Range
Northwestern Crow is resident along the Pacific coast from south-coastal and southeastern Alaska south through British Columbia west of the Coast Mountains and Cascade Mountains, to northwestern Washington, including the Queen Charlotte Islands, Vancouver Island, and all other coastal islands.

Status in British Columbia
Fairly common to common summer resident along the coast. Throughout the rest of the year a common to very common resident in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince, including the Sunshine Coast, Gulf Islands, and southeastern Vancouver Island; fairly common to common resident on Western Vancouver Island, the Southern and Northern Mainland Coast, and the Queen Charlotte Islands, in the Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince. Locally abundant to very abundant from late summer through early spring in the vicinity of nocturnal roosts, particularly in the Georgia Depression.

Breeding
The Northwestern Crow has a widespread breeding distribution along the British Columbia coast from southern Vancouver Island north to at least the Queen Charlotte Islands and Portland Inlet. Its eastw Read More

Range
Northwestern Crow is resident along the Pacific coast from south-coastal and southeastern Alaska south through British Columbia west of the Coast Mountains and Cascade Mountains, to northwestern Washington, including the Queen Charlotte Islands, Vancouver Island, and all other coastal islands.

Status in British Columbia
Fairly common to common summer resident along the coast. Throughout the rest of the year a common to very common resident in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince, including the Sunshine Coast, Gulf Islands, and southeastern Vancouver Island; fairly common to common resident on Western Vancouver Island, the Southern and Northern Mainland Coast, and the Queen Charlotte Islands, in the Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince. Locally abundant to very abundant from late summer through early spring in the vicinity of nocturnal roosts, particularly in the Georgia Depression.

Breeding
The Northwestern Crow has a widespread breeding distribution along the British Columbia coast from southern Vancouver Island north to at least the Queen Charlotte Islands and Portland Inlet. Its eastward breeding distribution is imperfectly known but reaches at least to Chilliwack in the Georgia Depression and to Kitimat on the Northern Mainland Coast. Most birds nest within a few kilometres of the sea.
In selecting its nesting territory, the Northwestern Crow tends to avoid extensive areas of dense forest far removed from the ocean. Nesting habitat includes the hundreds of small rocky islets scattered along the coast. Many of these support nesting colonies of marine birds and feature a lush vegetation of fortes, bulbous plants, grasses, stunted crab apple, elderberry, salmonberry, snowberry, spirea, Pacific ninebark and even a few wind-wracked conifers. On these islands and islets, the Northwestern Crow frequently nests in low shrubs or on the ground.
The bulky nests were composed primarily of twigs, sticks, and small branches. Nests were lined mainly with bark strips, followed by grasses, moss, feathers, fine rootless, plant fibres and sometimes hair or human-made items such as paper, rope, fiberglass insulation and mattress filling. Sizes of clutches ranged from 1 to 6 eggs, with a majority having 4 or 5 eggs.

Remarks
The Northwestern Crow is a major predator and scavenger on coastal seabird colonies. On Mandarte Island, for example, it is a major predator upon the eggs of cormorants, the Glaucous-winged Gull and the Pigeon Guillemot.


Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Northwestern Crow

Northwestern Crow (Corvus caurinus)

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Northwestern Crow Bird Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Sonogram

Sonogram of Northwestern Crow Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Tape Number: M6.010(04b)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips,Originally recorded on Magnecorder, 40" Reflector
Length: 02:42
Location Description: Residential home with water in the vicinity. Early morning
Location Name: Gordon Head; Victoria, BC
General Remarks: Some song is distinctive and typical of the species, and shows where his song is different. This cut is very mixed up with dubbing from Magnecorder to Nagra and Brenell to Nagra
Date: 1962/02/18
Recorder: Grace Bell
Tape Number: M6.010(04b)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips,Originally recorded on Magnecorder, 40" Reflector
Length: 02:42
Location Description: Residential home with water in the vicinity. Early morning
Location Name: Gordon Head; Victoria, BC
General Remarks: Some song is distinctive and typical of the species, and shows where his song is different. This cut is very mixed up with dubbing from Magnecorder to Nagra and Brenell to Nagra
Date: 1962/02/18
Recorder: Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Range
Resident from southeastern Alaska, northwestern and central British Columbia, southwestern Alberta, western Montana, Wyoming, western Colorado, and New Mexico south to southern California, Arizona, southwestern Texas, and the Middle American highlands to Nicaragua.

Status in British Columbia
On the coast, uncommon to locally fairly common resident, including Vancouver Island and the Queen Charlotte Islands.
In the interior, uncommon to locally fairly common resident across the Southern Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces; rare to fairly common in the Cariboo and Chilcotin areas of the Central Interior Ecoprovince; rare to uncommon in the Sub-Boreal Interior Ecoprovince; very rare in the Peace Lowland of the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince and in the Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince. Absent from the Taiga Plains Ecoprovince. Locally, common to very common during irruptive movements in autumn and winter, across the southern portions of the province.

Breeding
The known nesting distribution of the Steller’s Jay is concentrated along the southern regions of th Read More
Range
Resident from southeastern Alaska, northwestern and central British Columbia, southwestern Alberta, western Montana, Wyoming, western Colorado, and New Mexico south to southern California, Arizona, southwestern Texas, and the Middle American highlands to Nicaragua.

Status in British Columbia
On the coast, uncommon to locally fairly common resident, including Vancouver Island and the Queen Charlotte Islands.
In the interior, uncommon to locally fairly common resident across the Southern Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces; rare to fairly common in the Cariboo and Chilcotin areas of the Central Interior Ecoprovince; rare to uncommon in the Sub-Boreal Interior Ecoprovince; very rare in the Peace Lowland of the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince and in the Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince. Absent from the Taiga Plains Ecoprovince. Locally, common to very common during irruptive movements in autumn and winter, across the southern portions of the province.

Breeding
The known nesting distribution of the Steller’s Jay is concentrated along the southern regions of the province from the International Boundary north to about latitude 51 °30’N, although it likely breeds throughout most of its range in the province. The Steller’s Jay reaches its highest numbers in summer in the Georgia Depression and on Western Vancouver Island.
Most nests were found in human influenced coniferous, mixed forest, or woodland habitat. Forest types included Interior Douglas-fir, Interior Western Hemlock/Redcedar, and Subalpine Fir/ White Spruce. The base of the nests consisted of coarse twigs or branches, with dry grass present in 35% of nests, and leaves, moss, string, plant stems, and other materials in lower frequency. Several nests had a mud cup; the most frequent lining material of the deep cup consisted of fine rootlets, sometimes with fine grass, moss, and paper. Sizes of 28 clutches ranged from 3 to 5 eggs with most having 4 eggs.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Steller’s Jay

Steller’s Jay (Cyanocitta stelleri)

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Steller’s Jay Bird Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Sonogram

Sonogram Steller’s Jay Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Tape Number: M6.045(16e)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, AKG Microphone, 40" Parabolic Reflector, 75-125 ft. from subject
Length: 01:35
Location Description: 5:30-6:30 a.m., some snow, icy morning, dull, still. Garden Location Name: 742 St. Patrick St., Victoria, BC
General Remarks: Some nice "growls" in here (after 22 seconds), and a funny "old grandfather" one at end - slower and lower. Background: House Sparrow, Golden-crowned Sparrow, House Finch, Gull, children
Date: 1968/04/12
Recorder: Grace Bell
Tape Number: M6.045(16e)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, AKG Microphone, 40" Parabolic Reflector, 75-125 ft. from subject
Length: 01:35
Location Description: 5:30-6:30 a.m., some snow, icy morning, dull, still. Garden Location Name: 742 St. Patrick St., Victoria, BC
General Remarks: Some nice "growls" in here (after 22 seconds), and a funny "old grandfather" one at end - slower and lower. Background: House Sparrow, Golden-crowned Sparrow, House Finch, Gull, children
Date: 1968/04/12
Recorder: Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:  

  • Become familiar with the appearance, song, ecology, and taxonomic groupings of Canadian songbird species, with particular reference to British Columbia
  • Understand the importance of field notes in ecology, and be aware of typical information found in such notes

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Habitat
La corneille d’Alaska est un résident de la côte du Pacifique, depuis le sud de la côte et le sud-est de l’Alaska jusqu’en Colombie-Britannique vers le sud, à l’ouest de la chaîne côtière et des montagnes Cascades, et au nord-ouest de l’État de Washington, y compris les îles de la Reine-Charlotte, l’île de Vancouver et toutes les autres îles côtières.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Cet oiseau est un résident d’été d’assez commun à commun le long de la côte. Résident commun à très commun tout le reste de l’année dans l’écoprovince Georgia Depression, dont la Sunshine Coast, les îles Gulf et le sud-est de l’île de Vancouver; résident assez commun à commun sur l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver, le sud et le nord du continent et les îles de la Reine-Charlotte, dans l’écoprovince de la côte et des montagnes. Abondant à très abondant localement de la fin de l’été jusqu’au début du printemps aux alentours des aires de repos nocturnes, surtout dans la Georgia Depression.

Reproduction
La corneil Pour en lire plus
Habitat
La corneille d’Alaska est un résident de la côte du Pacifique, depuis le sud de la côte et le sud-est de l’Alaska jusqu’en Colombie-Britannique vers le sud, à l’ouest de la chaîne côtière et des montagnes Cascades, et au nord-ouest de l’État de Washington, y compris les îles de la Reine-Charlotte, l’île de Vancouver et toutes les autres îles côtières.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Cet oiseau est un résident d’été d’assez commun à commun le long de la côte. Résident commun à très commun tout le reste de l’année dans l’écoprovince Georgia Depression, dont la Sunshine Coast, les îles Gulf et le sud-est de l’île de Vancouver; résident assez commun à commun sur l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver, le sud et le nord du continent et les îles de la Reine-Charlotte, dans l’écoprovince de la côte et des montagnes. Abondant à très abondant localement de la fin de l’été jusqu’au début du printemps aux alentours des aires de repos nocturnes, surtout dans la Georgia Depression.

Reproduction
La corneille d’Alaska se reproduit sur un grand territoire le long de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, depuis le sud de l’île de Vancouver vers le nord jusqu’à au moins les îles de la Reine-Charlotte et l’anse Portland. Les habitudes de reproduction de la corneille d’Alaska sont peu connues vers l’est, mais elle se reproduit au moins jusqu’à Chilliwack et la Georgia Depression et jusqu’à Kitimat dans le nord de la côte. La plupart des oiseaux nidifient à quelques kilomètres de la mer.

Dans son choix de territoire de nidification, la corneille d’Alaska tend à éviter les grandes forêts denses situées loin de l’océan. Elle fait son nid dans les centaines de petits ruisseaux rocailleux éparpillés le long de la côte. Plusieurs de ces ruisseaux accueillent des colonies d’oiseaux marins en nidification et offrent une végétation abondante composée de buissons, de plantes bulbeuses, d’herbes, de pommetiers nains, de sureaux, de ronces élégantes, de symphorines rivicoles, de spirées, de bois à sept écorces et même de quelques conifères exposés au vent. La corneille d’Alaska fait souvent son nid dans des buissons de faible hauteur ou sur le sol de ces habitats situés sur les îles et les îlots du nord-ouest.

Les nids volumineux sont surtout fabriqués de brindilles, de bouts de bois et de petites branches. L’intérieur du nid est recouvert de bandes d’écorce, ensuite d’herbes, de mousse, de plumes, de racines fines, de fibres de plantes et parfois de cheveux ou de matières fabriquées par l’homme telles que du papier, de la corde, de l’isolant en fibre de verre et de la bourre à matelas. Les couvées contiennent de 1 à 6 œufs, la majorité en contenant de 4 à 5.

Remarques
La corneille d’Alaska est un important prédateur et charognard de colonies d’oiseaux marins. À titre d’exemple, sur l’île Mandarte, elle est un grand prédateur d’œufs de cormoran, de goéland à ailes grises et de guillemot colombin.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Corneille d’Alaska

Corneille d’Alaska (Corvus caurinus)

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Chant de la corneille d’Alaska

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Sonogramme

Sonogramme du chant de la corneille d’Alaska

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Numéro de bande : M6.010(04b)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : 15 ips, enregistré à l’origine sur le Magnecorder, réflecteur de 40 po
Durée : 02:42
Description du lieu : Maison résidentielle près de l’eau. Tôt le matin.
Nom du lieu : Chemin Gordon Head, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Certains chants sont distinctifs et typiques de l’espèce, et révèlent les différences entre les chants. Cet enregistrement est mêlé de postsynchronisation du Magnecorder à Nagra et de Brenelle à Nagra.
Date : 1962/02/18
Technicienne : Grace Bell
Numéro de bande : M6.010(04b)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : 15 ips, enregistré à l’origine sur le Magnecorder, réflecteur de 40 po
Durée : 02:42
Description du lieu : Maison résidentielle près de l’eau. Tôt le matin.
Nom du lieu : Chemin Gordon Head, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Certains chants sont distinctifs et typiques de l’espèce, et révèlent les différences entre les chants. Cet enregistrement est mêlé de postsynchronisation du Magnecorder à Nagra et de Brenelle à Nagra.
Date : 1962/02/18
Technicienne : Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Habitat
Résident du sud-est de l’Alaska, du nord-ouest et du centre de la Colombie-Britannique, du sud-ouest de l’Alberta, de l’ouest du Montana, du Wyoming, de l’ouest du Colorado et du Nouveau-Mexique, vers le sud jusqu’en Californie, en Arizona, le sud-ouest du Texas et les terres-hautes du centre de l’Amérique jusqu’au Nicaragua.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Sur la côte : de rare à assez commun, incluant sur l’île de Vancouver et dans les îles de la Reine-Charlotte. 

À l’intérieur : de rare à assez commun dans le sud et les écoprovinces du sud de l’intérieur, de rare à assez commun dans les régions de Cariboo et Chilcotin de l’écoprovince du centre-intérieur, de rare à assez rare dans l’écoprovince subboréale intérieure; très rare dans les terres basses Peace de l’écoprovince des plaines boréales et dans le nord de l’écoprovince des montagnes boréales. Absent dans l’écoprovince des plaines de la taïga. De commun à très commun localement pendant les périodes intrusives de l’automne et de l’hiver, d Pour en lire plus
Habitat
Résident du sud-est de l’Alaska, du nord-ouest et du centre de la Colombie-Britannique, du sud-ouest de l’Alberta, de l’ouest du Montana, du Wyoming, de l’ouest du Colorado et du Nouveau-Mexique, vers le sud jusqu’en Californie, en Arizona, le sud-ouest du Texas et les terres-hautes du centre de l’Amérique jusqu’au Nicaragua.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Sur la côte : de rare à assez commun, incluant sur l’île de Vancouver et dans les îles de la Reine-Charlotte. 

À l’intérieur : de rare à assez commun dans le sud et les écoprovinces du sud de l’intérieur, de rare à assez commun dans les régions de Cariboo et Chilcotin de l’écoprovince du centre-intérieur, de rare à assez rare dans l’écoprovince subboréale intérieure; très rare dans les terres basses Peace de l’écoprovince des plaines boréales et dans le nord de l’écoprovince des montagnes boréales. Absent dans l’écoprovince des plaines de la taïga. De commun à très commun localement pendant les périodes intrusives de l’automne et de l’hiver, dans les régions du sud de la province.

Reproduction
Lors de la nidification, le geai de Stellar se retrouve surtout le long de régions du sud de la province, depuis la frontière internationale nord jusqu’à une latitude d’environ 51°30’N, bien qu’il se reproduise vraisemblablement dans l’ensemble de son habitat à l’échelle de la province. Le geai de Stellar se retrouve de façon plus abondante en été dans la Georgia Depression et dans l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver.

La plupart des nids ont été observés dans les forêts de conifères, les forêts mixtes ou des habitats boisés parcourus par l’homme. Les forêts étaient surtout composées de Douglas taxifoliés, de pruches occidentales/genévriers de Virginie et de sapins subalpins/épinettes blanches. La base des nids est fabriquée de brindilles ou de branches grossières et d’herbes dans une proportion de 35 p. 100, ainsi que, moins fréquemment, de feuilles, de cordes, de tiges de plantes et d’autres matières. Plusieurs nids comportent une cuvette en boue; le creux de la cuvette de la plupart des nids est recouvert de fines radicelles, parfois d’herbes fines, de mousse et de papier. Les 28 nids observés contenaient de 3 à 5 œufs, la plupart en contenant quatre.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Geai de Stellar

Geai de Stellar (Cyanocitta stelleri)

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Chant du geai de Stellar

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Sonogramme

Sonogramme du chant du geai de Stellar

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Numéro de bande : M6.045(16e)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, microphone AKG, réflecteur parabolique de 40 po, de 75 à 125 pieds du sujet.
Durée : 01:35
Description du lieu : 5 h 30 – 6 h 30, un peu de neige, matin glacial, terne et tranquille. Jardin.
Nom du lieu : 742, rue St-Patrick, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Certains « grognements » intéressants ici (après 22 secondes) et un « grand-père » rigolo à une des extrémités, plus lent et plus grave. Bruits de fond : moineau domestique, bruant à couronne dorée, roselin familier, mouette, enfants.
Date : 1968/04/12
Technicienne : Grace Bell
Numéro de bande : M6.045(16e)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, microphone AKG, réflecteur parabolique de 40 po, de 75 à 125 pieds du sujet.
Durée : 01:35
Description du lieu : 5 h 30 – 6 h 30, un peu de neige, matin glacial, terne et tranquille. Jardin.
Nom du lieu : 742, rue St-Patrick, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Certains « grognements » intéressants ici (après 22 secondes) et un « grand-père » rigolo à une des extrémités, plus lent et plus grave. Bruits de fond : moineau domestique, bruant à couronne dorée, roselin familier, mouette, enfants.
Date : 1968/04/12
Technicienne : Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • se familiariser avec l’apparence, le chant, l’écologie et les groupements taxonomiques des espèces d’oiseaux du Canada, surtout ceux de la Colombie-Britannique;
  • comprendre l’importance des notes de terrain en écologie et connaître l’information que contient habituellement ce genre de notes.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons