Haida stories tell of how the first people emerged from a gigantic clamshell on the beach of Rose Spit. They got out with the help of Raven, the most powerful creature from myth time. Raven was wandering on the beach, when he heard some noise coming from a clamshell. He looked more closely and saw that it was full of little human creatures. They clearly looked terrified by Raven and the great big world outside the shell.

"So the Raven leaned his great head close to the shell, and with the smooth trickster's tongue, that had got him out of so many misadventures, in his troubled and troublesome existence, he coaxed and cajoled and coerced the little creatures to come out and play in his wonderful, shiny, new world."

- Bill Reid, qadasgu qligawaay clan.
Haida stories tell of how the first people emerged from a gigantic clamshell on the beach of Rose Spit. They got out with the help of Raven, the most powerful creature from myth time. Raven was wandering on the beach, when he heard some noise coming from a clamshell. He looked more closely and saw that it was full of little human creatures. They clearly looked terrified by Raven and the great big world outside the shell.

"So the Raven leaned his great head close to the shell, and with the smooth trickster's tongue, that had got him out of so many misadventures, in his troubled and troublesome existence, he coaxed and cajoled and coerced the little creatures to come out and play in his wonderful, shiny, new world."

- Bill Reid, qadasgu qligawaay clan.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Sculpture

The Raven and the First Men; sculpture in yellow cedar by Bill Reid (Detail of Raven's head).

Photo: Museum of Anthropology (University of British Columbia)

Nb1.481
© Museum of Anthropology (University of British Columbia)


Sculpture

The Raven and the First Men; sculpture in yellow cedar by Bill Reid.

Bill Reid
Museum of Anthropology (University of British Columbia)

© Museum of Anthropology (University of British Columbia)


Stamp

Bill Reid Stamp

U.B.C. Museum of Anthroplogy

© U.B.C. Museum of Anthroplogy


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Relate the Haida origins story
  • Relate the elements of the Haida origin story to the elements of Bill Reid’s sculpture, The Raven and the First Men
  • Develop aesthetic appreciation for a three dimensional work of art

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Selon les légendes haïdas, les premiers humains sont sortis d'un gigantesque coquillage échoué sur la plage de la pointe Rose. Ils sont venus au monde grâce au Corbeau, créature la plus puissante des temps mythiques. Le Corbeau se promenait sur la plage lorsqu'il entendit du bruit qui provenait d'un coquillage entrouvert. S'approchant, il vit que le coquillage était plein de petites créatures humaines. Les petits êtres semblaient terrifiés par le Corbeau et par le vaste monde qui s'étendait aux alentours.

« Alors le Corbeau approcha sa large tête du coquillage, et de cette langue habile qui lui avait valu tant d'aventures et tant de mésaventures au long de sa vie de filou, réussit, par la ruse, la force et la cajolerie, à persuader les petits êtres de sortir jouer dans son monde tout neuf, si gai et si brillant. »

- Bill Reid, clan qadasgu qligawaay.
Selon les légendes haïdas, les premiers humains sont sortis d'un gigantesque coquillage échoué sur la plage de la pointe Rose. Ils sont venus au monde grâce au Corbeau, créature la plus puissante des temps mythiques. Le Corbeau se promenait sur la plage lorsqu'il entendit du bruit qui provenait d'un coquillage entrouvert. S'approchant, il vit que le coquillage était plein de petites créatures humaines. Les petits êtres semblaient terrifiés par le Corbeau et par le vaste monde qui s'étendait aux alentours.

« Alors le Corbeau approcha sa large tête du coquillage, et de cette langue habile qui lui avait valu tant d'aventures et tant de mésaventures au long de sa vie de filou, réussit, par la ruse, la force et la cajolerie, à persuader les petits êtres de sortir jouer dans son monde tout neuf, si gai et si brillant. »

- Bill Reid, clan qadasgu qligawaay.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Sculpture

Le Corbeau et les premiers humains, sculpture de cèdre jaune, œuvre de Bill Reid (détail de la tête du Corbeau).

Photo : Musée d'anthropologie de l'Université de Colombie-Britannique

Nb1.481
© Musée d'anthropologie de l'Université de Colombie-Britannique


Sculpture

Le Corbeau et les premiers humains, sculpture de cèdre jaune, œuvre de Bill Reid.

Bill Reid
Musée d'anthropologie de l'Université de Colombie-Britannique

© Musée d'anthropologie de l'Université de Colombie-Britannique


Timbre

Timbre Bill Reid

Musée d'anthropologie de l'Université de Colombie-Britannique

© Musée d'anthropologie de l'Université de Colombie-Britannique


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • raconter l’histoire des origines des Haïdas ;
  • lier les éléments de cette histoire à ceux de la sculpture de Bill Reid, le Corbeau et les premiers humains ;
  • développer une appréciation esthétique d’une œuvre d’art en trois dimensions.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons