Click on images below to enlarge in a new window

Blue Sky

Blue Sky, 1936
oil on canvas
93.5 x 65.0 cm
The Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, The Thomas Gardiner Keir Bequest

Odds and Ends

Odds and Ends, 1939
oil on canvas
67.4 x 109.5 cm
Formerly in the collection of the Greater Victoria Public Library. Transferred to the Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. This has been made possible through a fund, given by an anonymous donor to the Victoria foundation for the benefit of the Greater Victoria Public Library.

Above the Gravel Pit

Above the Gravel Pit, 1937
oil on canvas
77.2 x 102.3 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust

Scorned as Timber Beloved of the Sky

Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky, 1935
oil on canvas
112.0 x 68.9 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust

Reforestation

Reforestation, 1936
oil on canvas
110.0 x 67.2 cm
The McMichael Canadian Art Collection, Gift of the Founders, Robert and Signe McMichael

Stumps and Sky

Stumps and Sky, c.1934
oil on paper
59.5 x 90.0 cm
Collection of the Vancouver Art Gallery, Emily Carr Trust

Landscape

Landscape, c.1935
oil on wove paper, mounted on cardboard
27.0 x 37.0 cm
National Gallery of Canada, Bequest of Arthur Stanley Bourinot, Ottawa, 1969

The Mountain

The Mountain, 1933
oil on canvas
111.4 x 68.0 cm
The McMichael Canadian Art Collection, Gift of Dr. and Mrs. Max Stern, Dominion Gallery, Montreal

Strait of Juan de Fuca

Strait of Juan de Fuca, c.1936
oil on wove paper, mounted on plywood
57.5 x 87.0 cm
National Gallery of Canada, Bequest of Alfred E.H. Petrie, London, Ontario, 2000

Sky

Sky, 1935-1936
oil on wove paper
58.7 x 90.7 cm
National Gallery of Canada, Purchased 1937

The Landscape (1933-1939)

After heeding Lawren Harris's advice that she consider "leaving the totems alone for a year or more" to examine "the tremendous elusive what lies behind," Carr began to focus her attention on the forests, mountains and seascapes that surrounded her Victoria home.1 She no longer had to travel great distances to find appropriate sketching material and in 1933 purchased a caravan (camper), which she named "elephant" and had towed to various locations outside the city.

I had now become independent of Indian material. It was Lawren Harris who first suggested I make this change.

I had become more deeply interested in woods than in villages. In them I was finding something that was peculiarly my own. While working on the Indian stuff I felt a little that I was but copying the Indian idiom instead of expressing my own feelings.

– "Growing Pains" in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 453.

Although Carr had stopped using foliage as a decorative background device in her final totem paintings, her new landscapes rarely showed the stiff volumetric approach of her earlier work. Once she started to experiment with oil on paper, her work ceased to reflect the influence of Harris and Mark Tobey and their geometric formalism. She began to develop her own language to represent the western landscape, and expanded her subject matter to include more than just dense forest, now representing jungle, beach, sea and sky.

Carr's artistic technique changed as well. Instead of thick, sculptural brushstrokes, Carr employed light, swirling strokes that are at times reminiscent of the work of Van Gogh, the German Expressionists and Edvard Munch. Her approach was painterly, and her brushstroke once again became a visible and important component of the composition. Her colour palette was lighter and less monochromatic, and she experimented with bright blues, as in Blue Sky (1936) and Odds and Ends (1939), and with purple hues, as in Above the Gravel Pit (1937).

Her mastery of movement and spontaneity owed a lot to her use of the inexpensive and easily transportable oil-on-paper medium. She could apply the thinned oil paint with fluid ease, which allowed her to use brushstrokes to retain expressive value. The sheerness of the oils helped her to introduce light and air into her work. Her oil-on-paper sketches far outnumber her canvases from the period, but the oils that she composed are almost identical to the source material in intent, mood and composition.

The sketch relating to Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky (1935), for example, closely resembles the finished canvas. The foliage in the sketch is less defined than in the oil painting, but the rhythm, mood and light remain consistent. In both sketch and canvas, the spindly tree and the sky become one, and Carr's use of light creates an impression of ecstasy and transcendence. In many of her oil paintings, she succeeded in retaining the rhythm and spontaneity of her oil-on-paper sketches. In canvases such as Swirl (1937) and Reforestation (1936), the viewer can almost feel the undulating winds as the forest is transformed into a rolling sea of green.

Light becomes central to the paintings, representative of spirituality and infinite possibility. The frightening and antagonistic side of the forest that figured so prominently in her formal period is absent from the work of this time. Now, light emanates from nature's forms, creating a mood of joy and jubilation. In such works as Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky and Above the Gravel Pit, Carr locates spiritual energy within nature itself. Even when she depicts pillaged and devastated trees, as in Stumps and Sky (c.1934), Forest Clearing (1939) and Trees in the Sky (1939), the mood is not one of despair, but of renewal and regeneration. The swirling spirals that make up the sky in Stumps and Sky hint at a spiritual presence, and the tall, skinny second-growth pines in Trees in the Sky represent the cycle of nature and rebirth.

God is in them all. Now I know that is all that matters. The only thing worth striving for is to express God. Every living thing is God made manifest. All real art is the eternal seeking to express God, the one substance out of which all things are made. Search for the reality of each object, that is, its real and only beauty; recognize our relationship with all life; say to every animate and inanimate thing "brother"; be at one with all things, finding the divine in all; when one can do all this, maybe then one can paint. In the meantime one must go steadily on with open mind, courageously alert, waiting always for a lead, constantly watching, constantly praying, mediating much and not worrying.

– "Hundreds and Thousands" in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p.675.

Images of mountains proved to be the greatest challenge for Carr: her journals contain a number of passages that detail her struggle to infuse such a solid form with movement and energy. She is most successful when she situates the mountain in the distance, as in Landscape (c.1935), and less successful in works such as The Mountain (1933). Despite the light radiating from the sky, the bulky presence of the mountain dominates the canvas and lacks the rhythm present in much of her other work.

Direction, that's what I'm after, everything moving together, relative movement, sympathetic movement, connected movement, flowing, liquid, universal movement, all directions summing up in one grand direction, leading the eye forward, and satisfying. So to control direction of movement that the whole structure sways, vibrates and rocks together, not wobbling like a bowl of jelly.

– "Hundreds and Thousands" in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 701.

Carr's paintings progress toward the depiction of infinite space, and in the final works she produced before her heart attack in 1937, the sky predominates. In Strait of Juan de Fuca (c.1936), for example, she achieves a sense of infinite space by using colours and brushstrokes that make no distinction between the sea and the sky. Sky (1935-1936) has a similar effect: all movement originates from the bright light that emerges from a parting in the sky. In Overhead (1936) and Victoria Sight Across the Water (1937), Carr has created a view of an infinite sky shimmering with light. In these canvases, energy is two-directional, originating in both landscape and sky and flowing between the two.

In these works, Carr finally achieved the spirituality in her work that she had been searching for since 1927 when she was so profoundly moved by the work of Lawren Harris. Her landscape canvases and oil-on-paper sketches glisten with spiritual energy and indicate that Carr had finally found transcendence and peace. Her work, at last, is her own: she has discovered her own unique language to depict the power and exuberance of the western landscape.

Lawren's work influenced me. Not that I ever aspired to paint like him but I felt that he was after something that I wanted too. Once I used to think, "How would Lawren express this or that?" Now I don't think that any more. I say, "Emily, what do you make of this or that?" I don't try to sieve it through his eye, but through mine.

– "Hundreds and Thousands," in The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 738.

1 Maria Tippett, Emily Carr: A Biography (Toronto: Stoddart, 1994), p. 167.

Cliquer sur les images ci-dessous pour les agrandir dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Blue Sky

Blue Sky, 1936
huile sur toile
93,5 x 65,0 cm
The Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, Legs de Thomas Gardiner Keir

Odds and Ends

Odds and Ends, 1939
huile sur toile
67,4 x 109,5 cm
Autrefois dans la collection de la Greater Victoria Public Library. Transférée à l'Art Gallery of Greater Victoria en 1998. Ce transfert a été rendu possible grâce à un fonds remis par un donateur anonyme à la Fondation Victoria à l'intention de la Greater Victoria Public Library.

Above the Gravel Pit

Above the Gravel Pit, 1937
huile sur toile
77,2 x 102,3 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr

Scorned as Timber Beloved of the Sky

Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky, 1935
huile sur toile
112,0 x 68,9 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr

Reforestation

Reforestation, 1936
huile sur toile
110,0 x 67,2 cm
Collection McMichael d'art canadien, Don des fondateurs, Robert et Signe McMichael

Stumps and Sky

Stumps and Sky, v.1934
huile sur toile
59,5 x 90,0 cm
Collection de la Vancouver Art Gallery, Fonds Emily Carr

Landscape

Landscape, v.1935
huile sur papier vélin, monté sur carton
27,0 x 37,0 cm
Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Legs d'Arthur Stanley Bourinot, Ottawa, 1969

The Mountain

The Mountain, 1933
huile sur toile
111,4 x 68,0 cm
Collection McMichael d'art canadien, Don de Dr. et Mme Max Stern, Galerie Dominion, Montréal

Strait of Juan de Fuca

Strait of Juan de Fuca, v.1936
huile sur papier vélin, monté sur contreplaqué
57,5 x 87,0 cm
Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Legs d'Alfred E.H. Petrie, London, Ontario, 2000

Sky

Sky, 1935-1936
huile sur papier vélin
58,7 x 90,7 cm
Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Acheté en 1937

Le paysage (1933-1939)

Tenant compte du conseil de Lawren Harris de «laisser de côté les motifs indiens pour au moins un an» et de se pencher sur «l'insondable profondeur derrière les apparences», Carr commence à privilégier les forêts, les montagnes et les paysages marins entourant son domicile de Victoria1. Elle n'est plus obligée de parcourir de longues distances pour trouver des scènes à dessiner et, en 1933, elle achète une caravane qu'elle baptise «Elephant» et fait installer à différents endroits en périphérie de la ville.

Je m'étais libérée du contexte indien. C'est Lawren Harris qui m'avait d'abord suggéré de le faire.

La forêt m'intéressait maintenant plus que les villages. J'y trouvais quelque chose qui, assez étrangement, m'appartenait. Quand je travaillais sur mes sujets indiens, je sentais un peu que je ne faisais que copier l'idiome indien au lieu d'exprimer mes propres découvertes.

Les maux de la croissance, trad. Michelle Tisseyre, p. 276.

Même si Carr avait cessé d'utiliser le feuillage comme arrière-plan décoratif dans ses dernières peintures totémiques, on ne retrouve pas non plus dans ses nouveaux paysages la manière volumétrique rigide des œuvres antérieures. Dès ses premières huiles sur papier, son travail s'écarte de l'influence de Lawren Harris et Mark Tobey et de leur formalisme géométrique. Elle commence à créer son propre langage pour représenter les paysages de l'Ouest et élargit l'éventail de ses sujets, ajoutant aux denses forêts la jungle, la plage, l'océan et le ciel.

La technique artistique de Carr se transforme. Les touches empâtées et sculpturales font place à des touches légères et tournoyantes qui rappellent parfois les œuvres de Van Gogh, des expressionnistes allemands et d'Edvard Munch. Son approche est picturale et sa touche redevient un élément visible et important de la composition. La palette est plus pâle et moins monochrome et elle expérimente avec des bleus éclatants, comme dans Blue Sky (1936) et Odds and Ends (1939), et des tonalités violettes, avec Above the Gravel Pit (1937), par exemple.

Sa maîtrise du mouvement et sa spontanéité doivent beaucoup au choix de l'huile sur papier, un moyen d'expression économique et transportable. Elle applique avec fluidité les huiles diluées, confiant aux traits de pinceaux la fonction expressive. Le caractère translucide de l'huile facilite le rendu de l'air et de la lumière dans son travail. Ses croquis à l'huile sur papier sont beaucoup plus nombreux que ses tableaux de cette période, mais l'intention, le climat et la composition des peintures figurent déjà dans les esquisses dont elle s'inspire.

Le croquis préparatoire à Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky (1935), par exemple, s'apparente étroitement au tableau final. Le feuillage du croquis est moins défini que celui de la toile, mais le rythme, le climat et la lumière sont en phase. Sur le croquis comme sur la toile, l'arbre grêle se marie au ciel, et le traitement de la lumière par Carr crée une impression d'extase et de transcendance. Plusieurs de ses créations à l'huile réussissent à conserver le rythme et la spontanéité des croquis à l'huile sur papier. Dans des toiles comme Swirl (1937) et Reforestation (1936), le spectateur peut presque ressentir l'ondulation du vent qui fait de la forêt un océan de verdure ondoyante.

La lumière devient centrale dans les tableaux de Carr, symbole de spiritualité et de possibilités infinies. L'aspect terrifiant et antagoniste de la forêt, si présent dans la période académique, disparaît de son œuvre de cette époque. La lumière émane maintenant des formes de la nature, engendrant un climat de joie et de jubilation. Dans des œuvres comme Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky et Above the Gravel Pit, Carr situe l'énergie spirituelle au cœur de la nature. Même lorsqu'elle dépeint des arbres pillés et dévastés, comme dans Stumps and Sky (v.1934), Forest Clearing (1939) et Trees in the Sky (v.1939), le climat n'est pas désespéré mais porteur de renouveau, de régénération. Les spirales tourbillonnantes qui composent le ciel de Stumps and Sky témoignent d'une présence spirituelle, et les grands pins émaciés de Trees in the Sky illustrent le cycle de la nature et la renaissance de la forêt secondaire.

Dieu habite tout cela. Je sais aujourd'hui que c'est tout ce qui compte. La seule chose qui en vaille la peine, c'est d'exprimer Dieu. Chaque être vivant est une manifestation de Dieu. Tout art véritable participe à la quête éternelle pour exprimer Dieu, substance unique à l'origine de toutes choses. La recherche de la réalité de chaque objet, c'est-à-dire, de sa véritable et unique beauté: reconnaître notre relation avec toute vie; appeler chaque chose animée et inanimée «frère»; fusionner à toute chose, trouver partout le divin; lorsque l'on peut faire tout cela, sans doute est-il alors possible de peindre. Entre temps, on doit avancer fermement en gardant l'esprit ouvert, courageusement alerte, toujours à l'affût d'un signe, constamment aux aguets, constamment en prière, toujours prête à agir en médiatrice, le cœur libre de souci.

– «Hundreds and Thousands», The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 675.

La représentation des montagnes a été le grand défi de Carr: ses journaux regorgent de passages relatant son combat pour infuser mouvement et énergie à des formes aussi denses. Elle réussit le mieux lorsqu'elle situe la montagne au loin, comme dans Landscape (v.1935), et moins bien dans des œuvres comme The Mountain (1933) où, malgré la lumière rayonnant du ciel, la présence massive de la montagne domine la toile, privée du rythme caractéristique de la majorité de son œuvre.

Une direction, voilà ce que je recherche, que tout avance ensemble, mouvement relatif, sympathique, accordé, fluide, liquide, mouvement universel, toutes directions confondues dans une seule direction maîtresse, qui guide le regard et le comble. Et contrôler la direction du mouvement afin que toute la structure oscille, vibre et bouge harmonieusement, au lieu de trembler comme un bol de gelée.

– «Hundreds and Thousands», The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 701.

Le travail de Carr progresse vers un rendu de l'infini et le ciel prédomine dans les dernières œuvres exécutées avant sa crise cardiaque de 1937. Dans Strait of Juan de Fuca (v.1936), par exemple, elle parvient à évoquer l'espace infini en utilisant des couleurs et des touches qui estompent toute distinction entre ciel et mer. Sky (1935-1936) produit un effet semblable: tout le mouvement prend naissance dans la lumière brillante qui émerge d'une brèche dans le ciel. Dans Overhead (1936) et Victoria Sight Across the Water (1937), Carr crée une vision de ciel infini vibrant de lumière. Dans ces toiles, l'énergie est bidirectionnelle, émanant autant du paysage que du ciel et circulant librement entre eux.

La quête de spiritualité de Carr trouve enfin la réponse qu'elle cherchait dès 1927, profondément touchée par le travail de Lawren Harris. Ses paysages sur toile et ses croquis à l'huile sur papier miroitent d'énergie spirituelle, indiquant qu'elle a enfin trouvé la transcendance et la paix. Son œuvre lui appartient enfin: elle a découvert son langage propre pour décrire le pouvoir et l'exubérance des paysages de l'Ouest.

Le travail de Lawren m'a influencée. Non que je n'aie jamais aspiré à peindre comme lui mais je sentais qu'il cherchait quelque chose que je voulais aussi. Je pensais souvent, «Comment Lawren exprimerait-il ceci ou cela?» Aujourd'hui, je ne pense plus de cette manière. Je me dis, «Emily, que vas-tu faire de ceci ou cela?» Je n'essaie pas de passer par son regard mais par le mien.

– «Hundreds and Thousands», The Complete Writings of Emily Carr, p. 738.

1 Maria Tippett, Emily Carr: A Biography, Toronto, Stoddart, 1994, p. 167.