Soldiers Undergoing Morse Code Training

Soldiers Undergoing Morse Code Training

Military Communications & Electronics Museum

© Military Communications & Electronics Museum


In his teenage years, Bill Bushell had a strong interest in amateur radio. Unfortunately, being unemployed he had no means to pursue his hobby. In 1939 the Royal Canadian Corps of Signals was in desperate need of young men, and Bill saw the chance to learn Morse code and support his desire to be an amateur radio operator. Bill was sent to Vimy Barracks in Kingston, Ontario, to learn Morse code along with several other young soldiers.

In addition to Morse code, Signalman Bushell had to learn how to use wireless equipment, like the obsolete Wireless Set No. 1 pictured here. Manufactured by Northern Electric in 1937, the No. 1 set had very little output power and the regenerative type receiver was very difficult to tune. Nonetheless, this was the type of equipment that was available to the Royal Canadian Corps of Signals at the start of the Second World War.

There were some pleasant days at Vimy Barracks when Bill and his mates took the wireless sets out for field training exercises.

After completing his training, Bushell was posted to Iceland. There his Morse code training was put to the test when he had to communicate with a search aircraft by using Read More
In his teenage years, Bill Bushell had a strong interest in amateur radio. Unfortunately, being unemployed he had no means to pursue his hobby. In 1939 the Royal Canadian Corps of Signals was in desperate need of young men, and Bill saw the chance to learn Morse code and support his desire to be an amateur radio operator. Bill was sent to Vimy Barracks in Kingston, Ontario, to learn Morse code along with several other young soldiers.

In addition to Morse code, Signalman Bushell had to learn how to use wireless equipment, like the obsolete Wireless Set No. 1 pictured here. Manufactured by Northern Electric in 1937, the No. 1 set had very little output power and the regenerative type receiver was very difficult to tune. Nonetheless, this was the type of equipment that was available to the Royal Canadian Corps of Signals at the start of the Second World War.

There were some pleasant days at Vimy Barracks when Bill and his mates took the wireless sets out for field training exercises.

After completing his training, Bushell was posted to Iceland. There his Morse code training was put to the test when he had to communicate with a search aircraft by using a high-speed "bug" lamp, like the one pictured here, to send Morse code as rescue teams attempted to rescue some downed airmen. Later, after being posted to Italy, Bushell used the "bug" lamp to send Morse code on a radio frequency. However, this had to be stopped as the distinctive sound of the lamp could identify his station as being the Divisional Headquarters.

Bushell was eventually employed as the radio operator for the commander of the 1st Canadian Infantry Division, Major-General Christopher Vokes. During the attacks on the Hitler Line in Italy in the summer of 1944 Bushell moved his Wireless Set No. 19 from an exposed position above ground to an abandoned German trench, as shown in the photograph here. It turned out to be a safe and comfortable operating position.

The No. 19 set was built in Canada throughout the war and formed the backbone of the Canadian army’s field communications network. It could send Morse code over a distance of approximately thirty kilometres and voice about half that distance. Bill Bushell used it during the war and also after the war as an amateur radio operator until the late 1990s. It gave him great pleasure and brought back many memories of his service with the Royal Canadian Corps of Signal.

© 2002, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Two soldiers Practising with a Wireless

Two soldiers Practising with a Wireless.

Military Communications & Electronics Museum.

© Military Communications & Electronics Museum.


High-Speed "bug" Lamp

The high-speed "bug" lamp was used to send Morse code messages.

Military Communications & Electronics Museum.

© Military Communications & Electronics Museum.


Wireless Set No. 19

The Wireless Set No. 19 formed the backbone of the Canadian army's field communications network.

Military Communications & Electronics Museum.

© Military Communications & Electronics Museum.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Develop an understanding of the participation and role of Canada’s Army in the World War II
  • Examine the contributions, sacrifices and experiences of individuals who participated in military events during World War II
  • Identify key locations in which Canada’s military operated during World War II

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

125 ChaSoldats apprennant le code morseracters Maximum

Soldats apprenant le code Morse.

Musée de l'électronique et des communications militaires

© Musée de l'électronique et des communications militaires


Dans sa jeunesse, Bill Bushell s’intéressait beaucoup à la radio amateur. Malheureusement, comme il n’avait pas d’emploi, il ne pouvait pas s’adonner à ce passe-temps. En 1939, le Corps royal canadien des transmissions avait désespérément besoin de jeunes hommes, et Bill a saisi cette occasion d’apprendre le morse et de réaliser son rêve : devenir radio amateur. Bill a été envoyé à la caserne Vimy, à Kingston (Ontario), où il a appris le morse en compagnie de plusieurs autres jeunes soldats.

Outre le code Morse, le signaleur Bushell a dû apprendre à utiliser l’équipement de communication sans fil, notamment le poste radioélectrique no 1, déjà désuet, que l’on voit ici. Fabriqué par la Northern Electric en 1937, l’émetteur-récepteur no 1 avait une très faible puissance de sortie et ses récepteurs à réaction étaient très difficiles à régler sur une longueur d’onde précise. Pour en lire plus
Dans sa jeunesse, Bill Bushell s’intéressait beaucoup à la radio amateur. Malheureusement, comme il n’avait pas d’emploi, il ne pouvait pas s’adonner à ce passe-temps. En 1939, le Corps royal canadien des transmissions avait désespérément besoin de jeunes hommes, et Bill a saisi cette occasion d’apprendre le morse et de réaliser son rêve : devenir radio amateur. Bill a été envoyé à la caserne Vimy, à Kingston (Ontario), où il a appris le morse en compagnie de plusieurs autres jeunes soldats.

Outre le code Morse, le signaleur Bushell a dû apprendre à utiliser l’équipement de communication sans fil, notamment le poste radioélectrique no 1, déjà désuet, que l’on voit ici. Fabriqué par la Northern Electric en 1937, l’émetteur-récepteur no 1 avait une très faible puissance de sortie et ses récepteurs à réaction étaient très difficiles à régler sur une longueur d’onde précise. Quoi qu’il en soit, c’était le matériel dont disposait le Corps royal canadien des transmissions à l’époque de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Bill et ses camarades ont connu de belles journées à la caserne Vimy, quand ils partaient s’exercer à l’extérieur avec les émetteurs-récepteurs sans fil.

Après son instruction, Bushell a été envoyé en Islande. Là-bas, sa connaissance du morse a été mise à l’épreuve lorsqu’il a dû communiquer avec un aéronef de recherche utilisant une lampe à incandescence à clignotement rapide, comme celle que l’on aperçoit ici, pour envoyer des signaux en morse aux équipes de sauvetage qui tentaient de repérer les aviateurs dont les appareils avaient été abattus. Par la suite, en Italie, Busher a utilisé la lampe à incandescence pour transmettre en morse sur une fréquence radio, mais il a dû abandonner cette méthode car le cliquetis distinctif de la lampe pouvait désigner sa station comme quartier général de division.

Bushell est finalement devenu l’opérateur radio du commandant de la 1re Division d’infanterie canadienne, le major-général Christopher Vokes. Pendant le siège de la ligne Hitler, en Italie, à l’été 1944, Bushell a déplacé son poste radio no 19 d’un point exposé au-dessus du sol dans une tranchée allemande abandonnée, comme le montre la photo. L’endroit s’est avéré sûr et confortable pour transmettre.

Le poste no 19 a été fabriqué au Canada pendant toute la guerre et il était la pierre angulaire du réseau de communication de campagne de l’Armée canadienne. Il pouvait transmettre des signaux en morse sur une distance d’environ 30 kilomètres et la voix sur environ la moitié de cette distance. Bill Bushell l’a utilisé pendant la guerre et par la suite, en radio amateur, jusqu’à la fin des années 1990. Il y prenait un vif plaisir car l’équipement lui rappelait bien des souvenirs de son passage au sein du Corps royal canadien des transmissions.

© 2002, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Deux soldats se familiarisent avec le poste radio

Deux soldats se familiarisent avec le poste radio.

Musée de l'électronique et des communications militaires

© Musée de l'électronique et des communications militaires


Lampe à Haute Vitesse

La lampe à haute vitesse était utilisée pour transmettre des messages en morse.

Musée de l'électronique et des communications militaires

© Musée de l'électronique et des communications militaires


Poste Radio n° 19

Le poste radio n° 19 était le fer de lance du réseau des communications de campagne de l'Armée canadienne.

Musée de l'électronique et des communications militaires

© Musée de l'électronique et des communications militaires


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • développer une meilleure compréhension de la participation et du rôle des Forces canadiennes dans le cadre de la Seconde Guerre mondiale;
  • examiner les contributions, sacrifices et expériences des personnes qui ont participé à des événements militaires au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale;
  • identifier les principaux lieux où les militaires canadiens ont opéré pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons