The custom of making offerings to the dead exemplifies the racial melting-pot of modern-day Mexico. In indigenous and rural communities, above all, the dead person is seen as a being who must satisfy his basic needs through offerings, a pre-Hispanic custom which has survived in present-day traditions. Furthermore, the dead person must be helped to "die in peace" through services and prayers, as the Catholic tradition prescribes.

In this framework, the very special custom of making offerings for the dead acquires great significance since, ironically, it is through the cult of the dead that family relationships, economic exchange, unity and identity, not only at the family and community level, but also at the level of national culture, are strengthened.
The custom of making offerings to the dead exemplifies the racial melting-pot of modern-day Mexico. In indigenous and rural communities, above all, the dead person is seen as a being who must satisfy his basic needs through offerings, a pre-Hispanic custom which has survived in present-day traditions. Furthermore, the dead person must be helped to "die in peace" through services and prayers, as the Catholic tradition prescribes.

In this framework, the very special custom of making offerings for the dead acquires great significance since, ironically, it is through the cult of the dead that family relationships, economic exchange, unity and identity, not only at the family and community level, but also at the level of national culture, are strengthened.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

The conquest of the Oaxaca region proceeded in a relatively smooth fashion, given that the indigenous population took sides with the Spaniards to defeat the Aztecs, their oppressors. In 1529, Hernán Cortés was proclaimed Marquis of the valley of Oaxaca. To protect his domains from the Spanish colonists, Cortés conferred city status upon the former military camp of the Aztec garrisons placed there, which in Nahuatl was called Huaxyácac.

Oaxaca, which during colonial times bore the name Antequera, was populated by the same indigenous groups which lived in the valley: Zapotecs, Mixtecs and Aztecs, who maintained a fixed image of their identity in the face of the new order to which they were being subjected.

On April 25th, 1532, the Spanish Crown officially recognized the city of Oaxaca, which soon acquired considerable importance due to its strategic location midway between the cities of Puebla and Guatemala.

The evangelization of Oaxaca was the work of the Dominican fathers, who arrived in the region in 1529. This produced a religious syncretism or hybrid combination between pre-Hispanic and Catholic customs and beliefs. T Read More
The conquest of the Oaxaca region proceeded in a relatively smooth fashion, given that the indigenous population took sides with the Spaniards to defeat the Aztecs, their oppressors. In 1529, Hernán Cortés was proclaimed Marquis of the valley of Oaxaca. To protect his domains from the Spanish colonists, Cortés conferred city status upon the former military camp of the Aztec garrisons placed there, which in Nahuatl was called Huaxyácac.

Oaxaca, which during colonial times bore the name Antequera, was populated by the same indigenous groups which lived in the valley: Zapotecs, Mixtecs and Aztecs, who maintained a fixed image of their identity in the face of the new order to which they were being subjected.

On April 25th, 1532, the Spanish Crown officially recognized the city of Oaxaca, which soon acquired considerable importance due to its strategic location midway between the cities of Puebla and Guatemala.

The evangelization of Oaxaca was the work of the Dominican fathers, who arrived in the region in 1529. This produced a religious syncretism or hybrid combination between pre-Hispanic and Catholic customs and beliefs. The idea of another life in the beyond found its place among the indigenous traditions, though in conceptually modified form.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

From the 16th century on, written sources have afforded important information on the burial practices of the ancient Mexicans, as well as their beliefs concerning death.

Burial took place for the bodies of those who had died a sacred death. This was the case of those who, chosen by the god of rain, Tláloc, had died from some water-related illness (such as gout, leprosy or rheumatism), or had been drowned or struck by lightning. These people went to Tlalocan, a place of fertility and abundance, to enjoy a life of pleasure. The Chichihualcuauhco was a heavenly place where there was a tree with fruits in the shape of female breasts which nourished children who had died before they were weaned. These infants were buried opposite the household barn.

Warriors who died in battle and women who died during their first childbirth were servants of the Sun. Every morning the warriors received the Sun and accompanied it on its journey to the zenith, after which it was handed over to the women who had died in childbirth who accompanied it down through the sky to sunset, from where it descended into the nether world. After four years of such existence, these beings w Read More
From the 16th century on, written sources have afforded important information on the burial practices of the ancient Mexicans, as well as their beliefs concerning death.

Burial took place for the bodies of those who had died a sacred death. This was the case of those who, chosen by the god of rain, Tláloc, had died from some water-related illness (such as gout, leprosy or rheumatism), or had been drowned or struck by lightning. These people went to Tlalocan, a place of fertility and abundance, to enjoy a life of pleasure. The Chichihualcuauhco was a heavenly place where there was a tree with fruits in the shape of female breasts which nourished children who had died before they were weaned. These infants were buried opposite the household barn.

Warriors who died in battle and women who died during their first childbirth were servants of the Sun. Every morning the warriors received the Sun and accompanied it on its journey to the zenith, after which it was handed over to the women who had died in childbirth who accompanied it down through the sky to sunset, from where it descended into the nether world. After four years of such existence, these beings were transformed into humming birds or butterflies.

Another way of treating corpses was cremation, applied to those who died of illness or natural causes and had not been chosen by the gods.

Cremation was carried out four days after death; thereafter, the dead person commenced a perilous four-year journey to Mictlán, located at the ninth level below the earth, in the lowermost part of the subterranean world. At the end of the journey, the dead person crossed a river with the help of an accompanying dog and appeared before Mictlantecuhtli, lord of the underworld. According to some sources, these dead souls had the task of accompanying the sun on its night journey beneath the earth.

In every burial, food, drink, objects of daily use and ritual significance and a sacrificed dog were placed beside the corpse. The objects were offerings to the dead persons placed there by their relatives to help them in the moments of peril they faced after bodily death. The ancient Mexicans believed that everything around us has an essence, and this invisible essence was what kept the heart of the dead person alive.

In the Mexica or Aztec calendar, there were two months dedicated to celebrations of the dead. The first was the ninth month or celebration of the infant dead. The second was the tenth month, dedicated to the adult dead, the great celebration of the dead, an occasion on which many men were sacrificed in a context of great solemnity. Only in these celebrations did the dead return to earth and recover their vital necessities, for which reason it was necessary to offer them provisions.

The introduction of Catholicism changed the course of the immortal soul of the dead to one of two destinations: Heaven or Hell. This brought about a different appreciation of death, since now what was important was the way the person had lived. The terrors of death and Hell were basic components of the new religion, which imposed these vestiges of medieval doctrine.

Just as the religious orders brought to the New World the sense of horror of dying without hope of going to Heaven, the soldiers and civil population maintained the custom of dance, music and fireworks at burials of infants who, in their view of things, went straight to Heaven because they were without sin. To the present day, the "little angels" are sent off with joy, while adults are mourned.

The fusion of indigenous and Spanish cultural trends gave rise to a new form of worship and new burial ceremonies, in which the Church remembered all of those who were on the path to salvation. This syncretic process gave birth to what we know today as the celebrations of the days of the dead.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

The evangelization of Oaxaca

The evangelization of Oaxaca.

INAH

MEXICO
© INAH


"What the ancient inhabitants and lords of this land said was that the souls of the deceased who went to Hell were those who died of illness".

"After shrouding and preparing the body of the deceased, they would kill his dog and take them both to a place where they would be burned together".

"After four years, the funeral rites were finished and complied with according to their custom..."

"...afterwards, the deceased leaves and passes through the nine Hells where he crosses a very wide river named Chiconahuapan, and there dogs live and run along the banks of the river which the deceased people cross swimming on top of the dogs".

"They say that when the deceased arrives on the banks of the river, he then looks at his dog, and if the dog recognizes his master, he jumps straight into the river, swimming to where his master is, and carries him on his shoulders to the other shore".

"...Only the dog with bright red hair could properly carry the deceased on its shoulders, in this place of the ninth Hell where the deceased finally ended their existence".

Father Be Read More
"What the ancient inhabitants and lords of this land said was that the souls of the deceased who went to Hell were those who died of illness".

"After shrouding and preparing the body of the deceased, they would kill his dog and take them both to a place where they would be burned together".

"After four years, the funeral rites were finished and complied with according to their custom..."

"...afterwards, the deceased leaves and passes through the nine Hells where he crosses a very wide river named Chiconahuapan, and there dogs live and run along the banks of the river which the deceased people cross swimming on top of the dogs".

"They say that when the deceased arrives on the banks of the river, he then looks at his dog, and if the dog recognizes his master, he jumps straight into the river, swimming to where his master is, and carries him on his shoulders to the other shore".

"...Only the dog with bright red hair could properly carry the deceased on its shoulders, in this place of the ninth Hell where the deceased finally ended their existence".

Father Bernardino de Sahagún
Florentine Codex, 16th century

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Various sources indicate that the ancient Celts divided the year into four quarters whose starting dates were as follows: the first of November, the first of February, the first of May and the first of August. These dates marked the days on which financial commitments had to be paid. The eve of these dates was considered a witches’ night par excellence and up to the present day, the first of November has retained this connotation in northwestern Europe. The medieval English form of the celebration was "Allhallows Eve".

According to custom, this was the end of summer and the beginning of the New Year. Bonfires were lit to frighten off spirits, and it was the moment for renewing laws and social commitments. In those times the image of a skull carved in a turnip was already current.

(Anthropologist León Ferrer, 1991)

Since the ninth century, All Souls Day had been celebrated in some European monasteries. In the twelfth century, Saint Odilo the Abbot officially inaugurated this commemoration in the Monastery of Cluny. As the story goes, one of the monks heard devils screaming in rage at the monks’ prayers which were teari Read More
Various sources indicate that the ancient Celts divided the year into four quarters whose starting dates were as follows: the first of November, the first of February, the first of May and the first of August. These dates marked the days on which financial commitments had to be paid. The eve of these dates was considered a witches’ night par excellence and up to the present day, the first of November has retained this connotation in northwestern Europe. The medieval English form of the celebration was "Allhallows Eve".

According to custom, this was the end of summer and the beginning of the New Year. Bonfires were lit to frighten off spirits, and it was the moment for renewing laws and social commitments. In those times the image of a skull carved in a turnip was already current.

(Anthropologist León Ferrer, 1991)

Since the ninth century, All Souls Day had been celebrated in some European monasteries. In the twelfth century, Saint Odilo the Abbot officially inaugurated this commemoration in the Monastery of Cluny. As the story goes, one of the monks heard devils screaming in rage at the monks’ prayers which were tearing the souls of the deceased that they were tormenting from out of their hands. Consequently, Saint Odilo issued a decree ordering all the monasteries under his jurisdiction to proclaim the 2nd November as the day of commemoration of All Souls, celebrating mass for all those who had died since the beginning of the world. In later times, the Dominicans in the monastery in Valencia found themselves obliged to celebrate three masses on the day of commemoration, in order to satisfy all the requests for aid for souls in purgatory made by relatives, a custom which survives to this day.

(José María Bradomín, 1984)

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Explore the culture and traditions of the State of Oaxaca, Mexico
  • Appreciate that there is a succession of overlapping cultures in time and space
  • Understand, using examples from Mexican culture, the influence of colonialism on indigenous peoples and traditional cultures

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La naissance, la croissance, la reproduction et la mort sont les étapes transcendantales de l’existence humaine. Chaque groupe et chaque culture les célèbrent selon leur conception particulière du monde qui les entoure.

Au Mexique, le premier et le deux novembre se commémorent comme les « jours des morts », célébration qui constitue un événement de première importance dans le calendrier social, agricole et religieux.

La coutume de faire des offrandes aux morts est un exemple du creuset de races du Mexique moderne. Surtout pour les communautés autochtones et rurales, le mort est un être dont les besoins fondamentaux doivent être satisfaits par des offrandes, une coutume préhispanique qui se perpétue dans la tradition d’aujourd’hui. D’autre part, il est nécessaire de l’aider à « bien mourir » au moyen des services et prières prescrits par la tradition catholique.

Dans une telle perspective, la coutume très particulière de faire des offrandes aux morts revê Pour en lire plus
La naissance, la croissance, la reproduction et la mort sont les étapes transcendantales de l’existence humaine. Chaque groupe et chaque culture les célèbrent selon leur conception particulière du monde qui les entoure.

Au Mexique, le premier et le deux novembre se commémorent comme les « jours des morts », célébration qui constitue un événement de première importance dans le calendrier social, agricole et religieux.

La coutume de faire des offrandes aux morts est un exemple du creuset de races du Mexique moderne. Surtout pour les communautés autochtones et rurales, le mort est un être dont les besoins fondamentaux doivent être satisfaits par des offrandes, une coutume préhispanique qui se perpétue dans la tradition d’aujourd’hui. D’autre part, il est nécessaire de l’aider à « bien mourir » au moyen des services et prières prescrits par la tradition catholique.

Dans une telle perspective, la coutume très particulière de faire des offrandes aux morts revêt une grande importance puisque, ironiquement, c’est à travers le culte des morts que se renforcent les liens de parenté, les échanges économiques, l’unité et l’identité, à l’échelle non seulement de la famille et de la localité, mais aussi de la culture nationale.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

La conquête de la région d’Oaxaca se fit d’une manière relativement pacifique, à cause des alliances formées par les autochtones avec les Espagnols en vue de vaincre leurs oppresseurs aztèques.

En 1529, Hernán Cortés fut nommé marquis de la vallée d’Oaxaca. Pour protéger ses domaines contre les colons espagnols, Cortés conféra le statut de ville à l’ancienne garnison des troupes aztèques dans la région, nommée Huaxyácac en langue aztèque.

Oaxaca, appelée Antequera pendant les temps coloniaux, fut peuplée par les mêmes groupes autochtones qui habitaient dans la vallée, les Zapotèques, les Mixtèques et les Aztèques, qui opposaient une image cristallisée de leur identité au nouvel ordre de vie qu’on leur imposait.

Le 25 avril 1532, la Couronne espagnole reconnut officiellement la ville d’Oaxaca, qui en très peu de temps acquit une grande importance à cause de sa position stratégique à mi-chemin ent Pour en lire plus
La conquête de la région d’Oaxaca se fit d’une manière relativement pacifique, à cause des alliances formées par les autochtones avec les Espagnols en vue de vaincre leurs oppresseurs aztèques.

En 1529, Hernán Cortés fut nommé marquis de la vallée d’Oaxaca. Pour protéger ses domaines contre les colons espagnols, Cortés conféra le statut de ville à l’ancienne garnison des troupes aztèques dans la région, nommée Huaxyácac en langue aztèque.

Oaxaca, appelée Antequera pendant les temps coloniaux, fut peuplée par les mêmes groupes autochtones qui habitaient dans la vallée, les Zapotèques, les Mixtèques et les Aztèques, qui opposaient une image cristallisée de leur identité au nouvel ordre de vie qu’on leur imposait.

Le 25 avril 1532, la Couronne espagnole reconnut officiellement la ville d’Oaxaca, qui en très peu de temps acquit une grande importance à cause de sa position stratégique à mi-chemin entre les villes de Puebla et de Guatemala.

L’évangélisation de la région fut l’oeuvre des Dominicains, qui y arrivèrent en 1529. Il en résulta un syncrétisme religieux, c’est-à-dire une combinaison des croyances et des coutumes préhispaniques et catholiques. La notion d’une autre vie dans l’au-delà fut assimilée par les traditions autochtones, mais sous une forme conceptuelle modifiée.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

À partir du XVIe siècle, les sources écrites nous ont fourni des données importantes sur les traditions funéraires des anciens Mexicains, de même que sur leurs croyances à propos de la mort.

Les corps qu’ils enterraient appartenaient aux personnes qui avaient eu une mort sacrée. C’était le cas de ceux qui, élus par le dieu de la pluie, Tláloc, avaient péri à cause d’une maladie liée à l’eau (la goutte, la lèpre, le rhumatisme), ou encore noyés ou frappés par la foudre. Ils allaient jouir d’une vie comblée de plaisirs à Tlalocan, lieu de fertilité et d’abondance. Le Chichihualcuauhco était l’endroit sacré où se trouvait un arbre avec des fruits en forme de seins féminins pour nourrir les enfants morts avant d’être sevrés. On enterrait ces enfants en face du grenier de la maison.

Les guerriers morts au combat et les femmes qui avaient perdu la vie lors de leur premier accouchement étaient les serviteurs du Soleil Pour en lire plus
À partir du XVIe siècle, les sources écrites nous ont fourni des données importantes sur les traditions funéraires des anciens Mexicains, de même que sur leurs croyances à propos de la mort.

Les corps qu’ils enterraient appartenaient aux personnes qui avaient eu une mort sacrée. C’était le cas de ceux qui, élus par le dieu de la pluie, Tláloc, avaient péri à cause d’une maladie liée à l’eau (la goutte, la lèpre, le rhumatisme), ou encore noyés ou frappés par la foudre. Ils allaient jouir d’une vie comblée de plaisirs à Tlalocan, lieu de fertilité et d’abondance. Le Chichihualcuauhco était l’endroit sacré où se trouvait un arbre avec des fruits en forme de seins féminins pour nourrir les enfants morts avant d’être sevrés. On enterrait ces enfants en face du grenier de la maison.

Les guerriers morts au combat et les femmes qui avaient perdu la vie lors de leur premier accouchement étaient les serviteurs du Soleil. Chaque matin, les guerriers le recevaient et l’accompagnaient sur son trajet vers le zénith ; après quoi ils le confiaient aux femmes mortes pendant l’accouchement, qui l’accompagnaient à travers le ciel jusqu’à son coucher et son passage au monde d’en bas. Après quatre années d’une telle existence, ces êtres étaient transformés en colibris ou papillons.

Une autre forme de traitement des morts était la crémation, qu’on appliquait aux personnes décédées d’une maladie ou de mort naturelle sans avoir été élus par les dieux.

La crémation avait lieu quatre jours après le décès. Le mort commençait ensuite un voyage périlleux de quatre ans vers Mictlán, situé dans la neuvième couche sous la terre, au bout du monde souterrain. À la fin du voyage, il devait traverser une rivière à l’aide d’un chien, et il se présentait alors devant Mictlantecuhtli, seigneur des enfers. Selon certaines sources, ces âmes avaient la responsabilité d’accompagner le Soleil pendant son voyage nocturne à travers le monde souterrain.

À côté de tous les cadavres, on déposait des aliments et des boissons, des objets quotidiens et rituels, et un chien sacrifié. Les objets étaient offerts au mort par des membres de la famille pour l’aider à faire face aux risques auxquels il s’exposait après la mort corporelle. Les anciens Mexicains croyaient que toutes les choses qui nous entourent possédaient une essence, et que cette essence invisible était ce qui maintenait en vie le coeur du défunt.

Dans le calendrier des Mexica (les anciens habitants de Mexico, c’est-à-dire les Aztèques), il y avait deux mois dédiés aux célébrations des morts. Il y avait d’abord le neuvième mois, pour célébrer les enfants morts, puis le dixième mois, consacré aux morts adultes, grande célébration des morts, occasion du sacrifice de nombreux hommes dans une ambiance très solennelle. Ce n’était que pendant ces célébrations que les morts revenaient à la terre et récupéraient leurs nécessités vitales, et que par conséquent ils avaient besoin des provisions qu’on leur offrait.

L’introduction du catholicisme modifia le parcours de l’âme immortelle des défunts pour le diriger vers deux destinations possibles : le Ciel ou l’Enfer. De cette façon on arrivait à une appréciation différente de la mort, puisque l’aspect le plus important était la façon dont la personne avait vécu. La terreur de la mort et de l’Enfer étaient des éléments fondamentaux de la nouvelle religion qui imposa ces vestiges de la doctrine médiévale.

Si les ordres religieux présentèrent au Nouveau Monde l’horreur de mourir sans avoir mérité le Ciel, les soldats et les civils conservèrent la coutume de la danse, de la musique et des feux d’artifice dans les funérailles d’enfants qui, à leur avis, allaient directement au Ciel puisqu’ils étaient sans péché. Jusqu’à nos jours, on dit au revoir aux « petits anges » avec un sentiment de joie, tandis qu’on pleure la mort des adultes.

La fusion de traits culturels autochtones et espagnols a donné lieu à un nouveau culte et à des cérémonies mortuaires nouvelles, par lesquels l’Église commémore tous ceux qui se trouvaient sur le chemin du salut. De ce processus syncrétique sont nées les célébrations des morts telles qu’on les connaît aujourd’hui.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

L'évangélisation d'Oaxaca

L'évangélisation d'Oaxaca.

INAH

MEXIQUE
© INAH


« Ce que les anciens habitants et dirigeants de cette terre ont dit, c’est que les âmes des défunts qui allaient aux enfers appartenaient aux personnes mortes d’une maladie. »

« Après avoir préparé et enveloppé le cadavre dans un linceul, ils tuaient son chien et amenaient les deux à un endroit où il les incinéraient ensemble. »

« Au bout de quatre ans, les obsèques étaient achevées et accomplies, selon leur coutume... »

« ...après, le défunt part et il passe par les neuf enfers où il traverse une rivière très large appelée Chiconahuapan. Là-bas, des chiens vivent et courent sur les berges de la rivière que traversent les défunts montés sur les petits chiens. »

« Ils racontent que, arrivé au bord de la rivière, le défunt regarde d’abord son chien. Si celui-ci reconnaît son maître, il se jette tout de suite à l’eau et nage vers lui, puis lui fait traverser Pour en lire plus
« Ce que les anciens habitants et dirigeants de cette terre ont dit, c’est que les âmes des défunts qui allaient aux enfers appartenaient aux personnes mortes d’une maladie. »

« Après avoir préparé et enveloppé le cadavre dans un linceul, ils tuaient son chien et amenaient les deux à un endroit où il les incinéraient ensemble. »

« Au bout de quatre ans, les obsèques étaient achevées et accomplies, selon leur coutume... »

« ...après, le défunt part et il passe par les neuf enfers où il traverse une rivière très large appelée Chiconahuapan. Là-bas, des chiens vivent et courent sur les berges de la rivière que traversent les défunts montés sur les petits chiens. »

« Ils racontent que, arrivé au bord de la rivière, le défunt regarde d’abord son chien. Si celui-ci reconnaît son maître, il se jette tout de suite à l’eau et nage vers lui, puis lui fait traverser la rivière sur son dos. »

« ...Seul le chien au poil vermeil pouvait faire passer les défunts sur son dos sans problème, dans cet endroit du neuvième enfer où aboutissaient et périssaient les défunts. »

Frère Bernardino de Sahagún

Codex de Florence, XVIe siècle

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Selon diverses sources, les anciens Celtes divisaient l’année en quatre trimestres qui débutaient aux dates suivantes : le premier novembre, le premier février, le premier mai et le premier août. Ces dates marquaient les jours où il fallait honorer ses engagements financiers. On considérait que la veille de ces dates était une nuit de sorcières par excellence, et le premier novembre conserve cette connotation même jusqu’à nos jours dans le nord de l’Europe occidentale. La forme anglaise médiévale de cette fête s’appelait « Allhallows Eve » (veille de la Toussaint).

Selon la tradition, cette fête marquait la fin de l’été et le début du nouvel an. On allumait des feux dehors pour chasser les mauvais esprits, et c’était le moment de renouveler les lois et les engagements sociaux. Déjà à cette époque, on connaissait l’image du crâne taillé dans un navet.

(L’anthropologue León Ferrer, 1991)

Depuis le IXe siècle, Pour en lire plus
Selon diverses sources, les anciens Celtes divisaient l’année en quatre trimestres qui débutaient aux dates suivantes : le premier novembre, le premier février, le premier mai et le premier août. Ces dates marquaient les jours où il fallait honorer ses engagements financiers. On considérait que la veille de ces dates était une nuit de sorcières par excellence, et le premier novembre conserve cette connotation même jusqu’à nos jours dans le nord de l’Europe occidentale. La forme anglaise médiévale de cette fête s’appelait « Allhallows Eve » (veille de la Toussaint).

Selon la tradition, cette fête marquait la fin de l’été et le début du nouvel an. On allumait des feux dehors pour chasser les mauvais esprits, et c’était le moment de renouveler les lois et les engagements sociaux. Déjà à cette époque, on connaissait l’image du crâne taillé dans un navet.

(L’anthropologue León Ferrer, 1991)

Depuis le IXe siècle, on commémorait la fête des Fidèles défunts dans certains monastères européens. Au XIIe siècle, Saint Odilon abbé l’établit comme commémoration officielle au monastère de Cluny. On raconte qu’un des religieux du monastère entendit les cris de rage lancés par les démons quand les prières des religieux leur arrachaient les âmes des défunts qu’ils torturaient. En conséquence, Saint Odilon ordonna que, dans tous les monastères sous sa juridiction, on commémore le 2 novembre comme la fête des Fidèles défunts et qu’on dise des messes pour tous ceux qui étaient morts depuis le début du monde. Plus tard, les Dominicains du monastère de Valence se virent obligés de dire trois messes pour cette commémoration, afin de satisfaire toutes les demandes d’aide pour les âmes du purgatoire formulées par les membres de leurs familles, coutume qui s’est perpétuée jusqu’à nos jours.

(José María Bradomín, 1984)

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • découvrir la culture et les traditions de l’état d’Oaxaca, au Mexique ;
  • faire ressortir la succession des cultures qui se chevauchent dans le temps et l’espace ;
  • à l’aide d’exemples tirés de la culture mexicaine, examiner l’influence du colonialisme sur les peuples autochtones et les cultures traditionnelles.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons