Probably the most striking and variable feature of eggs is their colouration. Although many eggs are white, eggs representing almost every colour of the rainbow are known.

Distinctive Markings

As well as background colour, eggshells may be intricately marked. Markings can be blotches, scrawls, streaks or speckles. These markings are often concentrated in a ring around the large end of the egg.

Probably the most striking and variable feature of eggs is their colouration. Although many eggs are white, eggs representing almost every colour of the rainbow are known.

Distinctive Markings

As well as background colour, eggshells may be intricately marked. Markings can be blotches, scrawls, streaks or speckles. These markings are often concentrated in a ring around the large end of the egg.


© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Egg colours

Eggs have a wide range of colours

Photos by Graham Mitchell-Lawson and Kim Chapman.
The Royal Alberta Museum, E.T. Jones collection.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Egg markings

Eggs have a wide range of markings

Photos by Graham Mitchell-Lawson and Kim Chapman.
The Royal Alberta Museum, E.T. Jones collection.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Only three pigments are responsible for the tremendous diversity in egg colour and markings. These pigments are related to the pigment in haemoglobin that makes blood red. One pigment, protoporphyrin, produces colours ranging from yellow and pink to reddish buffs or browns. The other two pigments, biliverdin and the zinc chelate of biliverdin, result in blue and green colours. When these three pigments are applied in different proportions, colours ranging from violet-blue to olive-green may result.

Pigment Deposition
Colour is added to the eggshell from pigments secreted by cells in the oviduct wall. The timing of pigment deposition affects colour. Pigment deposited as the egg enters the oviduct results in the base colour of the egg. This background colour may be modified by subsequent addition of eggshell. Pigments added right before the egg is laid form the patterns or markings on its surface. If the egg remains still while pigments are applied, spots appear. If the egg is moving, lines or scrawls appear.

Only three pigments are responsible for the tremendous diversity in egg colour and markings. These pigments are related to the pigment in haemoglobin that makes blood red. One pigment, protoporphyrin, produces colours ranging from yellow and pink to reddish buffs or browns. The other two pigments, biliverdin and the zinc chelate of biliverdin, result in blue and green colours. When these three pigments are applied in different proportions, colours ranging from violet-blue to olive-green may result.

Pigment Deposition
Colour is added to the eggshell from pigments secreted by cells in the oviduct wall. The timing of pigment deposition affects colour. Pigment deposited as the egg enters the oviduct results in the base colour of the egg. This background colour may be modified by subsequent addition of eggshell. Pigments added right before the egg is laid form the patterns or markings on its surface. If the egg remains still while pigments are applied, spots appear. If the egg is moving, lines or scrawls appear.


© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Egg colouring is controlled to a large extent by genetics. Usually, egg colouring is typical of a species. All robins, for example, lay blue eggs without markings. However, egg colouring or marking may be extremely variable among females of a species. Common Murres lay only one egg during one nesting and there is much variability in markings among eggs of different females.
Egg colouring is controlled to a large extent by genetics. Usually, egg colouring is typical of a species. All robins, for example, lay blue eggs without markings. However, egg colouring or marking may be extremely variable among females of a species. Common Murres lay only one egg during one nesting and there is much variability in markings among eggs of different females.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Robin’s eggs

All robins lay blue eggs without markings

Photos by Graham Mitchell-Lawson and Kim Chapman.
The Royal Alberta Museum, E.T. Jones collection.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Some birds like the Brown-headed Cowbird are called brood parasites. They lay their eggs in the nests of other birds (host species), leaving the host to take care of the parasite's eggs. The European Cuckoo, a brood parasite, is incredibly host-specific producing eggs that mimic its preferred host. The mimicry is essential as hosts have learned to reject Cuckoo eggs that do not match their own.
Some birds like the Brown-headed Cowbird are called brood parasites. They lay their eggs in the nests of other birds (host species), leaving the host to take care of the parasite's eggs. The European Cuckoo, a brood parasite, is incredibly host-specific producing eggs that mimic its preferred host. The mimicry is essential as hosts have learned to reject Cuckoo eggs that do not match their own.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Egg Mimicry

A cuckoo has laid one egg in a clutch of four Sedge Warbler eggs. Which egg belongs to the Cuckoo?

Photos by Graham Mitchell-Lawson and Kim Chapman.
The Royal Alberta Museum, E.T. Jones collection.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Egg colours and markings have strong adaptive values. Originally, birds' eggs were probably all white, as reptile eggs are. Eggs that are laid on the ground or in open nests in trees, rather than in cavities, often exhibit cryptic colouration. The eggs blend in with their surroundings and are much less visible to potential predators.

Sometimes eggs that are laid in open nests are white at first. They then become stained by the mud and rotting vegetation in the nest. Grebes lay white eggs that become stained and cryptically coloured over time.

In some species, such as the Common Murre, where different females lay eggs with very different markings, the uniqueness may have a purpose. Distinctive patterns help females identify their own egg in a colony where thousands of eggs may dot a cliff face.

Eggs of kingfishers and other cavity nesting birds, such as woodpeckers, are often white. The brightness of the eggs may help the parents to more easily locate them in the cavity.

Egg colours and markings have strong adaptive values. Originally, birds' eggs were probably all white, as reptile eggs are. Eggs that are laid on the ground or in open nests in trees, rather than in cavities, often exhibit cryptic colouration. The eggs blend in with their surroundings and are much less visible to potential predators.

Sometimes eggs that are laid in open nests are white at first. They then become stained by the mud and rotting vegetation in the nest. Grebes lay white eggs that become stained and cryptically coloured over time.

In some species, such as the Common Murre, where different females lay eggs with very different markings, the uniqueness may have a purpose. Distinctive patterns help females identify their own egg in a colony where thousands of eggs may dot a cliff face.

Eggs of kingfishers and other cavity nesting birds, such as woodpeckers, are often white. The brightness of the eggs may help the parents to more easily locate them in the cavity.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

A killdeer nest

This nest belongs to a Killdeer, a shorebird. Most shorebirds lay their eggs in a scrape on a beach. These eggs are camouflaged by their environment.

Photos by Graham Mitchell-Lawson and Kim Chapman.
The Royal Alberta Museum, E.T. Jones collection.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Grebe Eggs

Grebes lay white eggs that become stained and cryptically coloured over time.

Royal Alberta Museum

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Common Murre Eggs

Individual murre eggs might have different markings for a reason

Photos by Graham Mitchell-Lawson and Kim Chapman.
The Royal Alberta Museum, E.T. Jones collection.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Downy woodpecker eggs

Cavity nesting birds like the downy woodpecker often lay bright white eggs

Photos by Graham Mitchell-Lawson and Kim Chapman.
The Royal Alberta Museum, E.T. Jones collection.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Become familiar with the basic biology of eggs, and their variation
  • Relate ecology to evolution and adaptation (relate form and function)

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La couleur est sans doute la caractéristique la plus frappante et la plus variable de l’œuf. Bien que la majorité des œufs soient blancs, il existe des œufs de toutes les couleurs de l’arc-en-ciel.

Marques distinctives

Outre la couleur, la coquille de l’œuf peut porter des marques complexes. Celles-ci peuvent prendre la forme de taches, de bandes ou de mouchetures. Ces marques sont souvent concentrées en forme d’anneau à l’extrémité la plus large de l’œuf.

La couleur est sans doute la caractéristique la plus frappante et la plus variable de l’œuf. Bien que la majorité des œufs soient blancs, il existe des œufs de toutes les couleurs de l’arc-en-ciel.

Marques distinctives

Outre la couleur, la coquille de l’œuf peut porter des marques complexes. Celles-ci peuvent prendre la forme de taches, de bandes ou de mouchetures. Ces marques sont souvent concentrées en forme d’anneau à l’extrémité la plus large de l’œuf.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Couleur des œufs

Les œufs existent dans une panoplie de couleurs

Numérisation par Graham Mitchell-Lawson et Kim Chapman.
La collection E.T. Jones, The Royal Alberta Museum.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Marques sur les œufs

Les œufs portent toutes sortes de marques

Numérisation par Graham Mitchell-Lawson et Kim Chapman.
La collection E.T. Jones, The Royal Alberta Museum.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Il n’y a que trois pigments responsables de l’immense diversité de couleurs et de marques sur les œufs. Ces pigments ont un lien avec le pigment présent dans l’hémoglobine, qui donne la couleur rouge au sang. Un des pigments, la protoporphyrine, produit les couleurs variant du jaune et du rose jusqu’aux chamois roux et aux bruns. Les deux autres pigments, la biliverdine et le chelate de zinc de biliverdine, sont responsables des bleus et des verts. Les différentes concentrations de ces pigments créent des couleurs variant du violet-bleu au vert olive.

Dépôt des pigments

La couleur est donnée à la coquille à partir des pigments secrétés par les cellules dans les parois de l’oviducte. Le moment où le pigment est déposé sur la coquille affecte la couleur. Le pigment déposé au moment où l’œuf pénètre dans l’oviducte donne la couleur de base à l’œuf. Cette couleur de base peut être Pour en lire plus

Il n’y a que trois pigments responsables de l’immense diversité de couleurs et de marques sur les œufs. Ces pigments ont un lien avec le pigment présent dans l’hémoglobine, qui donne la couleur rouge au sang. Un des pigments, la protoporphyrine, produit les couleurs variant du jaune et du rose jusqu’aux chamois roux et aux bruns. Les deux autres pigments, la biliverdine et le chelate de zinc de biliverdine, sont responsables des bleus et des verts. Les différentes concentrations de ces pigments créent des couleurs variant du violet-bleu au vert olive.

Dépôt des pigments

La couleur est donnée à la coquille à partir des pigments secrétés par les cellules dans les parois de l’oviducte. Le moment où le pigment est déposé sur la coquille affecte la couleur. Le pigment déposé au moment où l’œuf pénètre dans l’oviducte donne la couleur de base à l’œuf. Cette couleur de base peut être modifiée par l’ajout subséquent de la coquille. Les pigments ajoutés juste avant la ponte créent les marques sur la surface. Si l’œuf demeure immobile pendant que le pigment y est déposé, il portera des taches. S’il est en mouvement, il portera des lignes ou des marbrures.


© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

La couleur est largement définie par la génétique. La couleur des œufs est habituellement typique de l’espèce. Par exemple, tous les rouges-gorges pondent des œufs bleus sans marques. La couleur des œufs et les marques peuvent toutefois varier de façon importante parmi les femelles d’une même espèce. Le guillemot de Troïl ne pond qu’un œuf par couvée et les marques sur cet œuf varient énormément d’une femelle à l’autre.
La couleur est largement définie par la génétique. La couleur des œufs est habituellement typique de l’espèce. Par exemple, tous les rouges-gorges pondent des œufs bleus sans marques. La couleur des œufs et les marques peuvent toutefois varier de façon importante parmi les femelles d’une même espèce. Le guillemot de Troïl ne pond qu’un œuf par couvée et les marques sur cet œuf varient énormément d’une femelle à l’autre.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Œufs de rouge-gorge

Tous les rouges-gorges pondent des œufs bleus sans marques

Numérisation par Graham Mitchell-Lawson et Kim Chapman.
La collection E.T. Jones, The Royal Alberta Museum.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Certains oiseaux, tels que le vacher à tête brune, sont des parasites de couvée. Ils pondent dans le nid d’autres oiseaux (espèces hôtes) afin que ceux-ci s’occupent de leurs œufs. Le coucou européen, un parasite de couvée, est très semblable à son hôte et produit des œufs qui imitent parfaitement ceux de son hôte. Le mimétisme est essentiel car les hôtes ont appris à rejeter les œufs du coucou qui diffèrent des leurs.
Certains oiseaux, tels que le vacher à tête brune, sont des parasites de couvée. Ils pondent dans le nid d’autres oiseaux (espèces hôtes) afin que ceux-ci s’occupent de leurs œufs. Le coucou européen, un parasite de couvée, est très semblable à son hôte et produit des œufs qui imitent parfaitement ceux de son hôte. Le mimétisme est essentiel car les hôtes ont appris à rejeter les œufs du coucou qui diffèrent des leurs.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Mimétisme des œufs

Un coucou a pondu un œuf dans la couvée d’une fauvette des marais. Quel est l’œuf du coucou?

Numérisation par Graham Mitchell-Lawson et Kim Chapman.
La collection E.T. Jones, The Royal Alberta Museum.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


La couleur et les marques sur les œufs possèdent d’excellentes capacités d’adaptation. Tous les œufs étaient sans doute blancs à l’origine, tout comme ceux des reptiles. Les œufs qui sont pondus sur le sol ou dans des nids ouverts, plutôt que dans des cavités, affichent souvent des couleurs de camouflage. Ils se mêlent à leur environnement et sont moins visibles des prédateurs.

Parfois, les œufs pondus dans les nids ouverts sont blancs au moment de la ponte, et deviennent tachés par la boue et par la végétation en décomposition qui se trouve dans le nid. Les grèbes pondent des œufs blancs qui deviennent tachés et adoptent des couleurs de camouflage au fil du temps.

Le caractère unique des œufs de certaines espèces a parfois une utilité particulière, comme dans le cas du guillemot de Troïl, dont les femelles produisent des œufs portant des marques très différentes. Les marques distinctives aident les femelles à reconnaître leurs propres &o Pour en lire plus
La couleur et les marques sur les œufs possèdent d’excellentes capacités d’adaptation. Tous les œufs étaient sans doute blancs à l’origine, tout comme ceux des reptiles. Les œufs qui sont pondus sur le sol ou dans des nids ouverts, plutôt que dans des cavités, affichent souvent des couleurs de camouflage. Ils se mêlent à leur environnement et sont moins visibles des prédateurs.

Parfois, les œufs pondus dans les nids ouverts sont blancs au moment de la ponte, et deviennent tachés par la boue et par la végétation en décomposition qui se trouve dans le nid. Les grèbes pondent des œufs blancs qui deviennent tachés et adoptent des couleurs de camouflage au fil du temps.

Le caractère unique des œufs de certaines espèces a parfois une utilité particulière, comme dans le cas du guillemot de Troïl, dont les femelles produisent des œufs portant des marques très différentes. Les marques distinctives aident les femelles à reconnaître leurs propres œufs dans une colonie où des milliers d’œufs ornent la falaise.

Les œufs des martins-pêcheurs et des autres oiseaux qui nichent dans des cavités, tels que les pics, sont souvent blancs. La clarté des œufs peut aider les parents à les repérer plus facilement dans la cavité.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Nid de pluvier kildir

Ce nid appartient au pluvier kildir, un oiseau de rivage. La plupart des oiseaux de rivage pondent leurs œufs dans une coupe, sur une plage. Ces œufs sont camouflés par leur environnement.

Numérisation par Graham Mitchell-Lawson et Kim Chapman.
La collection E.T. Jones, The Royal Alberta Museum.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Œufs de grèbe

Les grèbes pondent des œufs blancs qui deviennent tachés et couverts de marques de camouflage au fil du temps.

Royal Alberta Museum

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Œufs du guillemot de Troïl

Les œufs du guillemot de Troïl portent différentes marques pour une raison particulière

Numérisation par Graham Mitchell-Lawson et Kim Chapman.
La collection E.T. Jones, The Royal Alberta Museum.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Œufs de pic mineur

Les oiseaux qui pondent leurs œufs dans des cavités, tels que le pic mineur, pondent souvent des œufs d’un blanc brillant

Numérisation par Graham Mitchell-Lawson et Kim Chapman.
La collection E.T. Jones, The Royal Alberta Museum.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • se familiariser avec la biologie de base des œufs et ses variantes;
  • reconnaître le lien entre l’écologie, l’évolution et l’adaptation (lien entre la forme et la fonction).

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons