Range
Breeds from Alaska eastward across most of northern Canada, except the high Arctic islands, along the Hudson Bay coast, and south through the Maritimes; also very locally on the British Columbia coast south to Vancouver. Winters from central California and South Carolina to southern South America.

Status in British Columbia
common to locally abundant migrant and summer visitant on the coast. Locally common to very common migrant in the interior; fairly common summer visitant in the Northern Mountains. Very rare in winter on the coast.

Breeding
Nest site selection varies with geographic location. On the Queen Charlotte Islands, most nests were situated within a line of semi-permanent drift logs deposited on sand dunes well above the normal summer high tide line. Beach nests were shallow scrapes in the sand, usually lined with hits of seaweed, grasses, white clam shells, or small i stones. In the northwest, nests were situated near water on the hare edges of lakes, on sparsely vegetated slopes, river bars, and manmade habitats such as gravelly road sides and clearings. In these habitat Read More
Range
Breeds from Alaska eastward across most of northern Canada, except the high Arctic islands, along the Hudson Bay coast, and south through the Maritimes; also very locally on the British Columbia coast south to Vancouver. Winters from central California and South Carolina to southern South America.

Status in British Columbia
common to locally abundant migrant and summer visitant on the coast. Locally common to very common migrant in the interior; fairly common summer visitant in the Northern Mountains. Very rare in winter on the coast.

Breeding
Nest site selection varies with geographic location. On the Queen Charlotte Islands, most nests were situated within a line of semi-permanent drift logs deposited on sand dunes well above the normal summer high tide line. Beach nests were shallow scrapes in the sand, usually lined with hits of seaweed, grasses, white clam shells, or small i stones. In the northwest, nests were situated near water on the hare edges of lakes, on sparsely vegetated slopes, river bars, and manmade habitats such as gravelly road sides and clearings. In these habitats, nests were usually next to an object such as a stone or Me plant, or in open ground on fresh earth, a clump of lichen, or a low hummock. Sizes of clutches ranged from 2 to 4 eggs with most having 4 eggs.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Semipalmated Plover

Semipalmated Plover (Charadrius semipalmatus)

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Semipalmated Plover Bird Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Sonogram

Sonogram of Semipalmated Plover Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Tape Number: M6.087(03a)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Microphone 100 ft. from recorder, 15-20 ft. from bird. The mike faced the bird from a piece of wood on the ground.
Length: not available
Location Description: Warm, slight breeze.
Location Name: Albert Head Lagoon, Victoria, BC
General Remarks: A lethargic, tired, single Semipalmated Plover slowly picked up something to eat in a puddle like pond near enough to be watched and recorded. After bathing and drinking he preened, slept, awoke, then called. While he bathed his bobbing seemed automatically increased, but the rhythms didn’t synchronize! He was much whiter below on the head after his bath.
Date: 1960/09/15
Recorder: Grace Bell
Tape Number: M6.087(03a)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Microphone 100 ft. from recorder, 15-20 ft. from bird. The mike faced the bird from a piece of wood on the ground.
Length: not available
Location Description: Warm, slight breeze.
Location Name: Albert Head Lagoon, Victoria, BC
General Remarks: A lethargic, tired, single Semipalmated Plover slowly picked up something to eat in a puddle like pond near enough to be watched and recorded. After bathing and drinking he preened, slept, awoke, then called. While he bathed his bobbing seemed automatically increased, but the rhythms didn’t synchronize! He was much whiter below on the head after his bath.
Date: 1960/09/15
Recorder: Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Range
Breeds in southern Alaska and in Canada in an eastwest band from south-central British Columbia to Labrador. Winters mainly from the southern United States to South America; also on the Pacific coast north to the southern Strait of Georgia.

Status in British Columbia
Rare to locally very common migrant throughout most of the province. Rare summer visitant to the central-interior. Rare winter visitant in the Fraser Lowlands; fairly common along the southeast coast of Vancouver Island.

Breeding
The Greater Yellowlegs breeds in swampy, forested lands between 900 and 1,220 m elevation. Preferred habitats include open or sparsely treed, mixed forests with low and sparse undergrowth near sloughs, wet meadows, or bogs. Burned ridges and clearings within forests are also used. Nests are extremely difficult to find. Most nests are probably screened to some extent by vegetation or other debris. Sizes for 9 clutches ranged from 3 to 4 eggs.
Range
Breeds in southern Alaska and in Canada in an eastwest band from south-central British Columbia to Labrador. Winters mainly from the southern United States to South America; also on the Pacific coast north to the southern Strait of Georgia.

Status in British Columbia
Rare to locally very common migrant throughout most of the province. Rare summer visitant to the central-interior. Rare winter visitant in the Fraser Lowlands; fairly common along the southeast coast of Vancouver Island.

Breeding
The Greater Yellowlegs breeds in swampy, forested lands between 900 and 1,220 m elevation. Preferred habitats include open or sparsely treed, mixed forests with low and sparse undergrowth near sloughs, wet meadows, or bogs. Burned ridges and clearings within forests are also used. Nests are extremely difficult to find. Most nests are probably screened to some extent by vegetation or other debris. Sizes for 9 clutches ranged from 3 to 4 eggs.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Greater Yellowlegs

Greater Yellowlegs (Tringa melanoleuca)

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Greater Yellowlegs Bird Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Sonogram

Sonogram of Greater Yellowlegs Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Tape Number: M6.058(17c)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, Reflector, AKG Microphone
Length: 00:39
Location Description: 6:45 a.m, calm, still, sunny
Location Name: Cattle Point, Victoria, BC
General Remarks: Five in a cove between rocks left wet and muddy in the seaweed after a receding tide. I surprised them appearing over a rise and they flew over, calling. I left in the Kildeers - faint and at the end. Background: Gulls on nesting ground 1/4 mile off the Chain Islands, Kildeer
Date: 1964/08/17
Recorder: Grace Bell
Tape Number: M6.058(17c)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, Reflector, AKG Microphone
Length: 00:39
Location Description: 6:45 a.m, calm, still, sunny
Location Name: Cattle Point, Victoria, BC
General Remarks: Five in a cove between rocks left wet and muddy in the seaweed after a receding tide. I surprised them appearing over a rise and they flew over, calling. I left in the Kildeers - faint and at the end. Background: Gulls on nesting ground 1/4 mile off the Chain Islands, Kildeer
Date: 1964/08/17
Recorder: Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Become familiar with the appearance, song, ecology, and taxonomic groupings of Canadian shore bird species, with particular reference to British Columbia
  • understand the importance of field notes in ecology, and be aware of typical information found in such notes

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Habitat
Il se reproduit de l’Alaska vers l’est, dans presque tout le nord du Canada, sauf dans les îles de l’extrême Arctique, le long de la côte de la baie d’Hudson, et vers le sud jusqu’aux Maritimes, de même que très localement sur la côte de la Colombie-Britannique vers le sud jusqu’à Vancouver. Il passe l’hiver du centre de la Californie et de la Caroline du Sud jusqu’au sud de l’Amérique du Sud.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Oiseau migratoire de commun à localement abondant et visiteur d’été sur la côte. Oiseau migratoire de localement commun à très commun dans les terres intérieures; visiteur assez commun dans les montagnes du nord. Très rare sur la côte en hiver.

Reproduction
Le lieu de nidification change selon la situation géographique. Sur les îles de la Reine-Charlotte, la plupart des nids sont aménagés dans une rangée de billots de bois de grève semi-permanente déposée sur les dunes de sable bien au-dessus de la ligne de marée haute d’été. Les nids de plage sont aménagés dans des creux peu profonds pratiqu Pour en lire plus
Habitat
Il se reproduit de l’Alaska vers l’est, dans presque tout le nord du Canada, sauf dans les îles de l’extrême Arctique, le long de la côte de la baie d’Hudson, et vers le sud jusqu’aux Maritimes, de même que très localement sur la côte de la Colombie-Britannique vers le sud jusqu’à Vancouver. Il passe l’hiver du centre de la Californie et de la Caroline du Sud jusqu’au sud de l’Amérique du Sud.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Oiseau migratoire de commun à localement abondant et visiteur d’été sur la côte. Oiseau migratoire de localement commun à très commun dans les terres intérieures; visiteur assez commun dans les montagnes du nord. Très rare sur la côte en hiver.

Reproduction
Le lieu de nidification change selon la situation géographique. Sur les îles de la Reine-Charlotte, la plupart des nids sont aménagés dans une rangée de billots de bois de grève semi-permanente déposée sur les dunes de sable bien au-dessus de la ligne de marée haute d’été. Les nids de plage sont aménagés dans des creux peu profonds pratiqués dans le sable. L’intérieur des nids est recouvert de morceaux d’algues, d’herbes, de coquilles de palourdes ou de petites pierres. Dans le nord-ouest, les nids sont construits près de l’eau, sur les bords des lacs, sur des pentes comportant peu de végétation, sur des bords de rivière et dans des habitats fabriqués par l’homme tels que les abords de routes en gravier et des clairières. Dans ces habitats, les nids sont habituellement juxtaposés à un objet comme une pierre ou des végétaux, ou encore dans des endroits ouverts directement sur la terre fraîche, un tas de lichen ou une butte basse. Les couvées contiennent de 2 à 4 œufs, mais la plupart en contiennent quatre.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Pluvier semipalmé

Pluvier semipalmé (Charadrius semipalmatus)

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Chant du pluvier semipalmé

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Sonogramme

Sonogramme du chant du pluvier semipalmé

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Numéro de bande : M6.087(03a)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : 15 ips, microphone à 100 pieds de l’enregistreuse, 15-20 pieds de l’oiseau. Le micro était placé sur un morceau de bois sur le sol, face à l’oiseau.
Durée : Non disponible
Description du lieu : Chaud, légère brise
Nom du lieu : Albert Head Lagoon, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Un pluvier semipalmé unique, léthargique et fatigué a ramassé lentement quelque chose à manger dans un étang de la taille d’une mare d’eau, suffisamment près pour être observé et enregistré. Après avoir pris son bain et bu, il s’est lissé les plumes, a dormi, s’est réveillé et a chanté. Ses mouvements de tête semblaient s’accélérer pendant son bain, mais le rythme n’était pas synchronisé. Le bas de sa tête était beaucoup plus blanc après son bain.
Date : 1960/09/15
Technicienne : Grace Bell
Numéro de bande : M6.087(03a)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : 15 ips, microphone à 100 pieds de l’enregistreuse, 15-20 pieds de l’oiseau. Le micro était placé sur un morceau de bois sur le sol, face à l’oiseau.
Durée : Non disponible
Description du lieu : Chaud, légère brise
Nom du lieu : Albert Head Lagoon, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Un pluvier semipalmé unique, léthargique et fatigué a ramassé lentement quelque chose à manger dans un étang de la taille d’une mare d’eau, suffisamment près pour être observé et enregistré. Après avoir pris son bain et bu, il s’est lissé les plumes, a dormi, s’est réveillé et a chanté. Ses mouvements de tête semblaient s’accélérer pendant son bain, mais le rythme n’était pas synchronisé. Le bas de sa tête était beaucoup plus blanc après son bain.
Date : 1960/09/15
Technicienne : Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Habitat
Il se reproduit dans le sud de l’Alaska et au Canada, sur une bande qui s’étend de l’est du centre-sud de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu’au Labrador. Il passe l’hiver dans le sud des États-Unis jusqu’en Amérique du Sud, surtout, et aussi dans le nord de la côte du Pacifique, jusqu’au sud du détroit de Géorgie.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Oiseau migratoire de rare à très commun localement presque partout en province. Visiteur d’été rare dans le centre des terres intérieures. Visiteur d’hiver rare dans les basses-terres du Fraser; assez commun le long de la côte sud-est de l’île de Vancouver.

Reproduction
Le grand chevalier se reproduit dans des terres marécageuses et boisées à une altitude variant de 900 à 1 220 m. Il préfère les forêts mixtes ouvertes ou peu boisées où se trouvent des sous-bois bas et épars, près de terrains marécageux, de p Pour en lire plus
Habitat
Il se reproduit dans le sud de l’Alaska et au Canada, sur une bande qui s’étend de l’est du centre-sud de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu’au Labrador. Il passe l’hiver dans le sud des États-Unis jusqu’en Amérique du Sud, surtout, et aussi dans le nord de la côte du Pacifique, jusqu’au sud du détroit de Géorgie.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Oiseau migratoire de rare à très commun localement presque partout en province. Visiteur d’été rare dans le centre des terres intérieures. Visiteur d’hiver rare dans les basses-terres du Fraser; assez commun le long de la côte sud-est de l’île de Vancouver.

Reproduction
Le grand chevalier se reproduit dans des terres marécageuses et boisées à une altitude variant de 900 à 1 220 m. Il préfère les forêts mixtes ouvertes ou peu boisées où se trouvent des sous-bois bas et épars, près de terrains marécageux, de prés humides ou de tourbières. Il utilise aussi les arêtes et les clairières dans les forêts. Les nids sont extrêmement difficiles à trouver. La plupart des nids sont partiellement camouflés par de la végétation et d’autres débris. Les neuf couvées observées contenaient de 3 à 4 œufs.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Grand chevalier

Grand chevalier (Tringa melanoleuca)

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Chant du grand chevalier

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Sonogramme

Sonogramme du chant du grand chevalier

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Numéro de bande : M6.058(17c)
Observations au sujet de l'enregistrement : 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, réflecteur, microphone AKG
Durée : 00:39
Description du lieu : 6 h 45, calme, tranquille, ensoleillé
Nom du lieu : Cattle Point, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Cinq sujets dans une anse située entre des pierres et laissée humide et boueuse lorsque la marée s’est retirée. Je les ai surpris apparaissant dans le haut d’une colline et ils se sont approchés en vol et en chantant. Je les ai quittés dans les Kildeers, faibles et à bout. Bruits de fond : mouettes sur un nid à environ 0,25 mille des îles Chain, Kildeer.
Date : 1964/08/17
Technicienne : Grace Bell
Numéro de bande : M6.058(17c)
Observations au sujet de l'enregistrement : 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, réflecteur, microphone AKG
Durée : 00:39
Description du lieu : 6 h 45, calme, tranquille, ensoleillé
Nom du lieu : Cattle Point, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Cinq sujets dans une anse située entre des pierres et laissée humide et boueuse lorsque la marée s’est retirée. Je les ai surpris apparaissant dans le haut d’une colline et ils se sont approchés en vol et en chantant. Je les ai quittés dans les Kildeers, faibles et à bout. Bruits de fond : mouettes sur un nid à environ 0,25 mille des îles Chain, Kildeer.
Date : 1964/08/17
Technicienne : Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • se familiariser avec l’apparence, le chant, l’écologie et les groupements taxonomiques des espèces d’oiseaux du Canada, surtout ceux de la Colombie-Britannique;
  • comprendre l’importance des notes de terrain en écologie et connaître l’information que contient habituellement ce genre de notes.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons