Hormones are biochemicals produced by endocrine glands in the body. They control the timing of egg production and laying. Environmental conditions such as day length, temperature, food availability and precipitation, influence the endocrine glands to secrete appropriate hormones. Eggs are thus laid at a time of year when they are likely to hatch and nestlings are likely to survive.
Hormones are biochemicals produced by endocrine glands in the body. They control the timing of egg production and laying. Environmental conditions such as day length, temperature, food availability and precipitation, influence the endocrine glands to secrete appropriate hormones. Eggs are thus laid at a time of year when they are likely to hatch and nestlings are likely to survive.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Birds usually lay eggs at one-day intervals until they have completed their clutch. Larger birds typically require longer times between layings than do smaller birds. Some kiwis, eagles and vultures take four or five days between eggs.

Eggs for breakfast
Most often, birds lay their eggs early in the morning. Birds move around less at night, so shell formation occurs more readily.

Birds usually lay eggs at one-day intervals until they have completed their clutch. Larger birds typically require longer times between layings than do smaller birds. Some kiwis, eagles and vultures take four or five days between eggs.

Eggs for breakfast
Most often, birds lay their eggs early in the morning. Birds move around less at night, so shell formation occurs more readily.


© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Some birds take only a few seconds to lay an egg. Brood parasites, which lay their eggs in another bird’s nest, are particularly fast layers. The female Cowbird watches and waits until her target nest is unattended, darts in, lays the egg and leaves. Other birds such as the Canada Goose, require about an hour to lay an egg.
Some birds take only a few seconds to lay an egg. Brood parasites, which lay their eggs in another bird’s nest, are particularly fast layers. The female Cowbird watches and waits until her target nest is unattended, darts in, lays the egg and leaves. Other birds such as the Canada Goose, require about an hour to lay an egg.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Birds that lay their eggs in the nests of other (host) birds are called brood parasites. They leave the foster parents to incubate and rear their young. This behaviour is surprisingly common. The parasitic bird is freed from the duties of nest building, egg incubation and rearing young. The energy saved by this behaviour can then be used for egg production. Here, a clutch of 5 Red-gartered Coot eggs (Fulica armillata) is parasitized by one Black-headed Duck egg, (Heteronetta atricapilla). Although a number of different birds practice brood parasitism, two of the best known examples are the New World Cowbirds and the European Cuckoo.
Birds that lay their eggs in the nests of other (host) birds are called brood parasites. They leave the foster parents to incubate and rear their young. This behaviour is surprisingly common. The parasitic bird is freed from the duties of nest building, egg incubation and rearing young. The energy saved by this behaviour can then be used for egg production. Here, a clutch of 5 Red-gartered Coot eggs (Fulica armillata) is parasitized by one Black-headed Duck egg, (Heteronetta atricapilla). Although a number of different birds practice brood parasitism, two of the best known examples are the New World Cowbirds and the European Cuckoo.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Red-gartered coot eggs

Red-gartered coot eggs

Photos by Graham Mitchell-Lawson and Kim Chapman.
The Royal Alberta Museum, E.T. Jones collection.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Brown-headed Cowbirds (Molothrus ater) are common brood parasites in North America. A cowbird female will find a prospective host’s nest and make frequent checks of it while the host is absent. After her host has laid two or more eggs, but before incubation actually begins, the female cowbird will sneak into the nest and deposit an egg. The egg will be laid just before sunrise, while the host is gone. The cowbird may remove one or all of the host’s eggs. This serves to reduce competition for her egg, but may also force renesting by the host so that the Cowbird can better time her egg drop. She pierces the egg with her sharp bill, carries it away and eats it.

Ordinarily, the cowbird will lay an egg in several hosts’ nests. The hosts may or may not be the same species. Most hosts do not react negatively toward a cowbird during nest building or egg laying. However, many birds do react to strange objects in their nest by removing them. If the parasite’s egg does not resemble the host’s egg in size and colour, the host may remove it. Robins and Catbirds will remove the cowbird’s egg from the nest. Sometimes a host will desert the Read More

Brown-headed Cowbirds (Molothrus ater) are common brood parasites in North America. A cowbird female will find a prospective host’s nest and make frequent checks of it while the host is absent. After her host has laid two or more eggs, but before incubation actually begins, the female cowbird will sneak into the nest and deposit an egg. The egg will be laid just before sunrise, while the host is gone. The cowbird may remove one or all of the host’s eggs. This serves to reduce competition for her egg, but may also force renesting by the host so that the Cowbird can better time her egg drop. She pierces the egg with her sharp bill, carries it away and eats it.

Ordinarily, the cowbird will lay an egg in several hosts’ nests. The hosts may or may not be the same species. Most hosts do not react negatively toward a cowbird during nest building or egg laying. However, many birds do react to strange objects in their nest by removing them. If the parasite’s egg does not resemble the host’s egg in size and colour, the host may remove it. Robins and Catbirds will remove the cowbird’s egg from the nest. Sometimes a host will desert the nest because the cowbird egg is present. Other prospective hosts will build a new nest floor and cover the parasitized clutch.


© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Cowbird eggs

Cowbirds parasitize different species

Photos by Graham Mitchell-Lawson and Kim Chapman.
The Royal Alberta Museum, E.T. Jones collection.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Many species of cuckoos are brood parasites. Brood parasitism in European Cuckoos is more sophisticated than in cowbirds. Cuckoo eggs tend to mimic the size and markings of a specific host species. Females are engrained to parasitize a particular bird species. Hosts, on the other hand, have evolved the ability to detect all but the best mimics of their own eggs. A female cuckoo knows which host species she will most successfully parasitize by her own experience with that species. She probably was incubated and reared and therefore imprinted on that particular species.

Parasitic hatchlings often have mouth markings similar to those of the host. These hatchlings may even make the host’s calls. Both the markings and the calls will reduce the likelihood that the host recognizes the parasite nestling as foreign.

Cuckoo eggs require a shorter incubation time than do the host’s eggs. Typically cuckoo eggs need to be incubated for 12 1/2 days while the host’s eggs need 13 or 14 days. The early hatching is advantageous to the parasite. Cuckoo hatchlings have evolved a mechanism to further increase their success over that of the host hatchlings. Whe Read More

Many species of cuckoos are brood parasites. Brood parasitism in European Cuckoos is more sophisticated than in cowbirds. Cuckoo eggs tend to mimic the size and markings of a specific host species. Females are engrained to parasitize a particular bird species. Hosts, on the other hand, have evolved the ability to detect all but the best mimics of their own eggs. A female cuckoo knows which host species she will most successfully parasitize by her own experience with that species. She probably was incubated and reared and therefore imprinted on that particular species.

Parasitic hatchlings often have mouth markings similar to those of the host. These hatchlings may even make the host’s calls. Both the markings and the calls will reduce the likelihood that the host recognizes the parasite nestling as foreign.

Cuckoo eggs require a shorter incubation time than do the host’s eggs. Typically cuckoo eggs need to be incubated for 12 1/2 days while the host’s eggs need 13 or 14 days. The early hatching is advantageous to the parasite. Cuckoo hatchlings have evolved a mechanism to further increase their success over that of the host hatchlings. When the cuckoo hatches, it is altricial. It is blind and naked and gapes for food. Once the nestling is about 10 hours old, any solid object that touches the sensitive depression on the cuckoo’s back initiates a pushing reflex. The young cuckoo manipulates the object (host’s egg or nestling) to the edge of the nest and pushes it over. The cuckoo continues evicting its nest mates until it is the only object left in the nest. This instinct of the cuckoo nestling disappears in 3 1/2 to 4 days.


© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Cuckoo egg

There are four Sedge Warbler eggs here and one Cuckoo egg

Photos by Graham Mitchell-Lawson and Kim Chapman.
The Royal Alberta Museum, E.T. Jones collection.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Become familiar with the basic biology of egg laying and physiology
  • Relate ecology and behaviour to evolution and adaptation, using the example of brood parasitism

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les hormones sont des substances biochimiques produites par les glandes endocrines de l’organisme. Elles contrôlent la production et la ponte des œufs. Les facteurs environnementaux, tels que la longueur des journées, la température, l’abondance de la nourriture et les précipitations, incitent les glandes endocrines à produire les hormones nécessaires. Les œufs sont donc pondus à une période de l’année propice à leur éclosion et à la survie des oisillons.
Les hormones sont des substances biochimiques produites par les glandes endocrines de l’organisme. Elles contrôlent la production et la ponte des œufs. Les facteurs environnementaux, tels que la longueur des journées, la température, l’abondance de la nourriture et les précipitations, incitent les glandes endocrines à produire les hormones nécessaires. Les œufs sont donc pondus à une période de l’année propice à leur éclosion et à la survie des oisillons.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

De façon générale, les oiseaux pondent un œuf tous les deux jours, jusqu’à ce que leur couvée soit complète. La période entre les pontes est habituellement plus longue chez les grands oiseaux que chez les petits. L’intervalle entre les pontes peut atteindre de quatre à cinq jours chez certains kiwis, aigles et vautours.

Des œufs pour le petit déjeuner

Les oiseaux pondent habituellement tôt le matin. Les oiseaux bougent moins la nuit, ce qui favorise la formation des coquilles.

De façon générale, les oiseaux pondent un œuf tous les deux jours, jusqu’à ce que leur couvée soit complète. La période entre les pontes est habituellement plus longue chez les grands oiseaux que chez les petits. L’intervalle entre les pontes peut atteindre de quatre à cinq jours chez certains kiwis, aigles et vautours.

Des œufs pour le petit déjeuner

Les oiseaux pondent habituellement tôt le matin. Les oiseaux bougent moins la nuit, ce qui favorise la formation des coquilles.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Certains oiseaux pondent en quelques secondes. Les parasites de couvée, qui pondent leurs œufs dans le nid d’autres oiseaux, pondent plus rapidement que les autres. La femelle du molothrus attend que le nid qu’elle vise soit laissé sans surveillance, puis elle s’y rend en vitesse, pond son œuf et quitte le nid. D’autres oiseaux, tels que la bernache du Canada, mettent environ une heure pour pondre un œuf.
Certains oiseaux pondent en quelques secondes. Les parasites de couvée, qui pondent leurs œufs dans le nid d’autres oiseaux, pondent plus rapidement que les autres. La femelle du molothrus attend que le nid qu’elle vise soit laissé sans surveillance, puis elle s’y rend en vitesse, pond son œuf et quitte le nid. D’autres oiseaux, tels que la bernache du Canada, mettent environ une heure pour pondre un œuf.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Les oiseaux qui pondent leurs œufs dans le nid d’autres oiseaux (hôtes) portent le nom de parasites de couvée. Ils laissent aux parents du nid d’accueil la tâche de couver leurs œufs et de prendre soin de leurs oisillons. Étonnamment, cette façon de faire est assez courante. L’oiseau parasite est ainsi libéré de l’obligation de construire un nid, de couver ses œufs et d’élever ses oisillons. L’énergie ainsi économisée est utilisée pour produire d’autres œufs. Ici, une couvée de cinq œufs de foulque à jarretières (Fulica armillata) contient l’œuf d’un parasite, l’hétéronette à tête noire (Heteronetta atricapilla). Bien que cette pratique soit courante chez plusieurs espèces différentes, les deux exemples les plus connus sont le molothrus et le coucou européen.
Les oiseaux qui pondent leurs œufs dans le nid d’autres oiseaux (hôtes) portent le nom de parasites de couvée. Ils laissent aux parents du nid d’accueil la tâche de couver leurs œufs et de prendre soin de leurs oisillons. Étonnamment, cette façon de faire est assez courante. L’oiseau parasite est ainsi libéré de l’obligation de construire un nid, de couver ses œufs et d’élever ses oisillons. L’énergie ainsi économisée est utilisée pour produire d’autres œufs. Ici, une couvée de cinq œufs de foulque à jarretières (Fulica armillata) contient l’œuf d’un parasite, l’hétéronette à tête noire (Heteronetta atricapilla). Bien que cette pratique soit courante chez plusieurs espèces différentes, les deux exemples les plus connus sont le molothrus et le coucou européen.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Œufs de foulque à jarretières

Œufs de foulque à jarretières

Numérisation par Graham Mitchell-Lawson et Kim Chapman.
La collection E.T. Jones, The Royal Alberta Museum.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Le vacher à tête brune (Molothrus ater) est un parasite de couvée commun en Amérique du Nord. La femelle trouve un nid d’accueil potentiel et le vérifie souvent pendant l’absence de l’hôte. Lorsque l’oiseau hôte aura pondu au moins deux œufs, mais avant que l’incubation ne commence, elle se rendra au nid en catimini et y déposera un œuf. Elle pondra son œuf juste avant le lever du soleil, pendant que l’hôte sera absent. Le vacher peut retirer un ou tous les œufs de l’oiseau hôte afin de diminuer la concurrence pour son œuf. Cette pratique peut toutefois forcer l’hôte à aller nicher ailleurs et à mieux calculer sa ponte. La femelle du vacher perce l’œuf avec son pec pointu, le transporte et le mange.

Le vacher pond habituellement un œuf dans plusieurs nids d’accueil d’oiseaux d’une ou de plusieurs espèces différentes. La plupart des oiseaux n’ont pas de réaction négative à l’égard du vacher lors de la construction du nid ou de la ponte des œufs. Par contre, plusieurs oiseaux ont comme réaction d’enlever les objets étrangers qui se trouvent dans leur nid. Si l&rsq Pour en lire plus

Le vacher à tête brune (Molothrus ater) est un parasite de couvée commun en Amérique du Nord. La femelle trouve un nid d’accueil potentiel et le vérifie souvent pendant l’absence de l’hôte. Lorsque l’oiseau hôte aura pondu au moins deux œufs, mais avant que l’incubation ne commence, elle se rendra au nid en catimini et y déposera un œuf. Elle pondra son œuf juste avant le lever du soleil, pendant que l’hôte sera absent. Le vacher peut retirer un ou tous les œufs de l’oiseau hôte afin de diminuer la concurrence pour son œuf. Cette pratique peut toutefois forcer l’hôte à aller nicher ailleurs et à mieux calculer sa ponte. La femelle du vacher perce l’œuf avec son pec pointu, le transporte et le mange.

Le vacher pond habituellement un œuf dans plusieurs nids d’accueil d’oiseaux d’une ou de plusieurs espèces différentes. La plupart des oiseaux n’ont pas de réaction négative à l’égard du vacher lors de la construction du nid ou de la ponte des œufs. Par contre, plusieurs oiseaux ont comme réaction d’enlever les objets étrangers qui se trouvent dans leur nid. Si l’œuf du parasite est de couleur ou de taille différente des siens, l’hôte risque de l’enlever. Les rouges-gorges et les moqueurs chats enlèvent les œufs de vacher de leur nid. Certains hôtes déserteront leur nid à cause de la présence de l’œuf du vacher, tandis que d’autres construiront un nouveau plancher pour couvrir l’œuf parasite.


© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Œufs de vacher

Le vacher parasite plusieurs espèces

Numérisation par Graham Mitchell-Lawson et Kim Chapman.
La collection E.T. Jones, The Royal Alberta Museum.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Plusieurs espèces de coucous sont des parasites de couvée. Le parasitisme se pratique de façon plus sophistiquée chez les coucous européens que chez les vachers. Les œufs des coucous sont de la même taille et portent les mêmes marques que les œufs de l’espèce hôte. Les femelles sont programmées pour parasiter une espèce en particulier, alors que les hôtes ont développé l’habileté à détecter tous les œufs parasites, à part les meilleures imitations de leurs propres œufs. L’expérience du coucou femelle lui permet de savoir quelle espèce elle pourra le mieux parasiter. Elle a sans doute été couvée et élevée par cette espèce et possède donc de bonnes connaissances de celle-ci.

Les oisillons parasites portent souvent sur le bec des marques semblables à celles de l’hôte. Ces oisillons imitent parfois le cri de leur hôte. Les marques et les cris réduisent la probabilité que l’hôte repère le parasite dans son nid.
Les œufs des coucous doivent éclore avant ceux de l’espèce hôte. Leur période d’incubation n’est habituellement que de 12 jours et demi, tandis que celle des œufs de l’espèce hôte est de 13 ou 14 jours. Pour en lire plus
Plusieurs espèces de coucous sont des parasites de couvée. Le parasitisme se pratique de façon plus sophistiquée chez les coucous européens que chez les vachers. Les œufs des coucous sont de la même taille et portent les mêmes marques que les œufs de l’espèce hôte. Les femelles sont programmées pour parasiter une espèce en particulier, alors que les hôtes ont développé l’habileté à détecter tous les œufs parasites, à part les meilleures imitations de leurs propres œufs. L’expérience du coucou femelle lui permet de savoir quelle espèce elle pourra le mieux parasiter. Elle a sans doute été couvée et élevée par cette espèce et possède donc de bonnes connaissances de celle-ci.

Les oisillons parasites portent souvent sur le bec des marques semblables à celles de l’hôte. Ces oisillons imitent parfois le cri de leur hôte. Les marques et les cris réduisent la probabilité que l’hôte repère le parasite dans son nid.
Les œufs des coucous doivent éclore avant ceux de l’espèce hôte. Leur période d’incubation n’est habituellement que de 12 jours et demi, tandis que celle des œufs de l’espèce hôte est de 13 ou 14 jours. L’éclosion précoce est un avantage pour le parasite. Les oisillons coucous ont développé un mécanisme qui améliore leurs chances de survie par rapport aux oisillons de l’hôte. L’oisillon du coucou est nidicole à l’éclosion. Il est nu et aveugle, et il ouvre le bec tout grand pour manger. Dès que l’oisillon atteint l’âge de 10 heures, tout objet solide qui touche le creux sensible sur son dos déclenche un réflexe de poussée. Le jeune coucou manipule ainsi l’objet (l’œuf ou l’oisillon de l’hôte) jusqu’au bord du nid et le pousse en bas. Le coucou continue à évincer ses compagnons jusqu’à ce qu’il soit seul dans le nid. Cet instinct disparaît après trois jours et demi à quatre jours.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Œuf de coucou

Il y a quatre œufs de fauvette des marais et un œuf de coucou

Numérisation par Graham Mitchell-Lawson et Kim Chapman.
La collection E.T. Jones, The Royal Alberta Museum.

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • se familiariser avec la biologie de base de la ponte et la physiologie;
  • reconnaître le lien entre l’écologie, l’évolution et l’adaptation en se basant sur l’exemple du parasitisme de couvée.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons