Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

Killer Whale Rug

Killer Whale Rug, c.1929
wool
98.0 x 78.0 cm
National Gallery of Canada, Gift of John Davis Hatch, Lenox, Massachusetts, 1975

not titled

not titled, 1924-1930
clay and paint
14.3 x 15.4 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Bequest of Alice Carr

Platter

Platter, 1924-1930
clay and paint
2.3 x 28.1 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Bequest of Alice Carr

not titled

not titled, 1924-1930
clay and paint
5.5 x 11.8 x 7.7 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Bequest of Alice Carr

Arts and Crafts (1913-1927)

Although the newspaper accounts of Emily Carr's 1913 exhibition at Drummond Hall suggest a mixed reaction to her work, she nonetheless felt rejected and returned to Victoria. There she built Hill House, intending to establish an apartment house that would supplement her income and provide her with the freedom to work on her art. The timing of her foray into the world of property ownership and management could not have been worse: the onset of World War I triggered an increase in the cost of living along with a reduced demand for rental apartments. These forces had the ironic effect of consigning Carr, a woman who had consistently defied gender prescriptions, to a life of domestic labour.

With no extra money to hire help, Carr was obliged to act as landlady, rental agent, cleaning woman and chef. She ran the house as a dictator and had many clashes with her tenants, whom she later immortalized in her book The House of All Sorts.1 Carr claims that "[f]or about fifteen years [she] did not paint."2 This was not entirely true — she painted sporadically and exhibited in local art society shows in Victoria and Seattle — but she had neither the time nor the energy to commit to art. Her paintings from this period are mostly small landscape studies in her French style.

Carr supported herself throughout trying economic times by way of hard work and ingenuity. She grew large quantities of vegetables and fruit in her backyard gardens, sold some of the produce for profit and used the rest to feed herself and her boarders. For a brief time she also raised chickens and rabbits for commercial sale. In 1917 she established a bobtail kennel and spent many sleepless nights bottle-feeding puppies and nursing them to health. Her own memoirs convey the rapport she felt with the bobtail mothers and the implicit trust they placed in her to care for their offspring. Between 1917 and 1921 she raised and sold more than 350 bobtail puppies, earning much-needed income.

Carr also made pottery and hooked rugs that incorporated First Nations designs. For a time, her clay works were quite popular and sold at craft fairs across the country. She was ambivalent about working Native imagery into her pottery designs, anxious that she was committing a disservice to Aboriginal people by profiting from their traditional culture. The Aboriginal people of the Pacific Northwest did not use clay, so she considered her work a misuse of their motifs. She felt particularly bad when others, seeing how successful she was in the tourist trade, began to copy her designs with no respect for their traditional importance.

I ornamented my pottery with Indian designs — that was why the tourists bought it. I hated myself for prostituting Indian Art; our Indians did not "pot," their designs were not intended to ornament clay — but I did keep the Indian design pure.

Because my stuff sold, other potters followed my lead and, knowing nothing of Indian Art, falsified it. This made me very angry. I loved handling the smooth cool clay. I loved the beautiful Indian designs, but I was not happy about using Indian designs on material for which it was not intended and I hated seeing them distorted, cheapened by those who did not understand or care as long as their pots sold.

– "Growing Pains" in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 439.

Carr's life continued in this fashion for many years, and after being forced several times to give up her own studio and apartment to boarders and sleep in a tent in the yard, she no longer even considered herself an artist.

Possibly the biggest turning point in her life occurred in 1927, when she had almost abandoned the notion that she would ever return to art as serious vocation. Following a visit to her studio in 1926, the anthropologist Marius Barbeau wrote to Eric Brown, director of the National Gallery of Canada, informing him of Carr's work and suggesting that the Gallery purchase her entire collection. Brown showed little interest at the time, but he decided to visit her studio when he and Barbeau began planning a show entitled Exhibition of Canadian West Coast Art - Native and Modern.

Carr was not particularly friendly when Brown approached her on the porch of her Victoria home, but he persuaded her to show her paintings, and he was impressed by the quality of her work and astounded by her total isolation from the artistic movements of eastern North America. He selected twenty-six paintings in addition to hooked rugs and pottery for inclusion in the exhibition, the best representation of any artist in the modern section, and suggested that she read Frederick Housser's book A Canadian Art Movement to familiarize herself with the Group of Seven. He also offered her a complimentary rail pass to attend the opening.

Carr immediately went out and purchased Housser's book and was amazed by the work of the Group of Seven, particularly the reproduction of Lawren Harris's Above Lake Superior. In November 1927, on her way to Ottawa, Carr had the opportunity to meet Harris and the other members of the Group. Upon viewing their work she discovered a parallel between her own difficulties in portraying the vastness of the west coast and their attempts to represent the northern Ontario landscape. For the first time Carr felt that she was a part of something — participating in the development of Canadian Modernism.

Went with Miss Buell and Mrs. Housser to tea at Mr. A.Y. Jackson's Studio Building. I loved his things, particularly some snow things of Quebec and three canvases up Skeena River. I felt a little as if beaten at my own game. His Indian pictures have something mine lack — rhythm, poetry. Mine are so downright. But perhaps his haven't quite the love in them of the people and the country that mine have. How could they? He is not a Westerner and I took no liberties. I worked for history and cold fact. Next time I paint Indians I'm going off on a tangent tear. There is something bigger than fact: the underlying spirit, all it stands for, the mood, the vastness, the wildness, the Western breath of go-to-the-devil-if-you-don't-like-it, the eternal big spaceness [sic] of it. Oh the West! I'm of it and I love it.

– "Hundreds and Thousands" in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 656.

She first visited A.Y. Jackson and admired his "Indian paintings," feeling "a little as if beaten at [her] own game."3 She then went to the studios of the other members of the Group living in Toronto, but it was the work of Lawren Harris that had the greatest influence on her. After she had spent some time in his Toronto studio, Harris became the central figure in Carr's life, guiding her artistic development and educating her about the importance of theosophy and the role of spirituality in art.

Carr's recollections of this time reveal her insecurities and lack of confidence, but the psychological effect of her acceptance in the eastern art community was profound. When she saw her work hanging with the Group's at the National Gallery exhibition, it became clear that she had much to learn from the men's work in terms of composition and form. Back in Victoria, Carr immediately began sketching and painting with a greater intensity than at any other time in her career. After more than a decade of limited artistic production, financial stress and personal and professional frustration, Carr resumed her exploration of First Nations culture and the west coast landscape with renewed vigour and passion.

Oh, God, what have I seen? Where have I been? Something has spoken to the very soul of me, wonderful, mighty, not of this world. Chords way down in my being have been touched. Dumb notes have struck chords of wonderful tone. Something has called out of somewhere. Something in me is trying to answer.

It is surging through my whole being, the wonder of it all, like a great river rushing on, dark and turbulent, and rushing and irresistible, carrying me away on its wild swirl like a helpless little bundle of wreckage. Where, where? Oh, these men, this Group of Seven, what have they created? — a world stripped of earthiness, shorn of fretting details, purged, purified; a naked soul, pure and unashamed; lovely spaces filled with wonderful serenity. What languages do they speak, those silent, awe-filled spaces? I do not know. Wait and listen; you shall hear by and by. I long to hear yet I'm half afraid. I think perhaps I shall find God here, the God I've longed and hunted for and failed to find. Always he's seemed nearer out in the big spaces, sometimes almost within reach but never quite. Perhaps in this newer, wider, space-filled vision I shall find him.

Jackson, Johnson, Varley, Lismer, Harris — up-up-up-up-up! Lismer and Harris stir me most. Lismer is swirling, sweeping on, but Harris is rising into serene, uplifted planes, above the swirl into holy places.

– "Hundreds and Thousands" in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 658.

1 Emily Carr, The House of All Sorts (Toronto: Irwin Publishing, 1944).
2 Carr, "Growing Pains," in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, ed. Doris Shadbolt (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 1997), p. 439.
3 Carr, "Hundreds and Thousands," Complete Writings, p. 656.

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Killer Whale Rug

Killer Whale Rug, v.1929
laine
98,0 x 78,0 cm
Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Don de John Davis Hatch, Lenox (Massachusetts), 1975

not titled

not titled, 1924-1930
argile et peinture
14,3 x 15,4 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Legs d'Alice Carr

Platter

Platter, 1924-1930
argile et peinture
2,3 x 28,1 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Legs d'Alice Carr

not titled

not titled, 1924-1930
argile et peinture
5,5 x 11,8 x 7,7 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Legs d'Alice Carr

Art et artisanat (1913-1927)

Bien que les journaux aient fait état de réactions mixtes à l'exposition d'Emily Carr à Drummond Hall en 1913, elle se sent néanmoins rejetée et repart pour Victoria. Elle y bâtit Hill House, une maison de chambres qui est censée lui procurer un supplément de revenu et lui laisser la liberté de travailler à son art. Le choix du moment pour cette incursion dans le monde de la propriété immobilière et de sa gestion n'aurait pu être pire: le début de la Première Guerre mondiale provoque à la fois une hausse du coût de la vie et une chute de la demande d'appartements. Résultat paradoxal: Carr, une femme qui a constamment défié les rôles traditionnellement impartis aux femmes, se retrouve consignée à une vie de travail domestique.

Faute d'argent pour embaucher de l'aide, Carr doit jouer les rôles de propriétaire, d'agente de location, de femme de ménage et de cuisinière. Elle mène la maison de façon dictatoriale, se querellant à maintes reprises avec ses locataires, qu'elle immortalisera dans le livre The House of All Sorts1. «J'abandonnai la peinture pendant environ quinze ans»2, écrira-t-elle, ce qui n'est pas entièrement vrai: peignant sporadiquement, elle montrait ses œuvres dans des expositions d'associations artistiques locales à Victoria et à Seattle, mais n'avait ni le temps ni l'énergie de se consacrer sérieusement à l'art. Les œuvres de cette période sont généralement de petites études de paysage dans son style français.

Au cours de ces temps difficiles, Carr subvient à ses besoins à force de travail et d'ingéniosité. Elle fait pousser de grandes quantités de fruits et de légumes derrière sa maison, en vend une partie et se sert du reste pour nourrir toute sa maisonnée. Pendant une courte période, elle élève et vend également des poulets et des lapins. En 1917, elle ouvre un chenil de bobtails, passant plus d'une nuit à nourrir les chiots au biberon lorsqu'il faut les ramener à la santé. Dans ses mémoires, elle évoquera sa complicité avec les chiennes bobtails et leur confiance à son égard pour soigner leur progéniture. De 1917 à 1921, elle élève et vend plus de 350 chiots, une source de revenus dont elle avait grand besoin.

Carr se met également à l'artisanat: elle fabrique de la poterie et crochète des tapis en y intégrant des motifs autochtones. Pendant quelque temps, ses pièces d'argile se vendent très bien dans des foires artisanales partout au pays. Mais Carr est ambivalente quant à l'utilisation d'une imagerie autochtone pour décorer ses poteries: elle craint de desservir les Premières nations en exploitant leur culture traditionnelle. De plus, comme les autochtones du Nord-Ouest du Pacifique n'utilisent pas l'argile, elle perçoit son travail comme une utilisation abusive de leurs motifs. Elle se sent particulièrement mal quand d'autres personnes, voyant son succès dans le marché touristique, se mettent à copier ses motifs sans égards pour leur importance traditionnelle

J'ornais ma céramique de dessins indiens — c'est ce qui la faisait acheter par les touristes. Je me détestais de prostituer ainsi l'art indien; nos Indiens ne décoraient pas ainsi les objets utilitaires, leurs dessins n'étaient pas conçus pour orner de l'argile. Je gardais néanmoins la pureté de ces motifs.

Parce que ma céramique se vendait, d'autres potiers se mirent à m'imiter; mais comme ils ne connaissaient rien à l'art indien, ils le falsifièrent. Cela me rendit furieuse. J'aimais beaucoup manipuler l'argile si lisse et j'adorais les superbes motifs indiens, mais je ne retirais aucun plaisir à utiliser ces derniers sur une matière qui ne leur était pas destinée, et je détestais les voir déformer et déprécier par des gens qui n'y comprenaient rien et qui s'en moquaient, du moment que leur poterie se vendait.

Les maux de la croissance, trad. Michelle Tisseyre p. 252.

Après plusieurs années vécues de cette façon et avoir souvent dû laisser son atelier et sa propre chambre à des pensionnaires pour camper dans la cour, Carr ne se considère même plus comme une artiste.

L'année 1927 marque peut-être le tournant le plus décisif de sa carrière, alors qu'elle a presque abandonné l'idée de refaire un jour de l'art une réelle activité professionnelle. Un an plus tôt, l'anthropologue Marius Barbeau a visité son atelier et écrit au directeur du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Eric Brown, pour lui décrire le travail de Carr et lui recommander d'acheter toute sa collection. D'abord peu intéressé, Brown se rend tout de même à son atelier au moment de planifier avec Barbeau l'événement intitulé Exhibition of Canadian West Coast Art - Native and Modern.

Lorsqu'elle rencontre Brown sur la galerie de sa maison, Carr se montre peu amène mais il la convainc de lui montrer ses peintures. Impressionné par la qualité du travail, il s'étonne de son isolement total des mouvements artistiques de l'Est de l'Amérique du Nord. Outre des tapis crochetés et des poteries, il sélectionne vingt-six œuvres pour le volet moderne de l'exposition, ce qui en fait la mieux représentée, et lui recommande le livre de Frederick Housser, A Canadian Art Movement, afin de se familiariser avec le travail du Groupe des Sept. Il lui offre également un billet de train pour assister au vernissage.

Carr court acheter le livre de Housser et est ébahie par les travaux du Groupe des Sept, notamment la reproduction d'un tableau de Lawren Harris, Above Lake Superior. Faisant route vers Ottawa en novembre 1927, elle a l'occasion de rencontrer Harris et les autres membres du Groupe. Puis voyant leur travail, elle reconnaît un parallèle entre ses propres difficultés à dépeindre l'immensité de la côte Ouest et leurs tentatives de représenter les paysages du Nord ontarien. Pour la première fois, Carr sent qu'elle fait partie de quelque chose: elle participe au développement du modernisme canadien.

Suis allée prendre le thé avec Mlle Buell et Mme Housser au Studio Building de M. A.Y. Jackson. J'ai adoré sa production, particulièrement certains paysages enneigés du Québec et trois toiles de la haute rivière Skeena. Je me suis sentie légèrement battue sur mon propre terrain. Ses images indiennes contiennent quelque chose qui manque aux miennes — du rythme, de la poésie. Les miennes sont si prosaïques. Mais peut-être que les siennes n'ont pas tout à fait l'amour des gens et du pays que contiennent les miennes. Comment le pourraient-elles ? Il ne vient pas de l'Ouest, et je n'ai pas pris de libertés, j'ai travaillé en fonction de l'Histoire et des faits bruts. La prochaine fois que je peins des Indiens, je me laisse la bride sur le cou. Il y a quelque chose de plus grand que les faits: l'esprit sous-jacent, tout ce qu'il représente, l'état d'âme, l'immensité, la vie sauvage, le souffle de l'Ouest avec son insouciance narquoise, et toujours cette éternelle grandeur. Oh l'Ouest! J'en suis et je l'adore.

– «Hundreds and Thousands», The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 656.

Elle rend d'abord visite à A.Y. Jackson et admire ses «œuvres indiennes», se sentant «légèrement battue sur [son] propre terrain»5. Carr visite ensuite les ateliers des autres membres du Groupe vivant à Toronto, mais c'est le travail de Lawren Harris qui a le plus d'influence sur elle. Après quelque temps passé dans son atelier de Toronto, Harris devient la figure centrale de sa vie, la guidant dans son développement artistique et lui apprenant l'importance de la théosophie et du rôle de la spiritualité en art.

Les notes consignées par Carr au sujet de cette période révèlent ses insécurités et son manque d'assurance, mais son acceptation dans la communauté artistique de l'Est la conforte au plan psychologique. Regardant ses œuvres accrochées avec celles du Groupe des Sept au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, elle voit clairement tout ce qu'elle peut apprendre du travail de ces hommes en matière de composition et de forme. De retour à Victoria, Carr se met immédiatement à dessiner et à peindre avec une intensité jamais égalée dans sa carrière. Après plus d'une décennie de production artistique limitée, de stress financier et de frustrations personnelles et professionnelles, elle se remet à explorer la culture des Premières nations et le paysage de la côte Ouest avec une vigueur et une passion renouvelées.

Oh mon Dieu, qu'ai-je vu ? Où ai-je été ? Quelque chose a parlé à mon essence même, quelque chose de merveilleux, puissant, hors de ce monde. Des cordes sensibles ont résonné au plus profond de mon être. Des notes silencieuses ont éveillé en moi de merveilleux accords. Quelque chose m'a appelé de quelque part. Quelque chose en moi essaie de répondre.

Les choses se soulèvent en moi, l'émerveillement de tout ça, comme une grande rivière qui m'emporte, noire et turbulente, impétueuse et irrésistible, m'aspirant impuissante en son tourbillon sauvage comme un fétu d'épave. Où, mais où ? Oh! Ces hommes, ce Groupe des Sept, qu'ont-ils créé ? — un monde dénué de banalité, dépouillé de détails superficiels, purgé, purifié; une âme nue, pure et sans honte; des espaces ravissants pleins d'une merveilleuse sérénité. Quels langages parlent-ils, ces espaces silencieux et pétris d'angoisse? Je ne sais pas. Attends, écoute; tu entendras un jour. Je meurs d'envie d'entendre, pourtant à demi-terrifiée. Je pense que je trouverai peut-être Dieu ici, le Dieu si ardemment souhaité, que j'ai pourchassé partout et que je n'ai jamais trouvé. Il m'a toujours semblé plus proche dans les grands espaces, parfois presque à portée de la main mais jamais tout à fait. Peut-être le trouverai-je dans cette vision plus nouvelle, plus vaste, emplie d'espace.

Jackson, Johnson, Varley, Lismer, Harris — plus haut, toujours plus haut! Lismer et Harris me touchent le plus. Lismer tourbillonne, balayant tout, mais Harris s'élève vers des plans sereins, aériens, au-dessus du tourbillon dans les lieux sacrés.

– «Hundreds and Thousands», The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 658.

1 Emily Carr, The House of All Sorts, Toronto, Irwin Publishing, 1944.
2 Emily Carr, Les maux de la croissance, trad. Michelle Tisseyre, Montréal, Pierre Tisseyre éditeur, 1994, p. 252.
3 Emily Carr, «Hundreds and Thousands», The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, dir. de pub:. Doris Shadbolt, Vancouver, Douglas & McIntyre, 1997, p. 656.