The Carnival year is an exceptional time, cyclical in nature, and best experienced in three separate and complementary phases: Carnival itself is the ceremonial phase, when the pageant takes place; post-Carnival is a time to rest and ponder the next Carnival; then comes the pre- Carnival phase, a time to prepare for the upcoming parade.
The Carnival year is an exceptional time, cyclical in nature, and best experienced in three separate and complementary phases: Carnival itself is the ceremonial phase, when the pageant takes place; post-Carnival is a time to rest and ponder the next Carnival; then comes the pre- Carnival phase, a time to prepare for the upcoming parade.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Practicing samba

Practicing samba.

Liliane S. Guterres

© Liliane S. Guterres, Brazil


During the parade, emotions reach their peak. On that day, members get what they have been waiting for all year long. "Today’s the big day," they say. The rolling drums, the war-like cry announcing the theme samba, the deafening fireworks, and the excitement and tension of the members, all make for a highly emotional setting, often apparent in the tears of the parade participants. Once in the parade, they see themselves as members of a team, with their own positive self-image.
During the parade, emotions reach their peak. On that day, members get what they have been waiting for all year long. "Today’s the big day," they say. The rolling drums, the war-like cry announcing the theme samba, the deafening fireworks, and the excitement and tension of the members, all make for a highly emotional setting, often apparent in the tears of the parade participants. Once in the parade, they see themselves as members of a team, with their own positive self-image.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Choosing the Samba

The members of a sumba school chose a theme.

Liliane S. Guterres

© Liliane S. Guterres, Brazil


The first task in preparing for a new School parade is to choose the theme storyline, the subject which is to be performed down the avenue. These can be extremely varied, but usually include historical facts or figures, legends and myths. The theme storyline will be written into the samba’s lyrics, and be reflected visually in the costumes and the floats. The second task is to choose the theme samba, the music to be sung during the parade which should include all points mentioned in the theme storyline.

Costumes
Once the theme storyline and the theme samba have been chosen, the costumes and floats can be designed; this usually takes place in August, September or October. Everything in the lyrics of the theme samba must be reflected in the costumes and the floats.

Each wing has its own seamstress. Members need to buy their costumes, whereas the celebrities, or "standouts," get their costumes from the School. The costumes are made during the final months leading up to the parade. They are made of fabric in each School’s colours, and are decorated with embroidery or plastic appliqués, feathers, spangles, or any other material wh Read More
The first task in preparing for a new School parade is to choose the theme storyline, the subject which is to be performed down the avenue. These can be extremely varied, but usually include historical facts or figures, legends and myths. The theme storyline will be written into the samba’s lyrics, and be reflected visually in the costumes and the floats. The second task is to choose the theme samba, the music to be sung during the parade which should include all points mentioned in the theme storyline.

Costumes
Once the theme storyline and the theme samba have been chosen, the costumes and floats can be designed; this usually takes place in August, September or October. Everything in the lyrics of the theme samba must be reflected in the costumes and the floats.

Each wing has its own seamstress. Members need to buy their costumes, whereas the celebrities, or "standouts," get their costumes from the School. The costumes are made during the final months leading up to the parade. They are made of fabric in each School’s colours, and are decorated with embroidery or plastic appliqués, feathers, spangles, or any other material which might enhance its dazzling effect.

Floats
Building the floats begins in January, in a vast warehouse (barracão) near the parade grounds. Large Schools make 6 or 7 gigantic floats in 30 to 45 days.

The floats are made out of metal, then lined with wood. They are decorated with foam rubber, polystyrene, paint, paper, cloth, plastic, mirrors, fibreglass and other materials.

Rehearsals
Starting in September, the Samba Schools begin rehearsals for the percussion section and the "standouts," and also for the public, so that they learn to sing the theme samba. The rehearsals are vast parties held in the quadra, or samba headquarters, where thousands frolic till dawn. The pace picks up as Carnival approaches.

The Preview: the Muamba
During the last three weekends before Carnival, the Samba Schools practice their entire production. This preview is called the Muamba, and includes practically all those who will participate in the official parade. Costumes are not worn at this time, but participants parade out in the city streets. The Muamba is important, because through it the locals join in with the members of the Samba School.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Design to costume

From Design to Finished Costume .

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


The Muamba

The Muamba is a rehearsal for the whole Carnival parade.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Carnival Float

A Carnival float under construction

Zoé Degani

© Zoé Degani, Brazil


Each Samba School has an hour in which to present its parade. During that time, judges score the parade on the basis of nine criteria, using a point system ranging from 0 to 10. The criteria are: percussion section, theme-music, harmony (perfect relation between rhythm and melody), theme storyline, costumes, flow (uniqueness, cohesion, and progression of choreographed movements), ballroom master and flag bearer, floats, decorations, and finally, the overall effect.

Each year, the highest ranked School is promoted to the group immediately above it, and the lowest ranked, relegated to the group immediately below it.

Cleaning up between the Samba Schools
After each School’s presentation, there is a fifteen minute pause in which the street is cleared and then everything starts all over again. City Hall and the Carnival Entitities Association (Associação das Entidades Carnavalescas), the Samba Schools’ highest authority, is responsible for pageant administration.

Victory
Winning a Carnival is a moment of great joy and celebration for a Samba School. It represents a public acknowledgement that its performance was the b Read More
Each Samba School has an hour in which to present its parade. During that time, judges score the parade on the basis of nine criteria, using a point system ranging from 0 to 10. The criteria are: percussion section, theme-music, harmony (perfect relation between rhythm and melody), theme storyline, costumes, flow (uniqueness, cohesion, and progression of choreographed movements), ballroom master and flag bearer, floats, decorations, and finally, the overall effect.

Each year, the highest ranked School is promoted to the group immediately above it, and the lowest ranked, relegated to the group immediately below it.

Cleaning up between the Samba Schools
After each School’s presentation, there is a fifteen minute pause in which the street is cleared and then everything starts all over again. City Hall and the Carnival Entitities Association (Associação das Entidades Carnavalescas), the Samba Schools’ highest authority, is responsible for pageant administration.

Victory
Winning a Carnival is a moment of great joy and celebration for a Samba School. It represents a public acknowledgement that its performance was the best in the city. Victory is celebrated with countless parties. The mood is festive, with members greeting each other with hugs, congratulations and praise, and regaling each other with stories about the parade.
image

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Samba School

This samba school is being judged.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Cleaning up

A clean up crew clears the streets between each samba school presentation.

Ricardo Moraes

© Ricardo Moraes, Brazil


Celebration

Celebrating a victory at the Carnival.

Paulino Menezes

© Paulino Menezes, Brazil


Somba

Brazil, show your face

Renatinho-Fofo-Lelê

© S. R. B. Imperadores Do Samba


Song

Open your hand and come to town. Let the gipsy read your fortune.

Custodio- nego Izolino Parodia

© A. R. C. Da Vila Do Iapi


After Carnival comes a period of rest. In the months of March, April and May, you don’t "do" Carnival, you just ponder the next parade. Only those closest to the Samba School, such as the directorate and the most committed members, continue to meet in the quadra, or headquarters. These are important social occasions, where people enjoy drinking beer and Rio Grande do Sul’s famous chimarrão, enjoy eating churrasco-style grilled beef, and enjoy dancing the samba. They relive past Carnivals, with their highlights, victories and defeats, pain and joy, creating a living legend for the Samba School.
After Carnival comes a period of rest. In the months of March, April and May, you don’t "do" Carnival, you just ponder the next parade. Only those closest to the Samba School, such as the directorate and the most committed members, continue to meet in the quadra, or headquarters. These are important social occasions, where people enjoy drinking beer and Rio Grande do Sul’s famous chimarrão, enjoy eating churrasco-style grilled beef, and enjoy dancing the samba. They relive past Carnivals, with their highlights, victories and defeats, pain and joy, creating a living legend for the Samba School.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Relate some traditions associated with the Brazilian Carnival, Porto Alegre
  • Explore the role of music and dance in Brazilian culture
  • Examine ways in which the arts are influenced by local and global culture

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La période du carnaval est exceptionnelle, cyclique de par sa nature, et n’occupe pas seulement les quelques jours où sont présentés les spectacles. Il faut aussi compter la période après le carnaval pour se reposer et pour penser au carnaval suivant et la période avant le carnaval pour préparer le défilé imminent.
La période du carnaval est exceptionnelle, cyclique de par sa nature, et n’occupe pas seulement les quelques jours où sont présentés les spectacles. Il faut aussi compter la période après le carnaval pour se reposer et pour penser au carnaval suivant et la période avant le carnaval pour préparer le défilé imminent.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Pratique de samba

Pratique de samba

Liliane S. Guterres

© Liliane S. Guterres, Brazil


Pendant le défilé, l’émotion est à son comble. Cette journée-là, les membres vont enfin vivre ce qu’ils ont attendu pendant toute l’année. Les roulements de tambour, le cri guerrier qui annonce la musique thème, les feux d’artifice assourdissants, l’exaltation et la tension des membres : tout contribue à charger l’atmosphère d’une grande émotivité, qui se traduit souvent par les larmes que versent des participants au défilé. Quelle fierté ils éprouvent de participer au défilé et cet honneur rejaillit sur chacun.
Pendant le défilé, l’émotion est à son comble. Cette journée-là, les membres vont enfin vivre ce qu’ils ont attendu pendant toute l’année. Les roulements de tambour, le cri guerrier qui annonce la musique thème, les feux d’artifice assourdissants, l’exaltation et la tension des membres : tout contribue à charger l’atmosphère d’une grande émotivité, qui se traduit souvent par les larmes que versent des participants au défilé. Quelle fierté ils éprouvent de participer au défilé et cet honneur rejaillit sur chacun.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Choix de la samba

Des membres d'une école de samba choisissent un thème.

Liliane S. Guterres

© Liliane S. Guterres, Brazil


La première étape de la préparation d’un nouveau défilé consiste à choisir le thème du récit qui sera exécuté dans la rue. Les thèmes peuvent être très variés, mais ils tournent normalement autour de faits et de personnages historiques, de légendes et de mythes. Le récit sera raconté dans les paroles composées sur la musique de samba et mis en scène avec les costumes et les chars. La deuxième étape consiste à choisir la musique qui sera chantée pendant le défilé et qui devra intégrer tous les points importants du récit.

Une fois que le récit et la musique de samba ont été choisis, on peut passer à la conception des costumes et des chars ; ces travaux ont habituellement lieu en août, en septembre et en octobre. Les costumes et les chars doivent illustrer les divers épisodes du récit.

Chaque aile possède sa propre couturière. Les membres doivent acheter leurs costumes tandis que les personnages cél&egra Pour en lire plus
La première étape de la préparation d’un nouveau défilé consiste à choisir le thème du récit qui sera exécuté dans la rue. Les thèmes peuvent être très variés, mais ils tournent normalement autour de faits et de personnages historiques, de légendes et de mythes. Le récit sera raconté dans les paroles composées sur la musique de samba et mis en scène avec les costumes et les chars. La deuxième étape consiste à choisir la musique qui sera chantée pendant le défilé et qui devra intégrer tous les points importants du récit.

Une fois que le récit et la musique de samba ont été choisis, on peut passer à la conception des costumes et des chars ; ces travaux ont habituellement lieu en août, en septembre et en octobre. Les costumes et les chars doivent illustrer les divers épisodes du récit.

Chaque aile possède sa propre couturière. Les membres doivent acheter leurs costumes tandis que les personnages célèbres, les solistes, reçoivent les leurs de l’école. Les costumes sont fabriqués pendant les derniers mois avant le défilé. On emploie pour cela des tissus aux couleurs de l’école et ornés de broderies, des appliqués, des plumes, des paillettes ou tout autre objet pouvant accentuer l’effet d’éblouissement.

On commence à construire les chars en janvier dans un grand entrepôt (barracão) situé près du parcours du défilé. Les grandes écoles construisent six ou sept immenses chars en 30 à 45 jours.

Les chars sont fabriqués avec du métal doublé de bois. Ils sont décorés notamment avec du caoutchouc mousse, du polystyrène, de la peinture, du papier, des tissus, du plastique, des miroirs et de la fibre de verre.

En septembre, les écoles de samba commencent les répétitions avec la section des percussions et les solistes ; on prévoit aussi des répétitions pour le grand public afin qu’il apprenne à chanter la chanson thème. Les répétitions sont de grandes fêtes qui ont lieu dans la quadra, siège de l’école, où on s’amuse jusqu’aux petites heures du matin. On travaille de plus en plus sérieusement à mesure qu’approche le carnaval.

Pendant les trois dernières semaines avant le carnaval, les écoles répètent leur production en entier. La générale s’appelle la Muamba et inclut pratiquement toutes les personnes qui participeront au défilé officiel. On ne porte pas les costumes à cette répétition, mais les participants défilent dans les rues. La Muamba est importante parce qu’elle donne l’occasion aux habitants de se joindre aux membres des écoles de samba.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

De la conception du costume à sa confection.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


La Muamba

La Muamba est une répétition de l’ensemble de la parade du Carnaval.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Char de Carnaval

Char allégorique en construction.

Zoé Degani

© Zoé Degani, Brazil


L’école de samba dispose d’une heure pour présenter son défilé. Pendant ce temps, des juges notent le défilé sur une échelle de 0 à 10 en fonction de neuf éléments : prestation des percussions, qualité de la musique-thème, harmonie (synchronisation parfaite entre le rythme et la mélodie), originalité du récit, beauté des costumes, débit (caractère unique du spectacle, cohésion et progression des mouvements chorégraphiques), prestation du maître de bal et du porte-étendard, beauté des chars et, enfin, effet général.

Chaque année, l’école la mieux cotée d’un groupe est promue au groupe supérieur immédiat et l’école la moins bien cotée est reléguée au groupe inférieur immédiat.

Après la présentation de chaque école, on fait une pause de quinze minutes pendant laquelle on nettoie la rue ; et puis on recommence avec l’école suivante. L’hôtel d Pour en lire plus
L’école de samba dispose d’une heure pour présenter son défilé. Pendant ce temps, des juges notent le défilé sur une échelle de 0 à 10 en fonction de neuf éléments : prestation des percussions, qualité de la musique-thème, harmonie (synchronisation parfaite entre le rythme et la mélodie), originalité du récit, beauté des costumes, débit (caractère unique du spectacle, cohésion et progression des mouvements chorégraphiques), prestation du maître de bal et du porte-étendard, beauté des chars et, enfin, effet général.

Chaque année, l’école la mieux cotée d’un groupe est promue au groupe supérieur immédiat et l’école la moins bien cotée est reléguée au groupe inférieur immédiat.

Après la présentation de chaque école, on fait une pause de quinze minutes pendant laquelle on nettoie la rue ; et puis on recommence avec l’école suivante. L’hôtel de ville et l’association des sociétés de carnaval (Associação das Entidades Carnavalescas), la plus haute autorité des écoles de samba, sont responsables de l’administration du spectacle.

Remporter le concours du carnaval est un grand moment de joie et de liesse pour une école de samba. Cette réussite confirme que le spectacle a été le meilleur en ville. La victoire devient prétexte à une succession interminable de « parties ». Le coeur est à la fête, les membres se félicitent les uns et autres et se rappellent toutes sortes d’anecdotes.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

L'école de samba

École de samba en pleine compétition.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Le nettoyage

Une équipe de nettoyage dégage les rues entre chaque présentation d’école de samba.

Ricardo Moraes

© Ricardo Moraes, Brazil


Une célébration

Vainqueurs célébrant leur victoire au Carnaval.

Paulino Menezes

© Paulino Menezes, Brazil


Somba

Brésil, montre-nous ton visage

Renatinho-Fofo-Lelê

© S. R. B. Imperadores Do Samba


Chanson

Ouvrez votre main et venez en ville. Laissez la gitane prédire votre avenir.

Custodio- nego Izolino Parodia

© A. R. C. Da Vila Do Iapi


Après le carnaval, on prévoit une période de repos. En effet, pendant les mois de mars, d’avril et de mai, on ne fait pas carnaval ; on se contente simplement de réfléchir au défilé de l’année suivante. Seulement les personnes les plus près de l’école de samba, comme les administrateurs et les membres des comités, continuent de se rencontrer à la quadra. Ce sont là des occasions mondaines importantes où on boit une bière et le célèbre chimarrão de Rio Grande do Sul, où on mange des grillades de boeuf à la mode churrasco et où on danse la samba. On se remémore les carnavals des années antérieures, les victoires et les défaites, les joies et les peines, et on crée une véritable légende autour de l’école de samba.
Après le carnaval, on prévoit une période de repos. En effet, pendant les mois de mars, d’avril et de mai, on ne fait pas carnaval ; on se contente simplement de réfléchir au défilé de l’année suivante. Seulement les personnes les plus près de l’école de samba, comme les administrateurs et les membres des comités, continuent de se rencontrer à la quadra. Ce sont là des occasions mondaines importantes où on boit une bière et le célèbre chimarrão de Rio Grande do Sul, où on mange des grillades de boeuf à la mode churrasco et où on danse la samba. On se remémore les carnavals des années antérieures, les victoires et les défaites, les joies et les peines, et on crée une véritable légende autour de l’école de samba.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • raconter certaines traditions associées au carnaval brésilien de Porto Alegre ;
  • découvrir le rôle que jouent la musique et la danse dans la culture brésilienne ;
  • examiner des façons dont les arts sont influencés par les cultures locales et mondiales.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons