Asahi baseball club, 1938


'Triple' champions

The Asahis won the Commercial league championship the first year they competed for it, 1936. They won it again in 1937, and in 1938 the Asahis were 'Triple' champions winning the Commercial League, Burrard League, and Pacific Northwest Japanese championships. The team were Burrard League champions again in 1939 and 1940.


Burrard-Commercial-Pacific Northwest Japanese Triple Champion Asahi Baseball Club, 1938. Columbia Studio. Courtesy of Reggie Yasui.