Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

Indian Reserve, North Vancouver

Indian Reserve, North Vancouver, c.1905
watercolour on paper
19.4 x 27.1 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Gift of Miss Jean McD. Russell

Alert Bay, Mortuary Boxe

Alert Bay, Mortuary Boxes, 1908
watercolour and graphite on paper
54.5 x 38.3 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust

Totem Walk at Sitka

Totem Walk at Sitka, c.1907
watercolour on paper
38.5 x 38.5 cm
The Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, The Thomas Gardiner Keir Bequest

Street Scene, Alert Bay

Street Scene, Alert Bay, c.1908
watercolour on paper
29.9 x 24.8 cm
British Columbia Archives

Early Work (1893-1910)

Emily Carr began her art education at a young age. She took weekly lessons from Emily Woods at her elementary school, and when her public school no longer offered art classes, her father Richard Carr secured private instruction for Emily and her sisters. In nineteenth-century Victoria, art was considered a genteel diversion for both married and unmarried women, but never a serious vocation. After the death of both her parents, Carr persuaded her guardians to allow her to enrol in art school in California. She left Victoria in the summer of 1890 to attend the California School of Design in San Francisco, under the close supervision of friends and family.

The school's pedagogical approach was traditional: students began by drawing antique casts, then progressed to still life and eventually life drawing. Carr took preparatory, antique and landscape classes, but her puritanical upbringing prevented her from attending life-drawing sessions with nude models. In her book Growing Pains, she wrote that she found the outdoor landscape classes to be the most enjoyable, suggesting that her predilection for painting the natural environment en plein air commenced at an early age. Unfortunately, her family's finances were mismanaged and Carr had to leave school. She had shown little improvement after more than three years there: by her own admission, her work from this time was "humdrum and unemotional—objects honestly portrayed, nothing more."1

Carr returned to Victoria in 1893 and began painting small watercolours and holding children's art classes in the cow barn on her family's property. She stuffed her earnings into a shoe suspended from the rafters of the barn and eventually saved enough money to continue her education abroad. Carr selected London over Paris because she was not fluent in French.

Just prior to her transatlantic journey in late 1898 or early 1899, Carr travelled with her sister Lizzie to visit a Presbyterian mission in Ucluelet (Hiiats'uu), a First Nations community on Vancouver Island. A few of her sketches from this trip have survived and are reminiscent of travel illustrations in their close attention to detail and documentary nature. Carr used pencil, pen and ink, and watercolour to depict individuals and village life. Her sketches are static and flat. The pen-and-pencil drawing Three Indian Girls, Ucluelet (c.1898), for example, with its rather stiff human forms, shows that her understanding of figure drawing was immature at the time.

Carr went to London hoping to receive progressive and stimulating education, but the Westminster School of Art, affiliated with the Royal Academy, was still quite conventional. An avid student, she attended day-long life-drawing classes and evening classes in design, anatomy and clay modelling. She became dissatisfied with both the quality of her education and London itself, and joined a summer sketching class in Berkshire after her first year of studies. She returned briefly to Westminster, then left permanently and travelled to the rural art colony in St. Ives, Cornwall. There she practised plein-air seascape and landscape painting with Julius Olsson and his assistant Algernon Talmage. Olsson was a British artist who specialized in sunlit seascapes, and Talmage painted landscapes in the tradition of John Constable. Carr and Olsson quarrelled constantly, but she found Talmage more agreeable: he understood her desire to paint the trees in Tregenna Woods. Here Carr received her first extensive education in outdoor painting and in techniques useful for depicting light.2

In the spring of 1902 she studied with John Whiteley at the Meadows Studio in Bushey, Hertfordshire. Whiteley was a traditional landscape watercolourist who advanced Carr's education in the study of nature. During this time Carr suffered a breakdown, and she spent her final eighteen months in England at a sanitarium in Suffolk, where she was not permitted to paint. Little of her work from this period has survived, probably having fallen victim to one of her many bonfires, but the watercolours she produced upon her return to Canada indicate that her British education did not strengthen the expressive power of her art.

Carr moved to Vancouver after securing a teaching job at the Vancouver Ladies' Art Club and rented a studio at 570 Granville Street. Around this time she befriended Sophie Frank and became a frequent visitor to the Squamish reserve in North Vancouver, Frank's home, where she sketched scenes of Aboriginal life and culture. In works such as Indian Reserve, North Vancouver (c.1905), her sense of depth and perspective are much improved over her earlier studies, and her landscape forms have achieved greater mass. The series of small watercolours that Carr produced in and around Vancouver during this period are uninspired, if accurate, renderings of the subject matter.

A pivotal moment in her career occurred during an Alaskan holiday she took with her sister Alice in 1907. In Sitka, Carr encountered Aboriginal monumental carvings — crest poles, mortuary poles and house frontal poles — for the first time. She sketched in the First Nations village in Sitka and in "Totem Walk," where poles had been "restored" and grouped together for maximum exposure to tourists. There she met an American artist, thought to be Theodore J. Richardson, who was earning his living selling watercolours of Aboriginal villages and carvings in New York. Carr showed him her sketches of Totem Walk, and later she reported that he had been impressed, saying that her work "ha[d] the true Indian flavour."3 At this moment, Carr solidified one aspect of her artistic career: the documentation of what she viewed as the rapidly disappearing culture of First Nations communities.

The Indian people and their Art touched me deeply. By the time I reached home my mind was made up. I was going to picture totem poles in their own village settings, as complete a collection of them as I could...

Indian Art broadened my seeing, loosened the formal tightness I had learned in England's schools. Its bigness and stark reality baffled my white man's understanding. I was as Canadian-born as the Indian but behind me were Old World heredity and ancestry as well as Canadian environment. The new West called me, but my Old World heredity, the flavour of my upbringing, pulled me back. I had been schooled to see outsides only, not struggle to pierce...

Indian Art taught me directness and quick, precise decisions. When paying ten dollars a day for hire of boat and guide, one cannot afford to dawdle and haver [sic] this vantage point against that.

I learned a lot from the Indians, but who except Canada herself could help me comprehend her great woods and spaces? San Francisco had not, London had not. What about this New Art Paris talked of? It claimed bigger, broader seeing.

– "Growing Pains" in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 427.

Between 1908 and 1910, Carr spent the summers travelling to First Nations villages throughout British Columbia as part of her documentary project. She had yet to focus her attention on totemic carvings; at this time she painted communities dotted with people and activity, chronicling life as she saw it. She approached her subjects with the conservative watercolour tradition that she had learned while in England. Her tonal range was limited, as in Alert Bay Mortuary Boxes (1908), for example, and she could not yet capture the details and complexities of the carvings, as evidenced in Street Scene, Alert Bay (c.1908). It was not until she went to France, to study the "New Art," that she acquired the skill to depict First Nations subject matter with the power and intensity that became her trademark.

1 Emily Carr, Growing Pains (Toronto: Clarke, Irwin, 1946), p. 99.
2 Maria Tippett, Emily Carr: A Biography (Toronto: Stoddart, 1994), pp. 49-50.
3 Emily Carr, "Growing Pains," The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, ed. Doris Shadbolt (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 1997), p. 427.

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Indian Reserve, North Vancouver

Indian Reserve, North Vancouver, v.1905
aquarelle sur papier
19,4 x 27,1 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Don de Mlle Jean McD. Russell

Alert Bay, Mortuary Boxes

Alert Bay, Mortuary Boxes, 1908
aquarelle et graphite sur papier
54,5 x 38,3 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr

Totem Walk at Sitka

Totem Walk at Sitka, v.1907
aquarelle sur papier
38,5 x 38,5 cm
L'Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, Legs Thomas Gardiner Keir

Street Scene, Alert Bay

Street Scene, Alert Bay, v.1908
aquarelle sur papier
29,9 x 24,8 cm
British Columbia Archives

Œuvres de jeunesse (1893-1910)

Emily Carr reçoit une formation artistique dès son jeune âge. Elle suit des cours chaque semaine à l'école primaire avec Emily Woods, jusqu'à ce que l'établissement n'offre plus le service. Son père, Richard Carr, inscrit alors Emily et ses sœurs à des leçons particulières. Dans le Victoria du dix-neuvième siècle, la pratique de l'art est perçue chez les femmes, mariées ou célibataires, comme une distraction de bon ton mais jamais comme une activité professionnelle respectable. Après le décès de ses parents, Emily convainc ses tuteurs de la laisser s'inscrire dans une école d'art californienne. Elle quitte Victoria à l'été 1890 pour fréquenter la California School of Design de San Francisco, sous la surveillance attentive d'amis et de membres de la famille.

Elle y trouve une approche pédagogique traditionnelle: d'abord du dessin de moulages anciens, puis des natures mortes, pour finalement en arriver au modèle vivant. Carr prend les classes préparatoires de dessin de moulages et de paysages, mais son éducation puritaine la retient de participer aux séances de modèles nus. Dans son ouvrage Les maux de la croissance, elle indiquera sa nette préférence pour les cours de paysage, suggérant que sa prédilection pour la peinture en plein air remonte à sa jeunesse. Malheureusement, une mauvaise gestion des finances familiales oblige Carr à quitter l'école de San Francisco. Après plus de trois années d'études, elle a peu progressé: de son propre aveu, sa peinture à l'époque est «banale et privée d'émotion — des objets honnêtement représentés, sans plus»1.

En 1893, Emily Carr revient à Victoria, où elle commence à peindre de petites aquarelles et donne des cours d'art aux enfants dans l'étable de la propriété familiale. Elle cache ses gains dans un soulier suspendu au plafond de l'étable et, avec le temps, met assez d'argent de côté pour poursuivre ses études à l'étranger. Peu à l'aise en français, elle choisit Londres plutôt que Paris.

Peu de temps avant son voyage transatlantique, à la fin de 1898 ou au début de 1899, Carr visite avec sa sœur Lizzie une mission presbytérienne à Ucluelet (Hiiats'uu), une communauté des Premières nations sur l'île de Vancouver. Quelques-uns des dessins exécutés durant ce séjour ont survécu; leur attention méticuleuse aux détails et leur caractère documentaire rappellent des illustrations de voyage d'exploration. Carr utilise le crayon, la plume et l'aquarelle pour représenter les gens et la vie de village, mais ses croquis restent statiques et ternes. Par exemple, dans le dessin à la plume et au crayon Three Indian Girls, Ucluelet (v.1898), une certaine rigidité dénote une compréhension encore immature du dessin de la forme humaine.

Carr se rend à Londres avec l'espoir d'y mener des études progressistes et stimulantes, mais la Westminster School of Art, affiliée à la Royal Academy, demeure très conservatrice. Étudiante insatiable, elle apprend toute la journée le dessin d'après nature puis, le soir, suit des cours de design, d'anatomie et de modelage. Son insatisfaction grandissante face à la qualité de l'enseignement et de la vie à Londres l'amène à une classe estivale de croquis, à Berkshire, après sa première année d'études. Un bref retour à Westminster la décide d'abandonner définitivement l'école pour se rendre à St. Ives, une colonie artistique rurale dans le comté de Cornouailles. Elle s'y exerce à la peinture en plein air de marines et de paysages, en compagnie de l'artiste anglais Julius Olsson et de son assistant, Algernon Talmage. Olsson est spécialiste des marines baignées de soleil, alors que Talmage peint des paysages dans la tradition de John Constable. Constamment en conflit avec Olsson, Carr trouve Talmage d'un commerce plus agréable; il comprend notamment son désir de peindre les arbres de la forêt de Tregenna. C'est là que Carr reçoit sa première formation approfondie sur la peinture en plein air et sur les techniques utiles à la représentation de la lumière2.

Au printemps 1902, elle étudie auprès de John Whiteley au studio Meadows à Bushey, dans le comté de Hertfordshire. Aquarelliste spécialisé dans le paysage traditionnel, Whiteley poursuit la formation de Carr en étude de la nature. Durant cette période, elle subit une dépression et passe les dix-huit derniers mois de son séjour outre-mer dans un sanatorium du Suffolk, où il lui est défendu de peindre. Peu de travaux ont survécu à cette époque, où elle brûle beaucoup d'œuvres, mais les aquarelles produites à son retour au Canada ne montrent pas d'amélioration notable de son expressivité à la suite de ses études britanniques.

Carr trouve un emploi d'enseignante au Vancouver Ladies' Art Club, déménage en ville et loue un atelier au 570 Granville Street. C'est vers cette période qu'elle devient l'amie de Sophie Frank et fréquente régulièrement la réserve Squamish de Vancouver-Nord, où habite Frank, pour y brosser des croquis de la vie et de la culture autochtones. Des travaux tels que Indian Reserve, North Vancouver (v.1905) indiquent une forte amélioration de son sens de la profondeur et de la perspective depuis ses travaux de jeunesse. Les formes acquièrent plus de densité dans ses paysages. Quant aux séries de petites aquarelles produites à Vancouver et dans les environs à l'époque, elles offrent des sujets rendus sans inspiration, bien qu'avec précision.

L'année 1907 constitue un moment charnière de son évolution. Au cours de vacances en Alaska avec sa sœur Alice, Carr voit pour la première fois, à Sitka, des sculptures monumentales autochtones — mâts totémiques, mâts mortuaires et mâts de façade. Elle esquisse des croquis au village des Premières nations et à la «Promenade des totems», où des mâts ont été «restaurés» et regroupés pour le regard des touristes. Elle y rencontre un artiste américain, probablement Théodore J. Richardson, qui gagne sa vie à New York par la vente d'aquarelles de villages autochtones et de sculptures. Carr rapporte sa réaction élogieuse aux croquis de la Promenade des totems, dont elle aurait «vraiment capté l'atmosphère indienne»3. C'est le moment où se concrétise un volet important de la carrière artistique d'Emily Carr, la documentation de ce qu'elle perçoit comme la culture en décroissance rapide des communautés autochtones.

Ces peuples et leur art m'avaient touchée profondément... Lorsque j'arrivai chez moi, ma décision était prise: j'allais représenter les totems dans leur propres décors, les villages indiens, et en accumuler une collection aussi complète que possible...

L'art indien élargit ma façon de voir, relâcha le formalisme appris dans les écoles anglaises. Ses proportions impressionnantes et sa réalité toute crue confondaient mon entendement de femme blanche. J'étais aussi canadienne de naissance que les Indiens, mais j'avais derrière moi l'hérédité de mes ancêtres de l'Ancien Monde, et la façon don't j'avais été élevée me retenait. L'on m'avait appris à ne voir que l'extérieur des choses, non pas à lutter pour les percer...

L'art indien m'apprit à être directe et à prendre des décisions rapides et précises. Quand on paie dix dollars par jour pour louer un bateau et un guide, on ne peut pas lambiner et hésiter entre un point de vue et un autre.

J'appris beaucoup des Indiens, mais qui, en dehors du Canada lui-même, pouvait m'apprendre à comprendre ses vastes forêts et ses grands espaces? San Francisco n'avait pas pu, Londres non plus. Qu'en était-il de cet art nouveau dont on parlait à Paris? Il se targuait d'avoir une vision plus large.

Les maux de la croissance, trad. Michelle Tisseyre, p. 83.

Entre 1908 et 1910, Carr passe ses étés à voyager d'un village autochtone à l'autre dans toute la Colombie-Britannique aux fins de son projet documentaire. Elle ne se concentre pas encore sur les sculptures totémiques, peignant plutôt des communautés parsemées de personnages et d'activités qui constituent leur vie à ses yeux. Elle applique à ses sujets la tradition conservatrice d'aquarelle apprise en Angleterre. Sa palette tonale est limitée, par exemple dans Alert Bay Mortuary Boxes (1908), et elle ne sait pas encore capter les détails et la complexité des sculptures, comme en témoigne Street Scene, Alert Bay, (v.1908). C'est finalement en France, où elle part étudier l'«art nouveau», qu'elle acquerra la capacité de donner à ses sujets des Premières nations le pouvoir et l'intensité qui vont devenir sa marque.

1 Emily Carr, Les maux de la croissance, trad. Michelle Tisseyre, Montréal, Pierre Tisseyre éditeur, 1994, p. 83.
2 Maria Tippett, Emily Carr: A Biography, Toronto, Stoddart, 1994, pp. 49-50.
3 Carr, Les maux de la croissance, p. 229.