Richard Carr and his wife Emily Saunders Carr arrive in Victoria, British Columbia.

Emily Carr is born on December 13 in Victoria. She is the fifth child in a family of five girls: Edith, Clara Louise, Elizabeth Emily, Alice Mary and Emily.

A brother, Richard, is born.

Begins her first drawing lessons with Emily Woods.

On September 21, Emily Saunders Carr dies after a long battle with tuberculosis.

Richard Carr dies.

Attends the California School of Design in San Francisco.

Returns to Victoria and teaches children's art classes in her studio in the cow barn on her family's property.

With her sister Lizzie, makes her first trip to a First Nations village, Ucluelet (Hiitats'uu)1, to visit a Presbyterian mission. Meets William Mayo Paddon aboard the steamship Willipa. Receives the nickname Klee Wyck, "the laughing one," from the community in Ucluelet. Travels to London to study at the Westminster School of Art. On September 5 her brother Richard dies in a sanitarium in California.

Mayo Paddon visits London. Carr refuses his numerous proposals of marriage.

Spends the winter in St. Ives, Cornwall, a rural artist colony, studying under Julius Olsson and his assistant Algernon Talmage.

Goes to Bushey, Hertfordshire, and joins the studio of John Whiteley.

Admitted to the East Anglia Sanatorium on January 11 after suffering a breakdown. Remains for eighteen months.

Returns to Canada in June.

In Victoria, teaches art classes and is a political cartoonist for The Week, a Victoria paper.

In January, moves from Victoria to Vancouver after getting a job as an instructor at Vancouver Ladies' Art Club. The employment is short-lived, and Carr begins teaching children's art classes in her studio. Exhibits at the Studio Club. Meets Sophie Frank, a First Nations woman who became a close friend until Frank's death in 1939.

Along with her sister Alice, visits Alaska and is exposed to Northwest Coast Aboriginal monumental carving. Becomes inspired to document what she views as a rapidly dying culture.

Begins travelling to First Nations villages to record their art and culture. Visits Alert Bay ('Yalis), Campbell River (Tla'mataxw) and other communities on northern Vancouver Island.

On July 11 begins her journey to France with her sister Alice, stopping in Calgary, Edmonton and Quebec along the way. On August 12 sails for France aboard the Empress of Ireland. Enrols at the Académie Colarossi. Leaves Colarossi and studies under John Duncan Fergusson. Falls ill and enters the infirmary at the American Student Hostel.

Released from the infirmary in January. Suffers a second breakdown and travels to Sweden with Alice to recover. Returns to Paris and follows British expatriate William Phelan "Harry" Gibb to Crécy-en-Brie to attend a sketching class. In June, when Alice returns to Canada, travels to St. Efflam with Gibb. Her funds dwindling, Carr leaves St. Efflam in September and spends her final weeks in France studying at Concarneau with New Zealand expatriate Frances Hodgkins. Has two paintings in the 1911 Salon d'Automne exhibition in Paris. Returns to Canada.

Moves to Vancouver into a studio on West Broadway. On March 25 holds an exhibition of seventy of her French watercolours and oils, and introduces Fauvism to Vancouver. In July embarks on a six-week sketching trip to First Nations villages. Travels along the east coast of Vancouver Island to Alert Bay ('Yalis), Village Island ('Mi'mkwamlis), New Vancouver (Tsadzis'nukwaame'), Turnour Island (Kalugwis), Cape Mudge (T'sakwa'lutan) and Gilford Island (Gwa'yasdams). Then heads to Prince Rupurt and up the Skeena River ('Ksan/Xsi'yeen) to Hazelton (Gitanmaax), Hagwilget, Kispiox (Ans'pa yaxw), Kitwanga (Gitwangak) and Kitsegukla (Gitseguekla). Travels to the Haida villages of Skidegate (Hlragilda 'llnagaay), Haina (Caynaa 'llnagaay), Tanu (T'anuu 'llnagaay), Skedans (Q'una 'llnagaay), Cumshewa (Hlqin7ul), Chaatl (Ts'aa7ahl 'llnagaay) and Yan (Yaan'lanngee).

In April rents Drummond Hall in Vancouver and mounts a large exhibition of almost 200 paintings on First Nations subject matter. Also delivers a public lecture entitled "Lecture on Totems." Returns to Victoria and builds a four-suite apartment house on her share of her family's estate. Constructs a studio for herself and takes up duties as a landlord.

Employed as a cartoonist for the Western Women's Weekly, a short-lived feminist publication.

Sisters Edith and Clara die.

1924 and 1925
Exhibits in Seattle with Artists of the Pacific Northwest.

Dr. Marius Barbeau of the National Museum of Canada visits her studio and shows interest in her work. Carr enrols in a short-story writing course.

Eric Brown, director of the National Gallery of Canada, visits her studio and selects works for a show he is co-curating with Barbeau on Canadian west coast art. In November, Carr travels to Ottawa for the opening of Canadian West Coast Art - Native and Modern. Stops in Toronto to meet members of the Group of Seven and visit their studios.

After returning from the east, begins painting with renewed vigour. Begins extensive correspondence with Lawren Harris. In the summer makes a two-month sketching trip to First Nations communities. Returns to Alert Bay ('Yalis), visits Fort Rupert (Tsaxis) and again heads up the Skeena River ('Ksan/Xsi'yeen) to Kitwanga (Gitwangak), Kispiox (Ans'pa yaxw), and Kitsegukla (Gitseguekla). Visits Kitwancool (Gitanyow) for the first time. Travels along the Nass River (Xsitxemsen) to Gitiks and Angida. Ends her trip in the Queen Charlotte Islands, visiting the villages of Skidegate (Hlragilda 'llnagaay), Skedans (Q'una 'llnagaay) and Cumshewa (Hlqin7ul). In September, Seattle artist Mark Tobey conducts a master class in her studio.

Her article "Modern and Indian Art" is published in the Supplement to the McGill News. In May travels to communities at Friendly Cove (Yuquot) on the west coast of Vancouver Island.

Has solo shows at the Canadian National Railway office in Ottawa, the Crystal Garden in Victoria and the Art Institute in Seattle. Invited for the first time to exhibit with the Group of Seven in one of their own exhibitions. Heads east in March, stopping in Ottawa to see her show, in Toronto to see the Group of Seven show and in New York to spend a week visiting galleries. Meets Georgia O'Keeffe.

In May goes on a sketching trip with Edythe Hembroff to Cordova Bay. In August sketches in Sooke Hills and Goldstream Park.

Sketches at Braden Mountain and Mount Douglas.

Purchases a caravan (camper), which she names "the Elephant," to take on sketching trips. Makes her final trip east to the Chicago World's Fair and to Toronto in November. Becomes a founding member of the Canadian Group of Painters.

Attends a summer-school course in short-story writing and writes "Cow Yard," a story about her childhood. In May and September takes "the Elephant" on a sketching trip to Esquimalt Lagoon.

Sells Hill House and moves to 316 Beckley Avenue. Sister Lizzie dies.

Suffers first heart attack. Begins writing stories about her experiences in First Nations villages while recuperating. Has a solo show at the Art Gallery of Toronto.

Has her first solo show at the Vancouver Art Gallery, an event that was held annually thereafter until her death. Included in the exhibition A Century of Canadian Art, held at the Tate Gallery in London and organized by the National Gallery of Canada.

Suffers second heart attack. Sophie Frank dies.

Moves in with her sister Alice and has a serious stroke. Klee Wyck stories are broadcast on CBC Radio.

Klee Wyck is published and wins the Governor General's Literary Award for non-fiction.

The Book of Small, memoir of her childhood, is published. In July goes on her final sketching excursion, a ten-day trip to Mount Douglas Park. Establishes the Emily Carr Trust. Suffers another heart attack.

Has a retrospective at the Art Gallery of Toronto and solo shows in Montréal, Vancouver and Seattle.

The House of All Sorts is published. Has a solo show at the Dominion Gallery in Montreal, her first exhibition at a commercial venue.

Has a heart attack on March 2 and is pronounced dead at St. Mary's Priory. Has a memorial exhibition at the National Gallery of Canada.

Growing Pains is published.

Pause and The Heart of a Peacock are published. Alice Carr dies in October.

Hundreds and Thousands is published.

Fresh Seeing is published.

1 All First Nations names from Gerta Moray, Unsettling Encounters: First Nations Imagery in the Art of Emily Carr (Vancouver: UBC Press, 2006).

Chronologie

1863
Arrivée de Richard Carr et de sa femme Emily Saunders Carr à Victoria, Colombie-Britannique.

1871
Naissance d'Emily Carr le 13 décembre, à Victoria. Elle est la cinquième enfant d'une famille de cinq filles : Edith, Clara Louise, Elizabeth Emily, Alice Mary et Emily.

1875
Naissance de son frère Richard.

1880
Premiers cours de dessin avec Emily Woods.

1886
Le 21 septembre, décès d'Emily Saunders Carr à la suite d'une longue bataille contre la tuberculose.

1888
Décès de Richard Carr.

1890-1893
Emily Carr fréquente la California School of Design de San Francisco.

1893
Elle revient à Victoria et donne aux enfants des cours d'art dans son studio, aménagé dans l'étable de la propriété familiale.

1899
Avec sa sœur Lizzie, elle visite pour la première fois un village des Premières nations, Ucluelet (Hiitats'uu)1, où se trouve une mission presbytérienne. Elle fait la connaissance de William Mayo Paddon à bord du caboteur Willipa. Les gens d'Ucluelet la surnomment Klee Wyck, «celle qui rit». Départ pour Londres afin d'étudier à la Westminster School of Art. Le 5 septembre, son frère Richard meurt dans un sanatorium de Californie.

1900
Mayo Paddon visite Carr à Londres; elle refuse ses nombreuses demandes en mariage.

1901
Elle passe l'hiver à St. Ives, en Cornouailles, une communauté artistique rurale, étudiant sous la direction de Julius Olsson et de son assistant, Algernon Talmage.

1902
Elle entre à l'atelier de John Whiteley, à Bushey, dans le comté de Hertfordshire.

1903
Elle subit une dépression, est admise au sanatorium d'East Anglia le 11 janvier et y demeure dix-huit mois.

1904
Elle rentre au Canada en juin.

1905
Elle donne des cours d'art à Victoria et dessine des caricatures politiques pour The Week, un journal local.

1906
En janvier, elle déménage à Vancouver après avoir trouvé un emploi d'enseignante au Vancouver Ladies' Art Club. L'emploi est de courte durée, et Carr commence à donner des cours d'art aux enfants dans son atelier. Expose au Studio Club. Fait la connaissance de Sophie Frank, une femme autochtone qui sera une amie intime jusqu'au décès de Frank, en 1939.

1907
Elle visite l'Alaska avec sa sœur Alice, et voit pour la première fois des sculptures monumentales autochtones de la côte du Nord-Ouest. En elle naît le désir de documenter ce qu'elle perçoit comme une culture en décroissance rapide.

1908-1909
Elle commence à se rendre dans des villages des Premières nations pour documenter leur art et leur culture. Visite Alert Bay ('Yalis), Campbell River (Tla'mataxw) et d'autres communautés situées dans la partie nord de l'île de Vancouver.

1910
Le 11 juillet, elle entreprend un voyage en France avec sa sœur Alice, s'arrêtant au passage à Calgary, Edmonton et Québec. Le 12 août, embarque pour la France à bord de l'Empress of Ireland. Elle s'inscrit à l'Académie Colarossi, puis quitte l'Académie et étudie sous la supervision de John Duncan Fergusson. Elle tombe malade et est admise à l'infirmerie de l'American Student Hostel.

1911
En janvier, elle reçoit son congé de l'infirmerie et fait un voyage en Suède avec Alice pour se rétablir de sa deuxième dépression. Elle revient à Paris et suit William Phelan "Harry" Gibb, un expatrié britannique, à Crécy-en-Brie afin de suivre un cours de peinture sur le motif. En juin, après le départ d'Alice vers le Canada, elle se rend à Saint-Efflam avec Gibb. Ses ressources financières s'amenuisent et Carr quitte Saint-Efflam en septembre. Étudie durant les dernières semaines de son séjour français à Concarneau, sous la supervision de Frances Hodgkins, une artiste originaire de la Nouvelle-Zélande. Voit deux de ses peintures acceptées au Salon d'Automne de 1911, à Paris. Revient au Canada.

1912
Elle emménage à Vancouver dans un atelier sur West Broadway. Le 25 mars, elle expose soixante-dix de ses toiles et aquarelles françaises et fait connaître le fauvisme à Vancouver. En juillet, embarque pour un voyage de peinture sur le motif de six semaines sur la côte Est de l'île de Vancouver. Elle se rend aux villages des Premières nations d'Alert Bay ('Yalis), Village Island ('Mi'mkwamlis), New Vancouver (Tsadzis'nukwaame'), Turnour Island (Kalugwis), Cape Mudge (T'sakwa'lutan) et Gilford Island (Gwa'yasdams). Puis elle met le cap vers Prince Rupert et remonte la rivière Skeena ('Ksan/Xsi'yeen) jusqu'à Hazelton (Gitanmaax), Hagwilget, Kispiox (Ans'pa yaxw), Kitwanga (Gitwangak) et Kitsegukla (Gitseguekla). Elle atteint finalement les villages Haida de Skidegate (Hlragilda 'llnagaay), Haina (Caynaa 'llnagaay), Tanu (T'anuu 'llnagaay), Skedans (Q'una 'llnagaay), Cumshewa (Hlqin7ul), Chaatl (Ts'aa7ahl 'llnagaay) et Yan (Yaan'lanngee).

1913
En avril, elle loue le Drummond Hall à Vancouver pour y exposer près de 200 nouvelles toiles consacrées aux Premières nations. Elle fait également une conférence intitulée Lecture on Totems. Repart pour Victoria et, avec sa part de l'héritage familial, bâtit Hill House, une maison comprenant un atelier et quatre logements, où elle assume des tâches de propriétaire résidente.

1918
Elle fait de l'illustration humoristique pour le Western Women's Weekly, une publication féministe qui connaît une brève existence.

1919
Décès de ses sœurs Edith et Clara.

1924 et 1925
Elle expose à Seattle avec les Artists of the Pacific Northwest.

1926
Marius Barbeau, du Musée national du Canada, visite son atelier et s'intéresse à son travail. Elle s'inscrit à un cours d'écriture de nouvelles.

1927
Eric Brown, directeur du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, visite son atelier et sélectionne des œuvres pour une exposition qu'il planifie avec Barbeau sur l'art canadien de la côte Ouest. En novembre, Carr se rend à Ottawa pour le vernissage de Canadian West Coast Art - Native and Modern. Elle fait un arrêt à Toronto pour rencontrer les membres du Groupe des Sept et visiter leurs ateliers.

1928
À son retour de l'Est, elle reprend ses pinceaux avec un regain d'intensité. Entame une correspondance nourrie avec Lawren Harris. Durant l'été, elle fait une expédition de deux mois de peinture sur le motif dans des communautés autochtones. Se rend une nouvelle fois à Alert Bay ('Yalis), visite Fort Rupert (Tsaxis) et remonte de nouveau la rivière Skeena ('Ksan/Xsi'yeen) jusqu'à Kitwanga (Gitwangak), Kispiox (Ans'pa yaxw) et Kitsegukla (Gitseguekla). Va pour la première fois à Kitwancool (Gitanyow), navigue le long de la rivière Nass (Xsitxemsen) jusqu'à Gitiks et Angida. Son voyage se termine aux îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, où elle visite les villages de Skidegate (Hlragilda 'llnagaay), Skedans (Q'una 'llnagaay) et Cumshewa (Hlqin7ul). En septembre, l'artiste Mark Tobey, établi à Seattle, donne un cours avancé dans l'atelier de Carr.

1929
Publie dans le Supplement to the McGill News l'article «Modern and Indian Art». En mai, elle se rend à Friendly Cove (Yuquot) visiter des communautés de la côte Ouest de l'île de Vancouver.

1930
Présente des expositions solo aux bureaux de la Compagnie des chemins de fer nationaux du Canada à Ottawa, au Crystal Garden de Victoria et à l'Art Institute de Seattle. Le Groupe des Sept l'invite pour la première fois à participer à une de ses expositions. Elle met le cap vers l'Est en mars, s'arrêtant à Ottawa pour voir sa propre exposition, à Toronto pour visiter celle du Groupe des Sept et à New York pour explorer des galeries durant une semaine. Rencontre Georgia O'Keeffe.

1931
En mai, se rend avec Edythe Hembroff à Cordova Bay pour peindre sur le motif. En août, travaille à Sooke Hills et Goldstream Park.

1932
Exécute des croquis à Braden Mountain et Mount Douglas.

1933
Achète pour ses voyages de peinture une caravane qu'elle baptise «Elephant». Effectue ce qui sera son dernier voyage vers l'Est à la Foire mondiale de Chicago et à Toronto, en novembre. Elle devient membre fondatrice du Canadian Group of Painters.

1934
Pour perfectionner sa plume, elle fréquente un cours d'été de rédaction de nouvelles, puis écrit «Cow Yard», un récit sur son enfance. En mai et en septembre, elle fait installer l'Elephant à Esquimalt Lagoon pour y peindre sur le motif.

1936
Vend Hill House et déménage au 316, Beckley Avenue. Décès de sa sœur Lizzie.

1937
Subit une première crise cardiaque. Pendant sa convalescence, elle rédige des nouvelles relatant ses expériences dans les villages des Premières nations. Exposition solo à l'Art Gallery of Toronto.

1938
Première exposition individuelle à la Vancouver Art Gallery, un événement qui se répétera chaque année jusqu'à son décès. Participe à l'exposition A Century of Canadian Art, organisée par le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada à la Tate Gallery de Londres.

1939
Deuxième crise cardiaque. Décès de Sophie Frank.

1940
Emménage avec sa sœur Alice et subit un grave accident vasculaire cérébral. Des récits tirés de son livre Klee Wyck sont lus sur la chaîne radiophonique de Radio-Canada.

1941
Publication de Klee Wyck, qui lui vaut le Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général pour les études et essais.

1942
Publication d'un récit de son enfance, The Book of Small. En juillet, Carr effectue sa dernière expédition de peinture sur le motif au parc du Mont-Douglas, durant dix jours. Crée le Fonds Emily-Carr. Subit une nouvelle crise cardiaque.

1943
Rétrospective de son œuvre à l'Art Gallery of Toronto et expositions individuelles à Montréal, Vancouver et Seattle.

1944
Publication de The House of All Sorts. Première exposition individuelle en milieu commercial, à la Dominion Gallery de Montréal.

1945
Subit une autre crise cardiaque le 2 mars. Décède à l'hôpital St. Mary's Priory. Exposition commémorative au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada.

1946
Publication de Growing Pains (Les maux de la croissance).

1953
Publication de Pause et de The Heart of a Peacock. Décès d'Alice Carr en octobre.

1966
Publication de Hundreds and Thousands.

1972
Publication de Fresh Seeing.

1 Tous les noms relatifs aux Premières nations sont tirés de Gerta Moray, Unsettling Encounters: First Nations Imagery in the Art of Emily Carr , Vancouver, UBC Press, 2006.