Polycarp, Bishop of Smyrna (traditionally c.69 - c.155) was arrested during a public (pagan) festival and asked by his accusers: "What harm is there in saying ’Caesar is Lord,’ and offering incense and saving your life?". Replied Polycarp, who was burned at the stake for his beliefs: "For eighty-six years I have been the servant [of Jesus Christ], and he never did me any injury. How then can I blaspheme my King who saved me?".

Martyrium Polycarpi

When Pontius Pilate asked Jesus if he was a king, he asked a question that has absorbed Christian and non-Christian thinkers alike since the first century. Is Christ a king? And if he is, what sort of kingdom does he rule? These questions had particular relevance and poignancy in the Roman Empire where the relationship between faith and power was constantly being renegotiated. After the decline of the Empire, a wide range of thinkers engaged the questions of Christ’s kingship and arrived at diverse - and often oppositional - philosophies concerning the political implications of Jesus’ life and teachings. Much debate has raged and m Read More
Polycarp, Bishop of Smyrna (traditionally c.69 - c.155) was arrested during a public (pagan) festival and asked by his accusers: "What harm is there in saying ’Caesar is Lord,’ and offering incense and saving your life?". Replied Polycarp, who was burned at the stake for his beliefs: "For eighty-six years I have been the servant [of Jesus Christ], and he never did me any injury. How then can I blaspheme my King who saved me?".

Martyrium Polycarpi

When Pontius Pilate asked Jesus if he was a king, he asked a question that has absorbed Christian and non-Christian thinkers alike since the first century. Is Christ a king? And if he is, what sort of kingdom does he rule? These questions had particular relevance and poignancy in the Roman Empire where the relationship between faith and power was constantly being renegotiated. After the decline of the Empire, a wide range of thinkers engaged the questions of Christ’s kingship and arrived at diverse - and often oppositional - philosophies concerning the political implications of Jesus’ life and teachings. Much debate has raged and much blood has been spilled over the issues which Jesus’ kingship pose, but no resolution seems forthcoming - or even possible. And so we must return - and continue to return - to the question posed by a Roman procurator to a Galilean peasant two millennia ago: So you are a king?

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Christ the King

This sculpture poignantly captures the ironies of Christian kingship: while Jesus retains the tragic visage of the man of sorrows, his crown of thorns has become a royal crown.

Jean Julien Bourgault (1897-1967)
c. 1968
Sculpture
PMA:J99.1516
© Musée de la civilisation


I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me…

Galatians 2:20

To whom do Christians owe their allegiance in this world - to Christ or to Caesar? For members of the early church, the answer to this basic question could spell the difference between life and death. There was a river of blood running through the history of early Christianity, a river fed by the lives of martyrs who refused to reject Christ the King and submit to Caesar the emperor. The list is long. There was the noble Bishop Polycarp (d. c.155), incapable of cursing the Saviour who had redeemed him; Saints Perpetua and Felicitas (d. 7 March 203), exchanging a final chaste kiss before being savaged in the arena; and the bold slave-girl Blandina (d.177), wearing out her torturers with an almost superhuman endurance. For nearly three centuries after the crucifixion of Jesus, Christians were forced to confront questions of faith of the most profound existential gravity, questions which determined not only how they lived, but, in many instances, how they died.
I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me…

Galatians 2:20

To whom do Christians owe their allegiance in this world - to Christ or to Caesar? For members of the early church, the answer to this basic question could spell the difference between life and death. There was a river of blood running through the history of early Christianity, a river fed by the lives of martyrs who refused to reject Christ the King and submit to Caesar the emperor. The list is long. There was the noble Bishop Polycarp (d. c.155), incapable of cursing the Saviour who had redeemed him; Saints Perpetua and Felicitas (d. 7 March 203), exchanging a final chaste kiss before being savaged in the arena; and the bold slave-girl Blandina (d.177), wearing out her torturers with an almost superhuman endurance. For nearly three centuries after the crucifixion of Jesus, Christians were forced to confront questions of faith of the most profound existential gravity, questions which determined not only how they lived, but, in many instances, how they died.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Man of Sorrows

The image of Jesus as the "King of Glory", the king above all earthly kings, inspired many early Christians to remain steadfast in their faith, despite political persecution and martyrdom.

The Provincial Museum of Alberta

Lithograph
PMA:J99.1933
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta.


Crowns

Christian martyrs bear witness to a life filled with grace and accent the martyr's crown rather than deny this grace. For the Romanian Orthodox Christians, who made these wedding crowns, holy matrimony is a type of martyrdom: a death of one's ego in order to be born anew into a life shared wholly with one's beloved.

The Provincial Museum of Alberta.

PMA.J99.1970.
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


Conquer by this!

Eusebius, Life of Constantine

On the eve of the Battle of Milvian Bridge in 312, the Roman emperor Constantine I claimed to have been overcome by a vision - a cross of light blazing above the sun and bearing the inscription "Conquer by this!" With Constantine’s profound spiritual epiphany - the sincerity of which many scholars have placed into question - the Roman Empire passed into the hands of Christ. One of the world’s great kingdoms was to be ruled by a crucified King crowned with thorns and enthroned on a tree. And yet, Constantine and the Roman world he ruled never became a strictly Christian empire. The old vices persisted, pagan senators still held considerable political power, and pagan symbols and rituals remained everywhere apparent - even in the great Christian city of Constantinople itself. Christian kingship was riddled with contradiction and irony, but none was more perplexing than this - the suffering servant had ascended the throne of royal power.
Conquer by this!

Eusebius, Life of Constantine

On the eve of the Battle of Milvian Bridge in 312, the Roman emperor Constantine I claimed to have been overcome by a vision - a cross of light blazing above the sun and bearing the inscription "Conquer by this!" With Constantine’s profound spiritual epiphany - the sincerity of which many scholars have placed into question - the Roman Empire passed into the hands of Christ. One of the world’s great kingdoms was to be ruled by a crucified King crowned with thorns and enthroned on a tree. And yet, Constantine and the Roman world he ruled never became a strictly Christian empire. The old vices persisted, pagan senators still held considerable political power, and pagan symbols and rituals remained everywhere apparent - even in the great Christian city of Constantinople itself. Christian kingship was riddled with contradiction and irony, but none was more perplexing than this - the suffering servant had ascended the throne of royal power.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Constantine's Vision of the Cross

Raphael's grandeur expresses the political and philosophical strivings of the papacy in his time, as well as the story of Constantine's vision of the cross before the Battle of Milvian Bridge.

Raphael and Giulio Romano (1483-1520 and c.1499-1546)
c. 1509-1510
Fresco, Vatican.
PMA:J99.1694
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


Sire, no orphan affects me in that way.
We must placate the cub and do it without delay
Or efface him as a cause of fear
Before his teeth and claws have grown,
For in time he would naturally overcome us here.

Jean de La Fontaine , The Lion

Longed for by an entire kingdom, the birth of Louis Dieu-Donné (God-Given), future king of France, on September 15, 1638, fulfilled all the devotees’ prayers. That birth, more than twenty years after Louis XIII had married Anne of Austria, was predicted by Sister Marguerite du Saint-Sacrament, a Beaune Carmelite. In the convents, the cult of the infant Jesus, represented as a small, crowned king, sceptre in his hand, resting in the arms of his Holy Mother, truly took wing. Thus the future king, orphaned early, consecrated to a glorious reign, was recognized as representing divine Read More
Sire, no orphan affects me in that way.
We must placate the cub and do it without delay
Or efface him as a cause of fear
Before his teeth and claws have grown,
For in time he would naturally overcome us here.

Jean de La Fontaine , The Lion

Longed for by an entire kingdom, the birth of Louis Dieu-Donné (God-Given), future king of France, on September 15, 1638, fulfilled all the devotees’ prayers. That birth, more than twenty years after Louis XIII had married Anne of Austria, was predicted by Sister Marguerite du Saint-Sacrament, a Beaune Carmelite. In the convents, the cult of the infant Jesus, represented as a small, crowned king, sceptre in his hand, resting in the arms of his Holy Mother, truly took wing. Thus the future king, orphaned early, consecrated to a glorious reign, was recognized as representing divine power, as representing God on earth.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Virgin and Child

Like many images of Louis XIV, the Sun King, François-Noël Levasseur's representation of the Virgin and Christ Child radiates with a brilliant luminosity.

François-Noël Levasseur (1703-1794)
Musée du Quebec
c. 1775
Sculpture
PMA:J99.1521
© Musée du Quebec


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Using examples, describe the difficulties of Christians in the first centuries after Christ’s crucifixion
  • Discuss the concept of Christ as a king

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

« Polycarpe, évêque de Smyrne (décédé vers 155) est arrêté au cours d’un festival public et ses accusateurs lui demandent : " Quel mal y a-t-il à dire ’César est le Seigneur’ et à offrir de l’encens si c’est pour sauver ta vie ? " Et Polycarpe, qui est mort au bûcher à cause de sa foi, leur répond : " Pendant quatre-vingt-six ans, j’ai été le serviteur [de Jésus-Christ], et il ne m’a jamais fait aucun mal. Alors comment puis-je blasphémer mon Roi qui m’a sauvé " ? »

Le martyre de Polycarpe

Quand Ponce Pilate demande à Jésus s’il est roi, il lui pose une question qui a nourri la réflexion des penseurs chrétiens et non chrétiens depuis le Ier siècle. Le Christ est-il roi ? S’il l’est, sur quel royaume exerce-t-il sa royauté ? La pertinence de ces questions avait quelque chose de déchirant dans le contexte de l’Empire romain où Pour en lire plus
« Polycarpe, évêque de Smyrne (décédé vers 155) est arrêté au cours d’un festival public et ses accusateurs lui demandent : " Quel mal y a-t-il à dire ’César est le Seigneur’ et à offrir de l’encens si c’est pour sauver ta vie ? " Et Polycarpe, qui est mort au bûcher à cause de sa foi, leur répond : " Pendant quatre-vingt-six ans, j’ai été le serviteur [de Jésus-Christ], et il ne m’a jamais fait aucun mal. Alors comment puis-je blasphémer mon Roi qui m’a sauvé " ? »

Le martyre de Polycarpe

Quand Ponce Pilate demande à Jésus s’il est roi, il lui pose une question qui a nourri la réflexion des penseurs chrétiens et non chrétiens depuis le Ier siècle. Le Christ est-il roi ? S’il l’est, sur quel royaume exerce-t-il sa royauté ? La pertinence de ces questions avait quelque chose de déchirant dans le contexte de l’Empire romain où les rapports entre foi et pouvoir avaient constamment à être renégociés. Après le déclin de cet empire, de très nombreux auteurs se sont posé la question de la royauté du Christ, aboutissant à diverses positions philosophiques - souvent contradictoires - sur les implications politiques de la vie et des enseignements de Jésus. Les questions que soulèvent la royauté de Jésus ont suscité de houleux débats et fait couler beaucoup de sang, sans qu’une solution définitive ne paraisse imminente, voire possible. Reste donc à revenir - et à revenir sans cesse - à la question que le procureur romain à posée à un paysan galiléen il y a deux mille ans : « Tu es donc roi ? »

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Le Christ roi

Cette sculpture capte de façon saisissante les aspects ironiques de la royauté du Christ : alors que le visage de Jésus est celui de l'homme des douleurs, sa couronne d'épines s'est transformée en couronne royale.

Jean Julien Bourgault (1897-1967)
vers 1968
Sculpture
PMA:J99.1516
© Collection Musée de la civilisation, dépôt du Séminaire de Québec


« … je suis crucifié avec le Christ; et ce n’est plus moi qui vis, mais le Christ qui vit en moi. »

Ga 2, 19-20.

À qui les chrétiens doivent-ils allégeance, au Christ ou à César ? La façon dont les membres de la communauté ecclésiale primitive répondaient à cette question fondamentale déterminait s’ils restaient en vie ou étaient envoyés à la mort. L’histoire des premiers chrétiens baigne dans une rivière de sang, le sang des martyrs qui refusaient de rejeter le Christ roi et de se soumettre à César, l’empereur. La liste de ces martyrs est longue. Mentionnons le noble évêque Polycarpe (v. 69-v. 155), incapable de maudire le Sauveur à qui il devait le salut; les saintes Perpétue (203) et Félicité (203), qui se sont donné un dernier chaste baiser avant d’être sauvagement livrées aux bêtes dans l’arène; et Blandine (177), l’intrépide esclave, qui oppos Pour en lire plus
« … je suis crucifié avec le Christ; et ce n’est plus moi qui vis, mais le Christ qui vit en moi. »

Ga 2, 19-20.

À qui les chrétiens doivent-ils allégeance, au Christ ou à César ? La façon dont les membres de la communauté ecclésiale primitive répondaient à cette question fondamentale déterminait s’ils restaient en vie ou étaient envoyés à la mort. L’histoire des premiers chrétiens baigne dans une rivière de sang, le sang des martyrs qui refusaient de rejeter le Christ roi et de se soumettre à César, l’empereur. La liste de ces martyrs est longue. Mentionnons le noble évêque Polycarpe (v. 69-v. 155), incapable de maudire le Sauveur à qui il devait le salut; les saintes Perpétue (203) et Félicité (203), qui se sont donné un dernier chaste baiser avant d’être sauvagement livrées aux bêtes dans l’arène; et Blandine (177), l’intrépide esclave, qui opposa une résistance presque surhumaine à ses tortionnaires au point de les épuiser. Pendant près de trois cents ans après la crucifixion de Jésus, les chrétiens ont dû professer leur foi en en assumant toutes les conséquences existentielles, répondant à des questions qui déterminaient non seulement la façon dont ils vivaient mais, dans bien des cas, celle dont ils mouraient.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

L'Homme des Douleurs

L'image de Jésus comme « Roi de Gloire », le roi au-dessus de tous les rois temporels, a inspiré un grand nombre de chrétiens des premiers temps qui y ont trouvé la force de demeurer inébranlables dans leur foi, en dépit des persécutions politiques et du martyre.

The Provincial Museum of Alberta

Lithographie
PMA:J99.1933
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta.


Couronnes de mariage

Les martyrs chrétiens témoignent d'une vie remplie de grâce; ils ont préféré la couronne du martyre au reniement de cette grâce. Pour les chrétiens orthodoxes roumains qui ont réalisé ces couronnes de mariage, le saint mariage est une sorte de martyre : la mort du moi qui donne naissance à une nouvelle vie de partage total avec la personne aimée.

The Provincial Museum of Alberta.

PMA.J99.1970.
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


« Tu vaincras par ce signe ! »

Eusèbe, Vie de Constantin

À la veille de la bataille du pont Milvius, en 312, l’empereur romain Constantin Ier déclare avoir eu une vision - une croix de lumière resplendissant dans les cieux au-dessus du soleil, portant l’inscription « Tu vaincras par ce signe » ! C’est ainsi que l’éblouissante vision spirituelle de l’empereur - dont la sincérité est mise en doute par de nombreux chercheurs - remit en fait l’Empire romain entre les mains du Christ. Un des grands empires du monde aurait pour maître un roi crucifié couronné d’épines et trônant sur un arbre. Pourtant, Constantin et le monde romain sur lequel il régnait ne sont jamais totalement devenus un empire chrétien. Les anciens vices ont persisté, des sénateurs païens continuant à détenir un vaste pouvoir politique et les symboles et rites païens demeurant partout apparents - même dans la grande ville de Constantinople el Pour en lire plus
« Tu vaincras par ce signe ! »

Eusèbe, Vie de Constantin

À la veille de la bataille du pont Milvius, en 312, l’empereur romain Constantin Ier déclare avoir eu une vision - une croix de lumière resplendissant dans les cieux au-dessus du soleil, portant l’inscription « Tu vaincras par ce signe » ! C’est ainsi que l’éblouissante vision spirituelle de l’empereur - dont la sincérité est mise en doute par de nombreux chercheurs - remit en fait l’Empire romain entre les mains du Christ. Un des grands empires du monde aurait pour maître un roi crucifié couronné d’épines et trônant sur un arbre. Pourtant, Constantin et le monde romain sur lequel il régnait ne sont jamais totalement devenus un empire chrétien. Les anciens vices ont persisté, des sénateurs païens continuant à détenir un vaste pouvoir politique et les symboles et rites païens demeurant partout apparents - même dans la grande ville de Constantinople elle-même. La royauté chrétienne était pleine de contradictions et de paradoxes, mais aucune n’était plus gênante que celle-ci : le Serviteur souffrant était monté sur le trône du pouvoir royal.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

La Vision de la croix de Constantin

Les immenses fresques de Raphaël expriment clairement les entreprises politiques et philosophiques de la papauté de son époque aussi bien que l'histoire de la vision de la Croix par Constantin avant la bataille du pont Milvius.

Raphaël et Giulio Romano (1483-1520 and c.1499-1546)
vers 1509-1510
Fresque, Vatican.
PMA:J99.1694
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


« Tels orphelins, Seigneur, ne me font point pitié:
Il faut de celui-ci conserver l’amitié,
Ou s’efforcer de le détruire,
Avant que la griffe et la dent
Lui soit crue, et qu’il soit en état de nous nuire. »

Jean de la Fontaine, Les Fables, Le lion

Attendue par tout un royaume, la naissance de Louis Dieu-Donné, futur roi de France, le 15 septembre 1638, exauçait la totalité des prières des fidèles. Cette naissance, plus de 20 ans après le mariage de Louis XIII à Anne d’Autriche, avait été prédite par sœur Marguerite du Saint-Sacrement, une carmélite de Beaune. Dans les couvents, le culte de l’Enfant-Jésus représenté en petit roi couronné, sceptre en ma Pour en lire plus
« Tels orphelins, Seigneur, ne me font point pitié:
Il faut de celui-ci conserver l’amitié,
Ou s’efforcer de le détruire,
Avant que la griffe et la dent
Lui soit crue, et qu’il soit en état de nous nuire. »

Jean de la Fontaine, Les Fables, Le lion

Attendue par tout un royaume, la naissance de Louis Dieu-Donné, futur roi de France, le 15 septembre 1638, exauçait la totalité des prières des fidèles. Cette naissance, plus de 20 ans après le mariage de Louis XIII à Anne d’Autriche, avait été prédite par sœur Marguerite du Saint-Sacrement, une carmélite de Beaune. Dans les couvents, le culte de l’Enfant-Jésus représenté en petit roi couronné, sceptre en main et reposant dans les bras de sa Sainte Mère, prit son essor. Ainsi, le futur roi, très tôt orphelin, destiné à un règne glorieux, était reconnu comme une concrétisation du pouvoir divin, comme représentant de Dieu sur terre.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Vierge à l'enfant

À l'instar de nombreuses représentations de Louis XIV, le Roi-Soleil, la représentation de la Vierge et de l'Enfant de François-Noël Levasseur irradie une brillante luminosité.

François-Noël Levasseur (1703-1794)
vers 1775
Sculpture
PMA:J99.1521
© Musée du Quebec


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • décrire les difficultés des Chrétiens durant les premiers siècles après la crucifixion du Christ ;
  • discuter le concept du Christ étant un roi.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons