The Children’s Festival of Popular Culture of Costa Rica promotes such traditional recreational activities as masquerades, traditional games, oral traditions and the marching band, as well as creating a space for the different communities to express themselves creatively. Through dance, theatre, music, mime and painting, children present their vision of the world.
The Children’s Festival of Popular Culture of Costa Rica promotes such traditional recreational activities as masquerades, traditional games, oral traditions and the marching band, as well as creating a space for the different communities to express themselves creatively. Through dance, theatre, music, mime and painting, children present their vision of the world.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Children Dancing

Children performing a traditional dance.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


This traditional festivity with masks and music is an occasion for spontaneous dance and the coming together of the community to celebrate significant events such as marriages, first communions, charity fairs and the patron saints’ days of the communities. It is an event which combines expressions of feeling through music and dance and the joy of carnival with personages such as Giant Woman, the Devil and various animals depicted in masks, all together in a festive atmosphere. The marching band is formed by a group of musicians who liven up the festivities with their playing. With their drum, trumpet, cymbals, accordions, trombones and tuba, they march along behind the masked procession through the streets of the neighbourhood or town.
This traditional festivity with masks and music is an occasion for spontaneous dance and the coming together of the community to celebrate significant events such as marriages, first communions, charity fairs and the patron saints’ days of the communities. It is an event which combines expressions of feeling through music and dance and the joy of carnival with personages such as Giant Woman, the Devil and various animals depicted in masks, all together in a festive atmosphere. The marching band is formed by a group of musicians who liven up the festivities with their playing. With their drum, trumpet, cymbals, accordions, trombones and tuba, they march along behind the masked procession through the streets of the neighbourhood or town.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Masks

Children from Heredia show their craftmanship in masks

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños


Dance of the maskers

Festival participants join in the dance of the maskers, accompanied by the traditional marching band.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Stories, songs, legends, games, riddles and anecdotes make up the oral tradition of the country’s different regions and live in the imagination of the children, who hear these narratives from their elders in their communities of origin. Stories told include the adventures of Uncle Rabbit, Anansi the Spider, the Horsehead Woman, the Big Black Dog, the Weeping Woman and Bigeyes. Games such as skipping rope, spinning tops, bowling and skittles are incorporated into this oral tradition. Within this tradition, songs of Afro-Caribbean origin express the lifestyle of the Costa Rican Caribbean coast.
Stories, songs, legends, games, riddles and anecdotes make up the oral tradition of the country’s different regions and live in the imagination of the children, who hear these narratives from their elders in their communities of origin. Stories told include the adventures of Uncle Rabbit, Anansi the Spider, the Horsehead Woman, the Big Black Dog, the Weeping Woman and Bigeyes. Games such as skipping rope, spinning tops, bowling and skittles are incorporated into this oral tradition. Within this tradition, songs of Afro-Caribbean origin express the lifestyle of the Costa Rican Caribbean coast.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Mime is an artistic activity involving gestures and bodily expression without the use of voice. The characters paint their faces white, dress in black and with special gestures and body movements act out in front of an audience the message they wish to communicate. Sometimes this activity has musical accompaniment. The message has to do with the life experiences of the urban groups participating in the Festival.
Mime is an artistic activity involving gestures and bodily expression without the use of voice. The characters paint their faces white, dress in black and with special gestures and body movements act out in front of an audience the message they wish to communicate. Sometimes this activity has musical accompaniment. The message has to do with the life experiences of the urban groups participating in the Festival.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Oral Tradition and Games in Folklore

Oral Tradition and Games in Folklore

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Mime

Mime is a form of artistic expression.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Workshops have been conducted during the Festival to collect opinions from children about the ecological situation and the view of the world they have from the perspective of their communities of different ethnic origin.
Children express the topics on their mind in a rich variety of ways including through pictures, drawings, speech and writing.
Workshops have been conducted during the Festival to collect opinions from children about the ecological situation and the view of the world they have from the perspective of their communities of different ethnic origin.
Children express the topics on their mind in a rich variety of ways including through pictures, drawings, speech and writing.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

International Project on the Earth Charter

Children who express their opinion of the values and principles needed for a sustainable world, contributing to the International Project on the Earth Charter.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Describe some aspects of traditional Costa Rican culture, using examples from the arts
  • Describe efforts of Costa Rican peoples to maintain their cultural traditions

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Des activités comme la mascarade, la fanfare, la tradition orale et le mime font partie du Festival. Le Festival favorise la réalisation d’activités traditionnelles de loisir, notamment la mascarade, les jeux traditionnels, la tradition orale et la fanfare. De même, il laisse place à la créativité des différentes communautés. À travers la danse, le théâtre, la musique, le mime et la peinture, les enfants présentent leur vision du monde.
Des activités comme la mascarade, la fanfare, la tradition orale et le mime font partie du Festival. Le Festival favorise la réalisation d’activités traditionnelles de loisir, notamment la mascarade, les jeux traditionnels, la tradition orale et la fanfare. De même, il laisse place à la créativité des différentes communautés. À travers la danse, le théâtre, la musique, le mime et la peinture, les enfants présentent leur vision du monde.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Des enfants exécutant une danse traditionnelle.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Cette fête traditionnelle, où la musique et les masques sont en vedette, est un prétexte pour la danse spontanée et le rassemblement de la communauté afin de célébrer des événements importants tels qu’un mariage, une première communion, une foire de charité ou une fête d’un saint patron d’une localité. Il s’agit d’une activité qui combine d’une part le sentiment exprimé par la musique, la danse et la joie du carnaval et d’autre part des personnages tels que la Géante, le Diable et plusieurs animaux représentés par les masques, le tout dans une atmosphère de réjouissances. La fanfare est composée d’un groupe de musiciens qui animent la fête avec leur musique. Avec leurs tambours, trompettes, cymbales, accordéons, trombones et tubas, ils défilent derrière la mascarade dans les rues du quartier ou de la ville.
Cette fête traditionnelle, où la musique et les masques sont en vedette, est un prétexte pour la danse spontanée et le rassemblement de la communauté afin de célébrer des événements importants tels qu’un mariage, une première communion, une foire de charité ou une fête d’un saint patron d’une localité. Il s’agit d’une activité qui combine d’une part le sentiment exprimé par la musique, la danse et la joie du carnaval et d’autre part des personnages tels que la Géante, le Diable et plusieurs animaux représentés par les masques, le tout dans une atmosphère de réjouissances. La fanfare est composée d’un groupe de musiciens qui animent la fête avec leur musique. Avec leurs tambours, trompettes, cymbales, accordéons, trombones et tubas, ils défilent derrière la mascarade dans les rues du quartier ou de la ville.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Les masques

Des enfants d'Heredia montrent leurs masques réalisés de manière artisanale

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños


Les danseurs masqués

Les participants au Festival se joignent aux danseurs masqués, accompagnés de la fanfare traditionnelle.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Les contes, chansons, légendes, jeux, devinettes et anecdotes sont autant d’éléments de la tradition orale des différentes régions du pays. Ils vivent dans l’imagination des enfants qui écoutent leurs aînés raconter ces histoires dans leur communauté d’origine. Ce sont des histoires comme les aventures de l’Oncle lapin, l’araignée Anansi, la Femme à tête de cheval, le Grand chien noir, la Pleureuse et le Gros badaud. Ou encore des jeux comme le saut à la corde, la toupie, le jeu de boules et les quilles. Des chansons d’origine afro-caraïbe décrivent la vie quotidienne de la côte caraïbe de Costa Rica.
Les contes, chansons, légendes, jeux, devinettes et anecdotes sont autant d’éléments de la tradition orale des différentes régions du pays. Ils vivent dans l’imagination des enfants qui écoutent leurs aînés raconter ces histoires dans leur communauté d’origine. Ce sont des histoires comme les aventures de l’Oncle lapin, l’araignée Anansi, la Femme à tête de cheval, le Grand chien noir, la Pleureuse et le Gros badaud. Ou encore des jeux comme le saut à la corde, la toupie, le jeu de boules et les quilles. Des chansons d’origine afro-caraïbe décrivent la vie quotidienne de la côte caraïbe de Costa Rica.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Le mime est une activité artistique d’expression corporelle et gestuelle sans recours à la voix. Les personnages se peignent le visage en blanc, s’habillent de noir et, au moyen de leur corps et de gestes particuliers, présentent au public le message qu’ils désirent transmettre. Cette activité est parfois accompagnée de musique. Les messages véhiculés portent sur des expériences vécues par les groupes urbains qui participent au Festival.
Le mime est une activité artistique d’expression corporelle et gestuelle sans recours à la voix. Les personnages se peignent le visage en blanc, s’habillent de noir et, au moyen de leur corps et de gestes particuliers, présentent au public le message qu’ils désirent transmettre. Cette activité est parfois accompagnée de musique. Les messages véhiculés portent sur des expériences vécues par les groupes urbains qui participent au Festival.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

La tradition orale et les jeux dans le folklore

La tradition orale et les jeux dans le folklore

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Le mime

Le mime est une forme d’expression artistique.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Pendant le Festival, des ateliers sont réalisés pour recueillir l’opinion des enfants au sujet de la situation écologique ainsi que leur vision du monde, du point de vue de leurs communautés respectives et de leurs différentes origines ethniques.
Les enfants manifestent leurs inquiétudes des manières les plus variées, par l’image ou le dessin, ou encore par la parole et l’écriture.
Pendant le Festival, des ateliers sont réalisés pour recueillir l’opinion des enfants au sujet de la situation écologique ainsi que leur vision du monde, du point de vue de leurs communautés respectives et de leurs différentes origines ethniques.
Les enfants manifestent leurs inquiétudes des manières les plus variées, par l’image ou le dessin, ou encore par la parole et l’écriture.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Projet international de la Charte de la Terre

Des enfants expriment leur opinion sur les valeurs et principes nécessaires pour construire un monde renouvelable, contribuant ainsi au Projet international de la Charte de la Terre.

Museo de los Niños

© Museo de los Niños, Costa Rica


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va:
  • décrire certains aspects de la culture costaricienne à l’aide d’exemples du domaine des arts ;
  • décrire les efforts des communautés costariciennes pour conserver leurs traditions culturelles.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons