Range
Bonaparte's Gull breeds from western and central Alaska east to James Bay and south to south-central British Columbia, central Alberta, Saskatchewan, and central Ontario. Nonbreeding birds occur in summer along the Pacific coast south to California, the Atlantic coast south to New England, and on the Great Lakes. Winters on the Pacific coast from southern British Columbia to Mexico and in the east from the Great Lakes south through the Mississippi River to the Gulf of Mexico and from New England to Greater Antilles.

Status in British Columbia
On the coast, very abundant spring and autumn migrant, rare to uncommon in summer. In winter, casual on the northern mainland coast and rare on the west coast of Vancouver Island; rare to very common, at times very abundant, in the southern Strait of Georgia and Juan de Fuca Strait. In the interior, common to abundant spring and autumn migrant; accidental in winter. Common summer visitant to the central and northern interior, where it is a widespread breeder.
The Bonaparte's Gull breeds in the vicinity of lakes, ponds, muskegs, and alpine marshes in coniferous woodland from Read More
Range
Bonaparte's Gull breeds from western and central Alaska east to James Bay and south to south-central British Columbia, central Alberta, Saskatchewan, and central Ontario. Nonbreeding birds occur in summer along the Pacific coast south to California, the Atlantic coast south to New England, and on the Great Lakes. Winters on the Pacific coast from southern British Columbia to Mexico and in the east from the Great Lakes south through the Mississippi River to the Gulf of Mexico and from New England to Greater Antilles.

Status in British Columbia
On the coast, very abundant spring and autumn migrant, rare to uncommon in summer. In winter, casual on the northern mainland coast and rare on the west coast of Vancouver Island; rare to very common, at times very abundant, in the southern Strait of Georgia and Juan de Fuca Strait. In the interior, common to abundant spring and autumn migrant; accidental in winter. Common summer visitant to the central and northern interior, where it is a widespread breeder.
The Bonaparte's Gull breeds in the vicinity of lakes, ponds, muskegs, and alpine marshes in coniferous woodland from 305 to 1,318 m elevation. It prefers small wooded islands for nesting. It nests singly or in loose colonies. The number of nesting birds in the province is not known. Nests were composed of small twigs, mosses, lichens, grasses, sedges, and other marsh vegetation. They were loose to compact structures. Clutch size ranged from 1 to 3 eggs with a majority having 3 eggs.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Bonaparte's Gull

Bonaparte's Gull (Larus Philadelphia)

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Bonoparte’s Gull Bird Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Sonogram

Sonogram of Bonoparte’s Gull Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Tape Number: M6.029(08c)
Recording Remarks: Nagra, 15 ips
Length: 01:55
Location Description: Early
Location Name: Offshore waterfront
General Remarks: Feeding in water and diving in air over beach for termites - flying termites. In nice plumage, many of them. Others without the black on head - only the dot behind the eye always there. Background: glaucous winged gull, roar of water and shoreline, oystercatchers, boats, ducks.
Date: 1961/08/18
Recorder: Grace Bell
Tape Number: M6.029(08c)
Recording Remarks: Nagra, 15 ips
Length: 01:55
Location Description: Early
Location Name: Offshore waterfront
General Remarks: Feeding in water and diving in air over beach for termites - flying termites. In nice plumage, many of them. Others without the black on head - only the dot behind the eye always there. Background: glaucous winged gull, roar of water and shoreline, oystercatchers, boats, ducks.
Date: 1961/08/18
Recorder: Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Range
Breeds from the southern Bering Sea and southern Alaska south along the Pacific coast to northwestern Washington; also on the Commander Islands. Winters throughout the breeding range south along the coast to southern Baja California; also on the Pacific coast of Asia south to Japan

Status in British Columbia
Along the coast, a very abundant spring and autumn migrant and very common to very abundant summer visitant. A very common to abundant winter visitant on the north coast, including the Queen Charlotte Islands; very abundant on the south coast including the Fraser Lowlands. In the central-southern interior, a very rare visitant; casual in northeastern British Columbia. Widespread breeder along the coast.

Breeding
The Glaucous-winged Gull breeds along inner and outer coastal waters from Race Rocks off southern Vancouver Island north to Zayas Island, including the Queen Charlotte Islands. It has also been found breeding on Fulmore Lake, a freshwater lake near Port Neville (Rodway In press). The Glaucous-winged Gull is primarily colonial but frequently nests singly. Preferred sites a Read More

Range
Breeds from the southern Bering Sea and southern Alaska south along the Pacific coast to northwestern Washington; also on the Commander Islands. Winters throughout the breeding range south along the coast to southern Baja California; also on the Pacific coast of Asia south to Japan

Status in British Columbia
Along the coast, a very abundant spring and autumn migrant and very common to very abundant summer visitant. A very common to abundant winter visitant on the north coast, including the Queen Charlotte Islands; very abundant on the south coast including the Fraser Lowlands. In the central-southern interior, a very rare visitant; casual in northeastern British Columbia. Widespread breeder along the coast.

Breeding
The Glaucous-winged Gull breeds along inner and outer coastal waters from Race Rocks off southern Vancouver Island north to Zayas Island, including the Queen Charlotte Islands. It has also been found breeding on Fulmore Lake, a freshwater lake near Port Neville (Rodway In press). The Glaucous-winged Gull is primarily colonial but frequently nests singly. Preferred sites are on small, offshore islands, less than 25 m high and ranging in size from 2 to 10 ha. Colony sites are usually treeless, often bare, or with large patches of grasses, herbs, or shrubs. During the past 2 decades an increasing and expanding Glaucous-winged Gull population has forced gulls to colonize new habitats, often near urban environments. During the past 50 years, the Glaucous-winged Gull population in British Columbia has increased about 3.5 times. The total breeding population in British Columbia, as of 1987, is estimated at 25,000 pairs.
The centre of the breeding population is situated in the vicinity of Vancouver Island where 56% of all colonies are located.
Clutch size ranged from 1 to 5 eggs, with a majority having 3 eggs.

Remarks
This species interbreeds with the Western Gull in Washington and British Columbia and with the Herring Gull in Alaska and British Columbia. This interbreeding creates a continuous gradation in primary feather pigmentation and abnormal plumages.


Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Tape Number: M6.030(17c)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, 40" Reflector
Length: 00:25
Location Description: not available
Location Name: Victoria, BC
General Remarks: Some high level calls and "comfy" sounds
Date: 1961/08--
Recorder: Grace Bell
Tape Number: M6.030(17c)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, 40" Reflector
Length: 00:25
Location Description: not available
Location Name: Victoria, BC
General Remarks: Some high level calls and "comfy" sounds
Date: 1961/08--
Recorder: Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Become familiar with the appearance, song, ecology, and taxonomic groupings of Canadian sea bird species, with particular reference to British Columbia
  • Understand the importance of field notes in ecology, and be aware of typical information found in such notes

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Habitat
La mouette de Bonaparte se reproduit de l’ouest et du centre de l’Alaska vers l’est jusqu’à la baie James, et au sud jusqu’au centre-sud de la Colombie-Britannique, le centre de l’Alberta, la Saskatchewan et le centre de l’Ontario. Des oiseaux non reproducteurs sont observés l’été sur la côte du Pacifique vers le sud jusqu’en Californie et sur la côte de l’Atlantique vers le sud jusqu’en Nouvelle-Angleterre, et sur les Grands Lacs. Elle passe l’hiver sur la côte du Pacifique, du sud de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu’au Mexique et, dans l’est, des Grands Lacs vers le sud jusqu’au golfe du Mexique en passant par le Mississipi, et de la Nouvelle-Angleterre jusqu’aux Antilles.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Oiseau migrateur très abondant sur la côte l’été et l’automne, de rare à non commun l’été. Occasionnel l’hiver sur le nord de la côte et rare sur la côte ouest de l’île de Pour en lire plus
Habitat
La mouette de Bonaparte se reproduit de l’ouest et du centre de l’Alaska vers l’est jusqu’à la baie James, et au sud jusqu’au centre-sud de la Colombie-Britannique, le centre de l’Alberta, la Saskatchewan et le centre de l’Ontario. Des oiseaux non reproducteurs sont observés l’été sur la côte du Pacifique vers le sud jusqu’en Californie et sur la côte de l’Atlantique vers le sud jusqu’en Nouvelle-Angleterre, et sur les Grands Lacs. Elle passe l’hiver sur la côte du Pacifique, du sud de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu’au Mexique et, dans l’est, des Grands Lacs vers le sud jusqu’au golfe du Mexique en passant par le Mississipi, et de la Nouvelle-Angleterre jusqu’aux Antilles.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Oiseau migrateur très abondant sur la côte l’été et l’automne, de rare à non commun l’été. Occasionnel l’hiver sur le nord de la côte et rare sur la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver; de rare à très commun, et parfois même très abondant, dans le sud du détroit de Géorgie et le détroit de Juan de Fuca. Dans les terres intérieures, de commun à abondant l’été et l’automne, et accidentel en hiver. Visiteur commun l’été dans le centre et le nord des terres intérieures, où il est un reproducteur répandu.

La mouette de Bonaparte se reproduit près des lacs, des étangs, des muskegs et des marais alpins des boisés de conifères à une altitude variant entre 305 et 1 318 m. Elle préfère faire son nid dans de petites îles boisées. Elle nidifie seule ou, lorsqu’elles sont peu nombreuses, en colonies. Le nombre d’oiseaux en nidification dans la province est inconnu. Les nids sont fabriqués de brindilles, de mousse, de lichen, d’herbes, de foin plat et d’autres végétaux des marais. Les nids sont de très lâches à compacts. Les couvées contiennent de 1 à 3 œufs, la plupart en contenant trois.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Mouette de Bonaparte

Mouette de Bonaparte (Larus Philadelphia)

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Chant de la mouette de Bonaparte

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Sonogramme

Sonogramme du chant de la mouette de Bonaparte

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Numéro de bande : M6.029(08c)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : Nagra, 15 ips
Durée : 01:55
Description du lieu : Tôt
Nom du lieu : Secteur riverain, au large
Remarques générales : Se nourrit dans l’eau et plonge depuis les airs pour chercher des termites – des termites volantes. Beau plumage et nombreux sujets. D’autres n’ont pas le noir sur la tête. Seul le point noir derrière l’œil est toujours présent. Bruits de fond : goéland à ailes grises, rugissement de l’eau de la rive, huîtriers, bateaux, canards.
Date : 1961/08/18
Technicienne : Grace Bell
Numéro de bande : M6.029(08c)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : Nagra, 15 ips
Durée : 01:55
Description du lieu : Tôt
Nom du lieu : Secteur riverain, au large
Remarques générales : Se nourrit dans l’eau et plonge depuis les airs pour chercher des termites – des termites volantes. Beau plumage et nombreux sujets. D’autres n’ont pas le noir sur la tête. Seul le point noir derrière l’œil est toujours présent. Bruits de fond : goéland à ailes grises, rugissement de l’eau de la rive, huîtriers, bateaux, canards.
Date : 1961/08/18
Technicienne : Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Habitat
Se reproduit du sud de la mer de Bering et du sud de l’Alaska le long de la côte du Pacifique vers le sud jusqu’au nord-ouest de l’État de Washington; aussi sur les îles Commander. Il passe l’hiver dans son habitat de reproduction et vers le sud jusqu’à la côte sud de la péninsule Baja California; aussi sur la côte du Pacifique en Asie vers le sud jusqu’au Japon.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Oiseau migratoire très abondant sur la côte le printemps et l’automne, et visiteur de très commun à très abondant l’été. Visiteur de très commun à abondant l’hiver sur la côte nord, y compris les îles de la Reine-Charlotte; très abondant sur la côte sud, y compris les basses-terres du Fraser. Visiteur très rare dans le centre-sud des terres intérieures; occasionnel dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. Reproducteur étendu le long de la côte.

Reproduction
Le go&e Pour en lire plus

Habitat
Se reproduit du sud de la mer de Bering et du sud de l’Alaska le long de la côte du Pacifique vers le sud jusqu’au nord-ouest de l’État de Washington; aussi sur les îles Commander. Il passe l’hiver dans son habitat de reproduction et vers le sud jusqu’à la côte sud de la péninsule Baja California; aussi sur la côte du Pacifique en Asie vers le sud jusqu’au Japon.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Oiseau migratoire très abondant sur la côte le printemps et l’automne, et visiteur de très commun à très abondant l’été. Visiteur de très commun à abondant l’hiver sur la côte nord, y compris les îles de la Reine-Charlotte; très abondant sur la côte sud, y compris les basses-terres du Fraser. Visiteur très rare dans le centre-sud des terres intérieures; occasionnel dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. Reproducteur étendu le long de la côte.

Reproduction
Le goéland à ailes grises se reproduit le long des eaux côtières intérieures et extérieures, de Race Rocks dans le sud de l’île de Vancouver vers le nord jusqu’à l’île Zayas, y compris les îles de la Reine-Charlotte. Il a aussi été observé en reproduction sur le lac Fulmore, un lac d’eau douce situé près de Port Neville (Rodway, sous presse). Le goéland à ailes grises se tient surtout en colonie, mais préfère souvent nidifier seul. Il préfère les petites îles au large de moins de 25 m d’altitude, et de 2 à 10 hectares. Les colonies nidifient habituellement dans des régions sans arbres et souvent désertes ou recouvertes de grandes parcelles d’herbes ou de buissons. Une population croissante et débordante de goélands à ailes grises a forcé les mouettes à coloniser de nouveaux habitats au cours des vingt dernières années, surtout près des environnements urbains. La population de goélands à ailes grises en reproduction en Colombie-Britannique a été évaluée à 25 000 couples en 1987.

Le cœur de la population reproductrice est situé dans la région de l’île de Vancouver, où se trouvent 56 p. 100 des colonies.

Les couvées contiennent de 1 à 5 œufs, la majorité en contenant trois.

Remarques
Cette espèce se croise avec le goéland d’Audubon de l’État de Washington et de la Colombie-Britannique et avec le goéland argenté de l’Alaska et de la Colombie-Britannique. Ces croisements créent une gradation continue de la pigmentation des plumes primaires et des plumages normaux.


Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Numéro de bande : M6.030(17c)
Observations au sujet de l'enregistrement : 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, réflecteur de 40 po
Durée : 00:25
Description du lieu : Non disponible
Nom du lieu : Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Quelques chants aigus et des sons réconfortants
Date : 1961/08--
Technicienne : Grace Bell
Numéro de bande : M6.030(17c)
Observations au sujet de l'enregistrement : 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, réflecteur de 40 po
Durée : 00:25
Description du lieu : Non disponible
Nom du lieu : Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Quelques chants aigus et des sons réconfortants
Date : 1961/08--
Technicienne : Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • se familiariser avec l’apparence, le chant, l’écologie et les groupements taxonomiques des espèces d’oiseaux du Canada, surtout ceux de la Colombie-Britannique;
  • comprendre l’importance des notes de terrain en écologie et connaître l’information que contient habituellement ce genre de notes.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons