The Vanguard
The Vanguard Committee is the first wing of the Samba School. It leads the parade down the avenue with its own exclusive show and costume, announcing the theme storyline to be presented. On average it has ten to twelve participants.

The Standard Bearer
The Standard Bearer is a very important celebrity, being the woman who carries the supreme symbol of the Samba School. She is the solitary, graceful dancer that follows the Vanguard Committee at the beginning of the School’s presentation. She glides diagonally, carrying the School’s symbol for the public and the jury to see, to the sound of much applause.

Another standout is the couple made up of the Ballroom Master and the Flag-Bearer. This couple dances together constantly, through synchronized movements and a variety of different dance steps. The Flag Bearer is in charge of leading the Samba School’s pageant in an elegant and dignified manner. The Flag Bearer’s companion, the Ballroom Master, is responsible for protecting it.

The best samba dancers are the standouts called passistas. They dance in couples, frenetically performing the traditional and Read More
The Vanguard
The Vanguard Committee is the first wing of the Samba School. It leads the parade down the avenue with its own exclusive show and costume, announcing the theme storyline to be presented. On average it has ten to twelve participants.

The Standard Bearer
The Standard Bearer is a very important celebrity, being the woman who carries the supreme symbol of the Samba School. She is the solitary, graceful dancer that follows the Vanguard Committee at the beginning of the School’s presentation. She glides diagonally, carrying the School’s symbol for the public and the jury to see, to the sound of much applause.

Another standout is the couple made up of the Ballroom Master and the Flag-Bearer. This couple dances together constantly, through synchronized movements and a variety of different dance steps. The Flag Bearer is in charge of leading the Samba School’s pageant in an elegant and dignified manner. The Flag Bearer’s companion, the Ballroom Master, is responsible for protecting it.

The best samba dancers are the standouts called passistas. They dance in couples, frenetically performing the traditional and demanding art of dancing the samba.

The Wing
The wings are made up of members wearing the same costume, representing one specific segment in the theme storyline presented. Symbolically, they make up the "body" of the Samba School, and anyone can belong, simply by buying a costume. A large wing may include over one hundred members.

The most traditional wing of the Samba School is made up of women from the state of Baia who perform a specific dance in which they swirl around with their arms waving in the air. Symbolically, these women represent the archetypal mother, respected for their years and responsibilities, always ready to help out, an important familial reference.

The Floats
The floats are the allegorical settings for viewing the parts of the story-theme narrated during the parade and sung in the theme samba. They are so large that some members, known as float standouts, parade on them. These vehicles move down the avenue by human strength alone, pushed along by the School’s crew during the entire show.

Percussion
The percussion section is the group of people who play percussion instruments and set the rhythm for the theme samba. In the carnival world, it is the heart, or soul, of the Samba School. They perform in parade with about 250 members, called percussionists, and play six or seven different types of percussion instruments.

The Public
In the bleachers, the public vibrate to the tune of the parade. The public participates by singing and dancing, as they watch the School parades go by. Fans usually support one specific Samba School, cheering for it and wearing its colors.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

The vanguard

The vanguard leads the samba school parade.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


The Standard Bearer

The standard bearer is a celebrity.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Ballroom Master

The standard bearer is accompanied by the ballroom master.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


The passistas

The best samba dancers are the passistas.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Dance

Samba "Que papel é esse"

Samba "What role is this"

Museu de Porto Alegre Joaquim José Felizardo

© 1998, Museu de Porto Alegre Joaquim José Felizardo


Wing

The wing of a samba school.

Leonel de Souza

© Leonel de Souza, Brazil


A float

A float in the Carnival.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Percussionists

Percussionists in the Carnival.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Baian Women

Baian women perform a traditional dance.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Buda da Candinha- Nego Llton da Candinha- Tarboa- Michael da Candinha- Flavinho Balaca

© S. B. C. Filhos da Candinha


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Relate some traditions associated with the Brazilian Carnival, Porto Alegre
  • Explore the role of music and dance in Brazilian culture
  • Examine ways in which the arts are influenced by local and global culture

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Avant-garde
Le Comité de l’avant-garde est la première aile de l’école de samba. Elle est en tête du défilé et présente son propre spectacle avec ses propres costumes ; elle annonce aussi le thème qui sera exécuté. Elle compte en moyenne de dix à douze participants.

Symbole
Le porte-étendard joue un rôle fort important et c’est une femme qui porte le symbole suprême de l’école. Danseuse solitaire et gracieuse, elle suit le Comité de l’avant-garde au début du spectacle de l’école. Elle glisse en diagonale, portant le symbole de l’école et le présentant au grand public et au jury, sous les applaudissements soutenus de la foule.

Les meilleurs danseurs de samba sont les passistas. Ils dansent en couples, exécutant avec frénésie l’art traditionnel et exigeant de la samba. Parmi les autres solistes, citons le couple composé du maître du bal et du porte-étendard. Ce couple danse constamment et Pour en lire plus
Avant-garde
Le Comité de l’avant-garde est la première aile de l’école de samba. Elle est en tête du défilé et présente son propre spectacle avec ses propres costumes ; elle annonce aussi le thème qui sera exécuté. Elle compte en moyenne de dix à douze participants.

Symbole
Le porte-étendard joue un rôle fort important et c’est une femme qui porte le symbole suprême de l’école. Danseuse solitaire et gracieuse, elle suit le Comité de l’avant-garde au début du spectacle de l’école. Elle glisse en diagonale, portant le symbole de l’école et le présentant au grand public et au jury, sous les applaudissements soutenus de la foule.

Les meilleurs danseurs de samba sont les passistas. Ils dansent en couples, exécutant avec frénésie l’art traditionnel et exigeant de la samba. Parmi les autres solistes, citons le couple composé du maître du bal et du porte-étendard. Ce couple danse constamment et exécute des mouvements synchronisés et toutes sortes de pas de danse. Le porte-étendard est chargé de diriger le spectacle de l’école de samba avec élégance et dignité, le compagnon du porte-étendard, le maître du bal, de le protéger.

Aile
Les ailes sont composées de membres qui portent le même costume et qui représentent une partie précise du récit. Symboliquement, ils forment le « corps » de l’école de samba et n’importe qui peut y participer en autant qu’on achète son costume. Une aile nombreuse peut comprendre plus de cent membres.

Voici l’aile la plus traditionnelle de l’école de samba. Elle est composée de femmes de l’état de Baïa qui dansent en tournoyant et en faisant des mouvements avec les bras. Ces femmes représentent l’archétype de la mère, respectée pour son expérience et ses responsabilités, toujours prête à aider. Il s’agit là d’une référence importante à la famille.

Char
Les chars forment le décor allégorique des diverses parties du récit racontées pendant le défilé et chantées dans la chanson-thème. Ils sont de grande dimension et les solistes de char défilent grimpés dessus. Ces véhicules avancent dans la rue mus par la seule force humaine de l’équipage de l’école.

Percussions
La section des percussions donne le rythme de la musique-thème. Dans le monde du carnaval, les percussions sont le coeur ou l’âme de l’école de samba. Ces musiciens défilent en groupes de 250 membres et jouent de six ou sept types d’instruments différents.

Le Public
Dans les gradins à découvert, le grand public vibre au rythme du défilé. Les spectateurs chantent et dansent tout en regardant le défilé passer. Habituellement, ils ont leur école préférée, dont ils portent d’ailleurs les couleurs et qu’ils applaudissent avec enthousiasme.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

L'avant-garde

L'avant-garde est en tête du défilé.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Le porte-étendard

Le porte-étendard est une célébrité.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Le maître du bal

Le porte-étendard accompagné du maître du bal.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Les passistas

Les meilleurs danseurs de samba sont les passistas.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Danse

Samba "Que papel é esse"

Sambe « Quel est ce rôle? »

Museu de Porto Alegre Joaquim José Felizardo

© 1998, Museu de Porto Alegre Joaquim José Felizardo


Aile

Une aile d'une école de samba.

Leonel de Souza

© Leonel de Souza, Brésil


Un char

Un char dans le carnaval.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brazil


Les percussions

La section des percussions dans le carnaval.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brézil


Les femmes de létat de Bahia

Des femmes de l’état du Bahia exécutent une danse traditionnelle.

Beto Nascente

© Beto Nascente, Brézil


Buda da Candinha- Nego Llton da Candinha- Tarboa- Michael da Candinha- Flavinho Balaca

© S. B. C. Filhos da Candinha


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • raconter certaines traditions associées au carnaval brésilien de Porto Alegre ;
  • découvrir le rôle que jouent la musique et la danse dans la culture brésilienne ;
  • examiner des façons dont les arts sont influencés par les cultures locales et mondiales.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons