Christine Davis, Tlön (2003)

Read the transcript

All facts

Photo Album

(4 photos)

Slide projector on screen of Morpho butterflies Installation view of the exhibition Slide of cosmos Slide of human figure

Interviews

Christine Davis Video

In the following video clip, Christine Davis discusses viewers' perceptions of Tlön (2003) as well as the importance of Tlön's equipment.

Artist's Biography

Christine Davis was born in 1962 in Vancouver, British Columbia, and now lives in Toronto, Ontario. In 1984, she completed her Bachelor of Fine Arts degree at York University (Toronto), where she also studied dance and mathematics.

Davis' installations combine various media, such as photography, slides, and natural materials (for example, butterflies, flowers and feathers). Often inspired by literary works, she is interested in systems of knowledge and scientific naturalism. Her artistic practice explores the manner in which art and dance can articulate thoughts and emotions in ways that cannot be expressed in words.

Davis' artwork has been exhibited across Canada, including the Presentation House Gallery (Vancouver), the Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography (Ottawa), the Power Plant (Toronto), the Mois de la Photo (Montreal), and the Biennale de Montréal. Davis is also the co-founder of the international and multidisciplinary magazine Public.

Top of Page

Christine Davis Video

In the following video clip, Christine Davis discusses her interests and her development as an artist.

Artwork

Davis' Tlön or how I held in my hands a vast methodical fragment of an unknown planet's entire history is a slide installation. Two slide projectors simultaneously project cross-dissolving images of cosmic phenomena (with the exception of one image of a human figure) onto a screen composed of butterflies. These images come from cameras using advanced x-ray and gamma-ray technologies capable of capturing images of nebulae, quasars, and supernovas. Davis covered the screen with black velvet and affixed hundreds of blue Morpho butterflies to its surface in a grid-like fashion. Each butterfly is unique, however when assembled, the butterflies seem to form a whole.

Davis' inspiration for Tlön is based on a short story by Argentinian author Jorge Luis Borges entitled Tlön, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius (1940). The story recounts the discovery of the planet Tlön that was invented by a secret society in Europe during the Enlightenment. Presented as non-fiction, Borges describes the culture, languages, and history of the planet.

Davis wrote the first half of the artwork's title, "How I held in my hands," in reference to capturing a butterfly in one's hands—a virtually impossible task. The second half of the title, "a vast methodical fragment of an unknown planet's entire history," is a quote from the Borges story.

Top of Page

Slide projector on screen of Morpho butterflies

Christine Davis
Tlön or how I held in my hands a vast methodical fragment of an unknown planet's entire history
2003
Slide projector on screen of Morpho butterflies
143.5 x 216 x 7 cm (frame)
The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
Purchase, The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts' Volunteer Association Fund
Photo MMFA, Christine Guest

Behind the scenes

In this section, we will unveil details about the butterflies that Davis uses in Tlön as well as installation specifications and the computer programming used in the artwork.

Equipment and Conception

Tlön includes the following materials:

  • 2 slide projectors (KODAK EKTAPRO);
  • Flash memory cards with cross-dissolve program;
  • Dissolve control unit;
  • Cabinet in which the slide projectors are placed;
  • Blue Morpho butterfly screen;
  • 23 slides of cosmic phenomena and 1 slide of a human figure;

In one second of film, 24 frames occur. Davis is interested in what happens between frames in a film. By showcasing these 24 slides, Tlön demonstrates the abundance of possibilities that can transpire within this second.

Butterflies

Morpho butterflies come from tropical forests in Mexico and South America. Davis orders the specimens that she uses in Tlön over the Internet. The butterflies are injected with hot water in order to be manipulated. Instead of mounting the butterflies with their wings spread unnaturally as butterfly collectors do, Davis prefers to mount them with their wings open only three-quarters, as if they were about to fly off the screen.

Scientific mystery surrounds the essence of the Morpho butterfly's blue tint. The butterflies are not pigmented blue, but rather have iridescent scales that refract light. The cosmic images projected onto the screen are difficult to discern, because the light from the projections becomes blurred when reflected off the glittering butterfly wings. Tlön is exhibited in a dark room, and the projections are the installation's only light source. This light source thus reveals the butterflies' refracted blue colour.

Installation

Davis created Tlön for a specific exhibition space at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MMFA), which set the standard for many subsequent exhibitions. Tlön is exhibited on its own in a small, dark room. Viewers enter the room from the single entrance and immediately face Tlön's screen. As their eyes adjust to the darkness, viewers become aware of Tlön's elements, such as the projectors and the screen's details. A bench is also placed in the room, inviting visitors to sit and contemplate the artwork. The projectors are placed in a waist-high cabinet to limit the excess light emitted from the top of the projectors.

Computer Programming

Tlön functions using specific slide projectors controlled by a computer program. Saved onto a flash memory card (which is then inserted into a dissolve control unit connected to the slide projectors), a cross-dissolve computer program controls the timing as well as the luminosity and dissolve movements of the images. Davis has yet to find another technology that can regulate the luminosity and dissolve movements in this way.

Top of Page

Slide of cosmos

Christine Davis
Tlön or how I held in my hands a vast methodical fragment of an unknown planet's entire history, 2003
Slide of cosmos,
Photo MMFA, Christine Guest

Installation view of the exhibition

Christine Davis
Installation view of the exhibition
Tlön or how I held in my hands a vast methodical fragment of an unknown planet's entire history, 2003
High Points: Selection from the Collection of Contemporary Canadian Art
The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
June 9 – October 3, 2004
Photo MMFA, Christine Guest

Conservation challenges

The conservation of Davis's Tlön is complex due to the delicate nature of the butterfly screen and the use of technologies threatened by obsolescence.

Butterfly Screen

The screen on which the cosmic images are projected is covered with 256 Morpho butterflies pinned to a black velvet sheet. Butterflies too damaged to be considered specimens (for example, a noticeable tear in the wing) must be replaced. The MMFA has a limited number of spare butterflies for this purpose.

To ensure long-term conservation, the fragile butterflies require special attention. Davis and Richard Gagnier, Head of the Conservation Department at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MMFA), are in the process of discussing a chemical technique to better restore and conserve the butterflies. As an interim solution, scotch tape is used on occasion. Davis has also given the butterfly supplier's contact information to the MMFA should more butterflies have to be purchased.

Projectors and Slides

Davis has specified the exact slide projector model for Tlön's exhibition – the KODAK EKTAPRO. This model is the only type of analog slide projector able to run Davis' cross-dissolve computer program. The MMFA currently owns two of these rare and expensive projectors and is looking to purchase two more as future replacements. Slide projectors are an aging technology that many companies have ceased to manufacture. As these projectors begin to break down, it will become increasingly difficult to repair or replace them.

Davis agrees that digital copies of the slides would be a useful long-term conservation strategy in order to multiply the slides' sources of storage. However, should the slide projectors cease to function, she would not use the digital copies in the artwork itself. Analog has a greater range in light than digital, and Davis does not believe that a video projector presenting a DVD of the digital copies of her slides would be able to capture the subtleties of the cross-dissolve computer program. Slides are projected photographs with light shining through them, while video is made up of pixels.

To Davis, the slide projectors and cross-dissolve program are integral parts of the artwork. These components are as important as the butterfly screen and projected images. Davis sees the projectors and the screen working together as a unit or a machine. If the slide projectors were replaced by digital technology, Davis considers that the result would simply be a spectacle of what once was.

Davis has stated that the screen and the sound of the slide projectors also suggest breathing: "The screen is something that breathes. That's the paradoxical thing for me: I'm using these fixed, still images, but by the process of animating them, it's like you're breathing life. And I think that the sound of the projector […] is like breathing. The sound is very important. If you convert to DVD, do you convert the sound? Well, that's just like putting a respiratory on – artificial breathing!"

Documentation

In the case that the slide projectors fail, Davis prefers that the artwork cease to function rather than updating Tlön's equipment. Davis has recommended that the MMFA use 35 mm film transferred to high definition to document the manner in which Tlön functions. Tlön will then only remain in the form of documentation – just like a performance piece.

Top of Page

Slide of human figure

Christine Davis
Tlön or how I held in my hands a vast methodical fragment of an unknown planet's entire history
2003
Slide of human figure
Photo MMFA, Christine Guest

Slide of human figure projected onto screen

Christine Davis
Tlön or how I held in my hands a vast methodical fragment of an unknown planet's entire history
2003
Slide of human figure projected onto screen
Photo MMFA, Christine Guest

Christine Davis Video

In the following video clip, Christine Davis discusses viewers' perceptions of Tlön (2003) as well as the importance of Tlön's equipment.

Christine Davis, Tlön (2003)

Lire la transcription

Tout savoir

Album photos

(4 photos)

Projection de diapositives sur un écran de papillons Morpho Repères : art canadien contemporain, dix ans d'acquisition Diapositive de cosmos Diapositive de figure humaine

Entrevues

Vidéo Christine Davis

Dans l'extrait video suivant, Christine Davis discute de la perception de Tlön (2003) selon les visiteurs ainsi que l'importance de son équipement.
(disponible en anglais seulement)

Notes biographiques de l'artiste

Christine Davis est née en 1962 à Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique, et vit maintenant à Toronto, Ontario. En 1984, elle a terminé un baccalauréat en arts visuels à l'Université York (Toronto), où elle a aussi étudié la danse et les mathématiques.

Ses installations combinent divers médias, comme la photographie, les diapositives et des matières naturelles (par exemple, papillons, fleurs et plumes). Souvent inspirée par des œuvres littéraires, elle s'intéresse aux systèmes de connaissances et au naturalisme scientifique. Sa pratique artistique explore comment l'art et la danse peuvent articuler les pensées et les émotions d'une façon que les mots n'arrivent pas à exprimer.

Les œuvres de Davis ont été exposées au Canada, notamment à la Presentation House Gallery (Vancouver), au Musée canadien de la photographie contemporaine (Ottawa), à Power Plant (Toronto), au Mois de la Photo (Montréal), et à la Biennale de Montréal. Davis est aussi la cofondatrice du magazine international et multidisciplinaire Public.

Haut de la page

Vidéo Christine Davis

Dans l'extrait vidéo suivant, Christine Davis discute de son développement en tant qu'artiste et de ses intérêts.
(disponible en anglais seulement)

Œuvre

Tlön, ou comment j'eus entre les mains un vaste fragment méthodique de l'histoire totale d'une planète inconnue est une installation de diapositives. Deux projecteurs de diapositives présentent simultanément des images en fondu enchaîné de phénomènes cosmiques (à l'exception d'une image d'une forme humaine) sur un écran composé de papillons. Ces images viennent de caméras utilisant des technologies de pointe de rayons X et gamma capables de capter des images de nébuleuses, de quasars et de supernovas. Davis a couvert l'écran de velours noir et y a fixé des centaines de papillons Morpho bleus à la façon d'une grille. Chaque papillon est unique, mais une fois réunis, les papillons semblent former un tout.

L'inspiration pour Tlön est une nouvelle de l'auteur argentin Jorge Luis Borges intitulée Tlön, Uqbar, Orbis Tertius (1940). Il y relate la découverte de la planète Tlön inventée par une société secrète en Europe durant le Siècle des Lumières. Dans cette non-fiction, Borges décrit la culture, les langages et l'histoire de la planète.

Davis a écrit la première moitié du titre de l'œuvre, « Comment j'eus entre les mains », en référence à la capture d'un papillon dans ses mains—une tâche pratiquement impossible. La seconde partie du titre, « un vaste fragment méthodique de l'histoire totale d'une planète inconnue », est une citation tirée de la nouvelle de Borges.

Haut de la page

Projection de diapositives sur un écran de papillons Morpho

Christine Davis
Tlön, ou comment j'eus entre les mains un vaste fragment méthodique de l'histoire totale d'une planète inconnue
2003
Projection de diapositives sur un écran de papillons Morpho
143.5 x 216 x 7 cm (cadre des papillons)
Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
Achat, fonds de l'Association des bénévoles du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
Photo MBAM, Christine Guest

En coulisse

La section « en coulisse » donne des détails sur les papillons que Davis utilise dans Tlön ainsi que sur les caractéristiques de l'installation et le programme informatique de l'œuvre.

Équipement et conception

Tlön comprend le matériel qui suit :

  • 2 projecteurs de diapositives (KODAK EKTAPRO);
  • Cartes de mémoire flash avec programme de fondu enchaîné;
  • Unité de contrôle du fondu;
  • Cabinet pour placer les projecteurs de diapositives;
  • Écran avec papillons Morpho bleus;
  • 23 diapositives d'images de phénomènes cosmiques et 1 diapositive d'une forme humaine.

Chaque seconde du film compte 24 images. Davis s'intéresse à ce qui arrive entre les images dans un film. En présentant ces 24 diapositives, Tlön montre les multiples possibilités qui peuvent se produire à l'intérieur de cette seconde.

Papillons

Les papillons Morpho viennent des forêts tropicales du Mexique et d'Amérique du Sud. Davis commande sur l'Internet les spécimens nécessaires pour Tlön. Les papillons sont injectés d'eau chaude afin de permettre leur manipulation. Au lieu de monter les papillons avec les ailes anormalement étendues comme le font les collectionneurs, Davis préfère les fixer avec les ailes ouvertes aux trois quarts, comme s'ils étaient sur le point de s'envoler de l'écran.

Un mystère scientifique entoure l'essence de la teinte bleue du papillon Morpho. Les papillons n'ont pas une pigmentation bleue, mais plutôt des écailles iridescentes qui réfractent la lumière. Les images cosmiques projetées sur l'écran sont difficiles à percevoir, parce que la lumière des projections devient floue lorsqu'elle est reflétée par les ailes étincelantes des papillons. Tlön est exposée dans une salle sombre, et les projections sont la seule source de lumière de l'installation. Cette source révèle ainsi la couleur bleue réfractée.

Installation

Davis a créé Tlön pour un espace d'exposition particulier du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM), qui a servi de norme pour les expositions subséquentes. Tlön est exposée seule dans une petite salle sombre. Le public entre dans la salle par l'unique entrée et se trouve immédiatement en face de l'écran de Tlön. En adaptant son regard à la pénombre, le spectateur prend conscience des éléments de Tlön, comme les projecteurs et les détails de l'écran. La salle compte aussi un banc permettant aux visiteurs de s'asseoir et de contempler l'œuvre. Les projecteurs sont placés dans un cabinet à la hauteur de la taille pour limiter l'excès de lumière émise à la surface des projecteurs.

Programme informatique

Tlön fonctionne avec des projecteurs de diapositives contrôlés par un programme informatique. Enregistré sur une carte de mémoire flash (ensuite ajoutée à une unité de contrôle du fondu branchée aux projecteurs), un programme informatique de fondu enchaîné commande la cadence ainsi que la luminosité et les mouvements de fondu des images. Davis cherche toujours une autre technologie qui pourrait commander la luminosité et les mouvements de fondu de la même manière.

Haut de la page

Diapositive de cosmos

Christine Davis
Tlön, ou comment j'eus entre les mains un vaste fragment méthodique de l'histoire totale d'une planète inconnue
2003
Diapositive de cosmos
Photo MBAM, Christine Guest

Repères : art canadien contemporain, dix ans d'acquisition

Christine Davis
Tlön, ou comment j'eus entre les mains un vaste fragment méthodique de l'histoire totale d'une planète inconnue
2003
Repères : art canadien contemporain, dix ans d'acquisition
Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
9 juin – 3 octobre 2004
Photo MBAM, Christine Guest

Défis en matière de la conservation

La conservation de Tlön est complexe en raison de la nature délicate de l'écran aux papillons et de l'utilisation de technologies menacées d'obsolescence.

Écran aux papillons

L'écran sur lequel les images cosmiques sont projetées est couvert de 256 papillons Morpho épinglés à une feuille de velours noir. Les papillons trop endommagés pour être considérés comme des spécimens (par exemple, une déchirure visible sur une aile) doivent être remplacés.

Le MBAM possède un nombre limité de papillons de rechange pour cet objet.

Pour assurer la conservation à long terme, les papillons fragiles nécessitent une attention spéciale. Davis et Richard Gagnier, Chef du Service de la restauration du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM), discutent présentement d'une technique chimique pour mieux restaurer et conserver les papillons. Entre-temps, du ruban adhésif est utilisé à l'occasion. Davis a aussi donné les coordonnées du fournisseur de papillons au MBAM au cas où il devrait en acheter.

Projecteurs et diapositives

Davis a précisé le modèle exact de projecteur de diapositives pour l'exposition de Tlön – le KODAK EKTAPRO. Ce modèle est le seul type de projecteur de diapositives capable de faire fonctionner le programme informatique de fondus enchaînés. Le MBAM possède actuellement deux de ces projecteurs rares et chers et cherche à en acheter deux de plus qui serviraient de solution de remplacement. Les projecteurs de diapositives sont une technologie vieillissante que nombre de compagnies ne fabriquent plus. Lorsque ces projecteurs commenceront à tomber en panne, il sera de plus en plus difficile de les réparer ou de les remplacer.

Davis convient que des copies numériques des diapositives seraient une stratégie utile de conservation à long terme afin de multiplier les sources d'entreposage des diapositives. Si toutefois les projecteurs cessaient de fonctionner, elle n'utiliserait pas les copies numériques dans l'œuvre même. La portée lumineuse de la technologie analogique est plus grande que celle de la technologie numérique, et Davis ne croit pas qu'un projecteur vidéo présentant des copies numériques des diapositives sur DVD arriverait à capter les subtilités du programme informatique de fondu enchaîné. Les diapositives sont des photographies projetées avec une lumière qui brille à travers elles, tandis que la vidéo est composée de pixels.

Pour Davis, les projecteurs de diapositives et le programme de fondu enchaîné font partie intégrante de l'œuvre. Ces composants sont aussi importants que l'écran aux papillons et les images projetées. Davis considère les projecteurs et l'écran comme travaillant ensemble à la manière d'une unité ou d'une machine. Si les projecteurs étaient remplacés par une technologie numérique, Davis estime que le résultat serait simplement un spectacle de ce que l'œuvre a déjà été.

Par ailleurs, Davis estime que l'écran et le son des projecteurs de diapositives évoquent la respiration : « L'écran est quelque chose qui respire. C'est ce qui est paradoxal pour moi : j'utilise ces images fixes, invariables, mais avec le processus qui les anime, c'est comme si vous insuffliez la vie. Et je pense que le son du projecteur […] ressemble à la respiration. Le son est très important. Si on passe au DVD, est-ce qu'on transforme le son? Eh bien, ce serait comme placer un respirateur – à la respiration artificielle! »

Documentation

Si les projecteurs de diapositives deviennent inutilisables, Davis préfère que l'œuvre cesse de fonctionner plutôt que de mettre l'équipement de Tlön à jour. Davis a recommandé au MBAM d'utiliser le film 35 mm transféré en haute définition pour décrire le fonctionnement de Tlön. L'œuvre restera ainsi seulement sous forme de document – comme une performance.

Haut de la page

Diapositive de figure humaine

Christine Davis
Tlön, ou comment j'eus entre les mains un vaste fragment méthodique de l'histoire totale d'une planète inconnue
2003
Diapositive de figure humaine
Photo MBAM, Christine Guest

Diapositive de figure humaine projetée sur l'écran

Christine Davis
Tlön, ou comment j'eus entre les mains un vaste fragment méthodique de l'histoire totale d'une planète inconnue
2003
Diapositive de figure humaine projetée sur l'écran
Photo MBAM, Christine Guest

Vidéo Christine Davis

Dans l'extrait video suivant, Christine Davis discute de la perception de Tlön (2003) selon les visiteurs ainsi que l'importance de son équipement.
(disponible en anglais seulement)