Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

Crécy-en-Brie

Crécy-en-Brie, 1911
oil on board
32.7 x 40.8 cm
British Columbia Archives, Presented in memory of Edward and Ellen Cridge, 1981

Street in Brittany

Street in Brittany, c.1911
watercolour on paper
26.2 x 36.5 cm
The McMichael Canadian Art Collection, Gift of Dr. and Mrs. Max Stern, Dominion Gallery, Montreal

French Girl and Siphons

French Girl and Siphons, 1911
watercolour and charcoal on wove paper
28.0 x 36.5 cm
National Gallery of Canada, Presented by the executors of Dr. Max Stern, 1988, in accordance with his wishes

Women of Brittany

Women of Brittany, 1911
watercolour and graphite on paper
44.5 x 54.6 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Acquisition Fund

France (1910-1911)

Even while living in Victorian British Columbia, Carr was aware that the potential of art was much greater than what she had witnessed in California and England. In an attempt to experience this "New Art," Carr left for France on July 10, 1910, clutching a letter of introduction to William Phelan "Harry" Gibb, a British expatriate living in Paris. She stopped in Calgary, Edmonton, Quebec and London, UK, along the way. Carr hoped to discover new ideas and techniques that would help her break with her conservative approach and bring more power to her renderings of First Nations communities.

I had brought with me a letter of introduction to a very modern artist named Harry Gibb... I stood by the side of Harry Gibb, staring in amazement at his walls. Some of his pictures rejoiced, some shocked me. There was rich, delicious juiciness in his colour, interplay between warm and cool tones. He intensified vividness by the use of complementary colour. His mouth had a crooked, tight-lipped twist. He was fighting bitterly for recognition of the "New Art"... Mr Gibb's landscapes and still life delighted me — brilliant, luscious, clean. Against the distortion of his nudes I felt revolt.

– "Growing Pains" in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 430.

In Paris, Carr adopted a diluted form of Post-Impressionism that integrated aspects of Impressionism, Post-Impressionism and Fauvism, yet missed, or ignored, the radical techniques of artists such as Picasso, Braque and Matisse. Nonetheless, Carr's work was forever changed by her sojourn in France. In this period she succeeded in breaking with the British watercolour tradition and, more importantly, began to appreciate the expressive power of art. Now she understood the fundamental difference between visual reality and its transformation onto a flat canvas. Carr left France inspired by an expanded notion of the possibilities of art.1

On Gibb's recommendation, Carr had initially enrolled at the Académie Colarossi, but she was uncomfortable in the male-dominated atmosphere, and she struggled with the language. She was unable to understand the "crits" of her teachers, and though she arranged with an American student to trade clean paint rags for translation services, he was absent so frequently that she had to abandon the deal. Finding city life oppressive, Carr began to suffer from ailments similar to those that had plagued her in London. She was convinced that she must leave Paris, but after consulting with Gibb, she decided to study in the private studio of John Duncan Fergusson and later attended his classes at the Atelier Blanche. Fergusson was a Scottish-born expatriate known for his rhythmic figure studies and his use of a vivid palette.2 Under his direction, Carr studied figure drawing and still life, and learned new paint application techniques and the use of the Fauve palette in thick, pronounced brush strokes. For the first time she began to work exclusively in oils, eliminating detail, flattening forms and creating structure and depth out of short, colourful brushstrokes.

Carr took a brief interlude in Sweden to stave off another collapse, then followed Gibb to Crécy-en-Brie and St. Efflam to attend his landscape classes. Gibb's instruction and criticism were critical to Carr's artistic development. He helped her to separate the sky from the landscape through the movement of her brushstrokes alone. More importantly, Gibb taught her to introduce imaginative power into her art, to represent her own vision and interpretation of the scene. Carr began experimenting with perspective, scale and colour, rather than remaining faithful to literal representations of natural forms.

In the French countryside, Carr painted village scenes, farms, churches and interiors of cottages, paying particular attention to the lives of peasants. Her new Post-Impressionist technique was perfectly suited to capturing village life, and she created street views and landscapes with short, broken brushstrokes and vibrant colour, as visible in Canal in France (1911) and Autumn in France (1911).

I heard there was a fine water colourist (Australian) teaching at Concarneau, a place much frequented by artists. I went to Concarneau—studied under her. Change of medium, change of teacher, change of environment, refreshed me. I put in six weeks' good work under her.

Concarneau was a coast fishing town. I sketched the people, their houses, boats, wine shops, sail makers in their lofts. Then I went up to Paris, crossed the English Channel, and from Liverpool set sail for Canada.

– "Growing Pains" in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 436.

Carr left Gibb when she felt she had learned all she could from him. She then joined Frances Hodgkins in Concarneau for a few weeks of study before returning to Canada. Hodgkins, a native of New Zealand, had made a name for herself as a watercolourist in a late Impressionist style and had the distinction of being the first female instructor at the Académie Colarossi. Under her direction, Carr returned to watercolour, but with her new knowledge and painterly technique. Hodgkins showed Carr how to let her washes run into each other and to use bold, broken outlines and minimal detail.3 Carr's figure studies, such as those seen in Women of Brittany (1911) and French Girl and Siphons (1911), reveal a significant improvement in her execution of the human form. In these paintings there is none of the rigidity and stiffness that characterized her earlier work.

In the watercolours that Carr produced under Hodgkins' guidance, concern for detail and documentation is gone, replaced with energy and movement. Some of these works are even more intense than her oils from the same period. In Street in Brittany (c.1911), for example, Carr uses a bold palette to create a charming village scene out of thick black outlines and minimal detail.

Before Carr left for Canada, two of her paintings, Le Collier and Le Paysage, hung in the juried exhibition at the Salon d'Automne. It is unclear whether she attended the Salon, but this was nonetheless a great triumph for Carr, who had never before exhibited in an important group show.

When Carr showed Gibb some of her early First Nations sketches, he encouraged her to continue pursuing the subject. He cited Picasso's interest in aboriginal African art as legitimizing Primitivism within the rubric of the Modern movement. With a new approach to painting and renewed confidence, Carr was eager to return home and apply the French style to her First Nations subject matter. She came back to Victoria feeling accomplished and worldly, and more prepared then ever to confront the complexities of the totemic carvings.

I came home from France stronger in body, in thinking, and in work than I had returned from England. My seeing had broadened. I was better equipped both for reaching and study because of my year and a half in France, but still mystified, baffled as to how to tackle our big West.

– "Growing Pains" in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 436.

1 Doris Shadbolt, The Art of Emily Carr (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 1979), p. 36.
2 Ian Thom, Emily Carr in France (Vancouver: Vancouver Art Gallery, 1991), p. 14.
3 Maria Tippett, Emily Carr: A Biography (Toronto: Stoddart, 1994), p. 95.

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Crécy-en-Brie

Crécy-en-Brie, 1911
huile sur carton
32,7 x 40,8 cm
British Columbia Archives, Presenté à la memoire d'Edward et Ellen Cridge, 1981

Street in Brittany

Street in Brittany, v.1911
aquarelle sur papier
26,2 x 36,5 cm
Collection McMichael d'art canadien, Don de M. et Mme Max Stern, Galerie Dominion, Montréal

French Girl and Siphons

French Girl and Siphons, 1911
aquarelle et fusain sur papier vélin
28,0 x 36,5 cm
Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Don de la succession de Max Stern, 1988, selon l'expression de sa volonté

Women of Brittany

Women of Brittany, 1911
aquarelle et graphite sur papier
44,5 x 54,6 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds d'Acquisition

La France (1910-1911)

Emily Carr sent bien, malgré l'esprit victorien qui prédomine en Colombie-Britannique, que l'art est porteur de possibilités bien supérieures à ce qu'elle a vu en Californie et en Angleterre. Désireuse de vivre cet «art nouveau», elle part pour la France le 10 juillet 1910, munie d'une lettre d'introduction destinée à William Phelan «Harry» Gibb, un expatrié britannique vivant à Paris. Au passage, elle s'arrête à Calgary, Edmonton et Québec, puis à Londres. Elle espère découvrir de nouvelles idées et techniques qui l'aideront à se défaire de son approche classique et à rendre avec plus de force ses sujets des Premières nations.

J'avais apporté une lettre de présentation à un artiste très moderne du nom de Harry Gibb... Debout à côté de Harry Gibb, j'observais ses murs avec étonnement. Certains de ses tableaux m'enchantèrent, d'autres me scandalisèrent. Ses couleurs étaient richement, délicieusement juteuses, alternant les tons chauds et les tons froids. Il les intensifiait en utilisant les complémentaires. Il avait les lèvres pincées, un peu tordues. Il luttait amèrement pour la reconnaissance de l'art nouveau... Les paysages et les natures mortes de M. Gibb me ravirent. Ils étaient brillants, appétissants, nets. Mais la distorsion de ses nus me révolta.

Les maux de la croissance, trad. Michelle Tisseyre, p. 235.

À Paris, elle adopte une forme diluée de postimpressionnisme intégrant des aspects de l'impressionnisme, du postimpressionnisme et du fauvisme, mais ne remarque pas — ou ignore — les techniques radicales d'artistes comme Picasso, Braque et Matisse. Néanmoins, son séjour en France transformera son travail à tout jamais. Elle réussit durant cette période à rompre avec la tradition britannique de l'aquarelle et, surtout, elle devient plus sensible au pouvoir expressif de l'art. Comprenant maintenant la différence cruciale entre la réalité visuelle et sa transmutation sur la surface plane du canevas, Carr quitte la France inspirée par une notion élargie des possibilités de l'art1.

Sur la recommandation de Gibb, Carr s'est d'abord inscrite à l'Académie Colarossi, mais elle se sent mal à l'aise dans cette atmosphère éminemment masculine. De plus, le français lui pose difficulté: elle n'arrive pas à comprendre les critiques des professeurs. Elle a beau avoir conclu avec un étudiant américain une entente d'échange de chiffons de peinture propres contre des services de traduction, il est si souvent absent qu'elle doit laisser tomber ce marché. Trouvant la vie urbaine étouffante, Carr est convaincue de devoir quitter Paris car elle commence à souffrir de malaises semblables à ceux qui l'accablaient à Londres. Après consultation de Gibb, elle décide pourtant d'y demeurer pour des leçons à l'atelier personnel de John Duncan Fergusson, puis pour les cours qu'il donne à l'Atelier Blanche. Fergusson est un Écossais connu pour ses études rythmées de personnages et sa palette vive2. Sous sa direction, Carr étudie le dessin de modèle vivant et la nature morte, apprend de nouvelles techniques d'application de la peinture et enrichit sa palette de couleurs fauves appliquées en touches épaisses et affirmées. Pour la première fois, elle travaille exclusivement à l'huile, éliminant les détails, aplanissant les formes et créant structure et profondeur par des touches courtes et colorées.

Après un bref intermède en Suède pour éviter une rechute, elle suit Gibb à Crécy-en-Brie et Saint-Efflam afin de suivre ses cours sur le paysage. Les instructions et les critiques de Gibb font beaucoup pour le développement artistique de Carr: il l'aide à séparer le ciel de la partie terrestre du paysage par le seul mouvement du pinceau, mais surtout, il lui enseigne à intégrer à son art le pouvoir de l'imaginaire pour faire place à sa propre vision et son interprétation de la scène. Carr commence à jouer avec la perspective, l'échelle et la couleur, plutôt que de s'en tenir à une représentation littérale des formes naturelles.

En France, Carr peint des scènes de villages, des fermes, des églises et des intérieurs de cottages, portant une attention particulière à la vie des paysans. Sa nouvelle technique postimpressionniste s'avère parfaite pour saisir la vie des villages: elle compose des scènes de rues et des paysages à l'aide de touches courtes aux couleurs vibrantes, comme dans Canal in France (1911) et Autumn in France (1911).

J'avais entendu dire qu'il y avait une excellente aquarelliste australienne qui enseignait à Concarneau, un endroit très fréquenté par les artistes. J'allai donc à Concarneau, étudier avec elle. Ce changement de médium, de professeur, d'environnement, me fut salutaire. Je fis avec elle pendant six semaines un excellent travail.

Concarneau est un village de pêcheurs sur la côte de Bretagne. Je croquai les gens, leurs maisons, leurs barques, les boutiques des marchands de vin, les fabricants de voiles dans leurs greniers. Je retournai ensuite à Paris, franchis la Manche et, à Liverpool, je m'embarquai pour le Canada.

Les maux de la croissance, trad. Michelle Tisseyre, pp. 245-46.

Carr quitte Gibb lorsqu'elle juge avoir appris le maximum possible. Elle étudie alors pendant quelques semaines auprès de Frances Hodgkins à Concarneau avant de revenir au Canada. Originaire de la Nouvelle-Zélande, Hodgkins s'est fait un nom comme aquarelliste au style impressionniste tardif et possède la distinction d'être la première femme à enseigner à l'Académie Colarossi. Carr se remet à l'aquarelle sous sa direction mais en faisant appel à ses nouvelles connaissances et à une technique picturale transformée. Hodgkins lui montre comment laisser ses lavis s'interpénétrer, de même qu'à utiliser des lignes de contour fortes et brisées, avec un minimum de détails3. Les études de personnages de Carr, celles de Women of Brittany (1911) et French Girl and Siphons (1911), par exemple, témoignent d'une amélioration marquée dans l'exécution de la forme humaine. Ces peintures ne montrent aucune trace de la rigidité caractéristique des œuvres de jeunesse.

Dans les aquarelles produites par Carr auprès de Hodgkins, le souci du détail et de la documentation disparaît, remplacé par l'énergie et le mouvement. Certaines de ces œuvres sont même plus intenses que les huiles de la même période. Street in Brittany (v.1911), par exemple, affiche une palette audacieuse, avec une charmante scène de village structurée par d'épaisses lignes de contour noires et un minimum de détails.

Avant son départ pour le Canada, deux des peintures de Carr, Le Collier et Le Paysage, sont exposées au concours-exposition du Salon d'Automne. On ne sait pas avec certitude si elle a assisté au Salon, mais cette exposition constitue une victoire significative pour elle qui n'a jamais participé à une importante exposition collective.

Lorsque Carr montre à Gibb quelques-uns de ses croquis des Premières nations, il l'encourage à continuer d'approfondir le sujet. Il fait état de l'intérêt de Picasso pour l'art aborigène africain, qui légitime la place de l'art primitif au sein du modernisme. Portant sur la peinture un œil neuf et poussée par un regain de confiance, Carr a hâte de rentrer au pays pour appliquer le style français à son thème de prédilection, les Premières nations. Elle revient à Victoria en artiste accomplie, riche d'une expérience internationale et plus prête que jamais à affronter les complexités des sculptures totémiques.

Je rentrai de France plus forte de corps et d'esprit ainsi que vis-à-vis de mon œuvre que lorsque j'étais revenue d'Angleterre. Ma façon de voir s'était élargie. Grâce à cette année et demie passée en France, j'avais acquis davantage de moyens pouvant servir à mon enseignement et à mes études. Mais je ne savais toujours pas comment m'attaquer à notre vaste Ouest.

Les maux de la croissance, trad. Michelle Tisseyre, p. 247.

1 Doris Shadbolt, The Art of Emily Carr, Vancouver, Douglas & McIntyre, 1979, p. 36.
2 Ian Thom, Emily Carr in France, Vancouver, Vancouver Art Gallery, 1991, p. 14.
3 Maria Tippett, Emily Carr: A Biography, Toronto, Stoddart, 1994, p. 95.