Back to Batoche Virtual Museum of Canada Back to Batoche Back to Batoche
Home • About Back to Batoche • 1885 Batoche • Back to Batoche Festival • Resources  
• View Flash Site (Recommended for Broadband Visitors) • Credits • Feedback • Links • Français • Site Map  


Resources > Literature > Documents

The Order of Battle for the North-West Field Force

Batoche Column

Commander – Major-General Frederick Middleton

Chief of Staff – Lord Melgund

Commanding Artillery – Lieutenant-Colonel C.E. Montizambert

Commanding Infantry – Lieutenant-Colonel Bowen van Staubenzie

Deputy Adjutant-General – Lieutenant-Colonel C.F. Houghton

Acting Quartermaster General – Captain H. de H. Haig R.E.

Chief Transport Officer – S.L. Bedson


* “A” Battery, Regiment of Canadian Artillery (Québec)

Lieutenant-Colonel C.E. Montizambert (4-107) **

* Winnipeg Field Battery (Winnipeg)

Major E.W. Jarvis (3-59)

* Detachment of “C” Company, Infantry School Corps (Toronto)

Major Henry Smith (2-40)

* 10th Royal Grenadiers (Toronto)

Lieutenant-Colonel H.J. Grasett (17-250)

Midland Battalion (Belleville, Lindsay, Port Hope, Kingston)

Lieutenant-Colonel A.T.H. Williams M.P. (34-342)

* 90th Battalion of Rifles (Winnipeg)

Lieutenant-Colonel Alfred Mackeand (29-298)

* Boulton’s Mounted Infantry (Russell and Birtle, Manitoba)

Major C.A. Boulton (5-108)

* French’s Scouts (Qu’Appelle, in present-day southern Saskatchewan)

Captain John French (2-33)

Dominion Land Surveyors’ Intelligence Corps (Ottawa)

Captain J.S. Dennis (1936)


* At Fish Creek

** Strength in officers and other ranks

© 2005-2006 Gabriel Dumont Institute
All Rights Reserved - Tous droits rιservιs
Copyright Disclaimer - Avertissement sur les droits d'auteur