Either we serve the Unconditional or some Hitlerian monster will supply an iron convention to do evil by

W. H. Auden , "Christmas, 1940"

World history is filled with atrocities committed in the name of Jesus - the Crusades, the pogroms against the Jews, the current strife in Northern Ireland. Yet, we must ask: Is this what was taught by the teacher of divine love? Was Jesus an advocate of bloodshed? In the savage Wars of Religion that followed the Reformation, Christian thinkers were confronted with a profound existential crisis. The wars were raging, and neither side seemed prepared to concede. Those who understood themselves as Christians were killing other Christians. Did Jesus come to bring a message of love or had he come to bring a sword? As we struggle to understand the atrocities committed because of ethnic and religious differences in Kosovo, we ask again: Is this what was taught by the best of Teachers?
Either we serve the Unconditional or some Hitlerian monster will supply an iron convention to do evil by

W. H. Auden , "Christmas, 1940"

World history is filled with atrocities committed in the name of Jesus - the Crusades, the pogroms against the Jews, the current strife in Northern Ireland. Yet, we must ask: Is this what was taught by the teacher of divine love? Was Jesus an advocate of bloodshed? In the savage Wars of Religion that followed the Reformation, Christian thinkers were confronted with a profound existential crisis. The wars were raging, and neither side seemed prepared to concede. Those who understood themselves as Christians were killing other Christians. Did Jesus come to bring a message of love or had he come to bring a sword? As we struggle to understand the atrocities committed because of ethnic and religious differences in Kosovo, we ask again: Is this what was taught by the best of Teachers?

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Fallen Statue of Christ

This is one in a Stations of the Cross series which creates a mythic association between the sufferings of Jesus and the suffering of the Polish people.

Medrek Czeslaw
c. 1992
Ceramic relief
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


Father Kolbe

While imprisoned in a German concentration camp, the Franciscan friar Maksymilian Kolbe offered to sacrifice his life for that of another prisoner condemned to die. The Nazis accepted and Fr. Kolbe was starved to death. The man he saved is still alive.

Czeslaw Medrek
c. 1993
Ceramic relief
PMA:J99.1999.
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


What a city we have given over to plunder and destruction!

Sultan Muhammed II

In 1453, after years of vicious conflict between Muslims and Christians, Sultan Mohammed II successfully attacked one of the most sacred cities in Christendom - Constantinople. As his armies broke through the city’s walls, a whole set of Christian beliefs concerning war had also begun to shatter and disintegrate. It took almost a century, but at the Augsburg Confession of 1530, Christian thinkers formulated an understanding of war fundamentally different from that which obtained during the Crusades. The Christian Crusades had glorified the idea of warring for the sake of Christ; but at the Augsburg Confession, Christians followed Luther in asserting that the responsibilities of Christian and citizen, of Church and State, should be separate. Christians could still fight, but they could no longer justify fighting in the name of Jesus, the Prince of Peace.
What a city we have given over to plunder and destruction!

Sultan Muhammed II

In 1453, after years of vicious conflict between Muslims and Christians, Sultan Mohammed II successfully attacked one of the most sacred cities in Christendom - Constantinople. As his armies broke through the city’s walls, a whole set of Christian beliefs concerning war had also begun to shatter and disintegrate. It took almost a century, but at the Augsburg Confession of 1530, Christian thinkers formulated an understanding of war fundamentally different from that which obtained during the Crusades. The Christian Crusades had glorified the idea of warring for the sake of Christ; but at the Augsburg Confession, Christians followed Luther in asserting that the responsibilities of Christian and citizen, of Church and State, should be separate. Christians could still fight, but they could no longer justify fighting in the name of Jesus, the Prince of Peace.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Muhammed II at the Walls of Constantinople in 1453

The frenetic drama of Doré's image - the rearing horse, the thunderous breaking of the waves, the besieged ships - expresses the profound spiritual and historical import of Muhammed's conquest of Constantinople in 1453.

Gustave Doré
19th Century
Engraving
PMA:J99.1897
© Die Kreuzzüge und die Kultur ihrer Zeit


… I say unto you, do not resist an evildoer. But if anyone strikes you on the right cheek, turn the other also…

Matthew 5: 39-40.

Of all the Christian groups of the so-called Radical Reformation of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, the Anabaptists were perhaps the most radical. Anabaptists asserted that proper Christian discipleship demanded an absolute obedience to God, a total "yieldedness" to the message and will of Christ. The Anabaptists believed that living in the perfection of Christ necessarily implied a rejection of all forms of violence. It also meant that one’s life should imitate Jesus’ in every possible particular - including his terrible suffering and death. Beginning in 1525, Anabaptists across Europe began to be martyred for their religious views. The irony is morbid: the sixteenth-century groups who believed most ardently in peace were often the most brutally persecuted.
… I say unto you, do not resist an evildoer. But if anyone strikes you on the right cheek, turn the other also…

Matthew 5: 39-40.

Of all the Christian groups of the so-called Radical Reformation of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, the Anabaptists were perhaps the most radical. Anabaptists asserted that proper Christian discipleship demanded an absolute obedience to God, a total "yieldedness" to the message and will of Christ. The Anabaptists believed that living in the perfection of Christ necessarily implied a rejection of all forms of violence. It also meant that one’s life should imitate Jesus’ in every possible particular - including his terrible suffering and death. Beginning in 1525, Anabaptists across Europe began to be martyred for their religious views. The irony is morbid: the sixteenth-century groups who believed most ardently in peace were often the most brutally persecuted.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Mennonite Baptism

Baptism into the Mennonite faith was an initiation into a radical Christian discipleship, a turning of one's back on the world's values and a "yieldedness" to the will of God in all things.

Bernard Picard
c. 1723
Engraving
© Collection The Provincial Museum of Alberta


…so it is strange that men, made after the image of God, should have so much degenerated, that they rather bear the image and nature of roaring lions … and raging boars, than of rational creatures imbued with reason.

Robert Barclay, Apology

Born in the crucible of rapid change and social upheaval that characterized seventeenth-century England, the Quakers arose in a world of fiercely polemical politics and violence. Within this charged political and social atmosphere, George Fox (1624-1691), the founder and charismatic leader of the Quakers, boldly asserted that members of the Society of Friends (another name for the Quakers) would no longer participate in warfare. Fox believed that war was the product of lust and that the adoption of carnal weapons in the pursuit of earthly desires was an act outside the perfection that Christ demanded of his followers. The Quaker's spirit of pacifism and friendship - which continues to this day - was carried to America where it was manifested in equitable relations with the native peoples.
…so it is strange that men, made after the image of God, should have so much degenerated, that they rather bear the image and nature of roaring lions … and raging boars, than of rational creatures imbued with reason.

Robert Barclay, Apology

Born in the crucible of rapid change and social upheaval that characterized seventeenth-century England, the Quakers arose in a world of fiercely polemical politics and violence. Within this charged political and social atmosphere, George Fox (1624-1691), the founder and charismatic leader of the Quakers, boldly asserted that members of the Society of Friends (another name for the Quakers) would no longer participate in warfare. Fox believed that war was the product of lust and that the adoption of carnal weapons in the pursuit of earthly desires was an act outside the perfection that Christ demanded of his followers. The Quaker's spirit of pacifism and friendship - which continues to this day - was carried to America where it was manifested in equitable relations with the native peoples.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Friends' Meeting in London Circa 1770

The Society of Friends met in order to articulate the meaning of living in the "Perfection of Christ," of following Jesus on the paths of pacifism.

The Provincial Museum of Alberta
c. 1770
Oil
PMA:J99.1845
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


Quaker Meeting in London: A Woman Speaks

Quaker prayer meetings were renowned for a gender egalitarianism rarely found in eighteenth-century churches.

Bernard Picard
c. 1723
Engraving
PMA:J99.1988
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Describe the Christian attitude toward war in the name of Christ, before and after the Crusades
  • Explain the theology of Anabaptists and Quakers in relation to war and violence

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

« Ou bien nous servons l’Inconditionnel, ou bien un monstre hitlérien imposera une convention d’airain pour faire le mal. » [traduction]

W. H. Auden, Christmas 1940 (Noël 1940)

L’histoire du monde est remplie d’atrocités perpétrées au nom de Jésus - les Croisades, les pogromes contre les Juifs, le conflit qui déchire actuellement l’Irlande du Nord. Une question surgit alors inévitablement : est-ce bien cela que nous a enseigné le maître de l’amour divin ? Jésus voulait-il que le sang soit répandu ? Les guerres de Religion sanglantes qui ont suivi la Réforme ont posé un grave problème existentiel aux penseurs chrétiens. Alors que ces guerres faisaient rage, aucun des camps ne semblait disposé à faire la moindre concession. Ceux qui se disaient chrétiens mettaient à mort d’autres chrétiens. Jésus est-il venu annoncer un message d’amour ou bien est-il venu apporter un glaive ? En cherchant à donner un sens a Pour en lire plus
« Ou bien nous servons l’Inconditionnel, ou bien un monstre hitlérien imposera une convention d’airain pour faire le mal. » [traduction]

W. H. Auden, Christmas 1940 (Noël 1940)

L’histoire du monde est remplie d’atrocités perpétrées au nom de Jésus - les Croisades, les pogromes contre les Juifs, le conflit qui déchire actuellement l’Irlande du Nord. Une question surgit alors inévitablement : est-ce bien cela que nous a enseigné le maître de l’amour divin ? Jésus voulait-il que le sang soit répandu ? Les guerres de Religion sanglantes qui ont suivi la Réforme ont posé un grave problème existentiel aux penseurs chrétiens. Alors que ces guerres faisaient rage, aucun des camps ne semblait disposé à faire la moindre concession. Ceux qui se disaient chrétiens mettaient à mort d’autres chrétiens. Jésus est-il venu annoncer un message d’amour ou bien est-il venu apporter un glaive ? En cherchant à donner un sens aux atrocités commises au nom des différences ethniques et religieuses au Kosovo, nous reposons la même question : est-ce bien cela que nous a enseigné le Prince des pédagogues ?

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Statue gisante du Christ

Cette statue est une des stations de la Croix qui établit une association mythique entre les souffrances de Jésus et celle du peuple polonais.

Medrek Czeslaw
vers 1992
Relief en céramique
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


Le père Kolbe

Alors qu'il était emprisonné dans un camp de concentration allemand, le frère franciscain Maksymilian Kolbe a offert sa vie pour celle d'un autre prisonnier condamné à mort. Acceptant cette offre, les Nazis ont laissé Kolbe mourir de faim. L'homme qu'il avait sauvé a survécu à la guerre et Kolbe a été canonisé en 1982.

Czeslaw Medrek
vers 1993
Relief en céramique
PMA:J99.1999.
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


« Quelle grande ville nous avons livrée au pillage et à la destruction ! » [traduction]

Sultan Mahomet II

En 1453, après des années de conflits haineux entre musulmans et chrétiens, le sultan Mahomet II envahissait Constantinople, l’une des villes les plus sacrées de la chrétienté. Quand ses armées ont réussi à défoncer les murs de la ville, tout un pan de croyances chrétiennes sur la guerre commençait aussi à s’effondrer et à se dissoudre. Il fallut attendre presque 100 ans, mais dans la Confession d’Augsbourg, en 1530, les penseurs chrétiens ont adopté une approche de la guerre totalement opposée à celle qui avait prévalu au temps des Croisades. Les Croisades chrétiennes avaient glorifié l’idée de la guerre menée au nom du Christ; dans la Confession d’Augsbourg les chrétiens qui suivaient Luther affirmaient qu’il fallait distinguer les responsabilités du chrétien et de l’ Pour en lire plus
« Quelle grande ville nous avons livrée au pillage et à la destruction ! » [traduction]

Sultan Mahomet II

En 1453, après des années de conflits haineux entre musulmans et chrétiens, le sultan Mahomet II envahissait Constantinople, l’une des villes les plus sacrées de la chrétienté. Quand ses armées ont réussi à défoncer les murs de la ville, tout un pan de croyances chrétiennes sur la guerre commençait aussi à s’effondrer et à se dissoudre. Il fallut attendre presque 100 ans, mais dans la Confession d’Augsbourg, en 1530, les penseurs chrétiens ont adopté une approche de la guerre totalement opposée à celle qui avait prévalu au temps des Croisades. Les Croisades chrétiennes avaient glorifié l’idée de la guerre menée au nom du Christ; dans la Confession d’Augsbourg les chrétiens qui suivaient Luther affirmaient qu’il fallait distinguer les responsabilités du chrétien et de l’Église de celles du citoyen et de l’État. Les chrétiens pouvaient combattre, mais plus au nom de Jésus, le Prince de la Paix.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Mahomet II devant les murs de Constantinople en 1453

La dimension frénétique de l'image de Doré - le cheval dressé, le fracas des vagues qui se brisent, les navires assiégés - exprime bien la grande importance spirituelle et historique de la conquête de Constantinople par Mahomet en 1453.

Gustave Doré
19e siècle
Gravure
PMA:J99.1897
© Die Kreuzzüge und die Kultur ihrer Zeit (Les croisades dans la culture de leur temps)


« Eh bien ! moi je vous dis de ne pas tenir tête au méchant : au contraire, quelqu’un te donne-t-il un soufflet sur la joue droite, tends-lui encore l’autre…»

Mt 5, 39

De tous les groupes chrétiens issus de la Réforme dite radicale des XVIe et XVIIe siècles, les anabaptistes ont sans doute été parmi les plus radicaux. Ils affirmaient que les vrais disciples du Christ devaient une obéissance absolue à Dieu, un « abandon » au message et à la volonté du Christ. Pour vivre le commandement de perfection du Christ, selon eux, il fallait absolument rejeter toutes les formes de violence. Il fallait aussi faire en sorte que sa vie imite celle de Jésus dans le menu détail - y compris ses souffrances et sa mort horribles. À partir de 1525, tous les anabaptistes d’Europe ont commencé à être martyrisés pour leur foi. C’était d’une ironie morbide : les groupes du XVIe siècle qui croyaient le plus fermemen Pour en lire plus
« Eh bien ! moi je vous dis de ne pas tenir tête au méchant : au contraire, quelqu’un te donne-t-il un soufflet sur la joue droite, tends-lui encore l’autre…»

Mt 5, 39

De tous les groupes chrétiens issus de la Réforme dite radicale des XVIe et XVIIe siècles, les anabaptistes ont sans doute été parmi les plus radicaux. Ils affirmaient que les vrais disciples du Christ devaient une obéissance absolue à Dieu, un « abandon » au message et à la volonté du Christ. Pour vivre le commandement de perfection du Christ, selon eux, il fallait absolument rejeter toutes les formes de violence. Il fallait aussi faire en sorte que sa vie imite celle de Jésus dans le menu détail - y compris ses souffrances et sa mort horribles. À partir de 1525, tous les anabaptistes d’Europe ont commencé à être martyrisés pour leur foi. C’était d’une ironie morbide : les groupes du XVIe siècle qui croyaient le plus fermement en la paix ont été ceux qui ont été le plus brutalement persécutés.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Baptême mennonite

Le baptême mennonite était le premier pas sur la voie d'un christianisme radical qui exigeait le renoncement à toutes les valeurs du monde et l'« abandon » à la volonté de Dieu en toutes choses.

Bernard Picard
vers 1723
Gravure
© Collection The Provincial Museum of Alberta


« … il est donc étrange que les hommes, qui sont faits à l'image de Dieu, soient tombés si bas qu'ils préfèrent ressembler à des lions rugissants… et à des sangliers déchaînés, plutôt qu'à des créatures rationnelles douées de raison. » [traduction]

Robert Barclay, Apology (Apologie)

Ayant vu le jour dans le creuset des bouleversements sociaux rapides qui ont caractérisé l'Angleterre du XVIIe siècle, les quakers sont arrivés dans un monde en proie à de féroces polémiques politiques et à la violence. Dans ce lourd contexte politique et social, George Fox (1624-1691), le fondateur et chef charismatique des quakers, affirmait courageusement que la Société des Amis (nom que les quakers portaient à l'époque) ne participerait plus à aucune guerre. Fox voyait dans la guerre un sous-produit de la concupiscence et soutenait que l'utilisation d'armes charnelles dans la poursuite de désirs temporels était un Pour en lire plus
« … il est donc étrange que les hommes, qui sont faits à l'image de Dieu, soient tombés si bas qu'ils préfèrent ressembler à des lions rugissants… et à des sangliers déchaînés, plutôt qu'à des créatures rationnelles douées de raison. » [traduction]

Robert Barclay, Apology (Apologie)

Ayant vu le jour dans le creuset des bouleversements sociaux rapides qui ont caractérisé l'Angleterre du XVIIe siècle, les quakers sont arrivés dans un monde en proie à de féroces polémiques politiques et à la violence. Dans ce lourd contexte politique et social, George Fox (1624-1691), le fondateur et chef charismatique des quakers, affirmait courageusement que la Société des Amis (nom que les quakers portaient à l'époque) ne participerait plus à aucune guerre. Fox voyait dans la guerre un sous-produit de la concupiscence et soutenait que l'utilisation d'armes charnelles dans la poursuite de désirs temporels était un acte contraire à la perfection que le Christ réclamait de ses disciples. L'esprit de pacifisme égalitaire et d'amitié des quakers - qui subsiste encore de nos jours - a été transplanté en Amérique où il a suscité l'établissement de relations d'égal à égal avec les populations autochtones.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Réunion des Amis à Londres vers 1770

Les membres de la Société des Amis se réunissaient pour tenter de préciser ce que pouvait signifier 'vivre dans la perfection du Christ', suivre Jésus sur la voie du pacifisme.

The Provincial Museum of Alberta
vers 1770
Huile
PMA:J99.1845
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


Réunion des Quakers à Londres : Une femme prend la parole

L'égalité des sexes aux réunions de prière des quakers était célèbre parce que très rare dans les églises au XVIIIe siècle.

Bernard Picard
vers 1723
Gravure
PMA:J99.1988
© The Provincial Museum of Alberta


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • décrire l’attitude du Christianisme envers la guerre avant et après les Croisades, au nom du Christ ;
  • expliquer la théologie des Anabaptistes et des Quakers sur la guerre et la violence.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons