Range
Gray Catbird breeds from the southern mainland of British Columbia, the southern half of the Canadian Prairie provinces, southern Ontario, southwestern Quebec, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Nova Scotia south through Washington, eastern Oregon, Utah, and eastern Texas, east to the Atlantic coast. Winters mainly on the coastal fringe of the Gulf coast and eastern Mexico, south to Panama and the Caribbean islands.

Status in British Columbia
On the coast, rare to uncommon migrant and summer visitant locally to the lower Fraser River valley, Squamish River valley, Pemberton valley, and Bella Coola River valley; casual elsewhere on the coast.
In the interior, an uncommon migrant and summer visitant to the Southern Interior, Southern Interior Mountains, and Central Interior ecoprovinces, except locally fairly common in the Okanagan valley and in the vicinity of Williams Lake; further north, a casual summer visitant in the SubBoreal Interior and the Boreal Plains ecoprovinces; casual in winter in the Southern Interior, accidental in the Southern Interior Mountains.

Breeding Read More

Range
Gray Catbird breeds from the southern mainland of British Columbia, the southern half of the Canadian Prairie provinces, southern Ontario, southwestern Quebec, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, and Nova Scotia south through Washington, eastern Oregon, Utah, and eastern Texas, east to the Atlantic coast. Winters mainly on the coastal fringe of the Gulf coast and eastern Mexico, south to Panama and the Caribbean islands.

Status in British Columbia
On the coast, rare to uncommon migrant and summer visitant locally to the lower Fraser River valley, Squamish River valley, Pemberton valley, and Bella Coola River valley; casual elsewhere on the coast.
In the interior, an uncommon migrant and summer visitant to the Southern Interior, Southern Interior Mountains, and Central Interior ecoprovinces, except locally fairly common in the Okanagan valley and in the vicinity of Williams Lake; further north, a casual summer visitant in the SubBoreal Interior and the Boreal Plains ecoprovinces; casual in winter in the Southern Interior, accidental in the Southern Interior Mountains.

Breeding
The species reaches its highest numbers in summer in the Okanagan valley of the Southern Interior. General habitats for reported nests were natural shrub thickets and human-influenced habitats, mainly gardens, orchards, vineyards, hedgerows, and uncultivated land associated with farms. In the Okanagan valley, natural sites are frequently in moist draws and riparian areas. Populations are small and local throughout British Columbia, with pairs widely scattered in suitable habitat. Nests are usually built in dense tangles of vegetation. The nest is a bulky assemblage of coarse material. The nest cup is lined with fine grass, plant fibres, and other soft items. Some pairs, in the Okanagan valley at least, are double-brooded. It is not known what proportion of second clutches followed the loss of a first clutch rather than a successful first brood. Sizes of 122 clutches ranged from 1 to 6 eggs, with most having 4 or 5 eggs.

Remarks
The Gray Catbird was formerly known as Catbird. It has been reported that the Gray Catbird destroyed a variety of eggs of other species placed near the nest.


Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Tape Number: M6.007(05a)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, 40" Parabolic Reflector, AKG Microphone; 50 ft. away, maybe less; not enough song
Length: 1:15
Location Description: Swamp bed
Location Name: Island Road Swamp, Okanagan, BC
General Remarks: Morning - to late. Several Catbirds in the swamp bed. Background, chat, traffic, bee, parabolic reflector
Date: 1966/06/11
Recorder: Grace Bell
Tape Number: M6.007(05a)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, 40" Parabolic Reflector, AKG Microphone; 50 ft. away, maybe less; not enough song
Length: 1:15
Location Description: Swamp bed
Location Name: Island Road Swamp, Okanagan, BC
General Remarks: Morning - to late. Several Catbirds in the swamp bed. Background, chat, traffic, bee, parabolic reflector
Date: 1966/06/11
Recorder: Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Range
Breeds from western and northern Alaska, northern Yukon, and northwestern and western Mackenzie south to northern California and east through Oregon, Washington, and Idaho into northwestern Montana. Winters along the coast from southern Alaska and British Columbia south as far as Baja California.

Status in British Columbia
On the coast, resident as well as fairly common to locally common migrant and summer visitant to the Georgia Depression and Coast and Mountains ecoprovinces, including Western Vancouver Island and the Queen Charlotte Islands; fairly common to locally very common in the Georgia Depression during the winter and fairly common winter visitant elsewhere.
In the interior, fairly common to locally common migrant and summer visitant in the Southern Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces; uncommon to locally fairly common winter visitant there; uncommon to locally fairly common migrant and summer visitant to the Central Interior Ecoprovince; rare to uncommon there in winter; rare to uncommon migrant and summer visitant to the Sub-Boreal Interior, Boreal Plains, Taiga Plains, and Northern Read More

Range
Breeds from western and northern Alaska, northern Yukon, and northwestern and western Mackenzie south to northern California and east through Oregon, Washington, and Idaho into northwestern Montana. Winters along the coast from southern Alaska and British Columbia south as far as Baja California.

Status in British Columbia
On the coast, resident as well as fairly common to locally common migrant and summer visitant to the Georgia Depression and Coast and Mountains ecoprovinces, including Western Vancouver Island and the Queen Charlotte Islands; fairly common to locally very common in the Georgia Depression during the winter and fairly common winter visitant elsewhere.
In the interior, fairly common to locally common migrant and summer visitant in the Southern Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces; uncommon to locally fairly common winter visitant there; uncommon to locally fairly common migrant and summer visitant to the Central Interior Ecoprovince; rare to uncommon there in winter; rare to uncommon migrant and summer visitant to the Sub-Boreal Interior, Boreal Plains, Taiga Plains, and Northern Boreal Mountains ecoprovinces, where it may be rare or absent in winter.

Breeding
The Varied Thrush has a widespread nesting distribution throughout southern portions of the province, from the west coast of Vancouver Island east to the Rocky Mountains and north, in the interior at higher elevations, to the latitude of Quesnel (53°N). Further north, nesting reports are scattered and sparse. Most habitats in which nesting occurred were forested, including coniferous forest, mixed forest, and deciduous forest. Most nests were in trees, including coniferous and deciduous trees, followed by shrubs or vines. Nests in trees and shrubs were placed on branches, typically close to the trunk or near the top of the nest tree. The nest is a bulky cup of grass, moss, and rootlets, on a base of twigs. It is usually lined with fine grass, although leaves and shredded redcedar bark are also frequent components. Sizes of clutches ranged from 1 to 5 eggs, with a majority having 3 eggs.DA6 image Varied Thrush Ixoreus naevius


Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Varied Thrush

Varied Thrush

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Bird Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Sonogram

Sonogram of Varied Thrush Song

The Royal British Columbia Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.


Tape Number: M6.047(08a)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, AKG Microphone, 20" Hand held Parabolic Reflector
Length: 03:04
Location Description: 6:30-7:30 a.m. Garden. Trilliums out. Heavy frost. No wind, temperature 35 degrees F.
Location Name: 742 St. Patrick St., Victoria, BC
General Remarks: He puts his head back with bill pointed skyward. He was mostly in an apple tree 6 ft. from the ground. Beautiful plumage. Fox sparrows below him. Several in garden all the bad weather of winter. They like the apples. Background: Gulls, Bewick’s Wren, Fox Sparrow, traffic.
Date: 1960/03/23
Recorder: Grace Bell
Tape Number: M6.047(08a)
Recording Remarks: 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, AKG Microphone, 20" Hand held Parabolic Reflector
Length: 03:04
Location Description: 6:30-7:30 a.m. Garden. Trilliums out. Heavy frost. No wind, temperature 35 degrees F.
Location Name: 742 St. Patrick St., Victoria, BC
General Remarks: He puts his head back with bill pointed skyward. He was mostly in an apple tree 6 ft. from the ground. Beautiful plumage. Fox sparrows below him. Several in garden all the bad weather of winter. They like the apples. Background: Gulls, Bewick’s Wren, Fox Sparrow, traffic.
Date: 1960/03/23
Recorder: Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). All rights reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Become familiar with the appearance, song, ecology, and taxonomic groupings of Canadian songbird species, with particular reference to British Columbia
  • Understand the importance of field notes in ecology, and be aware of typical information found in such notes

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Habitat
Le moqueur chat se reproduit à partir du sud de la partie continentale de la Colombie-Britannique, de la moitié sud des provinces des Prairies, du sud de l’Ontario, du sud-ouest du Québec, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l’île-du-Prince-Édouard et de la Nouvelle-Écosse, jusqu’à l’État de Washington, l’est de l’Oregon, l’Utah et l’est du Texas; vers l’est, jusqu’à la côte de l’Atlantique. Il passe l’hiver surtout sur la frange côtière du golfe du Mexique et dans l’est du Mexique, vers le sud, jusqu’au Panama et les îles des Caraïbes.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Sur la côte : oiseau migratoire et visiteur estival rare dans le bas de la vallée du Fraser, la vallée de la Squamish, la vallée Pemberton et la vallée de la Bella Coola; occasionnel ailleurs sur la côte.

À l’intérieur : oiseau migrateur et visiteur d’été rare dans le sud de l’intérieur, les montagnes du sud de l’intérieur et les écoprovinces du centre de l’intérieur. Cependant, il est assez commun dans la vallée de l’Okanagan et Pour en lire plus
Habitat
Le moqueur chat se reproduit à partir du sud de la partie continentale de la Colombie-Britannique, de la moitié sud des provinces des Prairies, du sud de l’Ontario, du sud-ouest du Québec, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l’île-du-Prince-Édouard et de la Nouvelle-Écosse, jusqu’à l’État de Washington, l’est de l’Oregon, l’Utah et l’est du Texas; vers l’est, jusqu’à la côte de l’Atlantique. Il passe l’hiver surtout sur la frange côtière du golfe du Mexique et dans l’est du Mexique, vers le sud, jusqu’au Panama et les îles des Caraïbes.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Sur la côte : oiseau migratoire et visiteur estival rare dans le bas de la vallée du Fraser, la vallée de la Squamish, la vallée Pemberton et la vallée de la Bella Coola; occasionnel ailleurs sur la côte.

À l’intérieur : oiseau migrateur et visiteur d’été rare dans le sud de l’intérieur, les montagnes du sud de l’intérieur et les écoprovinces du centre de l’intérieur. Cependant, il est assez commun dans la vallée de l’Okanagan et dans les environs du lac Williams; plus au nord, visiteur d’été occasionnel dans l’intérieur subboréal et les écoprovinces des plaines boréales; occasionnel en hiver dans le sud de l’intérieur; accidentel dans les montagnes du sud de l’intérieur.

Reproduction
En été, l’espèce est plus nombreuse dans la vallée de l’Okanagan du sud de l’intérieur. Des nids ont été trouvés dans des buissons naturels et des habitats aménagés par l’homme, principalement des jardins, des vergers, des vignobles, des haies et des terres agricoles non cultivées. Dans la vallée de l’Okanagan, les sites naturels se retrouvent dans les endroits humides et les zones riveraines. Les populations sont petites et locales à l’échelle de la Colombie-Britannique; les couples sont largement éparpillés dans les habitats appropriés. Les nids sont habituellement constitués d’un enchevêtrement de matières végétales grossières. La cuvette du nid est recouverte d’herbes fines, de fibres végétales et d’autres matières douces. Certains couples, du moins dans la vallée de l’Okanagan, produisent deux nichées. On ne connaît pas le pourcentage de secondes nichées qui ont suivi une première nichée perdue. Les 122 nids observés contenaient de 1 à 6 œufs; plus souvent de 4 à 5.

Remarques
On dit que le moqueur chat a détruit plusieurs œufs d’autres espèces placés près de son nid.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Numéro de bande : M6.007(05a)
Observations au sujet de l'enregistrement : 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, réflecteur parabolique de 40 po, microphone AKG, 50 pi de distance, peut-être moins, chants insuffisants.
Durée : 1:15
Description du lieu : Marécages
Nom du lieu : Marais du chemin Island, Okanagan (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Du matin jusqu’à tard. Plusieurs moqueurs chats dans le marécage. Bruits de fond : chat, circulation automobile, abeille, réflecteur parabolique.
Date : 1966/06/11
Technicienne : Grace Bell
Numéro de bande : M6.007(05a)
Observations au sujet de l'enregistrement : 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, réflecteur parabolique de 40 po, microphone AKG, 50 pi de distance, peut-être moins, chants insuffisants.
Durée : 1:15
Description du lieu : Marécages
Nom du lieu : Marais du chemin Island, Okanagan (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Du matin jusqu’à tard. Plusieurs moqueurs chats dans le marécage. Bruits de fond : chat, circulation automobile, abeille, réflecteur parabolique.
Date : 1966/06/11
Technicienne : Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Habitat
Se reproduit de l’ouest et du nord de l’Alaska, du nord du Yukon et du nord-ouest et de l’ouest du Mackenzie vers le sud, jusqu’au nord de la Californie, et vers l’est, de l’Oregon, de l’État de Washington et de l’Idaho jusqu’au nord-ouest du Montana. Elle passe l’hiver sur la côte, du sud de l’Alaska et de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu’à la péninsule Baja California.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Sur la côte : résident, oiseau migratoire et visiteur estival assez commun dans la Georgia Depression, sur la côte et dans les écoprovinces des montagnes, dont l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver et les îles de la Reine-Charlotte; assez commun à très commun localement dans la Georgia Depression pendant l’hiver et visiteur hivernal assez commun ailleurs.

À l’intérieur : oiseau migratoire et visiteur estival assez commun à localement commun dans le sud de l’intérieur et les écoprovinces des montagnes du sud de l’intérieur; visiteur hivernal rare à assez commun à ces endroits; oiseau migrateur et visiteur es Pour en lire plus
Habitat
Se reproduit de l’ouest et du nord de l’Alaska, du nord du Yukon et du nord-ouest et de l’ouest du Mackenzie vers le sud, jusqu’au nord de la Californie, et vers l’est, de l’Oregon, de l’État de Washington et de l’Idaho jusqu’au nord-ouest du Montana. Elle passe l’hiver sur la côte, du sud de l’Alaska et de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu’à la péninsule Baja California.

Répartition en Colombie-Britannique
Sur la côte : résident, oiseau migratoire et visiteur estival assez commun dans la Georgia Depression, sur la côte et dans les écoprovinces des montagnes, dont l’ouest de l’île de Vancouver et les îles de la Reine-Charlotte; assez commun à très commun localement dans la Georgia Depression pendant l’hiver et visiteur hivernal assez commun ailleurs.

À l’intérieur : oiseau migratoire et visiteur estival assez commun à localement commun dans le sud de l’intérieur et les écoprovinces des montagnes du sud de l’intérieur; visiteur hivernal rare à assez commun à ces endroits; oiseau migrateur et visiteur estival rare à assez commun localement dans l’écoprovince du centre de l’intérieur; rare à cet endroit en hiver; oiseau migratoire et visiteur d’été rare dans l’intérieur subboréal, la taïga des plaines et les écoprovinces du nord des montagnes boréales, où il peut être rare ou absent en hiver.

Reproduction
La grive à collier se reproduit sur un vaste territoire dans les parties sud de la province, de la côte ouest de l’île de Vancover vers l’est, jusqu’aux Rocheuses; vers le nord, dans les hautes altitudes de l’intérieur, jusqu’à la latitude de Quesnel (53°N). Plus au nord, les rapports font état d’une nidification plus rare et dispersée. La plupart des habitats de nidification se situent dans les forêts, notamment des forêts de conifères, des forêts mixtes et des forêts à feuilles caduques. La plupart des nids sont aménagés dans des arbres, notamment des conifères, des arbres à feuilles caduques, des buissons et des vignes. Les nids situés dans les arbres et les buissons se trouvent sur les branches, habituellement près du tronc ou en haut de l’arbre. Le nid est une cuvette grossière d’herbe, de mousse et de radicelles sur une base de brindilles. L’intérieur est habituellement recouvert d’herbes fines, et aussi de feuilles et  d’écorce de cèdre rouge déchiquetée. Les couvées varient de 1 à 5 œufs, le plus souvent 3.

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Grive à collier

Grive à collier

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Chant

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Sonogramme

Sonogramme du chant de la grive à collier

Le Royal British Columbia Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.


Numéro de bande : M6.047(08a)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, microphone AKG, réflecteur parabolique manuel de 20 po
Durée : 03:04
Description du lieu : 6 h 30 – 7 h 30. Jardin. Les trilles sont en fleurs. Beaucoup de frimas. Pas de vent, environ 35°F.
Nom du lieu : 742, rue St-Patrick, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Il penche la tête vers l’arrière, le bec vers le ciel. Il se tient dans un pommier, à 6 pieds du sol. Plumage superbe. Il y a un bruant fauve sous lui. Il y en a plusieurs dans le jardin. Mauvais temps typique de l’hiver. Ils aiment les pommes. Bruits de fond : mouettes, thyromanes, bruants fauves, circulation automobile.
Date : 1960/03/23
Technicienne : Grace Bell
Numéro de bande : M6.047(08a)
Observations au sujet de l’enregistrement : 15 ips, Nagra IIIB, microphone AKG, réflecteur parabolique manuel de 20 po
Durée : 03:04
Description du lieu : 6 h 30 – 7 h 30. Jardin. Les trilles sont en fleurs. Beaucoup de frimas. Pas de vent, environ 35°F.
Nom du lieu : 742, rue St-Patrick, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)
Remarques générales : Il penche la tête vers l’arrière, le bec vers le ciel. Il se tient dans un pommier, à 6 pieds du sol. Plumage superbe. Il y a un bruant fauve sous lui. Il y en a plusieurs dans le jardin. Mauvais temps typique de l’hiver. Ils aiment les pommes. Bruits de fond : mouettes, thyromanes, bruants fauves, circulation automobile.
Date : 1960/03/23
Technicienne : Grace Bell

Copyright © 2003, Royal British Columbia Museum Corporation (RBCM). Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant :

  • se familiarisera avec l’apparence, le chant, l’écologie et les groupements taxonomiques des espèces d’oiseaux du Canada, surtout ceux de la Colombie-Britannique;
  • comprendra l’importance des notes de terrain en écologie et connaîtra l’information que contient habituellement ce genre de notes.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons