Range
Black-capped Chickadee is resident from western and central Alaska, southern Yukon, and southern Mackenzie across forested regions of the continent to Newfoundland, south to northwestern California, northeastern Nevada, central Utah, northern New Mexico, northern Kansas, and central Ohio; and south through the Appalachian Mountains to North Carolina and Tennessee.

Status in British Columbia
On the coast, a common resident in the Fraser Lowland of the Georgia Depression; very rare on the Sunshine Coast. Fairly common in the southern Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince, becoming rare on the central and northern mainland of that ecoprovince. Absent from Vancouver Island, the Queen Charlotte Islands, and the Gulf Islands.
In the interior, a common resident in the southern half of the province, including the Southern Interior, Southern Interior Mountains, and Central Interior ecoprovinces; fairly common in the Sub-Boreal Interior, Northern Boreal Mountains, and Boreal Plains ecoprovinces; uncommon in the Taiga Plains Ecoprovince.

Breeding
The Black-capped Chickadee has a widespread bree Read More

Range
Black-capped Chickadee is resident from western and central Alaska, southern Yukon, and southern Mackenzie across forested regions of the continent to Newfoundland, south to northwestern California, northeastern Nevada, central Utah, northern New Mexico, northern Kansas, and central Ohio; and south through the Appalachian Mountains to North Carolina and Tennessee.

Status in British Columbia
On the coast, a common resident in the Fraser Lowland of the Georgia Depression; very rare on the Sunshine Coast. Fairly common in the southern Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince, becoming rare on the central and northern mainland of that ecoprovince. Absent from Vancouver Island, the Queen Charlotte Islands, and the Gulf Islands.
In the interior, a common resident in the southern half of the province, including the Southern Interior, Southern Interior Mountains, and Central Interior ecoprovinces; fairly common in the Sub-Boreal Interior, Northern Boreal Mountains, and Boreal Plains ecoprovinces; uncommon in the Taiga Plains Ecoprovince.

Breeding
The Black-capped Chickadee has a widespread breeding distribution in interior British Columbia. It breeds commonly in the Thompson, Okanagan, and Similkameen river valleys, in the western Columbia River valley north to Revelstoke, in the Rocky Mountain Trench and adjacent valleys north to Brisco and Mount Robson, and into the Central Interior. Breeding populations are less frequently encountered further north.The Black-capped Chickadee is a primary cavity excavator, but will occasionally use old woodpecker or sapsucker cavities for nesting. Nest cavities were most frequently excavated in dead tree trunks, dead or diseased branches, and rotten stumps. Deciduous trees were used 8 times as often as conifers, and dead trees were preferred over living trees. The most frequently used tree species were birches in the interior and red alder on the coast. The Black-capped Chickadee readily used nest boxes placed on trees, poles, fence posts, and buildings. Nests are cups composed mainly of mosses, animal hair, grasses, feathers, bark strips, and human-made materials. Sizes of 105 clutches ranged from 1 to 9 eggs, with a majority having 5 to 7 eggs.

Remarks
Many people are amazed at how the tiny chickadees can survive the severe winters of interior regions. The Blackcapped Chickadee adjusts to colder temperatures by roosting in cavities and by dropping its nighttime temperature as much as 10° to 12°C below its daytime temperature in a regulated hypothermia, thus conserving energy


Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Black-capped Chickadee

This young Black-capped Chickadee fledged from its nest box 16 days after hatching (west of Princeton, 7 June 1994; R. Wayne Campbell).

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Black-capped Chickadee Bird Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Sonogram

Sonogram Black-capped Chickadee Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Tape Number: M6.009(10b)
Recording Remarks: not available
Length: 01:31
Location Description: Hills
Location Name: Off Fairview Rd near Oliver, BC
General Remarks: A sudden influx into Ponderosa up the hillside in the dried needle-soft area so tidy looking beneath the trees. The stark rocks outctropping here. Background: Pileated Woodpecker (sounds like), Ruby Crowned Kinglet
Date: 1965/05/09
Recorder: Grace Bell
Tape Number: M6.009(10b)
Recording Remarks: not available
Length: 01:31
Location Description: Hills
Location Name: Off Fairview Rd near Oliver, BC
General Remarks: A sudden influx into Ponderosa up the hillside in the dried needle-soft area so tidy looking beneath the trees. The stark rocks outctropping here. Background: Pileated Woodpecker (sounds like), Ruby Crowned Kinglet
Date: 1965/05/09
Recorder: Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Range
Ruby-crowned Kinglet breeds from northwestern and north-central Alaska, central Yukon, northwestern and southern Mackenzie across the Prairie provinces east to Labrador and Newfoundland; south along the cordillera to southern California and across the north-central United States. Winters from southern British Columbia, Idaho, and southern Ontario south through forested mountains as far as Guatemala and Baja California.

On the coast, uncommon to locally very common during spring migration, uncommon in summer, and uncommon to common in winter in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince; uncommon migrant and summer visitant on Western Vancouver Island, in the southern and northern Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince; rare in winter in the southern Coast and Mountains; casual in winter on Western Vancouver Island and in the northern Coast and Mountains; very rare in spring and summer and casual in autumn on the Queen Charlotte Islands.

In the interior, fairly common to very common migrant and summer visitant to the Southern Interior, Southern Interior Mountains, Central Interior, and Sub-Boreal Interior ecoprovinces, becoming uncommon in the Read More

Range
Ruby-crowned Kinglet breeds from northwestern and north-central Alaska, central Yukon, northwestern and southern Mackenzie across the Prairie provinces east to Labrador and Newfoundland; south along the cordillera to southern California and across the north-central United States. Winters from southern British Columbia, Idaho, and southern Ontario south through forested mountains as far as Guatemala and Baja California.

On the coast, uncommon to locally very common during spring migration, uncommon in summer, and uncommon to common in winter in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince; uncommon migrant and summer visitant on Western Vancouver Island, in the southern and northern Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince; rare in winter in the southern Coast and Mountains; casual in winter on Western Vancouver Island and in the northern Coast and Mountains; very rare in spring and summer and casual in autumn on the Queen Charlotte Islands.

In the interior, fairly common to very common migrant and summer visitant to the Southern Interior, Southern Interior Mountains, Central Interior, and Sub-Boreal Interior ecoprovinces, becoming uncommon in the Boreal Plains, Taiga Plains, and Northern Boreal Mountains ecoprovinces. In winter, very rare in the Southern Interior and Southern Interior Mountains.

Breeding
The breeding distribution of the Ruby-crowned Kinglet is not well known, but the species probably breeds throughout its summer range in the province. The highest numbers in summer occur in the Central Interior and Sub-Boreal Interior ecoprovinces. It nests in both old-growth and advanced second-growth forests. Nests were nearly spherical, pendent structures composed primarily of mosses and plant fibres, with lichens, plant down, grass, feathers, and bark strips. Occasionally twigs, rootless, and fur were used. Most nests have been found in coniferous trees. Sizes of clutches ranged from 1 to 9 eggs, with a majority having 4 to 7 eggs.


Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Ruby-crowned Kinglet (Regulus calendula)

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Ruby-crowned Kinglet Bird Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Sonogram

Sonogram Ruby-crowned Kinglet Bird Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Tape Number: M6.129(50o)
Recording Remarks: 7.5 ips
Length: 01:00
Location Description: not available
Location Name: not available
General Remarks: Bird Evening at the Museum: Tape of 20 Species
Date: 1968/04/25
Recorder: Grace Bell
Tape Number: M6.129(50o)
Recording Remarks: 7.5 ips
Length: 01:00
Location Description: not available
Location Name: not available
General Remarks: Bird Evening at the Museum: Tape of 20 Species
Date: 1968/04/25
Recorder: Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Become familiar with the appearance, song, ecology, and taxonomic groupings of Canadian songbird species, with particular reference to British Columbia
  • Understand the importance of field notes in ecology, and be aware of typical information found in such notes

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Habitat
La mésange à tête noire est un résident de l’ouest jusqu’au centre de l’Alaska, du sud du Yukon, et du sud du Mackenzie, traversant les régions forestières du continent, jusqu’à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador vers le sud, jusqu’au nord-ouest de la Californie, le nord-est du Nevada, le centre de l’Utah, le nord du Nouveau-Mexique, le nord du Kansas et le centre de l’Ohio; et vers le sud, traversant les Appalaches jusqu’en Caroline du Nord et au Tennessee.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Sur la côte : résident assez commun sur les basses-terres du Fraser et de la Georgia Depression, très rare sur la Sunshine Coast. Assez commun sur le sud de la côte et dans l’écoprovince des montagnes, se raréfie dans le centre, au nord de la partie continentale de cette écoprovince. Absent sur l’île de Vancouver, les îles de la Reine-Charlotte et les îles Gulf. 

À l’intérieur : résident commun de la moitié sud de la province, y compris le sud de la partie continentale, les montagnes du sud de l’intérieur, et les écoprovinces du centre de l’inté Pour en lire plus
Habitat
La mésange à tête noire est un résident de l’ouest jusqu’au centre de l’Alaska, du sud du Yukon, et du sud du Mackenzie, traversant les régions forestières du continent, jusqu’à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador vers le sud, jusqu’au nord-ouest de la Californie, le nord-est du Nevada, le centre de l’Utah, le nord du Nouveau-Mexique, le nord du Kansas et le centre de l’Ohio; et vers le sud, traversant les Appalaches jusqu’en Caroline du Nord et au Tennessee.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Sur la côte : résident assez commun sur les basses-terres du Fraser et de la Georgia Depression, très rare sur la Sunshine Coast. Assez commun sur le sud de la côte et dans l’écoprovince des montagnes, se raréfie dans le centre, au nord de la partie continentale de cette écoprovince. Absent sur l’île de Vancouver, les îles de la Reine-Charlotte et les îles Gulf. 

À l’intérieur : résident commun de la moitié sud de la province, y compris le sud de la partie continentale, les montagnes du sud de l’intérieur, et les écoprovinces du centre de l’intérieur; assez commun dans la région subboréale intérieure, le nord des montagnes boréales et les écoprovinces des plaines boréales, non commun dans l’écoprovince de la taïga des plaines.

Reproduction
La mésange à tête noire se reproduit sur un vaste territoire à l’intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle se reproduit surtout dans les vallées de la Thompson, de l’Okanagan et de la Similkameen, dans l’ouest de la vallée de la Columbia vers le nord jusqu’à Revelstoke, dans la vallée des Rocheuses et dans les vallées adjacentes vers le nord jusqu’à Brisco et au Mount-Robson, et vers la région centrale intérieure. Les populations en reproduction sont plus rares vers le nord. La mésange à tête noire creuse habituellement ses propres nids, mais peut construire son nid dans des anciennes cavités creusées par des pics et des pics buveurs de sève. La plupart des cavités ont été creusées dans des troncs d’arbres morts, des branches mortes ou malades et des souches pourries. Les arbres à feuilles caduques ont été utilisés 8 fois plus souvent que les conifères et les arbres morts étaient préférés aux arbres vivants. L’espèce la plus couramment utilisée a été le bouleau, dans l’intérieur de la province, et l’aulne rouge sur la côte. La mésange à tête noire utilise volontiers les boîtes à nidification placées sur les arbres, les poteaux, les poteaux de clôture et les édifices. Les nids sont des cuvettes fabriquées de mousse, de poils d’animaux, d’herbes, de plumes, de bandes d’écorce et de matières fabriquées par l’homme. Les 105 nids observés contenaient de 1 à 9 œufs, la majorité en contenant de 5 à 7.

Remarques
La plupart des gens sont étonnés que de si petits oisillons puissent survivre dans les conditions hivernales rigoureuses des régions intérieures. La mésange à tête noire s’adapte aux températures plus froides en se reposant dans des cavités et en abaissant sa température nocturne de 10 ou 12°C sous sa température diurne dans un état d’hypothermie contrôlée, ce qui lui permet de conserver de l’énergie.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Mésange à tête noire

Mésange à tête noire (Poecile atricapillus)

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Chant de la mésange à tête noire

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Sonogramme

Sonogramme du chant de la mésange à tête noire

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Numéro de bande : M6.009(10b)
Observations au sujet de l'enregistrement : Non disponible
Durée : 01:31
Description du lieu : Collines
Nom du lieu : Près du chemin Fairview, près d’Oliver (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Entrée soudaine dans les pins ponderosa sur la colline, dans un secteur recouvert de douces aiguilles bien disposées sous les arbres. Des rochers dénudés parsèment le secteur. Bruits de fond : grand pic (à l’oreille), roitelet à couronne rubis.
Date : 1965/05/09
Technicienne : Grace Bell
Numéro de bande : M6.009(10b)
Observations au sujet de l'enregistrement : Non disponible
Durée : 01:31
Description du lieu : Collines
Nom du lieu : Près du chemin Fairview, près d’Oliver (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Entrée soudaine dans les pins ponderosa sur la colline, dans un secteur recouvert de douces aiguilles bien disposées sous les arbres. Des rochers dénudés parsèment le secteur. Bruits de fond : grand pic (à l’oreille), roitelet à couronne rubis.
Date : 1965/05/09
Technicienne : Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Habitat
Le roitelet à couronne rubis se reproduit à partir du nord-ouest et du centre-nord de l’Alaska, du centre du Yukon, du nord-ouest et du sud du Mackenzie, jusque dans les Prairies; vers l’est, jusqu’à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador; vers le sud, le long de la cordillère jusqu’au sud de la Californie, et dans le centre-nord des États-Unis. Il passe l’hiver au sud de la Colombie-Britannique, en Idaho et dans le sud de l’Ontario, dans les montagnes boisées, jusqu’au Guatemala et dans la péninsule de Baja California.

Sur la côte : de rare à très commun au cours de la migration printanière. Rare en été et de rare à commun en hiver dans l’écoprovince Georgia Depression; oiseau migratoire et visiteur d’été rare à l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver et au sud et au nord de la côte et de l’écoprovince des montagnes; rare en hiver au sud de la côte et dans les montagnes; occasionnel en hiver dans l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver et dans le nord de la côte et des montagnes; très rare au printemps et en été, et occasionnel en automne sur les îles de la Reine-Charlotte.

Pour en lire plus

Habitat
Le roitelet à couronne rubis se reproduit à partir du nord-ouest et du centre-nord de l’Alaska, du centre du Yukon, du nord-ouest et du sud du Mackenzie, jusque dans les Prairies; vers l’est, jusqu’à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador; vers le sud, le long de la cordillère jusqu’au sud de la Californie, et dans le centre-nord des États-Unis. Il passe l’hiver au sud de la Colombie-Britannique, en Idaho et dans le sud de l’Ontario, dans les montagnes boisées, jusqu’au Guatemala et dans la péninsule de Baja California.

Sur la côte : de rare à très commun au cours de la migration printanière. Rare en été et de rare à commun en hiver dans l’écoprovince Georgia Depression; oiseau migratoire et visiteur d’été rare à l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver et au sud et au nord de la côte et de l’écoprovince des montagnes; rare en hiver au sud de la côte et dans les montagnes; occasionnel en hiver dans l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver et dans le nord de la côte et des montagnes; très rare au printemps et en été, et occasionnel en automne sur les îles de la Reine-Charlotte.

À l’intérieur : oiseau migratoire et visiteur d’été assez commun à très commun dans le sud de l’intérieur, le sud des montagnes intérieures, la partie centrale de l’intérieur et les écoprovinces subboréales intérieures; en voie de devenir rare dans les plaines boréales, la taïga des plaines et les écoprovinces boréales du nord. En hiver, très rare dans le sud de l’intérieur et le sud des montagnes de l’intérieur.

Reproduction
La répartition du roitelet à couronne rubis lors de la reproduction est méconnue, mais l’espèce se reproduit vraisemblablement dans son habitat estival dans la province. L’espèce est observée en grand nombre l’été dans le centre de l’intérieur et les écoprovinces subboréales intérieures. Il fait son nid dans de vieilles forêts et des forêts de deuxième venue avancées. Le nid, presque sphérique et suspendu, est fabriqué surtout de mousse et de fibres végétales, de lichen, de duvet de plantes, d’herbes, de plumes et de bandes d’écorce. Des brindilles, des radicelles et de la fourrure sont utilisées à l’occasion. La plupart des nids ont été trouvés dans des conifères. La couvée comprend de 1 à 9 œufs; plus souvent de 4 à 7.


Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Roitelet à couronne rubis

Roitelet à couronne rubis (Regulus calendula)

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Chant du roitelet à couronne rubis

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Sonogramme

Sonogramme du chant du roitelet à couronne rubis

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Numéro de bande : M6.129(50o)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : 7.5 ips
Durée : 01:00
Description du lieu : Non disponible
Nom du lieu : Non disponible
Remarques générales : Soirée sur les oiseaux au musée : enregistrement de 20 espèces
Date : 1968/04/25
Technicienne : Grace Bell
Numéro de bande : M6.129(50o)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : 7.5 ips
Durée : 01:00
Description du lieu : Non disponible
Nom du lieu : Non disponible
Remarques générales : Soirée sur les oiseaux au musée : enregistrement de 20 espèces
Date : 1968/04/25
Technicienne : Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • se familiariser avec l’apparence, le chant, l’écologie et les groupements taxonomiques des espèces d’oiseaux du Canada, surtout ceux de la Colombie-Britannique;
  • comprendre l’importance des notes de terrain en écologie et connaître l’information que contient habituellement ce genre de notes.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons