This event is designed to promote the concept of Costa Rica as a multicultural and multilingual country. It achieves this through incorporating different forms of artistic and cultural expression which can be shared by different communities, each from their own perspective and their particular share in the identity, history and everyday life of the peoples of which the Costa Rican nation is comprised.

This festival has been sponsored by the Costa Rican Centre of Science and Culture, home of the Children’s Museum since 1995.

OBJECTIVES

To encourage the participation of boys and girls in the event through an active exchange of cultural experiences and expression among those attending.

To showcase the specific cultural identity and artistic expression of each of the different communities which make up the varied mosaic of modern Costa Rica, through their forms of cultural expression.

To create a space for sharing and exchange among the various groups through traditional recreational activities.
This event is designed to promote the concept of Costa Rica as a multicultural and multilingual country. It achieves this through incorporating different forms of artistic and cultural expression which can be shared by different communities, each from their own perspective and their particular share in the identity, history and everyday life of the peoples of which the Costa Rican nation is comprised.

This festival has been sponsored by the Costa Rican Centre of Science and Culture, home of the Children’s Museum since 1995.

OBJECTIVES

To encourage the participation of boys and girls in the event through an active exchange of cultural experiences and expression among those attending.

To showcase the specific cultural identity and artistic expression of each of the different communities which make up the varied mosaic of modern Costa Rica, through their forms of cultural expression.

To create a space for sharing and exchange among the various groups through traditional recreational activities.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Clay artifacts

Children from San Vicente de Nicoya teaching others how to make clay artifacts using traditional methods, making replicas of pre-Columbian and folk pottery.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Children teach other children their community’s handicraft techniques and skills in an open, flexible, hands-on approach. They use the typical materials of their respective regions to craft objects and demonstrate the processes by which the materials are prepared. To complement the activities of the children from the different communities, there is an exhibition of finished handicrafts and of tools used to create them. The exhibition illustrates, through photos, maps and information, the characteristics of each zone of origin and can be used by children as a pedagogical aid to explain the handicraft processes.

Participating communities to date include San Vicente de Nicoya and Quitirrisí de Mora.
Children teach other children their community’s handicraft techniques and skills in an open, flexible, hands-on approach. They use the typical materials of their respective regions to craft objects and demonstrate the processes by which the materials are prepared. To complement the activities of the children from the different communities, there is an exhibition of finished handicrafts and of tools used to create them. The exhibition illustrates, through photos, maps and information, the characteristics of each zone of origin and can be used by children as a pedagogical aid to explain the handicraft processes.

Participating communities to date include San Vicente de Nicoya and Quitirrisí de Mora.

© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Basket weaving

Making handicrafts out of vegetable fibres is one of the occupational activities of the Hüetar indigenous group in the community of Quitirrisí de Mora.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Making handicrafts out of vegetable fibres is one of the occupational activities of the Hüetar indigenous group in the community of Quitirrisí de Mora. This group makes baskets, mats, stands for cooking pots, drinking vessels, hats and a wide variety of other articles for decorative and home use. Children learn at home to weave and intertwine the vegetable fibres and to colour with natural and artificial dyes the handicrafts which are primarily intended for sale to national and foreign tourists. This activity constitutes an important point of reference for cultural identity and keeps the tradition alive from one generation to the next.
Making handicrafts out of vegetable fibres is one of the occupational activities of the Hüetar indigenous group in the community of Quitirrisí de Mora. This group makes baskets, mats, stands for cooking pots, drinking vessels, hats and a wide variety of other articles for decorative and home use. Children learn at home to weave and intertwine the vegetable fibres and to colour with natural and artificial dyes the handicrafts which are primarily intended for sale to national and foreign tourists. This activity constitutes an important point of reference for cultural identity and keeps the tradition alive from one generation to the next.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Pottery

Replicas of pre-Columbian artifacts using clay from the community of San Vicente de Nicoya belong to a range of pottery crafts of Chorotega indigenous origin mainly from the Guanacaste area in the north of Costa Rica.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Replicas of pre-Columbian artifacts using clay from the community of San Vicente de Nicoya belong to a range of pottery crafts of Chorotega indigenous origin mainly from the Guanacaste area in the north of Costa Rica. The first inhabitants of this area used these artifacts for domestic, ritual and decorative purposes. Surviving to the present time, this form of cultural expression has largely preserved the handicraft production techniques of the pre-Columbian potters. Objects made include pots and jugs, clay flutes, mortars, large jars, vases, clay griddles, flowerpots and other products native to Mesoamerican groups. Pottery-making is part of the family and community context, and largely intended for sale to tourists.
Replicas of pre-Columbian artifacts using clay from the community of San Vicente de Nicoya belong to a range of pottery crafts of Chorotega indigenous origin mainly from the Guanacaste area in the north of Costa Rica. The first inhabitants of this area used these artifacts for domestic, ritual and decorative purposes. Surviving to the present time, this form of cultural expression has largely preserved the handicraft production techniques of the pre-Columbian potters. Objects made include pots and jugs, clay flutes, mortars, large jars, vases, clay griddles, flowerpots and other products native to Mesoamerican groups. Pottery-making is part of the family and community context, and largely intended for sale to tourists.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Dance

Children from the Guaymí community performing a dance.

Museo de los Niños

COSTA RICA
© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Describe some aspects of ancient Costa Rican culture, using artifacts as examples
  • Identify how some current Costa Rican practices relate to traditional cultural practices
  • Describe efforts of Costa Rican peoples to maintain their cultural traditions

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le Festival de culture populaire pour les enfants est une activité conçue pour promouvoir le caractère multiculturel et multilingue du Costa Rica. Pour ce faire, il incorpore différentes manifestations artistiques et culturelles auxquelles peuvent contribuer les diverses communautés, chacune avec sa propre perspective et sa part de l’identité, de l’histoire et de la vie quotidienne des peuples dont la nation costaricienne est composée.

Ce festival est parrainé par le Centre costaricien de la science et la culture, siège du Musée des enfants (Museo de los Niños) depuis 1995.

OBJECTIFS

Encourager la participation active des enfants, garçons et filles, à l’aide d’échanges d’expériences et de manifestations culturelles.

Mettre en valeur l’identité culturelle et les manifestations artistiques caractéristiques des diverses communautés qui composent la mosaïque du Costa Rica moderne, au moyen de l’expression culturelle.

Offrir un espace d’échange et d Pour en lire plus
Le Festival de culture populaire pour les enfants est une activité conçue pour promouvoir le caractère multiculturel et multilingue du Costa Rica. Pour ce faire, il incorpore différentes manifestations artistiques et culturelles auxquelles peuvent contribuer les diverses communautés, chacune avec sa propre perspective et sa part de l’identité, de l’histoire et de la vie quotidienne des peuples dont la nation costaricienne est composée.

Ce festival est parrainé par le Centre costaricien de la science et la culture, siège du Musée des enfants (Museo de los Niños) depuis 1995.

OBJECTIFS

Encourager la participation active des enfants, garçons et filles, à l’aide d’échanges d’expériences et de manifestations culturelles.

Mettre en valeur l’identité culturelle et les manifestations artistiques caractéristiques des diverses communautés qui composent la mosaïque du Costa Rica moderne, au moyen de l’expression culturelle.

Offrir un espace d’échange et de convivialité entre les différents groupes au moyen d’activités traditionnelles de loisir.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Des objets en argile

Des enfants de San Vicente de Nicoya montrent à d'autres enfants comment faire des objets en argile, en employant des techniques traditionnelles, pour faire des répliques pré-colombiennes et de la poterie populaire.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Des enfants enseignent à d’autres enfants les techniques et les compétences artisanales de leur communauté, dans un processus marqué par la participation, la souplesse et l’ouverture. Exploitant les matériaux propres de leur région, ils fabriquent des objets et montrent comment se préparent les matériaux. L’exposition d’objets d’artisanat déjà terminés et d’outils employés pour leur fabrication complète l’activité des enfants des différentes communautés. Cette exposition sert d’outil pédagogique aux enfants lorsqu’ils expliquent leur travail artisanal et elle illustre, notamment au moyen de photos, de cartes et de données, les caractéristiques des communautés d’origine.

À ce jour, les communautés de San Vicente de Nicoya et de Quitirrisi de Mora ont participé à cette activité.
Des enfants enseignent à d’autres enfants les techniques et les compétences artisanales de leur communauté, dans un processus marqué par la participation, la souplesse et l’ouverture. Exploitant les matériaux propres de leur région, ils fabriquent des objets et montrent comment se préparent les matériaux. L’exposition d’objets d’artisanat déjà terminés et d’outils employés pour leur fabrication complète l’activité des enfants des différentes communautés. Cette exposition sert d’outil pédagogique aux enfants lorsqu’ils expliquent leur travail artisanal et elle illustre, notamment au moyen de photos, de cartes et de données, les caractéristiques des communautés d’origine.

À ce jour, les communautés de San Vicente de Nicoya et de Quitirrisi de Mora ont participé à cette activité.

© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. Tous droits réservés.

La vannerie

L'artisanat à base de fibres végétales est un métier du groupe ethnique amérindien hüetar de la localité de Quitirrisi de Mora.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


L’artisanat à base de fibres végétales est un métier du groupe ethnique amérindien hüetar de la localité de Quitirrisi de Mora. Ce groupe fabrique des corbeilles, des nattes, des dessous de plat, des gobelets, des chapeaux et une grande variété d’articles ménagers et décoratifs. Les enfants apprennent, au sein de leur famille, à tisser et à entrelacer les fibres végétales, et à teindre avec des colorants naturels et artificiels des objets destinés principalement à la vente aux touristes nationaux et internationaux. Ce métier constitue un point de repère important de l’identité culturelle et perpétue une tradition de génération en génération.
L’artisanat à base de fibres végétales est un métier du groupe ethnique amérindien hüetar de la localité de Quitirrisi de Mora. Ce groupe fabrique des corbeilles, des nattes, des dessous de plat, des gobelets, des chapeaux et une grande variété d’articles ménagers et décoratifs. Les enfants apprennent, au sein de leur famille, à tisser et à entrelacer les fibres végétales, et à teindre avec des colorants naturels et artificiels des objets destinés principalement à la vente aux touristes nationaux et internationaux. Ce métier constitue un point de repère important de l’identité culturelle et perpétue une tradition de génération en génération.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Pottery

Les répliques précolombiennes faites en terre cuite dans la localité de San Vicente de Nicoya appartiennent à un style d'objets en céramique de la tradition amérindienne Chorotega, surtout de la région de Guanacaste au nord du Costa Rica, dont les premiers habitants les fabriquaient comme articles ménagers, rituels et décoratifs.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Les répliques précolombiennes faites en terre cuite dans la localité de San Vicente de Nicoya appartiennent à un style d’objets en céramique de la tradition amérindienne Chorotega, surtout de la région de Guanacaste au nord du Costa Rica, dont les premiers habitants les fabriquaient comme articles ménagers, rituels et décoratifs. Cette forme d’expression culturelle qui a subsisté jusqu’à nos jours conserve en grande partie les techniques de production artisanale des potiers précolombiens. Aujourd’hui, on fabrique des pots, des ocarinas, des mortiers, des jarres, des vases, des plaques en terre pour cuire, des pots à fleurs et d’autres produits typiques des groupes ethniques de l’Amérique moyenne ou Méso-Amérique. La production d’objets en céramique se fait dans un contexte familial et communautaire et est largement destinée à la vente aux touristes.
Les répliques précolombiennes faites en terre cuite dans la localité de San Vicente de Nicoya appartiennent à un style d’objets en céramique de la tradition amérindienne Chorotega, surtout de la région de Guanacaste au nord du Costa Rica, dont les premiers habitants les fabriquaient comme articles ménagers, rituels et décoratifs. Cette forme d’expression culturelle qui a subsisté jusqu’à nos jours conserve en grande partie les techniques de production artisanale des potiers précolombiens. Aujourd’hui, on fabrique des pots, des ocarinas, des mortiers, des jarres, des vases, des plaques en terre pour cuire, des pots à fleurs et d’autres produits typiques des groupes ethniques de l’Amérique moyenne ou Méso-Amérique. La production d’objets en céramique se fait dans un contexte familial et communautaire et est largement destinée à la vente aux touristes.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

La danse

Des enfants de la communauté de Guaymí exécutent une danse.

Museo de los Niños

COSTA RICA
© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • décrire certains aspects de l’ancienne culture costaricienne à l’aide d’artefacts ;
  • déterminer en quoi les pratiques costariciennes actuelles se rattachent aux pratiques culturelles traditionnelles ;
  • décrire les efforts déployés par les diverses communautés costariciennes pour conserver leurs traditions culturelles.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons