David Rokeby, Seen (2002)

Read the transcript

All facts

Photo Album

(3 photos)

Installation view of the exhibition Installation view of the exhibition Projector and Mirror Installation of Seen,2002

Interviews

David Rokeby Video

In the following video clip, David Rokeby discusses his artistic practice and relationship with technology.

David Rokeby Video

In the following video clip, David Rokeby discusses his thoughts on the role of long-term conservation in his artistic practice.

Artist's Biography

David Rokeby was born in Tillsonburg, Ontario, in 1960 and now lives in Toronto. He studied Experimental Art at the Ontario College of Art and Design. Since the 1980s, Rokeby has been working with computers and video cameras as well as programming his own software. By creating interactive sound and video installations, Rokeby's artworks immerse the viewer both physically and conceptually in a dialogue with technology.

Rokeby's artworks have been exhibited across North and South America, Europe and Asia. He has won numerous prizes for his artwork, including the first Petro-Canada Award for Media Arts (1998), the first BAFTA award (British Academy of Film and Television Arts) for Interactive Art (2000), a Governor General's Award in Visual and Media Arts (2002), and the World Technology Award for the Arts in San Francisco (2004).

Top of Page

David Rokeby Video

In the following video clip, David Rokeby discusses his artistic practice and relationship with technology.

Artwork

Seen examines visual perception and the passage of time by mapping the movement of people and pigeons in the famous Piazza San Marco (Venice, Italy). This cinematic installation consists of four video projections displayed horizontally on two angled walls.

Seen is heavily dependent on its computer programming. Developed by Rokeby, the computer software allows each of the four projections to present a variation of the same real-time footage recorded in Piazza San Marco.

The computer programming of Seen stems from an earlier artwork entitled Watch (1995). Recorded on a busy street in Toronto, Watch is a study of motion through time. The same image is depicted in two projections that are displayed side by side: the first projection shows only the still elements of the street (such as the street and lamp posts), while the second presents the moving images (such as the cars, buses and people).

Top of Page

Installation view of the exhibition

David Rokeby
Seen
2002
Computer, 2 projectors, Video Graphics Array (VGA) cables, custom software, digital source footage, 2 adjoining walls with a center angle between 190 and 220 degrees
The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
Photo MMFA, Christine Guest

David Rokeby Video

Video: David Rokeby, Seen (2002), at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts' exhibition e-art: New Technologies and Contemporary Art – Ten Years of Accomplishments by the Daniel Langlois Foundation (2007).

Behind the Scenes

In this section, we will look "behind the scenes" to understand how Rokeby's computer programming functions and the proposed solutions for the installation challenges.

Computer Programming

Seen is composed of the following materials:

  • Rokeby's digital source footage uploaded onto a computer hard drive;
  • Rokeby's personalized software uploaded onto a computer hard drive;
  • Two projectors;
  • One computer;
  • Two video graphics array (VGA) cables.

The software that Rokeby developed allows each projection to show four different versions of the same footage:

  • In the first projection, moving elements (people and pigeons) are separated from still elements (architecture of Piazza San Marco). People and pigeons are thus removed from their location.
  • The second projection shows the pattern of movement through Piazza San Marco but played back with a half-second delay. Each movement is traced by a blurred orange line corresponding to the paths taken by the people and pigeons.
  • The third projection is a multi-motion study, depicting the movement of people and pigeons over a longer period of time. Their trajectories are traced by blue silhouettes. People and pigeons appear to be creating processions of themselves. Over time, their traces disappear.
  • The fourth projection is the opposite of the first: the moving images of the people and pigeons are just barely visible over the architectural background, revealing an almost empty Piazza San Marco—a rare sight!

The video sequence lasts for six and a half minutes and then loops back to the beginning.

David Rokeby Video

In the following video clip, David Rokeby describes how Seen (2002) functions.

Installation view of the exhibition

David Rokeby
Seen, 2002
Installation view of the exhibition
e-art: New Technologies and Contemporary Art - Ten Years of Accomplishments by the Daniel Langlois Foundation
The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
September 20 - December 9, 2007
Photo MMFA

Installation Challenges

Seen made its debut at the Venice Biennale of Architecture in 2002. The artwork was shown internationally before making its way into the permanent collection of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MMFA). In 2007, the MMFA held the exhibition e-art: New Technologies and Contemporary Art – Ten Years of Accomplishments by the Daniel Langlois Foundation. At the end of the exhibition, the MMFA acquired Seen.

A number of installation challenges arose when Seen was exhibited at the MMFA:

  • Size of the Projections

    Problem:
    Rokeby wanted the complete width of the projections to measure ten metres. The exhibition space at the MMFA was not deep enough, making it impossible to obtain the desired dimension with the projector's lens.

    Solution:
    The technician working with Rokeby installed two large mirrors behind each projector so that the images would be reflected off the mirror and onto the wall in the desired dimension. Because the mirrors were suspended from the wall, the projected images were slightly distorted. Rokeby had to adjust his software many times in order to achieve a satisfactory projected image.

  • Computer Malfunctions

    Problem:
    Each morning, the computer would not work and the artwork could not be projected.

    Solution:
    For reasons that were never understood, the computers had to be rebooted every morning.

Top of Page

Projector and Mirror Installation of Seen,2002

David Rokeby
Projector and Mirror Installation of Seen, 2002
e-art: New Technologies and Contemporary Art - Ten Years of Accomplishments from the Daniel Langlois Foundation
The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
September 20 - December 9, 2007
Photo MMFA, Christine Guest

Conservation Challenges

Although Seen's functionality depends on its technological components (computer and projectors), these elements are not of primary importance to Rokeby. As long as the visual features (size and quality of video projection) are respected, future technological modifications are acceptable. This will make conserving the artwork easier for the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MMFA), as it will be able to introduce new equipment when necessary.

At the time of Seen's acquisition, the MMFA was faced with a choice of two different versions of the artwork:

  • Computer-based Version

    Seen's computer program entails regular modifications with each installation. Rokeby, the programmer of the software, typically performs these adjustments. However, if the computer version is acquired, the MMFA will become responsible for these complex alterations. The dependence on Rokeby for future modifications is not a sustainable long-term conservation practice.

  • Optical Disc Version – Blu-ray

    Seen has always been exhibited using the computer version. However, to avoid future computer programming problems, Rokeby recommended that the MMFA acquire a Blu-ray disc version, which would contain pre-recorded sequences of Seen. A newer form of the DVD, Blu-ray discs can store more data and play high-definition video. As this technology is replaced by a newer one, the MMFA can easily migrate Seen's footage to the desired storage version.

In the end, the Museum decided to acquire both versions of Seen – the computer-based version and the Blu-ray version. This will ensure flexibility in ways to conserve the artwork over the long term.

Top of Page

David Rokeby Video

In the following video clip, David Rokeby discusses his thoughts on the role of long-term conservation in his artistic practice.

David Rokeby, Vu (2002)

Lire la transcription

Tout savoir

Album photos

(3 photos)

Vue de l'installation de l'exposition Vue de l'installation de l'exposition Projecteur et installation miroir de Vu

Entrevues

Vidéo David Rokeby

Dans l'extrait vidéo suivant, David Rokeby discute de sa pratique artistique et de sa relation avec la technologie.
(disponible an anglais seulement)

Vidéo David Rokeby

Dans l'extrait vidéo suivant, David Rokeby confie ses réflexions sur le rôle de la conservation à long terme dans sa pratique artistique.
(disponible en anglais seulement)

Notes biographiques de l'artiste

David Rokeby, né à Tillsonburg, Ontario, en 1960, réside à Toronto. Il a étudié l'art expérimental à l'Ontario College of Art and Design. Depuis les années 1980, Rokeby travaille avec des ordinateurs et des caméras vidéo et conçoit le programme de ses propres logiciels. En créant des Installations sonores et des vidéo interactives, ses œuvres plongent de façon concrète et conceptuelle le public dans un dialogue avec la technologie.

Les œuvres de Rokeby ont été exposées en Amérique du Nord et du Sud, en Europe et en Asie. Il a mérité plusieurs prix pour ses œuvres, notamment le premier Prix Petro-Canada en nouveaux médias (1998), le premier Prix BAFTA (British Academy of Film and Television Arts) en art interactif (2000), un Prix du Gouverneur général en arts visuels et en arts médiatiques (2002) et le World Technology Award for the Arts à San Francisco (2004).

Haut de la page

Vidéo David Rokeby

Dans l'extrait vidéo suivant, David Rokeby discute de sa pratique artistique et de sa relation avec la technologie.
(disponible an anglais seulement)

Œuvres

Vu examine la perception visuelle et le passage du temps en traçant les mouvements des gens et des pigeons dans la célèbre Piazza San Marco (Venise, Italie). L'installation cinématique consiste en quatre projections vidéo présentées à l'horizontale sur deux murs formant un angle.

Vu repose beaucoup sur un programme informatique développé par Rokeby. Ce dernier fait en sorte que chacune des quatre projections présente une variation des mêmes séquences en temps réel filmées à la Piazza San Marco.

Le programme informatique de Vu procède d'une œuvre antérieure intitulée Watch (1995). Filmée sur une rue passante de Toronto, Watch est une étude du mouvement au moyen du temps. La même image est montrée en deux projections présentées côte à côte : la première projection n'expose que les éléments immobiles de la rue (comme la rue et les lampadaires), tandis que la seconde fait voir les images en mouvement (comme les voitures, les autobus et les gens).

Haut de la page

Vue de l'installation de l'exposition

David Rokeby
Vu
2002
Vue de l'installation de l'exposition
Ordinateur, 2 projecteurs, images numériques et logiciel créé par l'artiste, 2 murs adjacents avec un angle central entre 190 et 220°
Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
Photo MBAM, Christine Guest

Vidéo David Rokeby

Vidéo – David Rokeby,Vu (2002), à l'exposition au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal Les Vases communicants - e-art : nouvelles technologies et art contemporain – Dix ans d'action de la fondation Daniel Langlois (2007).

En coulisse

La section « en coulisse » permet de comprendre le fonctionnement du programme informatique de Rokeby et les solutions envisagées aux défis concernant l'installation pour réussir à bien présenter Vu au public.

Programme informatique

Les composants de Vu sont :

  • Séquences de source numérique téléchargées sur le disque dur d'un ordinateur;
  • Logiciel personnalisé de Rokeby téléchargé sur le disque dur d'un ordinateur;
  • Deux projecteurs;
  • Un ordinateur;
  • Deux câbles de carte vidéographique (VGA).

Le logiciel que Rokeby a conçu fait en sorte que chaque projection montre quatre versions différentes de la même séquence :

  • Dans la première projection, les éléments mobiles (public et pigeons) sont séparés des éléments immobiles (architecture de la Piazza San Marco). Les gens et les pigeons sont ainsi dissociés de l'emplacement.
  • La deuxième projection montre la trame du mouvement dans la Piazza San Marco mais reproduite avec un délai d'une demi-seconde. Chaque mouvement est tracé par une ligne orange floue correspondant aux chemins parcourus par les gens et les pigeons.
  • La troisième projection est une étude sur la diversité des déplacements, montrant le mouvement des gens et des pigeons sur une plus longue période de temps. Leurs trajectoires sont tracées par des silhouettes bleues. Les gens et les pigeons semblent créer des processions d'eux-mêmes. Avec le temps, leurs traces disparaissent.
  • La quatrième projection est le contraire de la première : les images de gens et pigeons en mouvement sont à peine visibles contre l'arrière-plan architectural, révélant une Piazza San Marco presque vide—ce qui est rare!

La séquence vidéo dure six minutes et demie et recommence ensuite au début.

Défis concernant l'installation

Vu a été présentée pour la première fois à la Biennale d'architecture de Venise en 2002 et a été exposée à l'international avant d'être acquise dans la collection permanente du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM). En 2007, le MBAM a présenté l'exposition e-art : nouvelles technologies et art contemporain – Dix ans d'action de la fondation Daniel Langlois, au terme de laquelle l'œuvre a été acquise.

Lors de l'exposition de Vu au MBAM, quelques difficultés ont surgi par rapport à l'installation :

  • Les dimensions des projections

    Problème :
    Rokeby voulait que les projections aient une largeur complète de dix mètres. L'espace d'exposition au MBAM n'était pas assez profond, ce qui ne permettait pas d'obtenir la dimension désirée avec la lentille du projecteur.

    Solution :
    Le technicien travaillant avec Rokeby a installé deux grands miroirs derrière chaque projecteur pour que les images soient réfléchies par le miroir sur le mur à la dimension désirée. Comme les miroirs étaient suspendus au mur, les images projetées étaient légèrement déformées. Rokeby devait ajuster son logiciel plusieurs fois pour obtenir des images projetées satisfaisantes.

  • Dérèglements informatiques

    Problème :
    Chaque matin, l'ordinateur ne fonctionnait pas et l'œuvre ne pouvait pas être projetée.

    Solution :
    Pour des raisons jamais élucidées, l'ordinateur devait être réinitialisé chaque matin.

Haut de la page

Vidéo David Rokeby

Dans l'extrait vidéo suivant, David Rokeby décrit le fonctionnement de Vu (2002).
(disponible en anglais seulement)

Vue de l'installation de l'exposition

David Rokeby
Vu, 2002
Vue de l'installation de l'exposition
Les Vases communicants - e-art : nouvelles technologies et art contemporain – Dix ans d'action de la fondation Daniel Langlois
Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
20 septembre – 9 décembre 2007
Photo MBAM

Projecteur et installation miroir de Vu

David Rokeby
Projecteur et installation miroir de Vu
Les Vases communicants - e-art : nouvelles technologies et art contemporain – Dix ans d'action de la fondation Daniel Langlois
Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
20 septembre – 9 décembre 2007
Photo MBAM, Christine Guest

Défis en matière de conservation

Bien que le fonctionnement de Vu dépende de ses composants technologiques (ordinateur et projecteurs), ces éléments n'ont pas une importance primordiale pour Rokeby. Tant que les caractéristiques visuelles (dimension et qualité de la projection vidéo) sont respectées, les modifications technologiques futures sont acceptables. Le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM) pourra utiliser de nouveaux équipements lorsque ce sera nécessaire, ce qui facilitera la conservation de l'œuvre.

Au moment de l'acquisition de Vu, le MBAM avait le choix entre deux versions différentes de l'œuvre :

  • Version informatisée

    Le programme informatique de Vu nécessite des modifications à chaque installation. C'est Rokeby, le programmeur du logiciel, qui les effectue généralement. Toutefois, si le MBAM acquiert la version informatisée, il lui reviendra d'effectuer ces modifications complexes. Devoir dépendre de Rokeby pour les modifications futures n'est pas une stratégie viable de conservation à long terme.

  • Version sur disque optique – Blu-ray

    Vu a toujours été exposée en version informatisée. Cependant, pour éviter de futurs problèmes avec le programme informatique, Rokeby a recommandé au MBAM d'acquérir la version sur disque Blu-ray, qui contiendrait des séquences préenregistrées de Vu. Les disques Blu-ray, une forme plus récente de DVD, peuvent stocker plus de données et lire des vidéos à haute définition. Lorsque cette technologie sera remplacée par une nouvelle, le MBAM pourra aisément migrer les séquences de Vu sur la version de stockage voulue.

Finalement, le Musée a décidé d'acquérir les deux versions de Vu - version informatisée et version Blu-ray - ce qui assurera de la flexibilité dans la conservation de l'œuvre à long terme.

Haut de la page

Vidéo David Rokeby

Dans l'extrait vidéo suivant, David Rokeby confie ses réflexions sur le rôle de la conservation à long terme dans sa pratique artistique.
(disponible en anglais seulement)