The festivities of the days of the dead are ways of revitalizing family and community life and are one of the major celebrations in the yearly cycle of the Church calendar in rural communities.

The belief is that the world beyond is a projection of the culture and society of the living, so that death is only a transition into that world, into which the deceased will come if family members properly carry out the appropriate rites.

In the city of Oaxaca and the towns of the central valleys, the celebration of All Saints and All Souls starts on the 31st October with people purchasing in the market all the necessary supplies for the decoration of the altars and the preparation of the offerings.
The festivities of the days of the dead are ways of revitalizing family and community life and are one of the major celebrations in the yearly cycle of the Church calendar in rural communities.

The belief is that the world beyond is a projection of the culture and society of the living, so that death is only a transition into that world, into which the deceased will come if family members properly carry out the appropriate rites.

In the city of Oaxaca and the towns of the central valleys, the celebration of All Saints and All Souls starts on the 31st October with people purchasing in the market all the necessary supplies for the decoration of the altars and the preparation of the offerings.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Buying Supplies

Buying supplies in the market for All Saints and All Souls.

Canadian Heritage Information Network

Monte Albàn, MEXICO
© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Before the celebrations, artisans start making articles associated with these days, such as candelabra, burners, flower vases, skulls made of sugar or amaranth or decoratively cut paper. Likewise, farmers look after the agricultural products which will be needed for their own use or for sale.

On the morning of the 31st October, in one of the rooms of the home, the family starts to set up the altar to the dead. The form of these altars varies according to the particular tastes and origins of each family. Researchers agree, in any case, that the following components are always found: an arch made of reeds or canes (from which offerings are hung), the orange flower known as cempasúchil, offerings (food and drink), candles and incense.

On the 31st October, known as "the day of the little angels", the souls of dead children are awaited, with a very simple altar. The following day it is arranged and further decorated for the arrival of the souls of dead adult family members.

At dusk on the 31st, women are very busy preparing food for the offering, such as cooked squash and black mole; if the family finances permit, turkey meat is added. Read More
Before the celebrations, artisans start making articles associated with these days, such as candelabra, burners, flower vases, skulls made of sugar or amaranth or decoratively cut paper. Likewise, farmers look after the agricultural products which will be needed for their own use or for sale.

On the morning of the 31st October, in one of the rooms of the home, the family starts to set up the altar to the dead. The form of these altars varies according to the particular tastes and origins of each family. Researchers agree, in any case, that the following components are always found: an arch made of reeds or canes (from which offerings are hung), the orange flower known as cempasúchil, offerings (food and drink), candles and incense.

On the 31st October, known as "the day of the little angels", the souls of dead children are awaited, with a very simple altar. The following day it is arranged and further decorated for the arrival of the souls of dead adult family members.

At dusk on the 31st, women are very busy preparing food for the offering, such as cooked squash and black mole; if the family finances permit, turkey meat is added. A dessert of tejocote fruit is prepared, as well as porridge with chiote (chili powder), and corn is taken to the mill to grind up for tamales.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Preparations

Preparing for the festival.

Canadian Heritage Information Network

MEXICO
© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Food

Preparing food for the festival.

Canadian Heritage Information Network

MEXICO
© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


The alter

The alter for the dead.

Canadian Heritage Information Network

MEXICO
© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


The altar is usually erected on a table on which a number of boxes are placed on top of each other to create different levels. Then it is covered with a white cloth or with decoratively cut tissue paper. Over the altar an arch is formed, possibly referring to the symbolic union of Heaven and earth, or the final passage which closes behind the souls as they pass through on their way to the world of the dead. This is a journey full of perils, such as crossing a river with the help of a dog.

Sometimes a path is made of cempasúchil petals from the doorway of the house to the altar, so that the souls "don’t get lost". Food is placed on clay dishes set two by two, an example of the eternal duality which exists in the indigenous world, in this case the duality of life and death.

Water is left in a glass or a gourd for the souls of the dead to assuage their thirst after the long journey from the beyond to the offering on the altar. The burning of incense enables or propitiates union with Heaven through the smoke rising from the earth.

The altars are decked with candles or candle lights, bananas, walnuts, jícamas, medlar fruits Read More
The altar is usually erected on a table on which a number of boxes are placed on top of each other to create different levels. Then it is covered with a white cloth or with decoratively cut tissue paper. Over the altar an arch is formed, possibly referring to the symbolic union of Heaven and earth, or the final passage which closes behind the souls as they pass through on their way to the world of the dead. This is a journey full of perils, such as crossing a river with the help of a dog.

Sometimes a path is made of cempasúchil petals from the doorway of the house to the altar, so that the souls "don’t get lost". Food is placed on clay dishes set two by two, an example of the eternal duality which exists in the indigenous world, in this case the duality of life and death.

Water is left in a glass or a gourd for the souls of the dead to assuage their thirst after the long journey from the beyond to the offering on the altar. The burning of incense enables or propitiates union with Heaven through the smoke rising from the earth.

The altars are decked with candles or candle lights, bananas, walnuts, jícamas, medlar fruits, oranges, apples, tortillas, tamales, chocolate, bread, soft drinks and bottles of mezcal and cigarettes if the dead person used to smoke. The whole altar is decorated with flowers and crosses. Some families crown the offering with an image of the saint they revere and a photo of the deceased.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

A path

A path to the alter of the dead.

Canadian Heritage Information Network

MEXICO
© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


The "bread of the dead" is food symbolizing life received through death, as a product made from cereals, plants which are "reborn" after being buried in the earth and decomposing.
The "bread of the dead" is food symbolizing life received through death, as a product made from cereals, plants which are "reborn" after being buried in the earth and decomposing.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

The bread of the dead

Bread of the dead

Canadian Heritage Information Network

MEXICO
© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


On the first of November, all the families go out, dressed in their best clothes, to visit not only the cemetery but also houses of relatives and friends, exchanging food, drink and small gifts. Beside the graves decorated with flowers, candles, candle lights and offerings, they all share fruit, bread and tamales while they listen on the one hand to the prayers recited by a priest or by "prayer reciters" if the family so decides and, on the other, to the music of bands which will play a tune in exchange for a little mezcal.
On the first of November, all the families go out, dressed in their best clothes, to visit not only the cemetery but also houses of relatives and friends, exchanging food, drink and small gifts. Beside the graves decorated with flowers, candles, candle lights and offerings, they all share fruit, bread and tamales while they listen on the one hand to the prayers recited by a priest or by "prayer reciters" if the family so decides and, on the other, to the music of bands which will play a tune in exchange for a little mezcal.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

God never dies

Macedonio Alcalá

© 1999 Macedonio Alcalá


The deceased arrive preceded by their own authorities, similar to those of the living. For this reason, when the souls are deemed to have arrived, the leaders of the community go down to the cemetery to invite them in; when the ceremonies are over, they return to accompany them on their way back to the world of the dead. The belief is that when people return to their homes after their first visit to the cemetery, the souls of the dead accompany them to taste the food in the offering.
The deceased arrive preceded by their own authorities, similar to those of the living. For this reason, when the souls are deemed to have arrived, the leaders of the community go down to the cemetery to invite them in; when the ceremonies are over, they return to accompany them on their way back to the world of the dead. The belief is that when people return to their homes after their first visit to the cemetery, the souls of the dead accompany them to taste the food in the offering.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

The Souls of the Dead

The souls of the dead follow people as they return to their homes from the cemetery to taste the food in the offering at the alter.

Canadian Heritage Information Network

MEXICO
© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


The dead are helped on their way back to the place from which they have come by troupes of masked dancers who frighten away those who are reluctant to leave. The dancers visit the homes in the community during the night, performing satirical skits with rhymed dialogue and dancing. In exchange, the families give them food and drink.

The celebration usually culminates with a visit to the cemetery on the 2nd November, though that day is sometimes only part of a whole cycle of festive celebrations in the cemetery which include flower arrangements on the graves, music, fairground rides and the sale of refreshments and various products.
The dead are helped on their way back to the place from which they have come by troupes of masked dancers who frighten away those who are reluctant to leave. The dancers visit the homes in the community during the night, performing satirical skits with rhymed dialogue and dancing. In exchange, the families give them food and drink.

The celebration usually culminates with a visit to the cemetery on the 2nd November, though that day is sometimes only part of a whole cycle of festive celebrations in the cemetery which include flower arrangements on the graves, music, fairground rides and the sale of refreshments and various products.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Visits also continue in the homes, which become centres for meeting and partying and exchanging products from the offerings. These meetings and exchanges of "the dead" are an occasion for the consumption of large amounts of food and alcohol, with the result that a significant proportion of the adult population gets drunk during these days. Excessive drinking is not an individual act (when it is so, it is frowned upon), but a group activity designed to periodically reinforce social cohesion in this way.

With all this activity and excitement it should be emphasized, firstly, that celebrations are conducive to maintaining and strengthening social bonds in the community, even with people who have moved far away for economic reasons and who return to their homestead to participate in the celebration. Secondly, they underline the importance of the principle of reciprocity which characterizes indigenous economic systems: the whole society makes a considerable investment of time and money in goods and services which are redistributed among a large number of persons, thereby allowing them, through this as well as through other events, to face social and economic advers Read More
Visits also continue in the homes, which become centres for meeting and partying and exchanging products from the offerings. These meetings and exchanges of "the dead" are an occasion for the consumption of large amounts of food and alcohol, with the result that a significant proportion of the adult population gets drunk during these days. Excessive drinking is not an individual act (when it is so, it is frowned upon), but a group activity designed to periodically reinforce social cohesion in this way.

With all this activity and excitement it should be emphasized, firstly, that celebrations are conducive to maintaining and strengthening social bonds in the community, even with people who have moved far away for economic reasons and who return to their homestead to participate in the celebration. Secondly, they underline the importance of the principle of reciprocity which characterizes indigenous economic systems: the whole society makes a considerable investment of time and money in goods and services which are redistributed among a large number of persons, thereby allowing them, through this as well as through other events, to face social and economic adversity.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Food and Alcohol

Consuming food and alcohol is a part of the Festival of the Dead.

Canadian Heritage Information Network

MEXICO
© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  •  Explore the culture and traditions in the State of Oaxaca, Mexico
  • Appreciate that there is a succession of overlapping cultures in time and space
  • Describe the Mexican Festival of the Dead and the combination of cultural influences that have resulted in its modern day manifestation

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les célébrations des jours des morts donnent une nouvelle vitalité à la vie familiale et communautaire, et constituent l’un des temps forts du cycle annuel du calendrier religieux dans les communautés rurales.

On croit que l’au-delà est une projection de la culture et de la société des vivants et que, par conséquent, la mort n’implique qu’une transition vers l’autre monde, auquel le défunt parvient si les membres de sa famille accomplissent correctement les rites voulus.

Dans la ville d’Oaxaca et les autres villes des vallées centrales, la célébration de la Toussaint et de la fête des Fidèles défunts commence le 31 octobre avec l’achat au marché de tout le nécessaire pour la décoration des autels et la préparation des offrandes.
Les célébrations des jours des morts donnent une nouvelle vitalité à la vie familiale et communautaire, et constituent l’un des temps forts du cycle annuel du calendrier religieux dans les communautés rurales.

On croit que l’au-delà est une projection de la culture et de la société des vivants et que, par conséquent, la mort n’implique qu’une transition vers l’autre monde, auquel le défunt parvient si les membres de sa famille accomplissent correctement les rites voulus.

Dans la ville d’Oaxaca et les autres villes des vallées centrales, la célébration de la Toussaint et de la fête des Fidèles défunts commence le 31 octobre avec l’achat au marché de tout le nécessaire pour la décoration des autels et la préparation des offrandes.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

L'achat de tout le nécéssaire

Achats au marché All Saints and All Souls.

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Monte Albàn, MEXIQUE
© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Avant les célébrations, les artisans se mettent à élaborer des articles représentatifs de ces jours-là, par exemple des candélabres, des braseros, des vases à fleurs, des têtes de mort en sucre, de l’amarante ou du papier coupé. De la même manière, les fermiers s’occupent des produits agricoles destinés à leur propre consommation et à la vente.

Le matin du 31 octobre, dans une des pièces de la maison, on commence à ériger l’autel des morts. La forme de ces autels varie selon l’origine et les préférences de chaque famille. De toute façon, les chercheurs sont d’accord sur la présence obligatoire des éléments suivants : un arc de roseaux ou de cannes (auquel on accroche des offrandes), la fleur orange du cempasúchil, des offrandes (aliments et boissons), des chandelles et de l’encens.

Le 31 octobre, connu comme le « jour des petits anges », on reçoit les âmes des enfants morts, avec un autel très simple. Le jour suivant, on a Pour en lire plus
Avant les célébrations, les artisans se mettent à élaborer des articles représentatifs de ces jours-là, par exemple des candélabres, des braseros, des vases à fleurs, des têtes de mort en sucre, de l’amarante ou du papier coupé. De la même manière, les fermiers s’occupent des produits agricoles destinés à leur propre consommation et à la vente.

Le matin du 31 octobre, dans une des pièces de la maison, on commence à ériger l’autel des morts. La forme de ces autels varie selon l’origine et les préférences de chaque famille. De toute façon, les chercheurs sont d’accord sur la présence obligatoire des éléments suivants : un arc de roseaux ou de cannes (auquel on accroche des offrandes), la fleur orange du cempasúchil, des offrandes (aliments et boissons), des chandelles et de l’encens.

Le 31 octobre, connu comme le « jour des petits anges », on reçoit les âmes des enfants morts, avec un autel très simple. Le jour suivant, on aménage l’autel en ajoutant de nouveaux éléments pour recevoir les âmes d’adulte qui se présentent. Le 31, à la nuit tombée, les femmes sont très occupées à préparer les plats de l’offrande, par exemple la courge cuite et le mole noir (sauce mexicaine préhispanique, qu’on prépare souvent aujourd’hui avec du chocolat et plusieurs genres de piments). Si les ressources de la famille le permettent, on y ajoute de la dinde. Les femmes préparent une compote de tejocote (petit fruit jaune typique de certaines fêtes et des piñatas) et du gruau avec du chiote (piment en poudre). On apporte également le maïs au moulin pour faire les tamales.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Péparations

Préparations en vue du festival.

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

MEXIQUE
© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


La nourriture

Préparation d'aliments pour le festival.

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

MEXIQUE
© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


L'autel

L’autel des morts.

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

MEXIQUE
© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


L’autel est érigé normalement sur une table, sur laquelle on place plusieurs boîtes superposées afin de créer plusieurs niveaux. On recouvre ensuite le tout avec une toile blanche ou du papier de soie découpé en formes décoratives. Sur l’autel, on construit une arche qui peut symboliser l’union du Ciel et de la Terre ou le dernier seuil que doivent franchir les âmes et qui se referme derrière elles, sur la route qui mène au monde des morts. Il s’agit d’un voyage plein de dangers, tout comme la traversée d’une rivière avec l’aide d’un chien.

Parfois, on construit un chemin de pétales de fleurs de cempasúchil, de l’entrée de la maison jusqu’à l’autel, pour que les âmes « ne se perdent pas ». Les aliments sont placés sur des plats en terre disposés deux par deux, signe de la dualité toujours présente dans le monde autochtone, dans ce cas-ci la dualité de la vie et de la mort.

On laisse de l’eau dans un verre ou une gourde po Pour en lire plus
L’autel est érigé normalement sur une table, sur laquelle on place plusieurs boîtes superposées afin de créer plusieurs niveaux. On recouvre ensuite le tout avec une toile blanche ou du papier de soie découpé en formes décoratives. Sur l’autel, on construit une arche qui peut symboliser l’union du Ciel et de la Terre ou le dernier seuil que doivent franchir les âmes et qui se referme derrière elles, sur la route qui mène au monde des morts. Il s’agit d’un voyage plein de dangers, tout comme la traversée d’une rivière avec l’aide d’un chien.

Parfois, on construit un chemin de pétales de fleurs de cempasúchil, de l’entrée de la maison jusqu’à l’autel, pour que les âmes « ne se perdent pas ». Les aliments sont placés sur des plats en terre disposés deux par deux, signe de la dualité toujours présente dans le monde autochtone, dans ce cas-ci la dualité de la vie et de la mort.

On laisse de l’eau dans un verre ou une gourde pour que les âmes assouvissent leur soif après le long voyage de l’au-delà jusqu’à l’offrande. La combustion d’encens permet ou favorise l’union avec le Ciel par la fumée qui monte de la Terre.

Sur les autels, on place des chandelles ou des veilleuses, des bananes, des noix, des jícamas (tubercules comestibles du Mexique et de l’Amérique centrale), des nèfles, des oranges, des pommes, des tortillas, des tamales, du chocolat, du pain et des boissons non alcoolisées, de même que des bouteilles de mezcal et des cigarettes pour les défunts qui fumaient. Le tout est orné de fleurs et de croix. Quelques familles couronnent l’offrande avec l’image du saint qu’ils vénèrent et le portrait du défunt.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Un chemin

Un chemin à l'autel pour les morts.

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

MEXIQUE
© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Le « pain des morts » est un aliment qui symbolise la vie que l’on reçoit à travers la mort, car il est dérivé de céréales, c’est-à-dire de plantes qui renaissent après leur décomposition dans la terre.
Le « pain des morts » est un aliment qui symbolise la vie que l’on reçoit à travers la mort, car il est dérivé de céréales, c’est-à-dire de plantes qui renaissent après leur décomposition dans la terre.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Le pain des morts

Le « pain des morts »

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

MEXIQUE
© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Le premier novembre, toutes les familles sortent en habits du dimanche pour commencer une série de visites au cimetière de même que chez des parents et des amis afin d’échanger des aliments et des boissons, ainsi que de petits cadeaux. Auprès des tombeaux décorés de fleurs, de chandelles, de veilleuses et d’offrandes, tous partagent des fruits, du pain et des tamales, en écoutant, d’une part, des prières prononcées par un prêtre ou par des « récitants » professionnels, si c’est le voeu de la famille et, d’autre part, la musique des fanfares qui jouent pour un peu de mezcal.
Le premier novembre, toutes les familles sortent en habits du dimanche pour commencer une série de visites au cimetière de même que chez des parents et des amis afin d’échanger des aliments et des boissons, ainsi que de petits cadeaux. Auprès des tombeaux décorés de fleurs, de chandelles, de veilleuses et d’offrandes, tous partagent des fruits, du pain et des tamales, en écoutant, d’une part, des prières prononcées par un prêtre ou par des « récitants » professionnels, si c’est le voeu de la famille et, d’autre part, la musique des fanfares qui jouent pour un peu de mezcal.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Dieu ne meurt jamais

Macedonio Alcalá

© 1999 Macedonio Alcalá


Les défunts arrivent, précédés de leurs propres autorités, semblables à celles des vivants. Pour cette raison, quand on estime que les âmes sont arrivées, les dirigeants de la communauté se rendent au cimetière pour les inviter. Une fois les rites terminés, ils se rendent de nouveau au cimetière pour accompagner les âmes sur le chemin de retour vers le monde des morts. On croit généralement que, quand les gens rentrent à la maison après leur première visite au cimetière, les âmes les accompagnent pour aller goûter la nourriture préparée pour l’offrande.
Les défunts arrivent, précédés de leurs propres autorités, semblables à celles des vivants. Pour cette raison, quand on estime que les âmes sont arrivées, les dirigeants de la communauté se rendent au cimetière pour les inviter. Une fois les rites terminés, ils se rendent de nouveau au cimetière pour accompagner les âmes sur le chemin de retour vers le monde des morts. On croit généralement que, quand les gens rentrent à la maison après leur première visite au cimetière, les âmes les accompagnent pour aller goûter la nourriture préparée pour l’offrande.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Les âmes des morts

Quand les gens rentrent à la maison après leur première visite au cimetière, les âmes les accompagnent pour aller goûter la nourriture préparée pour l'offrande.

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

MEXIQUE
© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. Tous droits réservés.


On aide les morts à retourner à l’endroit d’où ils sont sortis grâce à l’intervention de troupes de danseurs masqués, qui chassent d’abord les âmes qui ne veulent pas s’en aller. Les danseurs visitent les maisons de la communauté au cours de la nuit, présentant des sketches satiriques avec des dialogues rimés et des danses. En échange, les familles leur donnent à boire et à manger.

Le point culminant de la célébration est généralement la visite au cimetière le deux novembre, mais parfois ce jour-là fait partie de toute une série de visites au cimetière réalisées dans une ambiance de fête suscitée par des compositions florales sur les tombeaux, de la musique, un champ de foire et la vente de mets et de produits divers.
On aide les morts à retourner à l’endroit d’où ils sont sortis grâce à l’intervention de troupes de danseurs masqués, qui chassent d’abord les âmes qui ne veulent pas s’en aller. Les danseurs visitent les maisons de la communauté au cours de la nuit, présentant des sketches satiriques avec des dialogues rimés et des danses. En échange, les familles leur donnent à boire et à manger.

Le point culminant de la célébration est généralement la visite au cimetière le deux novembre, mais parfois ce jour-là fait partie de toute une série de visites au cimetière réalisées dans une ambiance de fête suscitée par des compositions florales sur les tombeaux, de la musique, un champ de foire et la vente de mets et de produits divers.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

D’autre part, les maisons continuent d’être visitées et deviennent des lieux de réunion et de fête où les gens échangent les produits de leurs offrandes. Ces réunions et l’« échange des morts » sont une occasion de consommer beaucoup de nourriture et d’alcool, de sorte qu’une bonne partie de la population adulte s’enivre pendant ces jours-là. Boire à l’excès n’est pas un acte individuel (comme tel, il est en général réprouvé) mais une activité collective qui renforce périodiquement la cohésion sociale.

Avec toute cette activité et toute cette agitation, il faut se rendre compte que, d’une part, les fêtes contribuent à maintenir et à renforcer les liens sociaux de la communauté, même avec les personnes qui sont parties au loin pour des raison économiques et qui retournent « à la maison » pour participer à la célébration. D’autre part, elles soulignent l’importance du principe de ré Pour en lire plus
D’autre part, les maisons continuent d’être visitées et deviennent des lieux de réunion et de fête où les gens échangent les produits de leurs offrandes. Ces réunions et l’« échange des morts » sont une occasion de consommer beaucoup de nourriture et d’alcool, de sorte qu’une bonne partie de la population adulte s’enivre pendant ces jours-là. Boire à l’excès n’est pas un acte individuel (comme tel, il est en général réprouvé) mais une activité collective qui renforce périodiquement la cohésion sociale.

Avec toute cette activité et toute cette agitation, il faut se rendre compte que, d’une part, les fêtes contribuent à maintenir et à renforcer les liens sociaux de la communauté, même avec les personnes qui sont parties au loin pour des raison économiques et qui retournent « à la maison » pour participer à la célébration. D’autre part, elles soulignent l’importance du principe de réciprocité qui caractérise les systèmes économiques des autochtones, selon lesquels toute la société investit des quantités considérables de temps et d’argent dans des biens et services qui sont redistribués entre un grand nombre de personnes, ce qui permet à celles-ci, au moyen de cet événement ainsi que d’autres, de faire face à des conditions économiques et sociales difficiles.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Nourriture et alcool

Le fait de consommer de la nourriture et de l’alcool fait partie des célébrations des jours des morts.

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

MEXIQUE
© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va:

  • découvrir la culture et les traditions de l’état d’Oaxaca, au Mexique ;
  • faire ressortir la succession des cultures qui se chevauchent dans le temps et l’espace ;
  • examiner la célébration des jours des morts au Mexique et la combinaison d’influences culturelles qui a résulté en sa manifestation moderne.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons