Jacques Perron, Unreeling (1997)

Read the transcript

All facts

Photo Album

(2 photos)

Videotape transferred to videodisk, monitor, paper, base, 1/3 Installation view of the exhibition

Interviews

Jacques Perron audio

In the following audio clip, Jacques Perron describes the viewer's experience of Unreeling (1997) (available in French only).

Artist's Biography

Jacques Perron was born in 1955 in Ottawa, Ontario, and currently lives in Montreal, Quebec. Perron completed his studies in photography at Dawson College in Montreal and later earned a degree in Philosophy at Université du Québec à Montreal.

Perron experiments with photography, slide and film projections. He is interested in translating these artistic techniques from one to another, so as to create ambivalence between these media. In 1986, Perron co-founded Les Productions de l'Os. For the next three years, he created a series of performances and installations in uncommon sites (such as parking lots) that combined dance, music, movement and image projections.

Perron has exhibited in Canada and in Europe, including AXENÉO7 (Gatineau), OBORO (Montreal), the Centre international d'art contemporain de Montréal, the Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, the Netherlands Media Art Institute and the Centre d'art contemporain de Basse-Normandie. In 1999, he received the Graff prize, an award for mid-career Quebec artists. Beyond his career as an artist, Perron has worked as a cameraman and consultant for film and video projects, a translator, and special projects coordinator for electronic publications at the Daniel Langlois Foundation for Art, Science and Technology.

Top of Page

Artwork

Exhibited in a dark room, Unreeling is a video sculpture composed of a small CRT (cathode ray tube) monitor placed on a white pedestal at eye level. A video plays in a continuous loop and depicts a close-up of a human eye. The three-dimensional quality of the CRT monitor and its relation to the pedestal – whose dimensions correspond to the size of the monitor – play an integral role in the sculptural aspect of Unreeling.

When observing Unreeling from a distance, the viewer sees an image of a single eye displayed on a screen which is covered by a white sheet of paper. As the viewer approaches the work, the grain of the image becomes more apparent. When one stands very close to the artwork, the eye seems to transform into an abstract pattern of vibrating dots.

In Unreeling's video sequence, Perron has manipulated the image of the eye to produce brief movements: the pupil and the iris shift, the eye looks up and down and side to side, and even vibrates. Separated by black bands, each frame in which the eye is set shifts in a way that resembles a carousel or a zoetrope in slow motion. The eye is reminiscent of a spotlight, a surveillance camera or a Cyclops.

Charged with static electricity, a blank sheet of white paper clings to the monitor's screen. Perron is interested in distorting the boundaries between video and photography. In Unreeling, this is achieved by the sheet of paper that blurs the image on the screen. The grain of the paper absorbs the light from the screen and the pixelation of the video, giving the paper a photographic quality. Perron states: "It is the sheet that "complicates" the work, [that] gives it this ambivalence so important to me: photo/video? grain/pixel? It is the friction between these aspects that interests me. The sheet brings warmth, short-circuits the coldness of the screen, humanizes this inhuman gaze".Footnote 1

A previous pivotal work of Perron's, Figure (1992), was an inspiration for Unreeling. Figure depicts a blurred face in black and white in which the grainy quality of photography is emphasized. The ambivalence of the subject (for example, is the figure a man or a woman?) is an important quality of the artwork for Perron. There are numerous versions of Figure: initially a photograph, it has also been displayed as a film loop, video loop and digital image printed on paper.

Top of Page

Videotape transferred to videodisk, monitor, paper, base, 1/3

Jacques Perron
Unreeling
1997
Videotape transferred to videodisk, monitor, paper, base, 1/3
154,8 x 22,3 x 33 cm (monitor and base)
The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
Gift of Jacques Perron
Photo MMFA, Brian Merrett

Unreeling video

Video: Jacques Perron, Unreeling (1997).

Jacques Perron audio

In the following audio clip, Jacques Perron describes the viewer's experience of Unreeling (1997).
(available in French only)

Behind the Scenes

In this section, we will explore the making of Unreeling and the equipment used. We will also discuss specific challenges that Unreeling has encountered in its installation at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MMFA).

The Making of Unreeling

The process of creating Unreeling involved translating between a variety of media. Perron began by photographing an individual's eyes. He then transferred these photographs onto slides, which he projected onto a large screen. As a result of magnifying the slides, the grain of the photograph is apparent. Perron then videotaped the magnified slides of both eyes separately, which added pixelation to the image. Perron used this video footage as his raw material. He then edited and manipulated the eye movements of the video sequence.

Unreeling is the product of a video residency at AXENÉO 7, an artist-run centre in Gatineau, Quebec. Perron describes the context in which he created Unreeling by stating that: "I was seeking vibration, I was seeking snow, I was seeking noise. What the viewer sees has been greatly amplified. […] It's really a question of pushing the machines to their limit".Footnote 2

Installation Challenges

In 1999, the MMFA acquired Unreeling. Perron originally recorded the video sequence on VHS, which the MMFA has since upgraded to DVD. In both cases, the VCR and DVD players are hidden from view when exhibited.

The materials for the current (2008) version of Unreeling include:

  • 1 wooden pedestal, painted white;
  • 1 CRT (cathode ray tube) monitor;
  • 1 blank sheet of white paper;
  • 1 DVD (digital video disc);
  • 1 DVD player.

An important aspect of Unreeling is the static created by the CRT screen, which holds the sheet of paper in place. The dependence on static electricity to support the sheet of paper has introduced a challenge for the artwork's installation.

Challenge:
Before the MMFA acquired the artwork, Unreeling was exhibited in artist-run centres and galleries. Since its acquisition, an unforeseen difficulty has arisen: the sheet of paper does not consistently cling to the screen.

The MMFA has proposed two possible explanations for this:

  • Dryness encourages static electricity, while humidity deters it. For conservation purposes, museums have increased humidity levels in exhibition spaces, which results in a decrease in static electricity.
  • Museums have more visitors than artist-run centres. The movement of people creates an airflow that can result in a break of static electrical pull.

Solution:
The current solution is to discreetly tape the paper in place. This ensures that the paper has the same effect as when it clings to the screen with static. Neither Perron nor the MMFA are particularly fond of this temporary solution, as the manner in which the paper clings to the screen due to static is an important conceptual aspect of the artwork for Perron. However, this is the best strategy found to date.

Top of Page

Jacques Perron audio

In the following audio clip, Jacques Perron describes the process of making Unreeling (1997) (available in French only).

Installation view of the exhibition

Jacques Perron
Unreeling
1997
Installation view of the exhibition
High Points: Selection from the Collection of Contemporary Canadian Art
The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
June 9 – October 3, 2004
Photo MMFA

Conservation Challenges

CRT (cathode ray tube) Monitor

A major conservation concern for Unreeling is that CRT monitors are becoming less available as they are replaced by newer technologies. CRT monitors will likely become obsolete within a couple of decades. The conservators at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MMFA) are looking into purchasing a number of CRT monitors while they are still on the market. If used infrequently, CRT monitors have a long lifespan. Placed in storage until Unreeling is next exhibited, the new monitor can then simply replace a defective one when necessary.

Top of Page

Footnotes

Footnote 1

E-mail correspondence with the Jacques Perron, June 20, 2008.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Amanda Beattie, Researcher and copywriter; Émilie Boudrias, Research Assistant; Richard Gagnier, Head of the Conservation Department. The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Interview with Jacques Perron. June 19, 2008.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Top of Page

Jacques Perron, Défilement (1997)

Lire la transcription

Tout savoir

Album photos

(2 photos)

Bande vidéo transférée sur vidéodisque, moniteur, papier, base, 1/3 Vue de l'installation de l'exposition

Entrevues

Audio Défilement

Dans l'extrait audio suivant, Jacques Perron décrit l'expérience des visiteurs de Défilement (1997).

Notes biographiques de l'artiste

Jacques Perron est né en 1955 à Ottawa, Ontario, et réside à Montréal, Québec. Perron a étudié en photographie au Collège Dawson de Montréal avant d'obtenir un diplôme en philosophie à l'Université du Québec à Montréal.

Perron fait des expériences avec la photographie, les projections de diapositives et de films. Il s'intéresse à la transposition de ces techniques artistiques de l'une à l'autre, afin de créer une ambivalence entre ces médias. En 1986, Perron a cofondé Les Productions de l'Os. Pendant les trois années suivantes, il a créé une série de performances et d'installations dans des lieux peu courants (comme des aires de stationnement) qui combinaient la danse, la musique, associées à du mouvement et des projections d'images.

Perron a exposé son travail au Canada et en Europe, notamment à AXENÉO7 (Gatineau), OBORO (Montréal), au Centre international d'art contemporain de Montréal et au Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal et au Netherlands Media Art Institute et au Centre d'art contemporain de Basse-Normandie. En 1999, il a reçu le prix Graff, remis à des artistes du Québec en milieu de carrière. Outre sa pratique artistique, Perron a aussi travaillé comme caméraman et consultant dans le cadre de projets de film et de vidéo, comme traducteur et comme coordonnateur de projets spéciaux pour des publications électroniques à la fondation Daniel Langlois pour l'art, la science et la technologie.

Haut de la page

Œuvre

Exposée dans une salle sombre,Défilement est une sculpture vidéo composée d'un petit moniteur CRT (tube à rayons cathodiques) placé sur un piédestal blanc à hauteur des yeux. Une vidéo présentée en boucle montre un œil humain en gros plan. La qualité tridimensionnelle du moniteur CRT et sa relation au piédestal – dont les dimensions correspondent à la taille du moniteur – jouent un rôle dans l'aspect sculptural de Défilement.

Lorsqu'on observe Défilement de loin, on voit l'image d'un seul œil affichée sur un écran, recouvert d'une feuille de papier blanc. Dès qu'on s'approche de l'œuvre, le grain de l'image devient plus apparent. Lorsqu'on se rapproche encore plus de l'œuvre, l'œil semble se transformer en un motif abstrait de points qui vibrent.

Dans la séquence vidéo de Défilement, Perron a manipulé l'image de l'œil pour produire de brefs mouvements : la pupille et l'iris se déplacent, l'œil regarde de haut en bas et de droite à gauche, et vibre même. Séparée par des bandes noires, le cadre de l'image dans lequel se trouve l'œil bouge à la manière d'un carrousel ou d'un zootrope au ralenti. L'œil fait penser à un projecteur, à une caméra de surveillance ou à un cyclope.

Chargée d'électricité statique, une feuille de papier blanche vierge adhère à l'écran du moniteur. Perron cherche à brouiller les frontières entre la vidéo et la photographie. Dans Défilement, il obtient cet effet par la feuille de papier qui estompe l'image à l'écran. Le grain du papier absorbe la lumière de l'écran et la pixellisation de la vidéo, donnant au papier une qualité photographique. Comme l'indique Perron : « C'est la feuille qui "problématise" l'œuvre, [qui] lui donne cette ambivalence si importante pour moi : photo/vidéo? grain/pixel? C'est le frottement entre ces différents aspects qui m'intéresse. La feuille donne une chaleur, court-circuite la froideur de l'écran, humanise ce regard inhumain. »Note de bas de page 1

Figure (1992), une œuvre cruciale précédente de Perron, a servi d'inspiration à Défilement. Elle présente un visage flou en noir et blanc où la qualité du grain de la photographie y est accentuée. L'ambivalence du sujet (est-ce le visage d'un homme ou d'une femme?) est une qualité importante de l'œuvre pour Perron. Il existe plusieurs versions de Figure : d'abord une photographie, laquelle a aussi été présentée comme un film en boucle, une vidéo en boucle et une image numérique imprimée sur papier.

Haut de la page

Bande vidéo transférée sur vidéodisque, moniteur, papier, base, 1/3

Jacques Perron
Défilement
1997
Bande vidéo transférée sur vidéodisque, moniteur, papier, base, 1/3
154,8 x 22,3 x 33 cm (moniteur et base)
Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
Cadeau de Jacques Perron
Photo MBAM, Brian Merrett

Vidéo Défilement

Vidéo: Jacques Perron, Défilement (1997).

Audio Défilement

Dans l'extrait audio suivant, Jacques Perron décrit l'expérience des visiteurs de Défilement (1997).

En coulisse

Dans la section « en coulisse », la conception de Défilement et l'équipement utilisé sont explorés. Les défis particuliers posés par l'installation de Défilement au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM) sont aussi examinés.

Le processus de création de Défilement

Le processus de création de Défilement a supposé une transposition entre plusieurs médiums artistiques. Perron a commencé par photographier les yeux d'une personne. Il a ensuite transféré ces photographies sur des diapositives, qu'il a projetées sur grand écran. Le grossissement des diapositives rend apparent le grain de la photographie. Perron a ensuite enregistré sur une bande vidéo les diapositives grossies des deux yeux séparément, ce qui ajoutait de la pixellisation à l'image. Perron a employé la séquence vidéo comme matière première. Il a ensuite monté et manipulé les mouvements de l'œil de la séquence vidéo.

Défilement est le fruit d'une résidence vidéo à AXENÉO 7, un centre d'artistes dirigé par des artistes à Gatineau, Québec. Perron décrit le contexte dans lequel il a créé Défilement comme suit : « Je cherchais une vibration, je cherchais de la neige, je cherchais du noise. C'est incroyablement amplifié, ce qu'on voit là. […] C'est vraiment pousser les machines au bout. »Note de bas de page 2

Défis en matière d'installation

En 1999, le MBAM a acquis Défilement. Perron avait à l'origine enregistré la séquence vidéo sur VHS, que le MBAM a depuis transférée sur DVD. Dans les deux cas, le magnétoscope et le lecteur DVD sont soustraits aux regards lorsque l'œuvre est exposée.

Le matériel de la version actuelle (2008) de Défilement comprend :

  • 1 piédestal en bois, peint en blanc;
  • 1 moniteur CRT (tube à rayons cathodiques);
  • 1 feuille de papier blanc vierge;
  • 1 DVD (vidéodisque numérique);
  • 1 lecteur de DVD (vidéodisque numérique).

Un aspect important de Défilement est l'électricité statique créée par l'écran CRT, qui tient la feuille de papier en place. La dépendance envers l'électricité statique pour tenir la feuille de papier a posé un défi lors de l'installation de l'œuvre.

Défi :
Avant que le MBAM acquière l'œuvre, Défilement a été exposé dans des centres d'artistes autogérés et des galeries. Depuis son acquisition, une difficulté imprévue a surgi : la feuille de papier n'adhère pas de façon constante à l'écran.

Le MBAM voit deux explications à cette situation :

  • La sécheresse favorise l'électricité statique, au contraire de l'humidité. À des fins de conservation, les musées ont augmenté le taux d'humidité dans les salles d'exposition, ce qui entraîne une diminution de l'électricité statique.
  • Les musées reçoivent plus de visiteurs que les centres d'artistes autogérés. Le déplacement des gens engendre une circulation d'air qui peut interrompre la traction de l'électricité statique.

Solution :
La solution actuelle est de fixer discrètement le papier en place. Le papier a ainsi le même effet que lorsqu'il tient à l'écran par l'électricité statique. Ni Perron ni le MBAM n'aiment particulièrement cette solution temporaire, car la façon dont le papier tient à l'écran grâce à l'électricité statique est un aspect conceptuel important de l'œuvre pour Perron. C'est toutefois la meilleure solution trouvée à ce jour.

Haut de la page

Audio Défilement

Dans l'extrait audio suivant, Jacques Perron décrit le processus de conception de Défilement (1997).

Vue de l'installation de l'exposition

Jacques Perron
Défilement
1997
Vue de l'installation de l'exposition
Repères : art canadien contemporain, dix ans d'acquisition
Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
9 juin – 3 octobre 2004
Photo MBAM

Défis en matière de conservation

Moniteur CRT (tube à rayons cathodiques)

Une des préoccupations majeures en matière de conservation de Défilement est qu'il est de plus en plus difficile de se procurer des moniteurs CRT, qui sont remplacés par de nouvelles technologies. Les moniteurs CRT seront probablement obsolètes dans quelques décennies. Les restaurateurs du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM) cherchent à acheter un certain nombre de moniteurs CRT pendant qu'on en trouve encore sur le marché. Si on ne les utilise pas fréquemment, les moniteurs CRT ont une longue durée de vie. Entreposés jusqu'à la prochaine exposition de Défilement, il suffirait de remplacer un moniteur défectueux par un nouveau.

Haut de la page

Notes en bas de page

Note en bas de page 1

Correspondance par courriel avec Jacques Perron, 20 juin 2008.

Retour à la réference 1

Note en bas de page 2

Amanda Beattie, chercheuse et rédactrice; Émilie Boudrias, assistante de recherche DOCAM; Richard Gagnier, Chef du Service de la restauration. Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal. Entrevue avec Jacques Perron, 19 juin 2008.

Retour à la réference 2

Haut de la page