Rockies) in the west.

Similar Species: None.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Cecropia Moth [Hyalophora cecropia] (Linnaeus)

Cecropia Moth [Hyalophora cecropia] (Linnaeus)

Photo : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


Description: An easily identified species, with its red thorax and its abdomen striped with red and white crossbands. The dark brown wings have white and pinkish-red stripes. Both sexes are similar although the male has a thinner abdomen and very feathery antennae. The Cecropia Moth is the largest North American moth, with a wingspan of 11-16 cm. The caterpillar is also large, 11 cm long at the last larval instar, and green, with bright yellow club-shaped tubercles on the back, four red tubercles near the head and blue tubercles elsewhere on the body.

Life Cycle: The female lays her 200 or more eggs on the foliage of cherries (Prunus spp.), plums (Prunus spp.), apples (Malus spp.), birches (Betula spp.), willows (Salix spp.), maples (Acer spp.) and lilacs (Syringa spp.). In late summer, the caterpillar weaves a cocoon around a stem of the host plant, from which the adult emerges the following spring. There is only one generation in North America.

Active Period: The flight season for Read More
Description: An easily identified species, with its red thorax and its abdomen striped with red and white crossbands. The dark brown wings have white and pinkish-red stripes. Both sexes are similar although the male has a thinner abdomen and very feathery antennae. The Cecropia Moth is the largest North American moth, with a wingspan of 11-16 cm. The caterpillar is also large, 11 cm long at the last larval instar, and green, with bright yellow club-shaped tubercles on the back, four red tubercles near the head and blue tubercles elsewhere on the body.

Life Cycle: The female lays her 200 or more eggs on the foliage of cherries (Prunus spp.), plums (Prunus spp.), apples (Malus spp.), birches (Betula spp.), willows (Salix spp.), maples (Acer spp.) and lilacs (Syringa spp.). In late summer, the caterpillar weaves a cocoon around a stem of the host plant, from which the adult emerges the following spring. There is only one generation in North America.

Active Period: The flight season for adults is from June to early July. The caterpillar is active from July to August.

Abundance: Common.

Habitat and Distribution: Widespread in forests, fields, gardens and open areas. Is also often seen in and around cities. Occurs east of the Rockies from the United States and southern Canada to Mexico.
Similar Species: The Cecropia Moth can be distinguished from other moths in the same group by the red lines across the wings.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Virgin Tiger Moth [Apantesis virgo] (Linnaeus)

Virgin Tiger Moth [Apantesis virgo] (Linnaeus)

Photo : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


Description: This moth is easy to identify, with its black and white checkered pattern in which the black spots on the hindwing stand out against the pink background. Wing colour can be quite varied in this species.

Life Cycle: The caterpillar feeds exclusively on herbaceous plants. There is only one generation a year.

Active Period: The overwintering caterpillars emerge in spring and are active from May to early June, when they pupate into adults: the flight season of the resulting moths is from around June to mid-August. The new generation of caterpillars is active in September, and go into diapause in fall to overwinter as caterpillars.

Abundance: Common.

Habitat and Distribution: Forests and open areas. Its range extends from James Bay (Québec and Ontario) south to Mexico.
Description: This moth is easy to identify, with its black and white checkered pattern in which the black spots on the hindwing stand out against the pink background. Wing colour can be quite varied in this species.

Life Cycle: The caterpillar feeds exclusively on herbaceous plants. There is only one generation a year.

Active Period: The overwintering caterpillars emerge in spring and are active from May to early June, when they pupate into adults: the flight season of the resulting moths is from around June to mid-August. The new generation of caterpillars is active in September, and go into diapause in fall to overwinter as caterpillars.

Abundance: Common.

Habitat and Distribution: Forests and open areas. Its range extends from James Bay (Québec and Ontario) south to Mexico.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Recognize a variety of species of moths and butterflies that are native to Quebec (and common throughout Canada)
  • Link taxonomic groupings to differences between species
  • Become familiar with the terms “flight period” and “host plant”
  • Cultivate an interest in the natural sciences

Papillon du céleri [Papilio polyxenes asterius Stoll]

Papillon du céleri [Papilio polyxenes asterius Stoll]

Photos : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


Description : Grand papillon diurne noir tacheté de jaune et de bleu. Ses couleurs varient cependant beaucoup. Le jaune des taches est souvent remplacé par la couleur orange. Les taches jaunes et bleues sont quelques fois très petites. On peut différencier le sexe: la femelle porte plus de taches bleues et moins de jaunes que le mâle. La taille de ce papillon oscille entre 5 et 9,5 cm.

Cycle de vie : Les oeufs sont ronds et leur couleur varie de jaune à crème. Cette espèce hiverne au stade de chrysalide sur le sol ou près de celui-ci. Deux générations par an dans notre province.

Période d’activité : L’adulte vole de la mi-mai à août. La chenille est active de la fin juin à la mi-septembre.

Abondance : Commun certaines années.

Habitat et répartition : Champs, surtout près des cultures de carottes, et jardin Pour en lire plus
Description : Grand papillon diurne noir tacheté de jaune et de bleu. Ses couleurs varient cependant beaucoup. Le jaune des taches est souvent remplacé par la couleur orange. Les taches jaunes et bleues sont quelques fois très petites. On peut différencier le sexe: la femelle porte plus de taches bleues et moins de jaunes que le mâle. La taille de ce papillon oscille entre 5 et 9,5 cm.

Cycle de vie : Les oeufs sont ronds et leur couleur varie de jaune à crème. Cette espèce hiverne au stade de chrysalide sur le sol ou près de celui-ci. Deux générations par an dans notre province.

Période d’activité : L’adulte vole de la mi-mai à août. La chenille est active de la fin juin à la mi-septembre.

Abondance : Commun certaines années.

Habitat et répartition : Champs, surtout près des cultures de carottes, et jardins fleuris. À l’est des Rocheuses, du Canada jusqu’au nord de l’Amérique du Sud en passant par l’Amérique centrale.

Espèces similaires : Le Papillon queue-courte (P. brevicauda) se distingue, comme son nom l’indique, par une queue plus petite taille.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

coliade du trèfle [Colias philodice philodice Godart]

Coliade du trèfle [Colias philodice philodice, Godart]

Photo : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


Description : Papillon jaune citron avec une bordure noire tachetée de jaune chez la femelle et unie chez le mâle. Il y a un point noir sur chacune des ailes antérieures et un point orange sur chaque aile postérieure. L’envergure varie de 3 à 5,5 cm.

Cycle de vie : Les oeufs sont pondus individuellement sur les feuilles de différentes légumineuses (Fabaceae), particulièrement le Trèfle (Trifolium). C’est au stade de chenille ou de chrysalide que l’insecte passe l’hiver. Trois générations par année au Québec.

Période d’activité : L’adulte vole de la fin mai à octobre. La chenille est active de juin à septembre.

Abondance : Très commun surtout à la fin de l’été.

Habitat et répartition : Champs, clairières fleuries, endroits humides Pour en lire plus
Description : Papillon jaune citron avec une bordure noire tachetée de jaune chez la femelle et unie chez le mâle. Il y a un point noir sur chacune des ailes antérieures et un point orange sur chaque aile postérieure. L’envergure varie de 3 à 5,5 cm.

Cycle de vie : Les oeufs sont pondus individuellement sur les feuilles de différentes légumineuses (Fabaceae), particulièrement le Trèfle (Trifolium). C’est au stade de chenille ou de chrysalide que l’insecte passe l’hiver. Trois générations par année au Québec.

Période d’activité : L’adulte vole de la fin mai à octobre. La chenille est active de juin à septembre.

Abondance : Très commun surtout à la fin de l’été.

Habitat et répartition : Champs, clairières fleuries, endroits humides et bordures de chemins. Le coliade du trèfle ne visite que l’est du continent. Au sud, il ne dépasse pas les frontières du Mexique.

Espèces similaires : Le coliade de la luzerne (Colias eurytheme) se distingue par sa coloration plus orangée, d’où le nom anglais « Orange Sulphur ». Le coliade intérieur (Colias interior) se reconnaît à la frange rose qui borde ses quatre ailes.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Monarque [danaus plexippus plexippus] (Linné)

Monarque [danaus plexippus plexippus] (Linné)

Photo : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


Description : Le monarque est le plus grand de nos papillons diurnes (envergure: 7,5 à 10 cm). Sa coloration orange, qui contraste avec les nervures noires, indique aux éventuels prédateurs que le monarque est vénéneux. Chez le mâle, chaque aile postérieure porte une tache noire (écailles odorifiques ou andocrinales) qui est absente chez la femelle. De plus, les nervures de la femelle sont plus larges que celles du mâle.

Cycle de vie : Le monarque arrive au Québec en juin. La femelle pond alors ses oeufs sur l’Asclépiade (Asclepias spp.), unique plante nourricière de la chenille. Cette dernière se développe en plus ou moins deux semaines avant de se transformer en chrysalide qui au bout d’une douzaine de jours deviendra un imago (adulte). Le papillon qui éclot à la fin de l’été migre vers le Mexique à l’automne et y passe l’hiver. Voir les questions sur le monarque dans la section Questions les plus Fréquemment Posées. Pour en lire plus
Description : Le monarque est le plus grand de nos papillons diurnes (envergure: 7,5 à 10 cm). Sa coloration orange, qui contraste avec les nervures noires, indique aux éventuels prédateurs que le monarque est vénéneux. Chez le mâle, chaque aile postérieure porte une tache noire (écailles odorifiques ou andocrinales) qui est absente chez la femelle. De plus, les nervures de la femelle sont plus larges que celles du mâle.

Cycle de vie : Le monarque arrive au Québec en juin. La femelle pond alors ses oeufs sur l’Asclépiade (Asclepias spp.), unique plante nourricière de la chenille. Cette dernière se développe en plus ou moins deux semaines avant de se transformer en chrysalide qui au bout d’une douzaine de jours deviendra un imago (adulte). Le papillon qui éclot à la fin de l’été migre vers le Mexique à l’automne et y passe l’hiver. Voir les questions sur le monarque dans la section Questions les plus Fréquemment Posées.

Période d’activité : Au Québec, on peut voir l’adulte de juin à septembre. La chenille est active du mois d’août au début du mois de septembre.

Abondance : Commun.

Habitat et répartition : Se retrouve un peu partout sauf dans les grandes forêts. Ce papillon est un migrateur bien connu. À partir de son domaine initial en Amérique, il est répandu en Indonésie, en Australie et aux Canaries. Il s’est récemment établi localement en Méditerrannée (observé en France).

Espèces similaires : Ressemble au vice-roi (Limenitis archippus), mais contrairement à lui, le monarque n’a pas de ligne noire qui traverse les ailes postérieures. Il s’en distingue aussi par deux rangées de taches blanches dans l’épaisse marge noire des ailes. De plus, il est plus grand de taille (7,5 à 10 cm au lieu de 6,5 à 7,5 cm pour le vice-roi).

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Morio [Nymphalis antiopa antiopa] (Linnaeus)

Morio [Nymphalis antiopa antiopa] (Linné)

Photo : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


Description : Grand papillon brun-violet (envergure: 6 à 8 cm), avec une ligne de taches bleues bordées d’une ligne jaune. Il n’y a pas de dimorphisme sexuel.

Cycle de vie : Les oeufs sont pondus par groupes sur des arbres comme les saules (Salix sp.), les peupliers (Populus sp.), les ormes (Ulmus sp.), les bouleaux (Betula sp.) et les aulnes (Alnus sp.). Les chenilles vivent en colonie. C’est habituellement l’adulte qui passe l’hiver à l’abri, puis ressort tôt au printemps. La bande jaune devient alors blanche. Deux générations par an.

Période d’activité : L’adulte se rencontre du début avril à début octobre. La chenille est active au mois de juillet et août.

Abondance : Très commun.

Habitat et répartition: Lisières des forêts de feuillus, pr&egra Pour en lire plus
Description : Grand papillon brun-violet (envergure: 6 à 8 cm), avec une ligne de taches bleues bordées d’une ligne jaune. Il n’y a pas de dimorphisme sexuel.

Cycle de vie : Les oeufs sont pondus par groupes sur des arbres comme les saules (Salix sp.), les peupliers (Populus sp.), les ormes (Ulmus sp.), les bouleaux (Betula sp.) et les aulnes (Alnus sp.). Les chenilles vivent en colonie. C’est habituellement l’adulte qui passe l’hiver à l’abri, puis ressort tôt au printemps. La bande jaune devient alors blanche. Deux générations par an.

Période d’activité : L’adulte se rencontre du début avril à début octobre. La chenille est active au mois de juillet et août.

Abondance : Très commun.

Habitat et répartition: Lisières des forêts de feuillus, près des ruisseaux, des lacs et des chemins en forêt mixte et dans les parcs urbains. Partout en Amérique du Nord.

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. Tous droits réservés.

Sphinx du peuplier  [Pachysphinx modesta] (Harris)

Sphinx du peuplier [Pachysphinx modesta/] (Harris)

Photo : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


Durant le jour, le sphinx du peuplier reste souvent endormi et inactif près des sources lumineuses qui l’attirent le soir. On peut alors profiter de son immobilité pour l’observer.

Description : Les ailes antérieures sont colorées de bandes qui alternent entre le gris et le brun. Les ailes postérieures sont teintées de rouge et la base d’un bleu-gris. Il est le plus grand (envergure : 9 à 14 cm) et le plus commun de nos sphinx.

Cycle de vie : La chenille femelle mature peut atteindre 9 cm de longueur. La chenille mâle est généralement plus petit (7,5 cm). La chenille se transforme en pupe à la fin de l’été. La chrysalide passe presque un an légèrement enterrée au pied de l’arbre nourricier de la chenille, le chêne. Une génération par an.

Période d’activité : Le sphinx de peuplier est un papillon crépusculaire, actif de juin à juillet alors qu Pour en lire plus
Durant le jour, le sphinx du peuplier reste souvent endormi et inactif près des sources lumineuses qui l’attirent le soir. On peut alors profiter de son immobilité pour l’observer.

Description : Les ailes antérieures sont colorées de bandes qui alternent entre le gris et le brun. Les ailes postérieures sont teintées de rouge et la base d’un bleu-gris. Il est le plus grand (envergure : 9 à 14 cm) et le plus commun de nos sphinx.

Cycle de vie : La chenille femelle mature peut atteindre 9 cm de longueur. La chenille mâle est généralement plus petit (7,5 cm). La chenille se transforme en pupe à la fin de l’été. La chrysalide passe presque un an légèrement enterrée au pied de l’arbre nourricier de la chenille, le chêne. Une génération par an.

Période d’activité : Le sphinx de peuplier est un papillon crépusculaire, actif de juin à juillet alors que la chenille l’est du mois d’août au début du mois de septembre.

Abondance : Commun.

Habitat et répartition : Forêts de feuillus et forêts mixtes. D’une côte à l’autre dans le sud du Canada, dans le sud des États-Unis jusqu’au Golfe dans l’Est; dans l’Ouest jusqu’au sud du Colorado dans les Rocheuses.

Espèces similaires : Aucune, il est la seule espèce du genre Pachysphinx.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Saturnie cécropia [Hyalophora cecropia] (Linné)

Saturnie cécropia [Hyalophora cecropia] (Linné)

Photo : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


Description : Espèce facilement reconnaissable. Le thorax est rouge et l’abdomen rayé de blanc et de rouge. Les ailes brun foncé sont parcourues de bandes blanches et rouge rosâtre. Les deux sexes se ressemblent beaucoup, mais le mâle a un abdomen plus mince et des antennes très plumeuses. La Saturnie cécropia est le plus grand papillon d’Amérique du Nord. Son envergure varie de 11 à 16 cm. La grande chenille, de 11 cm au dernier stade larvaire, est verte avec des protubérances en massue jaune vif sur le dos et des protubérances bleues ailleurs. Il y a aussi quatre tubercules rouges près de la tête.

Cycle de vie : La femelle pond ses oeufs, plus de 200, sur le feuillage de cerisiers (Prunus sp.), de pruniers (Prunus sp.), de pommiers (Malus sp.), de bouleaux (Betula sp.), de saules (Salix sp.), d’érables (Acer sp.) et de lilas (Syringa sp.). A la fin de l’été, la chenille tisse son cocon le long d’une ti Pour en lire plus
Description : Espèce facilement reconnaissable. Le thorax est rouge et l’abdomen rayé de blanc et de rouge. Les ailes brun foncé sont parcourues de bandes blanches et rouge rosâtre. Les deux sexes se ressemblent beaucoup, mais le mâle a un abdomen plus mince et des antennes très plumeuses. La Saturnie cécropia est le plus grand papillon d’Amérique du Nord. Son envergure varie de 11 à 16 cm. La grande chenille, de 11 cm au dernier stade larvaire, est verte avec des protubérances en massue jaune vif sur le dos et des protubérances bleues ailleurs. Il y a aussi quatre tubercules rouges près de la tête.

Cycle de vie : La femelle pond ses oeufs, plus de 200, sur le feuillage de cerisiers (Prunus sp.), de pruniers (Prunus sp.), de pommiers (Malus sp.), de bouleaux (Betula sp.), de saules (Salix sp.), d’érables (Acer sp.) et de lilas (Syringa sp.). A la fin de l’été, la chenille tisse son cocon le long d’une tige de la plante-hôte. L’adulte en sortira au printemps suivant. Une génération par année partout en Amérique.

Période d’activité : L’adulte est actif du mois de juin au début de juillet et la chenille de juillet à août.

Abondance : Commun.

Habitat et répartition : Répandu dans les forêts, les champs, les jardins et les aires ouvertes. Se voit souvent dans les villes et en périphérie. À l’est des montagnes Rocheuses, aux États-Unis, au sud du Canada ainsi qu’au Mexique.

Espèces similaires : La saturnie se différencie des autres papillons du même groupe par les lignes rouges qui traversent ses ailes.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Apantèse vierge [Apantesis virgo] (Linné)

Apantèse vierge [Apantesis virgo] (Linné)

Photo : Insectarium de Montréal

© Insectarium de Montréal.


Description : Ce papillon nocturne se reconnaît aisément à son carrelage noir et blanc. Des taches noires ressortent sur le rose des ailes postérieures. Il existe de grandes variations de parure.

Cycle de vie : La chenille de ce papillon mange uniquement des plantes herbacées. L’Apantèse ne compte génération par année.

Période d’activtité : L’Apanthèse adulte vole du mois de juin jusqu’à la mi-août. La chenille est active de mai à début juin et en septembre. L’insecte est au stade de chrysalide entre ces deux périodes.

Abondance : Commun.

Habitat et répartition : Forêts et milieux ouverts. On la trouve de la baie James, au Québec et en Ontario, jusqu’au Mexique.
Description : Ce papillon nocturne se reconnaît aisément à son carrelage noir et blanc. Des taches noires ressortent sur le rose des ailes postérieures. Il existe de grandes variations de parure.

Cycle de vie : La chenille de ce papillon mange uniquement des plantes herbacées. L’Apantèse ne compte génération par année.

Période d’activtité : L’Apanthèse adulte vole du mois de juin jusqu’à la mi-août. La chenille est active de mai à début juin et en septembre. L’insecte est au stade de chrysalide entre ces deux périodes.

Abondance : Commun.

Habitat et répartition : Forêts et milieux ouverts. On la trouve de la baie James, au Québec et en Ontario, jusqu’au Mexique.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • reconnaître diverses espèces de papillons diurnes et nocturnes indigènes de Québec (et qu’on observe couramment à travers le Canada) ;
  • établir un rapport entre les groupements taxinomiques et les différences entre les espèces ;
  • se familiariser avec les expressions « période de vol » et « plante hôte » ;
  • développer un intérêt pour les sciences naturelles.