Eggs

Ostrich, Cassowary, and Emu eggs

Photos by Graham Mitchell-Lawson and Kim Chapman.
The Royal Alberta Museum, E.T. Jones collection.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Eggshells vary widely in surface texture. Most eggs are smooth but some, like those of the Cormorant, can be quite rough. As well, eggs of cormorants are chalky, rather than shiny, as in tinamous. Duck eggs are oily and waterproof, and cassowary eggs are very heavily pitted.
Eggshells vary widely in surface texture. Most eggs are smooth but some, like those of the Cormorant, can be quite rough. As well, eggs of cormorants are chalky, rather than shiny, as in tinamous. Duck eggs are oily and waterproof, and cassowary eggs are very heavily pitted.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Eggshells

Eggs can be rough, like these Cormorant eggs, or shiny and smooth like these Tinamou eggs.

Photos by Graham Mitchell-Lawson and Kim Chapman.
The Royal Alberta Museum, E.T. Jones collection.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Regardless of how smooth an egg may feel, all eggshells have tiny holes or pores. The domestic hen’s egg, for example, may have 7500 pores. Most of these pores are at the blunt end of the egg. Pores connect the egg with its surroundings. Respiratory gases as well as water vapour travel through these channels and enable the egg to breathe.
Regardless of how smooth an egg may feel, all eggshells have tiny holes or pores. The domestic hen’s egg, for example, may have 7500 pores. Most of these pores are at the blunt end of the egg. Pores connect the egg with its surroundings. Respiratory gases as well as water vapour travel through these channels and enable the egg to breathe.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

We normally think of eggshells as being very fragile. However, eggshells are remarkably strong and durable. They provide the embryo with good protection from predators as well as from soil invertebrates and harmful bacteria. The shells of eggs that we eat from the domestic hen are thinner and more fragile than those of its ancestor, the Red Junglefowl. The thinning has occurred because chickens have been bred to produce larger eggs with the same amount of shell material. The resulting egg would not likely survive incubation in the wild.
We normally think of eggshells as being very fragile. However, eggshells are remarkably strong and durable. They provide the embryo with good protection from predators as well as from soil invertebrates and harmful bacteria. The shells of eggs that we eat from the domestic hen are thinner and more fragile than those of its ancestor, the Red Junglefowl. The thinning has occurred because chickens have been bred to produce larger eggs with the same amount of shell material. The resulting egg would not likely survive incubation in the wild.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Eggshells are made of calcium and magnesium salts within a fibrous network. Calcite is the main salt used as building material for the shell. As the embryo develops, calcium is transferred from the shell to the growing bones of the embryo. After a chick hatches, the mother sometimes eats the shell to recover some of the calcium lost in the making of an egg.
Eggshells are made of calcium and magnesium salts within a fibrous network. Calcite is the main salt used as building material for the shell. As the embryo develops, calcium is transferred from the shell to the growing bones of the embryo. After a chick hatches, the mother sometimes eats the shell to recover some of the calcium lost in the making of an egg.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

The outer surface of the eggshell is covered by the cuticle. The cuticle is a thin layer made of proteins. The cuticle adds strength to the shell, gives the shell its texture and provides a barrier against bacteria.
The outer surface of the eggshell is covered by the cuticle. The cuticle is a thin layer made of proteins. The cuticle adds strength to the shell, gives the shell its texture and provides a barrier against bacteria.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Become familiar with the basic biology of eggs, and their variation
  • Relate ecology to evolution and adaptation (relate form and function)

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Œufs

Œufs d'autruche, de casoar et d’émeu

Numérisation par Graham Mitchell-Lawson et Kim Chapman.
La collection E.T. Jones, The Royal Alberta Museum.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


La texture de la coquille varie énormément. La plupart des œufs sont lisses, mais certains, tels les œufs de cormoran, sont plutôt rugueux. Ils sont crayeux plutôt que lisses comme les œufs de tinamou. Les œufs de canard sont huileux et imperméables, et les œufs de casoars sont couverts de petits creux.
La texture de la coquille varie énormément. La plupart des œufs sont lisses, mais certains, tels les œufs de cormoran, sont plutôt rugueux. Ils sont crayeux plutôt que lisses comme les œufs de tinamou. Les œufs de canard sont huileux et imperméables, et les œufs de casoars sont couverts de petits creux.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Les coquilles d’œufs

Les œufs peuvent être rugueux, comme les œufs de cormoran, ou lisses et brillants, comme les œufs de tinamou

Numérisation par Graham Mitchell-Lawson et Kim Chapman.
La collection E.T. Jones, The Royal Alberta Museum.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Les coquilles d’œufs comportent de petits trous ou des pores, même s’ils sont lisses. Par exemple, l’œuf d’une poule domestique peut avoir jusqu’à 7 500 pores. La plupart de ces pores sont situées à l’extrémité arrondie de l’œuf. Les pores relient l’œuf à son environnement. Les gaz respiratoires et la vapeur d’eau se déplacent dans ces canaux et permettent à l’œuf de respirer.
Les coquilles d’œufs comportent de petits trous ou des pores, même s’ils sont lisses. Par exemple, l’œuf d’une poule domestique peut avoir jusqu’à 7 500 pores. La plupart de ces pores sont situées à l’extrémité arrondie de l’œuf. Les pores relient l’œuf à son environnement. Les gaz respiratoires et la vapeur d’eau se déplacent dans ces canaux et permettent à l’œuf de respirer.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Nous pensons tous que la coquille de l’œuf est fragile. Pourtant, les coquilles d’œufs sont extrêmement fortes et durables. Elles protègent bien l’embryon des prédateurs, des invertébrés du sol et des bactéries nocives. Les coquilles des œufs que nous mangeons, pondus par des poules domestiques, sont plus minces et plus fragiles que celles de leur ancêtre, le coq doré. L’amincissement de la coquille est une conséquence de l’élevage de poules pratiqué dans le but de produire des œufs plus gros dans une coquille de même dimension. De tels œufs ne survivraient sans doute pas à l’incubation en milieu sauvage.
Nous pensons tous que la coquille de l’œuf est fragile. Pourtant, les coquilles d’œufs sont extrêmement fortes et durables. Elles protègent bien l’embryon des prédateurs, des invertébrés du sol et des bactéries nocives. Les coquilles des œufs que nous mangeons, pondus par des poules domestiques, sont plus minces et plus fragiles que celles de leur ancêtre, le coq doré. L’amincissement de la coquille est une conséquence de l’élevage de poules pratiqué dans le but de produire des œufs plus gros dans une coquille de même dimension. De tels œufs ne survivraient sans doute pas à l’incubation en milieu sauvage.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

La coquille de l’œuf est composée de sels de calcium et de magnésium dans un réseau fibreux. La calcite est le sel principal servant à fabriquer la coquille. Le calcium est transféré de la coquille aux os de l’embryon au cours de sa croissance. Lorsque l’oisillon sort de l’œuf, la mère mange parfois la coquille afin de récupérer une partie du calcium perdu lors de la constitution de l’œuf.
La coquille de l’œuf est composée de sels de calcium et de magnésium dans un réseau fibreux. La calcite est le sel principal servant à fabriquer la coquille. Le calcium est transféré de la coquille aux os de l’embryon au cours de sa croissance. Lorsque l’oisillon sort de l’œuf, la mère mange parfois la coquille afin de récupérer une partie du calcium perdu lors de la constitution de l’œuf.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

La surface extérieure de la coquille est recouverte de la cuticule. La cuticule est une fine membrane de protéines qui renforce la coquille et lui donne sa texture, tout en la protégeant contre les bactéries.


La surface extérieure de la coquille est recouverte de la cuticule. La cuticule est une fine membrane de protéines qui renforce la coquille et lui donne sa texture, tout en la protégeant contre les bactéries.


© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • se familiariser avec la biologie de base des œufs et ses variantes;
  • reconnaître le lien entre l’évolution et l’adaptation (lien entre la forme et la fonction).

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons