Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

A Skidegate Beaver Pole

A Skidegate Beaver Pole, 1941-1942
oil on canvas
86.0 x 76.3 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust

Masset Bears

Masset Bears, c.1941
oil on canvas
101.4 x 44.9 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust

A Skidegate Poled

A Skidegate Pole, 1941-1942
oil on canvas
87.0 x 76.5 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust

Forsaken

Forsaken, 1937
oil on canvas
119.1 x 76.5 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust

Clearing

Clearing, 1942
oil on canvas
68.6 x 111.8 cm
National Gallery of Canada, Purchased 1955

Cedar Sanctuary

Cedar Sanctuary, c.1942
oil on paper
91.5 x 61.0 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust

Final Period (1939-1942)

As the 1930s came to an end, Emily Carr, advanced in years and not in good health, began to divide her time between her art and her nascent literary career. Although Klee Wyck, her first book, was not published until 1941, Carr began in the early 1930s to mould her memories into short literary sketches. In 1937 she suffered a heart attack and during her convalescence devoted all her energy to writing, which she could do in bed. She recovered sufficiently to resume painting, but was frail and could only work from existing sketch material and her recollections. In writing Klee Wyck, her reminiscences of time spent in First Nations villages, Carr found a renewed interest in Aboriginal subject matter. She wrote to Nan Cheney in May 1941, "going over the Indian Sketches has stirred up a homesickness for Indian."1

I have been having a kind of general regurgitation of my work preparatory to moving. Everything has had to be cleaned and sorted in a general review of thoughts that had shaped themselves into sketches and sketches that had shaped themselves into canvases. I've done an immense amount of work. In looking back I can see the puckerings of preparation for ideas that burst later and bore fruit, little brown acorns that cracked their shells and made little scrub thickets full of twists, and a few that made some fairly good oaks. Tired though I am, I want to start working again. The afterlooks at some things have made me anxious to wriggle out of that particular rut and try another.

– "Hundreds and Thousands" in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 881.

Carr returned to Aboriginal themes but approached the material with the techniques and vision that she had developed over the previous decade. The five works she produced embody all of the themes and issues with which she struggled throughout her career.2 Using the same sketch material that was the foundation of her earlier totems, Carr abandoned the formalized, geometric designs that were prevalent in her work during the late 1920s and early 1930s. Now she sought to infuse her canvases with the light, movement and space that figured so prominently in her landscape paintings of the 1930s.

Rather than being the focal point of the canvases, the poles have become elements of a greater story and a more ambitious composition. Carr's brushstrokes are much lighter than in her formal period, and her colour palette is less sombre and deep. Forsaken, one of the first canvases she painted while recovering from her heart attack in 1937, marks her return to First Nations imagery. Though the title and the dense undergrowth are reminiscent of her late-1920s themes of abandonment and despair, the light shining down on the pole suggests a more optimistic message of perseverance and longevity. Forsaken also incorporates many of the methods Carr employed throughout her career to depict the forest. The overlapping geometric tree forms evoke her formal period, while the rolling hills and the freer, less designed foliage are drawn from her landscape work.

Carr once again explored the relationship between the natural environment and totems, but with a noticeably different perspective than what is discernible in studies such as Strangled by Growth (1931) and Vanquished (c.1931). The bleak, menacing tone is gone, replaced with a serene sense of coexistence. The imagery of abandoned poles being strangled by aggressive foliage gives way to a mood of tranquility and peace: the relationship is no longer antagonistic.

A Skidegate Pole (1941-42) and A Skidegate Beaver Pole (1941-42) both feature a single large totem pole surrounded by rolling hills and a light, swirling sky. Pole, sky and foliage are seamlessly fused as one; no element is more important than another. The rhythm of the sky and the landscape clashes with the solidity of the pole, a juxtaposition that is not entirely successful. Although the colour of the totem and foliage in A Skidegate Pole is dark, Carr introduces light behind the totem to invoke a spiritual presence. Compared to the 1912 oil based on similar source material, this work demonstrates how far Carr had progressed by the conclusion of her career. The early work is much less intense and powerful than the later canvas, and Carr's handling of the landscape is decorative and ineffectual.

In A Skidegate Beaver Pole, the totem and the houses are partially concealed and are floating, not drowning, in the rolling landscape—a subtle change from earlier works. Although its base is invisible, the pole looms large over the scene, seemingly unthreatened by the undergrowth. This work also has a corresponding oil from 1912, which appears static and factual by comparison. Carr's introduction of movement into the later canvas completely alters the mood and the expressive power of the pole and its relation to the natural world.

Lawren and Bess came in today. Lawren pulled out a lot of canvases but his crits were not illuminating, although they were full of admiration and appreciation... I observed that he turned back to former canvases with epithets like "swell," "grand," "beautiful," and the later canvases he was perhaps more silent over. I wonder if the work is weakening and petering out. Perhaps so. I feel myself that the angles is [sic] slightly different. Perhaps the former was more vigorous, more disciplined, but I think the later is more thoughtful. I know it is less static. Perhaps the static was more in line with his present abstract viewpoint. He was enthusiastic enough and complimentary — but not enlightening. Praise half as warm many years ago would have made me take off into the sky with delight. Now I distrust criticism. It seems to be of so little worth. People that know little talk much and folk that know halt, wondering, self-conscious about their words. Perhaps the best thing I got out of this visit of the Harrises was a calm looking with impartial eyes at what Lawren pulled out of my racks, things I had almost forgotten that stirred my newer and older thoughts together in my mind and made me try to amalgamate them.

– "Hundreds and Thousands" in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 890.

In 1942, with the help of Ira Dilworth, Carr went on her final sketching trip to Mount Douglas Park. The results were her late landscape paintings, The Clearing, Cedar, Quiet and Cedar Sanctuary, all produced in 1942. These canvases restate the vision of the west coast landscape that Carr worked on throughout her career. In their serenity and calm, they possess neither the dark antagonism nor ebullient joy that had characterized her earlier work. Cedar and Quiet are distinct for the absence of light and sky; instead, Carr uses numerous gradations of green to depict the dense forest. These canvases are also different from her mid-1930s work, in which the sky predominates, more reminiscent of her earlier tree studies but without their geometric designs.

It is possible that this new tone of Carr's work has much to do with her own improved disposition. Toward the end of her career, she slowly began to receive acclaim and to enjoy commercial success, and she had more close friendships than at any other point in her life.

In 1945, while preparing for her annual exhibition at the Vancouver Art Gallery, Carr was overwhelmed by exhaustion. She checked herself into a nursing home for rest. Less than a week later, she suffered a heart attack and died on March 2, 1945.

1 Doreen Walker, ed., Dear Nan: Letters of Emily Carr, Nan Cheney and Humphrey Toms (Vancouver: UBC Press, 1990), pp. 326–27.
2 A Skidegate Beaver Pole (1941–42), Masset Bears (1941), Laughing Bear (1941), Skidegate Pole (1941–42), Forsaken (1937).

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

A Skidegate Beaver Pole

A Skidegate Beaver Pole, 1941-1942
huile sur toile
86,0 x 76,3 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr

Masset Bears

Masset Bears, v.1941
huile sur toile
101,4 x 44,9 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr

A Skidegate Pole

A Skidegate Pole, 1941-1942
huile sur toile
87,0 x 76,5 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr

Forsaken

Forsaken, 1937
huile sur toile
119,1 x 76,5 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr

Clearing

Clearing, 1942
huile sur toile
68,6 x 111,8 cm
Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Acheté en 1955

Cedar Sanctuary

Cedar Sanctuary, v.1942
huile sur papier
91,5 x 61,0 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr

Dernière période (1939-1942)

Vers la fin des années 1930, Emily Carr, qui sent le poids des ans et voit décliner sa santé, partage de plus en plus son temps entre son art et une carrière littéraire naissante. Même si Klee Wyck, son premier livre, ne sera publié qu'en 1941, elle façonne dès le début des années 1930 ses souvenirs en de courts sketches littéraires. En 1937, terrassée par une crise cardiaque, elle consacre toute son énergie de convalescente à l'écriture, qu'elle peut pratiquer au lit. Elle se rétablit suffisamment pour recommencer à peindre, mais demeure fragile et ne peut travailler qu'à partir d'esquisses existantes et de souvenirs. En rédigeant Klee Wyck, une relation de ses séjours auprès des Premières nations, elle voit renaître son intérêt pour les sujets autochtones. En mai 1941, elle écrit à Nan Cheney, «revoir mes croquis indigènes a réveillé en moi une nostalgie des Indiens »1.

Le viens de vivre une sorte de régurgitation générale de mon œuvre en me préparant à déménager. Tout a dû être nettoyé et trié, une récapitulation générale d'idées qui se sont transformées en croquis et de croquis qui se sont façonnés en tableaux. J'ai abattu une immense besogne. En regardant le passé, je peux repérer les bourgeons d'idées qui se sont développées et ont porté fruit, comme autant de petits glands bruns qui brisent leur écorce pour devenir des fourrés touffus et enchevêtrés et parfois quelques chênes assez acceptables. Malgré mon extrême fatigue, je veux recommencer à travailler. Revoir certains de mes travaux m'a rendue anxieuse de sortir de cette ornière et d'explorer une autre voie.

– «Hundreds and Thousands», The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 881.

Carr revient à des thèmes autochtones mais avec les techniques et la vision acquises au cours de la décennie écoulée. Les cinq œuvres qu'elle réalise incarnent l'ensemble des thèmes et des enjeux affrontés tout au long de sa carrière2. Repartant des esquisses ayant servi aux œuvres totémiques antérieures, Carr abandonne les motifs formalistes et géométriques qui prévalaient dans son œuvre à la fin des années 1920 et au début des années 1930. Elle cherche désormais à insuffler aux toiles la lumière, le mouvement et l'espace qui dominaient tant ses paysages des années 1930.

Les mâts ne sont plus le pôle d'attraction des tableaux mais des éléments d'un récit beaucoup plus vaste et de compositions plus ambitieuses. Les touches de Carr sont bien plus légères que durant sa période académique et sa palette n'est plus aussi sombre. Forsaken, une des premières toiles peintes pendant qu'elle se rétablit de l'accident cardiaque de 1937, marque un retour à l'imagerie des Premières nations. Même si le titre et la densité du sous-bois font écho aux thèmes d'abandon et de désespoir que peignait Carr à la fin des années 1920, la lumière qui fond sur les mâts suggère un message plus optimiste de persévérance et de longévité. Dans Forsaken, Carr reprend également plusieurs des procédés utilisés pour dépeindre la forêt au cours de sa carrière. Le rendu des arbres par motifs géométriques superposés évoque la période académique, tandis que les collines harmonieuses et le feuillage plus libre, moins stylisé, reflètent son œuvre paysagiste.

Carr explore à nouveau la relation entre l'environnement naturel et les totems, mais à partir d'une perspective sensiblement différente de celle que laissent entrevoir des études comme Strangled by Growth (1931) et Vanquished (v.1931). L'atmosphère morne et menaçante est remplacée par un sentiment paisible de coexistence. L'imagerie des mâts abandonnés étranglés par un feuillage agressif cède le pas à un climat de tranquillité et de paix: la relation a cessé d'être antagoniste.

A Skidegate Pole (1941–42) et A Skidegate Beaver Pole (1941–42) représentent tous deux un seul grand mât totémique, entouré de collines ondoyantes et d'un ciel léger et tourbillonnant. Mât, ciel et feuillage s'amalgament aisément; aucun des éléments ne prend plus d'importance que les autres. Le rythme du ciel et du paysage contraste avec la solidité du mât, une juxtaposition qui ne réussit pas entièrement. Malgré la tonalité sombre du totem et du feuillage dans A Skidegate Pole, Carr peint derrière le mât totémique une lumière invoquant une présence spirituelle. Comparée au tableau de 1912 inspiré des mêmes sources, cette œuvre témoigne du chemin parcouru par l'artiste durant sa longue carrière. Ses dernières œuvres sont habitées d'une intensité et d'une puissance d'expression beaucoup moins présentes dans les tableaux de la première période, où son traitement des paysages demeure décoratif et terne.

Dans A Skidegate Beaver Pole, le mât totémique et les maisons, partiellement dissimulés, flottent sans basculer dans le paysage ondulant — une évolution subtile en regard de l'œuvre antérieure. Même si sa base est invisible, le mât totémique imprègne toute la scène, donnant l'impression d'échapper à une menace liée au sous-bois. En comparaison, un tableau de 1912 inspiré du même sujet apparaît statique et factuel. L'introduction par Carr du mouvement dans cette nouvelle version change complètement l'atmosphère ainsi que le pouvoir expressif du mât et sa relation à la nature.

Lawren et Bess sont venus aujourd'hui. Lawren a regardé plusieurs toiles, mais ses critiques ne m'ont pas éclairée, malgré toute son admiration et ses compliments... J'ai remarqué qu'il qualifiait les anciens tableaux d'épithètes comme «super», «formidable», «magnifique» mais qu'il était apparemment plus silencieux devant les toiles plus récentes. Je me demande si mon travail s'affaiblit et s'étiole. Peut-être. Je sens bien que ma vision est un peu différente. L'ancienne était peut-être plus énergique et disciplinée, mais je trouve la nouvelle plus réfléchie. Je sais qu'elle est moins statique. Il se peut que le style statique corresponde plus à sa propre perspective abstraite ces jours-ci. Il était suffisamment enthousiaste et élogieux — mais pas éclairant. Autrefois, la moitié de ces louanges m'auraient transportée au ciel de joie. Aujourd'hui, je me méfie des critiques. Elles semblent avoir tellement peu d'ancrage. Les gens qui savent peu parlent beaucoup et les gens qui savent se taisent et réfléchissent, conscients du poids de leurs mots. Il se peut que cette visite des Harris m'ait surtout aidée à jeter un regard calme et impartial à ce que Lawren a sorti de mes casiers, des choses presque oubliées qui ont ranimé et conforté mes nouvelles et anciennes réflexions et m'ont incitée à tenter de les amalgamer.

– «Hundreds and Thousands», The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 890.

En 1942, avec son ami Ira Dilworth, Carr entreprend sa dernière expédition de peinture sur le motif au parc du mont Douglas. C'est au cours de cette année qu'elle peint ses derniers paysages, The Clearing, Cedar, Quiet et Cedar Sanctuary. Ces toiles réitèrent sa vision des paysages de la côte Ouest qui ont inspiré toute sa carrière. Leur calme et leur sérénité transcendent le sombre antagonisme et la joie exubérante caractéristiques de ses œuvres antérieures. Cedar et Quiet sont remarquables par l'absence de lumière et de ciel; Carr s'en remet plutôt à un camaïeu de verts pour exprimer la densité de la forêt. Ces tableaux diffèrent également de ceux du milieu des années 1930 où le ciel prédominait. Ils rappellent plutôt ses anciennes études d'arbres, mais sans leurs formes géométriques.

Ce tournant dans le travail de Carr reflète peut-être l'amélioration de ses conditions de vie en fin de carrière. Elle acquiert peu à peu une renommée et jouit d'un succès commercial. Elle connaît également plus d'amitiés intimes qu'à toute autre période de sa vie.

En 1945, alors qu'elle prépare son exposition annuelle à la Vancouver Art Gallery, Carr s'effondre, épuisée. Elle s'inscrit dans une maison de repos. Moins d'une semaine plus tard, elle est emportée par un arrêt cardiaque, le 2 mars 1945.

1 Doreen Walker, dir. de pub., Dear Nan: Letters of Emily Carr, Nan Cheney and Humphrey Toms, Vancouver, UBC Press, 1990, pp. 326–327.
2 A Skidegate Beaver Pole (1941-42), Masset Bears (1941), Laughing Bear (1941), Skidegate Pole (1941-42), Forsaken (1937).