Nothing in his life became him like the leaving of it.

William Shakespeare, MacBeth

Of all the images which engage and perplex the western imagination, there is none more powerful than that of the crucified Christ. The blunt, brutal, physical facts of his death still assault us with a staccato series of abominations: nails driven through the wrists and feet, a crown of thorns gouging his brow, side pierced and bleeding, naked, jeered by onlookers. This image - an image of inestimable inhumanity, an image of God suffering and dying in his love for humanity - captivated the medieval mind and provided it with a rich cache of symbolic significance. For medieval theologians and laymen alike, the cross was the symbol of God’s awesome power, of God’s victory over death and evil. It was also the image of God’s wisdom, charity, and patience even while suffering at the hands of those he had come to redeem. Above all, it was the emblem of God’s incomprehensible love for humanity.
Nothing in his life became him like the leaving of it.

William Shakespeare, MacBeth

Of all the images which engage and perplex the western imagination, there is none more powerful than that of the crucified Christ. The blunt, brutal, physical facts of his death still assault us with a staccato series of abominations: nails driven through the wrists and feet, a crown of thorns gouging his brow, side pierced and bleeding, naked, jeered by onlookers. This image - an image of inestimable inhumanity, an image of God suffering and dying in his love for humanity - captivated the medieval mind and provided it with a rich cache of symbolic significance. For medieval theologians and laymen alike, the cross was the symbol of God’s awesome power, of God’s victory over death and evil. It was also the image of God’s wisdom, charity, and patience even while suffering at the hands of those he had come to redeem. Above all, it was the emblem of God’s incomprehensible love for humanity.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Death of Christ on the Cross

The frenetic action in Coypel's painting expresses with a visceral immediacy the terrible traumas, the earth rattling hurricanes, which attend humanity's rejection and crucifixion of the Son of God.

Coypel

Painting
Acc. No. 96/139. PMA:J99.1634.
© Art Gallery of Ontario


Cross montage

The rich symbology of the Christian cross is manifested in, among other things, the incredible range of variation in cruciform images from church to church, region to region.

The Provincial Museum of Alberta

Photograph
J99.1969
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta.


Sing, my tongue, the glorious battle, Sing the ending of the fray. Now above the cross, the trophy, Sound the loud triumphant lay; Tell how Christ, the world’s redeemer, As a victim won the day.

Venantius Fortunatus, "Pange, lingua"

Following the conversion of the Roman Empire to the Christian faith in 312 A.D., the theological symbolism of the cross was wed to the political and military grammar of Rome. In the newly Christianized empire, the sign of the cross took on the dimensions of a mystical talisman, radiating the awesome power of God, enabling its possessor to vanquish whole armies through its spiritual force. So forcibly did the symbol of the cross impress itself upon Constantine’s mother, Helena, that she sought and allegedly recovered the True Cross. Legend has it that nails from this cross were placed in Constantine’s helmet and on the bridle of his horse and pieces of the cross were set in the statue of Constantine I at Constantinople. More than just a symbol of the Empire’s religious affiliations, the cross exerted a palpable power in this world, a force capable of routing Read More
Sing, my tongue, the glorious battle, Sing the ending of the fray. Now above the cross, the trophy, Sound the loud triumphant lay; Tell how Christ, the world’s redeemer, As a victim won the day.

Venantius Fortunatus, "Pange, lingua"

Following the conversion of the Roman Empire to the Christian faith in 312 A.D., the theological symbolism of the cross was wed to the political and military grammar of Rome. In the newly Christianized empire, the sign of the cross took on the dimensions of a mystical talisman, radiating the awesome power of God, enabling its possessor to vanquish whole armies through its spiritual force. So forcibly did the symbol of the cross impress itself upon Constantine’s mother, Helena, that she sought and allegedly recovered the True Cross. Legend has it that nails from this cross were placed in Constantine’s helmet and on the bridle of his horse and pieces of the cross were set in the statue of Constantine I at Constantinople. More than just a symbol of the Empire’s religious affiliations, the cross exerted a palpable power in this world, a force capable of routing enemies and protecting cities.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Veneration of the Cross

The cross, received solemnly with a hymn of praise, was conveyed to the Church of the Holy Sepulchre.

Gustave Doré (1832-1883)
19th Century
Engraving
PMA:J99.1895
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


…Therefore, we have clearly come to Christ, whom we confess to be both God and man and to have died on our behalf.

Anselm of Canterbury, Why God Became Man

The medieval sign of the cross was not only a symbol of God’s might. It was also an image of His wisdom. In particular, the cross was seen as a symbol of the solution to a divine dilemma: how could humans possibly atone for generations of willful disobedience against God? Many medieval theologians - most notably Anselm of Canterbury (d.1109) - engaged this problem. In Anselm’s formulation, God’s justice demanded retribution, but God’s mercy desired man’s redemption; the former would destroy man, while the latter would undercut the moral order of the cosmos. Only a being capable of paying for the sins of man as a man and making that payment of infinite worth as a God could satisfy God’s justice and his mercy. That being was Jesus Christ, the man, the God, whose suffering and death had atoned for humanity’s sins and restored cosmic order.
…Therefore, we have clearly come to Christ, whom we confess to be both God and man and to have died on our behalf.

Anselm of Canterbury, Why God Became Man

The medieval sign of the cross was not only a symbol of God’s might. It was also an image of His wisdom. In particular, the cross was seen as a symbol of the solution to a divine dilemma: how could humans possibly atone for generations of willful disobedience against God? Many medieval theologians - most notably Anselm of Canterbury (d.1109) - engaged this problem. In Anselm’s formulation, God’s justice demanded retribution, but God’s mercy desired man’s redemption; the former would destroy man, while the latter would undercut the moral order of the cosmos. Only a being capable of paying for the sins of man as a man and making that payment of infinite worth as a God could satisfy God’s justice and his mercy. That being was Jesus Christ, the man, the God, whose suffering and death had atoned for humanity’s sins and restored cosmic order.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Crucifixion

The representation of Christ crucified between the two thieves reveals alternate human stances: the propensity to denial even in the grip of death, and, the openness to new life in the time of dying. The thief on the left and the thief on the right represent all human options.

Master Jativa

Oil on pannel
Acc. no. 95/146. PMA:J99.1715.
© Art Gallery of Ontario


Coronation of the Virgin with Saint Anselm and Other Saints

Fiercely committed to the church and possessed of a penetrating intellect, St. Anselm shares distinguished company in this painting: St. Augustine stands beside him on the left side of the painting opposite Kings David and Solomon.

Francesco Francia (c. 1450-1517/18)

PMA: J99.1793
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


One cause of this barren blooming
I attribute to a false system of education [of women], gathered
from the books written on this subject by men who, considering females rather as women than human creatures have been more anxious
to make them alluring mistresses
than affectionate wives and rational mothers …

Mary Wollstonecraft, A Vindication of the Rights of Woman

In 1653 Marguerite Bourgeoys, a member of the Congregation of Notre-Dame de Troyes, sailed to New France to teach children. Several years earlier, at the age of twenty, Marguerite received a mystical revelation during a religious procession in Troyes. From that turning point, Marguerite knew that, like the Virgin Mary, she would pursue Jesus’ teaching mission. Earlier, Jean-Jacques Olier and St. Pierre Fourier had established that women did not receive eno Read More
One cause of this barren blooming
I attribute to a false system of education [of women], gathered
from the books written on this subject by men who, considering females rather as women than human creatures have been more anxious
to make them alluring mistresses
than affectionate wives and rational mothers …

Mary Wollstonecraft, A Vindication of the Rights of Woman

In 1653 Marguerite Bourgeoys, a member of the Congregation of Notre-Dame de Troyes, sailed to New France to teach children. Several years earlier, at the age of twenty, Marguerite received a mystical revelation during a religious procession in Troyes. From that turning point, Marguerite knew that, like the Virgin Mary, she would pursue Jesus’ teaching mission. Earlier, Jean-Jacques Olier and St. Pierre Fourier had established that women did not receive enough education. Saint Marguerite devoted herself to the education of young women because she was convinced that not fulfilling each girl’s potential was like spilling Christ’s blood in vain and letting each drop disappear in the sand.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Saint Marguerite Bourgeoys

Bourgeoys (1620-1700), founder of the Congrégation de Notre-Dame de Montréal, was publicly revered as a saint before her death. Her vision of the Christ in all children, particularly girls, helped change the image of the child and of women in France and Quebec.

Pierre Le Ber
c. 1700
Painting
© Musée Marguerite-Bourgeoys


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Describe the meaning of the cross throughout Western history, using examples

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

« Rien dans sa vie ne l’honore plus que la façon dont il l’a quittée. »

William Shakespeare, Macbeth

De toutes les images qui sollicitent et déroutent l’imagination occidentale, il n’y en a pas de plus puissante que celle du Christ crucifié. Le fait cru et brutal de sa mort éveille encore en nous des imges d’horreur : clous plantés dans les poignets et les pieds, couronne d’épines blessant le front, côté transpercé et saignant, nudité, moquerie des badauds. Cette image - d’une inhumanité incommensurable, l’image d’un Dieu souffrant et mourant par amour pour l’humanité - a captivé l’esprit médiéval, lui fournissant un trésor de sens symboliques. Pour les théologiens et aussi pour les gens ordinaires du Moyen-Âge, la croix était le symbole de la terrible puissance de Dieu, de la victoire de Dieu sur la mort et le mal. Elle était aussi l’image de la sagesse, de la charité et de la patience Pour en lire plus
« Rien dans sa vie ne l’honore plus que la façon dont il l’a quittée. »

William Shakespeare, Macbeth

De toutes les images qui sollicitent et déroutent l’imagination occidentale, il n’y en a pas de plus puissante que celle du Christ crucifié. Le fait cru et brutal de sa mort éveille encore en nous des imges d’horreur : clous plantés dans les poignets et les pieds, couronne d’épines blessant le front, côté transpercé et saignant, nudité, moquerie des badauds. Cette image - d’une inhumanité incommensurable, l’image d’un Dieu souffrant et mourant par amour pour l’humanité - a captivé l’esprit médiéval, lui fournissant un trésor de sens symboliques. Pour les théologiens et aussi pour les gens ordinaires du Moyen-Âge, la croix était le symbole de la terrible puissance de Dieu, de la victoire de Dieu sur la mort et le mal. Elle était aussi l’image de la sagesse, de la charité et de la patience de Dieu qui a accepté de souffrir entre les mains de ceux qu’il était venu racheter. Par-dessus tout, elle était le signe de l’incompréhensible amour de Dieu pour l’humanité.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Mort du Christ sur la croix

Le mouvement frénétique qui anime la peinture de Coypel exprime avec une immédiateté viscérale les terribles bouleversements et les ouragans démolisseurs qui ont accompagné la Crucifixion du Fils de Dieu.

Coypel

Peinture
Acc. No. 96/139. PMA:J99.1634.
© Collection Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario


Montage sur la croix

L'incroyable variété d'images cruciformes d'une Église à l'autre, et d'une région à l'autre, manifeste la riche symbolique de la croix chrétienne.

The Provincial Museum of Alberta

Photographie
J99.1969
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


« Chante, ma langue, la glorieuse bataille, chante la fin du combat. Désormais, au-dessus de la croix, du trophée, sonne haut le lai triomphant; dis comment Christ le rédempteur du monde, victime, a gagné la bataille. »

Venantius Fortunatus, Hymne Pange, lingua

Après la conversion de l’Empire romain à la foi chrétienne en 312 apr. J.-C., le symbolisme théologique de la croix a en quelque sorte épousé la grammaire politique et militaire de Rome. Dans l’Empire récemment christianisé, le signe de la croix a pris les dimensions d’un talisman mystique, irradiant la terrible puissance de Dieu et permettant à ceux qui le possédaient de vaincre des armées par le seul pouvoir spirituel. Le symbole de la croix s’est si profondément imprimé dans l’esprit d’Hélène, mère de Constantin, qu’elle s’est mise à la recherche de la vraie croix, qu’elle aurait retrouvée, selon la tradition. La légende veut que des cl Pour en lire plus
« Chante, ma langue, la glorieuse bataille, chante la fin du combat. Désormais, au-dessus de la croix, du trophée, sonne haut le lai triomphant; dis comment Christ le rédempteur du monde, victime, a gagné la bataille. »

Venantius Fortunatus, Hymne Pange, lingua

Après la conversion de l’Empire romain à la foi chrétienne en 312 apr. J.-C., le symbolisme théologique de la croix a en quelque sorte épousé la grammaire politique et militaire de Rome. Dans l’Empire récemment christianisé, le signe de la croix a pris les dimensions d’un talisman mystique, irradiant la terrible puissance de Dieu et permettant à ceux qui le possédaient de vaincre des armées par le seul pouvoir spirituel. Le symbole de la croix s’est si profondément imprimé dans l’esprit d’Hélène, mère de Constantin, qu’elle s’est mise à la recherche de la vraie croix, qu’elle aurait retrouvée, selon la tradition. La légende veut que des clous de cette croix aient été plantés dans le heaume de Constantin et sur la bride de son cheval, et des morceaux de la croix ont été incrustés dans la statue de Constantin Ier à Constantinople. Ce symbole des allégeances religieuses de l’Empire a exercé un réel pouvoir dans ce monde ; il a agi comme une force capable de mettre les ennemis en déroute et de protéger les villes comme beaucoup de personnes en ont été témoins jusqu’à nos jours.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Vénération de la Croix

Reçue solennellement avec un hymne de louange, la croix a été transportée à l'église du Saint-Sépulcre.

Gustave Doré (1832-1883)
19e siècle
Gravure
PMA:J99.1895
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


« Par conséquent, dit-il, nous sommes clairement arrivés au Christ que nous confessons être à la fois Dieu et homme, et être mort pour nous. »

Anselme de Cantorbéry, Pourquoi Dieu s’est fait homme

Au Moyen-Âge, le signe de la croix ne symbolisait pas seulement la puissance de Dieu. C’était aussi une image de Sa sagesse. Plus précisément, la croix était perçue comme un symbole de la solution au dilemme divin : comment les humains arriveraient-ils vraiment à expier la désobéissance volontaire à Dieu commise par tant de générations ? Nombre de théologiens médiévaux - et surtout Anselme de Cantorbéry (v. 1033-1109) - se sont penchés sur ce problème. Voici comment Anselme énonce le problème : la justice de Dieu exige une rétribution, mais la miséricorde de Dieu veut la rédemption de l’homme; la première détruirait l’homme, tandis que la dernière saperait les fondements mo Pour en lire plus
« Par conséquent, dit-il, nous sommes clairement arrivés au Christ que nous confessons être à la fois Dieu et homme, et être mort pour nous. »

Anselme de Cantorbéry, Pourquoi Dieu s’est fait homme

Au Moyen-Âge, le signe de la croix ne symbolisait pas seulement la puissance de Dieu. C’était aussi une image de Sa sagesse. Plus précisément, la croix était perçue comme un symbole de la solution au dilemme divin : comment les humains arriveraient-ils vraiment à expier la désobéissance volontaire à Dieu commise par tant de générations ? Nombre de théologiens médiévaux - et surtout Anselme de Cantorbéry (v. 1033-1109) - se sont penchés sur ce problème. Voici comment Anselme énonce le problème : la justice de Dieu exige une rétribution, mais la miséricorde de Dieu veut la rédemption de l’homme; la première détruirait l’homme, tandis que la dernière saperait les fondements moraux de l’univers. Seul un être capable d’expier les péchés des êtres humains en tant qu’homme et dont l’expiation aurait une valeur infinie en tant que Dieu pourrait satisfaire à la fois la justice et la miséricorde divines. Cet être, c’était Jésus-Christ, l’homme, le Dieu, dont les souffrances et la mort avaient racheté les péchés de l’humanité et rétabli l’ordre cosmique.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Crucifixion

La représentation du Christ crucifié entre deux voleurs symbolise deux attitudes humaines contradictoires : la propension à nier, même face à la mort, et l'ouverture à une nouvelle vie au moment de mourir. Le voleur sur la gauche et le voleur sur la droite représentent ces deux attitudes humaines.

Maître de Jativa

Huile sur panneau
Acc. no. 95/146. PMA:J99.1715.
© Collection Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario


Couronnement de la Vierge avec saint Anselme et d'autres saints

Ardent défenseur de l'Église et doué d'une intelligence pénétrante, saint Anselme se retrouve en bonne compagnie dans cette peinture : saint Augustin est debout devant lui en face des rois David et Salomon.

Francesco Francia (c. 1450-1517/18)

PMA: J99.1793
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


« J’attribue la cause de cette floraison stérile à un système d’éducation [des femmes] fondé sur des livres écrits par des hommes qui, attribuant plus volontiers aux femelles de leur espèce le titre de femme que celui d’humain, ont préféré voir en elles des maîtresses séduisantes plutôt que des femmes affectueuses et des mères sensées »

Mary Wollstonecraft, Défense des droits de la femme

En 1653, Marguerite Bourgeoys, membre de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame de Troyes, s’est embarquée pour la Nouvelle-France pour aller enseigner aux enfants. Plusieurs années auparavant, à l’âge de vingt ans, elle avait eu une vision pendant une procession à Troyes. À partir de ce moment-là, elle savait que, comme la Vierge Marie, elle serait une missionnaire de Jésus. Plus tôt, Jean-Jacques Olier et saint Pierre Fourier avaient établi que l’instruction des femmes était déficiente. Sainte Margue Pour en lire plus
« J’attribue la cause de cette floraison stérile à un système d’éducation [des femmes] fondé sur des livres écrits par des hommes qui, attribuant plus volontiers aux femelles de leur espèce le titre de femme que celui d’humain, ont préféré voir en elles des maîtresses séduisantes plutôt que des femmes affectueuses et des mères sensées »

Mary Wollstonecraft, Défense des droits de la femme

En 1653, Marguerite Bourgeoys, membre de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame de Troyes, s’est embarquée pour la Nouvelle-France pour aller enseigner aux enfants. Plusieurs années auparavant, à l’âge de vingt ans, elle avait eu une vision pendant une procession à Troyes. À partir de ce moment-là, elle savait que, comme la Vierge Marie, elle serait une missionnaire de Jésus. Plus tôt, Jean-Jacques Olier et saint Pierre Fourier avaient établi que l’instruction des femmes était déficiente. Sainte Marguerite s’est consacrée à l’éducation des jeunes filles parce qu’elle était convaincue que, si l’on ne favorisait pas l’épanouissement de chaque jeune fille, le sang du Christ aurait été répandu en vain et chaque goutte de ce sang aurait comme été versée inutilement.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Sainte Marguerite Bourgeoys

Marguerite Bourgeoys (1620-1700), fondatrice de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame de Montréal, a été publiquement vénérée comme sainte avant sa mort. Sa vision de l'image de Dieu dans tous les enfants, surtout les petites filles, a contribué à modifier l'image de l'enfant et de la femme en France et au Québec.

Pierre Le Ber
vers 1700
Peinture
© Musée Marguerite-Bourgeoys


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • définir le sens de la croix à travers l’histoire occidentale à l’aide d’exemples.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons