Range
Great Blue Heron breeds from southeastern Alaska and coastal British Columbia east to the Gaspe Peninsula and Nova Scotia south to Mexico, the West Indies and Galapagos Islands. Winters from coastal British Columbia, central United States, and southern New England south to northern South America.

Status in British Columbia
Sedentary or migratory. Resident on the coast, where it is very common in the south, common in the north and fairly common on the Queen Charlotte Islands. Fairly common resident in the southern interior where waters do not freeze. Widespread breeder in southern British Columbia; local breeder on north coast.

Breeding
Nests were large stick platforms (n=93) up to 1 m in diameter and 38 cm in depth. The nest cup was a shallow depression lined with small twigs, bark strips, fresh evergreen boughs, or rushes. Dates for 137 clutches ranged from 1 April to 2 July. Clutch size ranged from 1 to 8 eggs. Incubation period is 25 to 29 days (Harrison, C. 1978).

Remarks
Numbers appear to be increasing throughout southern areas of the interior but Read More

Range
Great Blue Heron breeds from southeastern Alaska and coastal British Columbia east to the Gaspe Peninsula and Nova Scotia south to Mexico, the West Indies and Galapagos Islands. Winters from coastal British Columbia, central United States, and southern New England south to northern South America.

Status in British Columbia
Sedentary or migratory. Resident on the coast, where it is very common in the south, common in the north and fairly common on the Queen Charlotte Islands. Fairly common resident in the southern interior where waters do not freeze. Widespread breeder in southern British Columbia; local breeder on north coast.

Breeding
Nests were large stick platforms (n=93) up to 1 m in diameter and 38 cm in depth. The nest cup was a shallow depression lined with small twigs, bark strips, fresh evergreen boughs, or rushes. Dates for 137 clutches ranged from 1 April to 2 July. Clutch size ranged from 1 to 8 eggs. Incubation period is 25 to 29 days (Harrison, C. 1978).

Remarks
Numbers appear to be increasing throughout southern areas of the interior but the magnitude of the increase is not known. Recently, high levels of organochlorine residues have been found in egg contents from heronries on the south coast and: Vancouver Island.


Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Herons foraging on tidal flats off Tsawwassen jetty, 2 June 1981.

The Birds of British Columbia (Campbell et al.), Volume I, pages 236-241.
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Great Blue Heron Bird Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Sonogram of Great Blue Heron Song

Sonogram of Great Blue Heron Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Tape Number: M6.033(18c)
Recording Remarks: 15ips, Nagra III B, 40" Parabolic Reflector, AKG microphone, 220 feet from subject
Length: not available
Location Description: 6:00-7:00a.m.
Location Name: Swartz Bay Road and Land’s End Road, Victoria
General Remarks: The birds have just returned in the last two or three days. About seven of them seem to be in the tree. The one bird which was noisy was first at the nest and then standing on it. Another bird moved around the nest and then replaced the first bird by standing on or in it. The one in the branch beside the tree spread out the long plumes on the neck, lowered the head down below its perch and clicked the bill (heard on tape). There were five birds seen definitely in the tree but as the day wore on there may have been seven coming and going. It was hard to keep track. There are at least seven birds. The click or snap also appeared to be when a twig near the nest was broken but it did not fall and I did not see it taken in the bill. Background: Traffic not t Read More
Tape Number: M6.033(18c)
Recording Remarks: 15ips, Nagra III B, 40" Parabolic Reflector, AKG microphone, 220 feet from subject
Length: not available
Location Description: 6:00-7:00a.m.
Location Name: Swartz Bay Road and Land’s End Road, Victoria
General Remarks: The birds have just returned in the last two or three days. About seven of them seem to be in the tree. The one bird which was noisy was first at the nest and then standing on it. Another bird moved around the nest and then replaced the first bird by standing on or in it. The one in the branch beside the tree spread out the long plumes on the neck, lowered the head down below its perch and clicked the bill (heard on tape). There were five birds seen definitely in the tree but as the day wore on there may have been seven coming and going. It was hard to keep track. There are at least seven birds. The click or snap also appeared to be when a twig near the nest was broken but it did not fall and I did not see it taken in the bill. Background: Traffic not too bad, Bewick, Robin, Towhee, Pileated Woodpecker, squirrel very agitated. 
Date: 1963/03/02
Recorder: Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Range
Canada Goose breeds from the Arctic coast of Alaska and northern Canada east to Labrador and Newfoundland and south to central California, northern Utah, southern Kansas, northern Arkansas, western Tennessee, western Kentucky, central Ohio, and rarely to Maine. Winters locally from southern Canada to northern Mexico and the Gulf Coast of the United States. Introduced in the British Isles, Iceland, and New Zealand.

Status in British Columbia
Very abundant spring and autumn migrant throughout the province; locally very common to very abundant in winter along the coast and in the southern interior. Resident populations established locally and increasing. Widespread breeder.

Breeding
The Canada Goose breeds throughout the province from sea level to 1,250 m elevation. During the past 2 decades, introduced populations have become established and are increasing throughout southern British Columbia. However, natural populations still exist, mostly north of latitude 52°N. The Canada Goose breeds in a variety of habitats, including inland and coastal marshes, islands in lakes, ponds, sloug Read More
Range
Canada Goose breeds from the Arctic coast of Alaska and northern Canada east to Labrador and Newfoundland and south to central California, northern Utah, southern Kansas, northern Arkansas, western Tennessee, western Kentucky, central Ohio, and rarely to Maine. Winters locally from southern Canada to northern Mexico and the Gulf Coast of the United States. Introduced in the British Isles, Iceland, and New Zealand.

Status in British Columbia
Very abundant spring and autumn migrant throughout the province; locally very common to very abundant in winter along the coast and in the southern interior. Resident populations established locally and increasing. Widespread breeder.

Breeding
The Canada Goose breeds throughout the province from sea level to 1,250 m elevation. During the past 2 decades, introduced populations have become established and are increasing throughout southern British Columbia. However, natural populations still exist, mostly north of latitude 52°N. The Canada Goose breeds in a variety of habitats, including inland and coastal marshes, islands in lakes, ponds, sloughs, rivers, tundra, muskeg, and man-made environments such as agricultural fields, reservoirs, sanctuaries, ditches and dykes, and sewage lagoons. All nesting habitats have a source of permanent water nearby. The Canada Goose usually breeds singly, but in refuges, sanctuaries, or on islands it will occasionally nest in loose colonies. Nests were usually mounds of grasses, reeds, cattail, sticks, leaves, twigs, mosses, and sedges; most were lined with down and fine grasses. Dates for clutches ranged from 13 March to 6 July, sizes for clutches ranged from 1 to 14 eggs, with a majority having 5 or 6 eggs.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Canada Goose

Canada Goose (Branta Canadensis)

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Canada Goose Bird Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Sonogram

The Sonogram of Canada Goose Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Tape Number: M6.023(10c)
Recording Remarks: Nagra, 20" hand held Reflectors, AKG Microphone
Length: 02:53 (approximately)
Location Description: not available
Location Name: Near Oliver, BC
General Remarks: Single and plural Canada Geese. Warmer than previous few days. I was able to get right down to the water’s edge, which was not acceptable to the geese. Background: Robin, Quail, Traffic
Date: 1965/05/06
Recorder: Grace Bell
Tape Number: M6.023(10c)
Recording Remarks: Nagra, 20" hand held Reflectors, AKG Microphone
Length: 02:53 (approximately)
Location Description: not available
Location Name: Near Oliver, BC
General Remarks: Single and plural Canada Geese. Warmer than previous few days. I was able to get right down to the water’s edge, which was not acceptable to the geese. Background: Robin, Quail, Traffic
Date: 1965/05/06
Recorder: Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Range
In North America, Mallard breeds from north-central and southwestern United States north to northern Alaska and the Northwest Territories excluding the Maritimes and eastern Arctic. Winters mainly from southern Canada south to central Mexico; also on the Pacific coast north to the Aleutian Islands. Also resident in Eurasia.

Status in British Columbia
Common to very abundant migrant. In winter, common to very abundant on the coast; locally common to abundant in the southern interior; locally rare to uncommon in the northern interior. Widespread breeder.

Breeding
The Mallard breeds in wetlands throughout British Columbia from sea level to 1,300 m elevation. Habitats include sloughs, marshes, lakes, swamps, islands, and riparian woodlands. In urban and rural environments, parks, golf courses, ditches, agricultural fields, vacant lots, and private yards are used wherever fresh water is near. The Mallard is a solitary breeder, but loose aggregations of up to 14 nests have been found on small islands near Creston. Most nests were shallow depressions in the ground filled with various qua Read More

Range
In North America, Mallard breeds from north-central and southwestern United States north to northern Alaska and the Northwest Territories excluding the Maritimes and eastern Arctic. Winters mainly from southern Canada south to central Mexico; also on the Pacific coast north to the Aleutian Islands. Also resident in Eurasia.

Status in British Columbia
Common to very abundant migrant. In winter, common to very abundant on the coast; locally common to abundant in the southern interior; locally rare to uncommon in the northern interior. Widespread breeder.

Breeding
The Mallard breeds in wetlands throughout British Columbia from sea level to 1,300 m elevation. Habitats include sloughs, marshes, lakes, swamps, islands, and riparian woodlands. In urban and rural environments, parks, golf courses, ditches, agricultural fields, vacant lots, and private yards are used wherever fresh water is near. The Mallard is a solitary breeder, but loose aggregations of up to 14 nests have been found on small islands near Creston. Most nests were shallow depressions in the ground filled with various quantities of down and loose accumulations of leaves, grasses, needles, sedges, or mosses. Sizes for 355 clutches ranged from 1 to 24 eggs with 52% having 8 to 10 eggs.

Remarks
The Mallard is the single most important game duck in British Columbia, and hunting seasons are planned around its migration and seasonal distribution. About 100,000 (55% of the duck harvest) are taken in British Columbia each year.


Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Mallard

Mallard (Anas platyrhynchos)

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Mallard Bird Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Sonogram

Sonogram of Mallard Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Tape Number: M6.001(06d)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Nagra, 50" Parabolic Reflector
Length: 01:10
Location Description: Mild, sunny, spring day
Location Name: Beacon Hill Park, Victoria, BC
General Remarks: Pairing of birds apparent. Agression and pursuit. Widgeon still numerous. 2 male Canvas Backs near. 2 mute Swans. Grass green; everything wet. Courting. Background: Gull, Widgeon, Canaries in aviary, traffic, wind in tall Firs, Cedars and other conifers.
Date: 1963/02/13
Recorder: Grace Bell
Tape Number: M6.001(06d)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Nagra, 50" Parabolic Reflector
Length: 01:10
Location Description: Mild, sunny, spring day
Location Name: Beacon Hill Park, Victoria, BC
General Remarks: Pairing of birds apparent. Agression and pursuit. Widgeon still numerous. 2 male Canvas Backs near. 2 mute Swans. Grass green; everything wet. Courting. Background: Gull, Widgeon, Canaries in aviary, traffic, wind in tall Firs, Cedars and other conifers.
Date: 1963/02/13
Recorder: Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Become familiar with the appearance, song, ecology, and taxonomic groupings of Canadian water bird species, with particular reference to British Columbia
  • Understand the importance of field notes in ecology, and be aware of typical information found in such notes

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Habitat
Le grand héron se reproduit du sud-est de l’Alaska et de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu’à la péninsule gaspésienne et la Nouvelle-Écosse vers l’est, et les Antilles et les îles Galápagos vers le sud. Il passe l’hiver entre la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, le centre des États-Unis et le sud de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et plus au sud, jusqu’au nord de l’Amérique du Sud.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Sédentaire ou migratoire. Habitant sur la côte où il est très commun dans le sud, commun dans le nord et assez commun sur les îles de la Reine-Charlotte. Résident assez commun dans le sud intérieur où l’eau ne gèle pas. Reproducteur bien réparti dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique; reproducteur local sur la côte nord.

Reproduction
Fait son nid dans un milieu parsemé de grandes étendues de roseaux (n-93); le nid peut faire jusqu’à 1 m de diamètre et 38 cm de profondeur. La cuvette du nid est constituée d’un faible creux formé de brindilles, de morceaux d’écorce et de branches de conifères frais ou de jonc. Cent Pour en lire plus
Habitat
Le grand héron se reproduit du sud-est de l’Alaska et de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu’à la péninsule gaspésienne et la Nouvelle-Écosse vers l’est, et les Antilles et les îles Galápagos vers le sud. Il passe l’hiver entre la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, le centre des États-Unis et le sud de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et plus au sud, jusqu’au nord de l’Amérique du Sud.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Sédentaire ou migratoire. Habitant sur la côte où il est très commun dans le sud, commun dans le nord et assez commun sur les îles de la Reine-Charlotte. Résident assez commun dans le sud intérieur où l’eau ne gèle pas. Reproducteur bien réparti dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique; reproducteur local sur la côte nord.

Reproduction
Fait son nid dans un milieu parsemé de grandes étendues de roseaux (n-93); le nid peut faire jusqu’à 1 m de diamètre et 38 cm de profondeur. La cuvette du nid est constituée d’un faible creux formé de brindilles, de morceaux d’écorce et de branches de conifères frais ou de jonc. Cent trente-sept couvées ont été observées du 1er avril au 2 juillet. Les couvées varient de 1 à 8 œufs. La période d’incubation dure de 25 à 29 jours (Harrison, C. 1978).

Remarques
Les oiseaux semblent plus nombreux dans les régions situées au sud de l’intérieur, mais leur nombre n’est pas connu. De fortes concentrations de résidus d’organochlorés ont récemment été trouvées dans les œufs de colonies d’hérons sur la côte sud et sur l’île de Vancouver.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Grand héron

Grand héron (Ardea herodias)

The Birds of British Columbia (Campbell et al.), Volume I, pages 236-241.
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Chant du grand héron

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Sonogramme du chant du grand héron

Sonogramme du chant du grand héron

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Numéro de bande : M6.033(18c)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : Nagra III B, réflecteur parabolique de 40 po, 15 ips
Durée : Non disponible
Description du lieu : De 6 h à 7 h, entre 45 et 50 degrés, pas de vent, temps morne puis clair
Nom du lieu : Baie Swartz et chemin Land’s End, Victoria
Remarques générales : Les oiseaux sont de retour depuis deux ou trois jours. Il semble y avoir sept oiseaux dans l’arbre. L’oiseau qui chantait est arrivé le premier au nid et s’est installé sur le nid. Un autre oiseau s’est déplacé dans le nid et a ensuite remplacé le premier oiseau dans le nid. L’oiseau sur la branche à côté de l’arbre a étiré les longues plumes de son cou, baissé la tête sous son perchoir et a cliqué du bec (entendu sur l’enregistrement). Cinq oiseaux ont été observés dans l’arbre, mais j’en ai vu sept aller et venir au cours de la journée. Il a été difficile de tenir compte des déplacements. Il y a au moins sept oiseaux. Le clic ou le craquement peut aussi avoir été le bruit Pour en lire plus
Numéro de bande : M6.033(18c)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : Nagra III B, réflecteur parabolique de 40 po, 15 ips
Durée : Non disponible
Description du lieu : De 6 h à 7 h, entre 45 et 50 degrés, pas de vent, temps morne puis clair
Nom du lieu : Baie Swartz et chemin Land’s End, Victoria
Remarques générales : Les oiseaux sont de retour depuis deux ou trois jours. Il semble y avoir sept oiseaux dans l’arbre. L’oiseau qui chantait est arrivé le premier au nid et s’est installé sur le nid. Un autre oiseau s’est déplacé dans le nid et a ensuite remplacé le premier oiseau dans le nid. L’oiseau sur la branche à côté de l’arbre a étiré les longues plumes de son cou, baissé la tête sous son perchoir et a cliqué du bec (entendu sur l’enregistrement). Cinq oiseaux ont été observés dans l’arbre, mais j’en ai vu sept aller et venir au cours de la journée. Il a été difficile de tenir compte des déplacements. Il y a au moins sept oiseaux. Le clic ou le craquement peut aussi avoir été le bruit d’une brindille brisée près du nid, mais elle n’est pas tombée et je ne l’ai pas vue dans le bec d’un oiseau. Bruits de fond : achalandage moyen de troglodytes, rouges-gorges, pinsons aux yeux rouges, grands pics, écureuils très agités.
Date : 1964/03/02
Technicienne : Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Habitat
La bernache du Canada se reproduit de la côte arctique de l’Alaska et du nord du Canada jusqu’à Terre-Neuve et au Labrador vers l’est et jusqu’au centre de la Californie, le nord de l’Utah, le sud du Kansas, le nord de l’Arkansas, l’ouest du Tennessee, l’ouest du Kentucky, le centre de l’Ohio et rarement le Maine, vers le sud. Elle passe habituellement l’hiver entre le sud du Canada et le nord du Mexique et la côte du golfe du Mexique aux États-Unis. Introduite dans les îles Britanniques, en Islande et en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Oiseau migratoire très abondant au printemps et à l’automne à l’échelle de la province. De très commun localement à très abondant le long de la côte et dans la région située sud de l’intérieur. Des populations résidentes à la hausse sont établies localement. Reproducteur très répandu.

Reproduction
La bernache du Canada se reproduit à l’échelle de la province, depuis le niveau de la mer jusqu’à une élévation de 1 250 m. Des populations intr Pour en lire plus
Habitat
La bernache du Canada se reproduit de la côte arctique de l’Alaska et du nord du Canada jusqu’à Terre-Neuve et au Labrador vers l’est et jusqu’au centre de la Californie, le nord de l’Utah, le sud du Kansas, le nord de l’Arkansas, l’ouest du Tennessee, l’ouest du Kentucky, le centre de l’Ohio et rarement le Maine, vers le sud. Elle passe habituellement l’hiver entre le sud du Canada et le nord du Mexique et la côte du golfe du Mexique aux États-Unis. Introduite dans les îles Britanniques, en Islande et en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Oiseau migratoire très abondant au printemps et à l’automne à l’échelle de la province. De très commun localement à très abondant le long de la côte et dans la région située sud de l’intérieur. Des populations résidentes à la hausse sont établies localement. Reproducteur très répandu.

Reproduction
La bernache du Canada se reproduit à l’échelle de la province, depuis le niveau de la mer jusqu’à une élévation de 1 250 m. Des populations introduites au cours des deux dernières décennies sont établies et sont à la hausse dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique. Cependant, il existe encore des populations naturelles, surtout au nord du 52° N de latitude. La bernache du Canada se reproduit dans divers habitats, dont les marais intérieurs et côtiers, les îles situées dans des lacs, les étangs, les marécages, les rivières, la toundra, le muskeg et les environnements aménagés par l’homme tels que les champs agricoles, les réservoirs, les sanctuaires, les fossés, les digues et les bassins de stabilisation des eaux usées. Tous les milieux de nidification sont situés à proximité de sources d’eau naturelles. La bernache du Canada nidifie seule, mais peut parfois nidifier en colonies éparses dans les refuges, les sanctuaires ou sur les îles. Le nid est habituellement fabriqué d’amas d’herbes, de roseaux, de massettes, de branches, de feuilles, de brindilles, de mousse et de foin plat. L’intérieur de la plupart des nids est recouvert de duvet et d’herbes fines. Des couvées ont été observées du 13 mars au 6 juillet. Les couvées contenaient de 1 à 14 œufs; la majorité des couvées étaient constituées de 5 à 6 œufs.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Bernache du Canada

Bernache du Canada (Branta Canadensis)

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Chant de la bernache du Canada

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Sonogramme

Sonogramme du chant de la bernache du Canada

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Numéro de bande : M6.023(10c)
Observations au sujet de l'enregistrement : Nagra, réflecteurs manuels de 10 po, microphone AKG
Durée : 2:53 (approximativement)
Description du lieu : Non disponible
Nom du lieu : Près d’Oliver (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Bernaches du Canada seules et en groupes. Il fait plus chaud qu’au cours des derniers jours. J’ai pu me rendre jusqu’au bord de l’eau, ce que la bernache n’a pas aimé. Bruits de fond : rouges-gorges, cailles, circulation.
Date : 1965/03/06
Technicienne : Grace Bell
Numéro de bande : M6.023(10c)
Observations au sujet de l'enregistrement : Nagra, réflecteurs manuels de 10 po, microphone AKG
Durée : 2:53 (approximativement)
Description du lieu : Non disponible
Nom du lieu : Près d’Oliver (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Bernaches du Canada seules et en groupes. Il fait plus chaud qu’au cours des derniers jours. J’ai pu me rendre jusqu’au bord de l’eau, ce que la bernache n’a pas aimé. Bruits de fond : rouges-gorges, cailles, circulation.
Date : 1965/03/06
Technicienne : Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Habitat
En Amérique du Nord, le canard colvert se reproduit du centre-nord et du sud-ouest des États-Unis vers le nord, jusqu’au nord de l’Alaska et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, sauf dans les Maritimes et l’est de l’Arctique. Il passe l’hiver surtout entre le sud du Canada et le centre du Mexique, et aussi, sur la côte nord du Pacifique, jusqu’aux îles Aléoutiennes. Il habite aussi l’Eurasie.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Oiseau migrateur de commun à très abondant. En hiver, de commun à très abondant sur la côte; de commun à abondant localement dans le sud de la partie intérieure; de rare à peu commun localement dans la partie nord de l’intérieur. Reproducteur répandu.

Reproduction
Le canard colvert se reproduit dans les terres humides de la Colombie-Britannique, depuis le niveau de la mer jusqu’à 1 300 m d’altitude. On le retrouve dans les marécages, les marais, les lacs, les îles et les bois&ea Pour en lire plus
Habitat
En Amérique du Nord, le canard colvert se reproduit du centre-nord et du sud-ouest des États-Unis vers le nord, jusqu’au nord de l’Alaska et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, sauf dans les Maritimes et l’est de l’Arctique. Il passe l’hiver surtout entre le sud du Canada et le centre du Mexique, et aussi, sur la côte nord du Pacifique, jusqu’aux îles Aléoutiennes. Il habite aussi l’Eurasie.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Oiseau migrateur de commun à très abondant. En hiver, de commun à très abondant sur la côte; de commun à abondant localement dans le sud de la partie intérieure; de rare à peu commun localement dans la partie nord de l’intérieur. Reproducteur répandu.

Reproduction
Le canard colvert se reproduit dans les terres humides de la Colombie-Britannique, depuis le niveau de la mer jusqu’à 1 300 m d’altitude. On le retrouve dans les marécages, les marais, les lacs, les îles et les boisés riverains. Dans les environnements urbains et ruraux, on le retrouve dans les parcs, sur les terrains de golf, dans les fossés, les terres agricoles, les terrains vacants et les terrains privés, à proximité de sources d’eau fraîche. Le canard colvert est un reproducteur solitaire, mais des groupements épars de 14 nids ont été recensés sur de petites îles près de Creston. La plupart des nids sont constitués de faibles creux pratiqués dans le sol, recouverts de quantités diverses de duvet et d’accumulations lâches de feuilles, d’herbes, d’aiguilles, de joncs ou de mousse. Les couvées des 355 nids observés contenaient de 1 à 24 œufs, dont 52 p. 100 ayant de 8 à 10 œufs.

Remarques
Le canard colvert est le plus important canard chassé en Colombie-Britannique. La saison de la chasse est déterminée en fonction de sa migration et de sa répartition saisonnière. Environ 100 000 canards colverts (55 p. 100 de la récolte de canards) sont chassés en Colombie-Britannique chaque année.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Canard colvert

Canard colvert (Anas platyrhynchos)

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Chant du canard colvert

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Sonogramme

Sonogramme du chant du canard colvert

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Numéro de bande : M6.001(06d)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : Réflecteur parabolique Nagra de 50 po, 15 ips
Durée : 01:10
Description du lieu : Journée printanière douce et ensoleillée
Nom du lieu : Parc Beacon Hill, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : L’accouplement des oiseaux est très apparent. Agressivité et poursuite. Les canards sont encore nombreux. Deux fuligules à dos blanc mâles à proximité. Deux cygnes tyberculés. L’herbe est verte, tout est humide. Fréquentations. Bruits de fond : mouettes, canards, canaris dans une volière, circulation, le vent dans les grands sapins, cèdres et autres conifères.
Date : 1963/02/13
Technicienne : Grace Bell

Numéro de bande : M6.001(06d)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : Réflecteur parabolique Nagra de 50 po, 15 ips
Durée : 01:10
Description du lieu : Journée printanière douce et ensoleillée
Nom du lieu : Parc Beacon Hill, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : L’accouplement des oiseaux est très apparent. Agressivité et poursuite. Les canards sont encore nombreux. Deux fuligules à dos blanc mâles à proximité. Deux cygnes tyberculés. L’herbe est verte, tout est humide. Fréquentations. Bruits de fond : mouettes, canards, canaris dans une volière, circulation, le vent dans les grands sapins, cèdres et autres conifères.
Date : 1963/02/13
Technicienne : Grace Bell


Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • se familiariser avec l’apparence, le chant, l’écologie et les groupements taxonomiques des espèces d’oiseaux du Canada, particulièrement les oiseaux de la Colombie-Britannique;
  • comprendre l’importance des notes de terrain en écologie et connaître le type d’information que contient habituellement ce genre de notes.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons