Biography of Edgar Dewdney

A man who influenced the direction of the settlement of British Columbia, Edgar Dewdney also had a role in the history of Canada. As one of the many young Englishmen who were drawn to the Canadian west in the mid 19th Century by tales of gold and unexplored territory, Dewdney came to British Columbia with great hopes and dreams.

Dewdney Portrait

Born into a family of middle-class means with servants in the County of Devonshire, England in 1835, Dewdney was educated as a Civil Engineer at Cardiff and gained a fondness for athletic endeavors such as cricket. He spent some time in London before the lure of unclaimed riches from the gold rushes in the western reaches of New Caledonia (now known as British Columbia) brought him to Victoria in May of 1859.

Dewdney Portrait
Portrait of Edgar Dewdney in his Lieutenant Governor's uniform, by Mary R. Hamilton 

Quickly finding work, with the benefit of a letter of introduction from his former employer in London to Governor James Douglas, Dewdney began working for Colonel Richard Moody laying out the new mainland capital city, New Westminster. He also worked at cutting hay, auctioneering, land management and surveying before he began road building with Walter Moberly in 1860. Their first project together was the Hope to Similkameen mule trail, which ended in a dispute with Moody over money.

The next year, contracted by Governor Douglas, Dewdney and Moberly extended the Hope Trail to the new gold rush at Rock Creek to allow British authorities and merchants access to riches that American miners were finding and taking away. The road was to be 12 feet wide, bridged and graded to allow wagon travel, but these specifications were abandoned after the cost rose and the excitement on the creek dwindled. The next gold rush, in the Cariboo in 1860-61 at Barkerville and Williams Creek, resulted in more trail building for Dewdney as well as surveying claims.

In 1864, Dewdney married Jane Moir and they settled in New Westminster for a time. The next year, Dewdney left for the summer to complete the trail to the new gold fields found in the eastern section of the colony at Wild Horse Creek, near today's Cranbrook. The completion of this trail that crossed several mountain ranges became the lasting legacy for which Dewdney is now best known in the province.

After the completion of the trail, Dewdney pursued real estate and mining prospects until he was elected to the Provincial Legislature without knowing he was even on the ballot for the Kootenay region. This was his first taste of politics.

In 1872, Dewdney was elected to Parliament, representing Yale, British Columbia as a Conservative under Sir John A. Macdonald. He was appointed Indian Commissioner of the Northwest Territories in 1879. In the face of the decline of buffalo herds that had sustained Natives on the prairies, he implemented the government's authority by creating reservations, imposing regulated education and new forms of sustainability. The Northwest Rebellion occurred during Dewdney's term, and he became known as "the man who signed Louis Riel's death warrant". His relationship of mutual respect with Chief Crowfoot was a factor in the Blackfoot Tribe choosing not to join the Rebellion. He was then appointed as Lieutenant-Governor of the Northwest Territories in 1882. He was involved in the selection of Regina as the capital, influencing the location of the railway (apparently through his own land). He was no stranger to controversy and made decisions that may have skirted the boundaries of self interest.

detail from Dewdney's Lieut Governor's uniform

In 1888, he returned to Ottawa as Minister of the Interior until 1892 when he returned to British Columbia to become the Province's Lieutenant Governor. He was then able to participate in the social and ceremonial aspects that both he and his wife enjoyed.

He was a generous man with his family, taking in his wife's mother and later her sister's children when they were searching for educational and employment opportunities. He also supported his brother Walter's children after Walter's death. Jane died in 1906 and he remarried in 1909 while in England to Blanche Kemeys Tynte. He had no children from either relationship, but many nephews and nieces who remembered him fondly.

Edgar Dewdney was one of the many educated young men who ventured from the genteel environments of the 'Old World' to seek fortune and fame in the wilds of the 'New World'. With adventure on his mind, Dewdney, a giant of his time at 6 feet 4 inches tall and blessed with robust health, was able to live a life exploring the unexplored and as a supporter and leader of the new Canadian confederation - although it was usually to a less than pleasant response from the press. While fortune eluded him, he lived life to the fullest, coming close to the 'Motherlode' many times - the rich mineral deposits in Rossland, Kootenay Lake, Nelson and Moyie. He continued to pursue avenues of interest - surveying, real estate and mining - until his death in 1916 at the age of 80.

His legacy remains in the trail named after him, now the route of much of the Province's major infrastructure. From Highway 3 that connects the area through all seasons, to the gas and power lines that provide energy to and from the area and the recreational activities, the Dewdney Trail has provided the province with a lasting legacy.

Explore Dewdney's Route with the Interactive Map »



Biography Gallery
Photographs
Portrait painted of Edgar Dewdney Revelstoke 1896 Revelstoke 1896 Steamer Nakusp, 1896 Edgar Dewdney's grave
Edgar Dewdney's grave

Illustrations
Drawing of the Allison townsite Unidentified sketch from Dewdney's Cross Section Book Unidentified sketch from Dewdney's Cross Section Book Unidentified sketch from Dewdney's Cross Section Book Calculations from a survey from Dewdney's Cross Section Book
Unidentified sketch from Dewdney's Cross Section Book Drawing from the North Thompson River by Dewdney Drawing from the North Thompson River by Dewdney, 1873 Drawing from the North Thompson River by Dewdney, 1873

Artifacts
Field tools from Dewdney Edgar Dewdneyıs Lieutenant Governorıs Uniform Detail of Edgar Dewdney's Lieutenant Governor's Uniform Detail of Edgar Dewdney's Lieutenant Governor's Uniform Detail of Edgar Dewdney's Lieutenant Governor's Uniform
Detail of Edgar Dewdney's Lieutenant Governor's Uniform Official Commission

Biographie d'Edgar Dewdney

Edgar Dewdney, chef de file de la colonisation de la Colombie Britannique, joua également un rôle dans l'histoire du Canada. Comme beaucoup de jeunes Anglais qui furent attirés par l'ouest canadien au milieu du 19ème siècle à cause des histoires de découverte de l'or et de territoires encore inexplorés, Dewdney se rendit en Colombie Britannique plein d'espoirs et de rêves.

Portrait d'Edgar Dewdney
Portrait d'Edgar Dewdney en uniforme de Lieutenant Gouverneur
Portrait d'Edgar Dewdney en uniforme de Lieutenant Gouverneur, peint par Mary R. Hamilton.

Né en 1835 dans une famille des classes moyennes du comté de Devonshire en Angleterre, famille possédant tout de même des domestiques, Dewdney fit des études en ingénierie civile à Cardiff et montra un goût de plus en plus prononcé pour les activités sportives telles que le cricket. Il passa un certain temps à Londres avant que l'attrait de richesses n'appartenant à personne, la fièvre de la ruée vers l'or sur les rivages occidentaux de la Nouvelle Calédonie (l'ancien nom de la Colombie Britannique) ne l'amène à Victoria en mai 1859.

Trouvant rapidement du travail, grâce à une lettre de recommandation au Gouverneur Douglas de la part de son ancien employeur à Londres, Dewdney commença à travailler au service du colonel Moody, en particulier dans l'urbanisme de la capitale continentale, New Westminster. Il coupa également les foins, travailla comme commissaire-priseur, s'occupa de l'aménagement des sols et fit des relevés de terrain avant de s'engager dans la construction des routes avec Walter Moberly en 1860. Leur premier projet ensemble fut le sentier muletier allant de Hope à Similkameen, qui s'acheva par une querelle financière avec Moody.

L'année suivante, sous contrat avec le Gouverneur Douglas, Dewdney et Moberly, poursuivirent la construction de la piste de Hope jusqu'à la rivière de Rock, lieu d'une nouvelle ruée vers l'or, afin de permettre aux autorités britanniques et aux négociants d'accéder aux richesses dont s'emparaient les mineurs américains. La route devait mesurer 12 pieds de large, comporter des ponts et être nivelée pour permettre le voyage en chariot, mais ces exigences durent être abandonnées à cause du coût trop élevé et de la retombée de l'intérêt suscité parla rivière. La ruée vers l'or suivante eut lieu dans la région de Cariboo en 1860-61, plus précisément dans les ruisseaux de Barkerville et de Williams, ce qui entraîna l'extension de la piste et obligea Dewdney à faire plus de repérages topographiques.

En 1864, Dewdney épousa Jane Moir et ils s'installèrent à New Westminster pendant quelque temps. L'année suivante, Dewdney partit au cours de l'été afin de terminer la piste menant aux nouveaux gisements d'or trouvés dans l'est de la colonie à Wild Horse Creek, aujourd'hui Cranbrook. L'achèvement de cette piste qui traverse plusieurs chaînes de montagne constitue un héritage durable pour lequel Dewdney est célèbre dans la province.

Après l'achèvement de la piste, Dewdney poursuivit ses projets immobiliers et miniers jusqu'à son élection à la législature provinciale sans savoir qu'il était également candidat pour la région du Kootenay. Ce furent ses premiers pas en politique.

En 1872, Dewdney fut élu au Parlement, représentant Yale, Colombie Britannique, avec l'étiquette de conservateur sous la direction de Mr John A. Macdonald. Il fut nommé en 1879 Commissaire aux Affaires indiennes pour le territoire du nord-ouest. Pour résoudre le problème du déclin des troupeaux de buffles dont dépendait l'alimentation des autochtones des prairies, il mit en application l'autorité du gouvernement en créant des réserves, imposant une éducation réglementée et favorisant de nouvelles formes de durabilité des ressources. La rébellion du nord-ouest se produisit pendant le mandat de Dewdney, et il est célèbre en tant qu' "homme qui a signé l'ordre d'exécution de Louis Riel". Son rapport de respect mutuel avec le chef Crowfoot fut un facteur déterminant dans le choix de la tribu des Blackfoot de ne pas se joindre à la rébellion. Il fut ensuite nommé Lieutenant-Gouverneur des territoires du nord-ouest en 1882. Il fit partie de ceux qui choisirent Regina comme capitale, influença le tracé du chemin de fer (apparemment sur ses propres terres). Ses concitoyens ne l'approuvèrent pas toujours et il prit des décisions qui frôlaient les frontières de l'intérêt personnel.

Détail de l'uniforme de Lieutenant Gouverneur d'Edgar Dewdney

En 1888 il effectua son retour à Ottawa comme ministre de l'intérieur jusqu'en 1892 où il revint en Colombie Britannique pour devenir le lieutenant-gouverneur de la province. Il put ainsi prendre part aux réunions mondaines et autres cérémonies que lui et son épouse appréciaient beaucoup.

C'était un homme généreux avec sa famille, prenant à charge la mère de son épouse et plus tard les enfants de sa soeur à la recherche d'un emploi et d'une éducation. Il devint également le tuteur des enfants de Walter, son frère, après la mort de ce dernier. Jane mourut en 1906 et il se remaria en 1909 avec Blanche Kemeys Tynte lors d'un séjour en Grande-Bretagne. Il n'eut aucun enfant ni avec l'une ni avec l'autre, mais beaucoup de neveux et nièces qui se souviennent de lui tendrement.

Edgar Dewdney fut un de ces nombreux jeunes gens instruits qui s'aventurèrent depuis les cercles distingués du 'vieux monde', venus chercher la fortune et la renommée dans les contrées sauvages et reculées du 'nouveau monde'. Guidé par l'esprit d'aventure , Dewdney, un géant pour son temps, puisqu'il mesurait 6 pieds 4 pouces, et doté d'une santé robuste, passa sa vie à explorer des terres encore inconnues en tant que défenseur et chef de la nouvelle confédération canadienne - même si la presse écrite ne sembla guère l'apprécier. Sans doute ne réussit-il pas à faire fortune mais il profita pleinement de sa vie, s'approchant du 'filon originel' à de nombreuses reprises - les riches dépôts de minérais de Rossland, du lac Kootenay, de Nelson et de Moyie. Il poursuivit ses activités - supervisant, gérant l'immobilier et l'extraction de minerais-- jusqu'à sa mort en 1916, à l'âge de 80 ans.

Son héritage demeure puisque la piste fut baptisée de son nom, et qu'il s'agit à présent de l'itinéraire d'une grande partie de l'infrastructure principale de la province. De la route 3 qui relie cette région par tous les temps aux gazoducs et aux lignes électriques qui alimentent en énergie le secteur, pour le travail comme pour les loisirs, la piste de Dewdney est certainement un héritage durable de l'histoire de la province.

Explorer la carte interactive »



Galerie de Biographie
Photographies
Portrait d'Edgar Dewdney Revelstoke 1896 Revelstoke 1896 Sur le bateau a vapeur Nakusp en 1896 Tombe d'Edgar Dewdney
Tombe d'Edgar Dewdney

Illustrations
Un schéma du site de la ville d'Allison Un schéma non-identifié du manuel de Dewdney Un schéma non-identifié du manuel de Dewdney Un schéma non-identifié du manuel de Dewdney Calculs concernant des repérages topographiques
Un schéma non-identifié du manuel de Dewdney Un dessin de la rivière North Thompson Un dessin de la rivière North Thompson, 1873 Un dessin de la rivière North Thompson, 1873

Objets façonnés
Outils d'application de Dewdney Uniforme de Lieutenant Gouverneur d'Edgar Dewdney Détail de l'uniforme de Lieutenant Gouverneur Détail de l'uniforme de Lieutenant Gouverneur Détail de l'uniforme de Lieutenant Gouverneur
Détail de l'uniforme de Lieutenant Gouverneur Nomination d'Edgar Dewdney au titre de Lieutenant Gouverneur