Legacy and Influence

Emily Carr died in 1945 with the years of her greatest artistic production long behind her. At the time of her death she was well regarded within the Canadian art community, yet the acclaim she experienced in her lifetime nowhere near compares to the esteem in which she is held today. She is a bona fide tourist attraction for both Vancouver and Victoria, part of the elementary school curriculum, a significant figure in the Canadian art historical canon and the subject of a steady stream of exhibitions. Carr's life and work continue to interest and captivate new generations, and the public seems to have an insatiable desire for all things Carr. Curator John O'Brian refers to this "public deification" as "Carromania" in his introduction to the Mendel Art Gallery catalogue Gasoline, Oil, and Paper.1 Emily Carr has become an integral component of Canadian culture, and study and speculation on her life and career continue.

Recently, Carr has become known to international audiences through exhibitions of her art outside Canada and the translation of her writing into foreign languages. She is included in exhibitions that celebrate and examine the work of early North American modernists, and within Canada she seems to be forever tied to the artistic output and legacy of the Group of Seven. Yet on the west coast, her art production has had a more profound and enduring influence.

Carr introduced modernism to the west coast, and subsequent generations are indebted to her for creating an image of British Columbia tied to the spirituality of its wilderness, one that artists continue to use as a frame of reference. Jack Shadbolt, who knew Carr in the late years of her career, titled his 1971 exhibition at the Bau-xi Gallery Hornby Suite (Homage to Emily Carr), revealing her lingering presence nearly thirty years after her death. The landscape artist David Alexander went so far as to title a piece (painted almost entirely in a Carr-like green hue) Emily, You're Almost Off My Back.2 Her ability to capture the beauty and spirituality of the landscape has solidified her position as a founding figure in Canadian art.

The Vancouver artist and critic Jeff Wall spoke of Carr's legacy in a lecture he delivered at the Witte de With in Rotterdam; he referred to Carr as the "originary figure in modern art" in British Columbia, "representative of traditions in which all of us who work there are in some way or other involved."3 Although more than half a century has passed since her death, any artist who engages with the west coast must contend with her legacy. Her art remains relevant because the changing nature of the landscape continues to occupy the interest of many contemporary west coast artists.

Though her place in the history of modernism and her contribution to landscape art are clear, the legacy of Carr's Aboriginal imagery is more divisive. Her depiction of abandoned and decaying poles and villages increasingly devoid of human life imparted the impression of a dying culture. From today's perspective, this well-intended but naïve approach to documenting the negative impact of colonialism is problematic, playing a part in the "construction of the imaginary Indian," and is subject to the same criticism directed at any of her contemporaries who engaged in cultural appropriation as a component of their art practice.4 Scholars have charged Carr with appropriation because she used Native imagery and motifs although, according to Marcia Crosby, "[she] could [not] have possibly had 'a profound understanding' of the many nations of native people who inhabited the Northwest Coast during her time."5 This complicates Carr's legacy: it suggests that she played a role in disseminating the colonial attitudes with which British Columbia is still contending.

Filmed in the early 1990s, "The Art of Emily Carr" Heritage Minute that airs on Canadian television stations perpetuates this myth, portraying Carr as an artist on a solitary quest to expose hidden and forgotten First Nations carvings. Scholars and educators treated this image rather uncritically until First Nations art historians began to approach the Carr legacy from a different perspective, initiating an intense debate regarding the correct interpretation of her work.6 Though Carr cannot be entirely faulted for adopting the prevalent ideology of her time, this aspect of her legacy should be acknowledged and considered alongside the image of Carr as friend and supporter of First Nations people.

Carr's legacy is also embroiled in gendered interpretations that have created space for her within the feminist art history canon. She is secure in her status as Canada's most famous female artist, and it is a matter of conjecture whether her place in history would have been so firmly fixed had she not been a woman. Her defiance of gender prescriptions at a time when marriage and domesticity were expected has clearly contributed to her enduring significance. The reclamation of Carr by feminist art historians has introduced her work to a new international audience through inclusion in important group shows such as Carr, O'Keeffe, Kahlo: Places of Their Own. Her interest in female mythological figures, nature, spirituality and the sexual imagery that Doris Shadbolt has identified in her late landscape paintings have continued to incite gendered readings of her work.7

By ensuring the publication of most of her writings posthumously, Carr played a significant role in her own mythologization. She contrived Emily Carr the solitary figure who realized her artistic achievements independently while overcoming numerous obstacles, and this is the image that continues to influence interpretations of her life and work.

Although her appropriation of Aboriginal culture, her romantic view of the west coast landscape and her supposed marginalization may be regarded with a critical eye, her place within the modernist movement and her position as a fundamental figure in the development of west coast art remains secure.

1 David Alexander and John O'Brian, Gasoline, Oil, and Paper: The 1930s Oil-on-Paper Paintings of Emily Carr (Saskatoon: Mendel Art Gallery, 1995), p. 7.
2 Alexander and O'Brian, Gasoline, Oil, and Paper, p. 12.
3 Jeff Wall, "Traditions and Counter-Traditions in Vancouver Art: A Deeper Background for Ken Lum's Work," The Lectures (Imshchoot, uitgeveres: Witte de With, 1990), p. 67.
4 Marcia Crosby, "Construction of the Imaginary Indian," Vancouver Anthology: The Institutional Politics of Art, ed. Stan Douglas (Vancouver: Talonbooks, 1991), p. 274.
5 Crosby, "Construction of the Imaginary Indian," p. 278.
6 See Crosby and Gerta Moray, "Wilderness, Modernity and Aboriginality in the Paintings of Emily Carr," Journal of Canadian Studies, Summer 1998, for two different interpretations of Carr's First Nations imagery.
7 Doris Shadbolt refers to the "pervasive sexual energy" in Carr's late landscape works. See Doris Shadbolt, Emily Carr (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 1990), p. 205.

Héritage d'Emily Carr

Lors du décès d'Emily Carr en 1945, ses grandes années de production artistique sont loin derrière elle. Malgré la renommée certaine dont elle jouit en fin de vie aux yeux de la communauté artistique canadienne, sa notoriété reste bien en deçà de l'estime en laquelle on la tient aujourd'hui où elle est devenue une attraction touristique incontournable pour les villes de Vancouver et Victoria et où son nom figure au programme du cours élémentaire et en bonne place dans l'histoire de l'art au Canada. Sa production fait l'objet d'une suite ininterrompue d'expositions puisque la vie et l'œuvre de Carr continuent d'intéresser et de captiver les nouvelles générations, le public semblant insatiable pour tout ce qui porte son nom. Dans son introduction au catalogue Gasoline, Oil, and Paper1 de la Mendel Art Gallery, le conservateur John O'Brian parle de «déification publique» et de «Carromanie». Emily Carr fait aujourd'hui partie intégrante de la culture canadienne et les études et spéculations sur sa carrière et sa vie se poursuivent à ce jour.

Des expositions de ses œuvres à l'étranger et la traduction des ses écrits en différentes langues ont récemment porté l'œuvre de Carr sur la scène internationale. Son travail figure dans les expositions décrivant et célébrant les débuts du modernisme nord-américain et, au Canada, son nom semble à jamais indissociable des réalisations et de l'héritage du Groupe des Sept. Pourtant, sur la côte Ouest, sa production artistique a exercé une influence beaucoup plus profonde et durable.

Carr y a en effet introduit le modernisme, et les générations subséquentes lui doivent la création d'une image de la Colombie-Britannique empreinte de la spiritualité d'une nature indomptée, un cadre de référence qui demeure répandu chez les artistes locaux. Jack Shadbolt, qui a connu Carr vers la fin de sa vie, donne à son exposition de 1971 à la Bau-xi Gallery le titre Hornby Suite (Homage to Emily Carr), attestant de la persistance de son influence trente ans après son décès. L'artiste paysagiste David Alexander a même intitulé un de ses tableaux (presque entièrement peint dans une tonalité de vert proche de celles de Carr) Emily, You're Almost Off My Back2. L'aptitude de celle-ci à capter la beauté et la spiritualité d'un paysage a consolidé sa position comme figure de proue de l'art canadien.

Dans une allocution donnée au centre d'art contemporain Witte de With à Rotterdam, l'artiste et critique vancouvérois Jeff Wall a parlé de l'héritage de Carr, décrivant celle-ci comme la «figure originelle de l'art moderne» en Colombie-Britannique, «représentative de traditions auxquelles participent d'une façon ou d'une autre chacun d'entre nous qui travaillons dans ce milieu»3. Plus d'un demi-siècle après son départ, tout artiste désirant représenter la côte Ouest doit tenir compte de cet héritage. Son art est toujours pertinent, la nature changeante du paysage continuant de fasciner nombre d'artistes contemporains dans cette région du pays.

Si la place de Carr dans l'histoire du modernisme et sa contribution à l'art du paysage sont indéniables, son héritage est plus contesté en ce qui touche l'imagerie autochtone. Sa description de mâts abandonnés et délabrés et de villages de plus en plus dépeuplés communique l'impression d'une culture en voie de disparition. Selon les codes contemporains, cette façon bien intentionnée mais naïve de documenter les incidences négatives du colonialisme est devenue problématique. Elle participe à la «construction de l'Indien imaginaire» et donne lieu aux mêmes critiques que celles adressées à tous ses contemporains ayant posé des gestes d'appropriation culturelle dans le cadre de leur pratique artistique4. Des universitaires ont accusé Carr d'appropriation pour avoir utilisé l'imagerie autochtone même si, selon Marcia Crosby, «[elle ne] pouvait vraisemblablement [pas] avoir eu 'une compréhension approfondie' des nombreuses nations autochtones qui habitaient alors la côte du Nord-Ouest»5. Voilà qui complique l'héritage de Carr en suggérant qu'elle a contribué à disséminer les attitudes coloniales dont la Colombie-Britannique tarde encore à se départir.

Filmé au début des années 1990, la minute Historica «L'art de Emily Carr», diffusé à la télévision canadienne dans la série des Minutes du Patrimoine, perpétue ce mythe en présentant Carr comme une artiste menant une quête solitaire pour révéler les sculptures cachées et oubliées des Premières nations. Les universitaires et les enseignants n'ont d'abord accordé que peu d'attention critique à cette imagerie, jusqu'au jour où des historiens des Premières nations ont commencé à jeter un autre éclairage sur l'héritage de Carr, amorçant un débat intense sur la façon d'interpréter son œuvre.6 Carr n'est certes pas entièrement à blâmer pour avoir adopté l'idéologie courante de son époque, mais cet aspect de son legs doit être reconnu et considéré au même titre que son rôle d'amie et de partisane des Premières nations.

L'héritage de Carr est également associé à des interprétations genrées qui lui ont ménagé un espace dans l'histoire de l'art féministe. Elle est certainement la femme artiste canadienne la plus réputée. Par contre, on peut se demander quelle place lui aurait réservé l'histoire si elle n'avait pas été une femme. À une époque où le mariage et les tâches ménagères allaient de soi, sa méfiance envers le rôle traditionnellement imparti aux femmes a clairement contribué à la pérennité de son empreinte. En faisant valoir l'importance de Carr, les historiennes d'art féministes ont porté son art devant un nouvel auditoire international en incluant son œuvre dans des expositions de groupe comme Carr, O'Keeffe, Kahlo: Places of Their Own. Son intérêt pour les figures mythologiques féminines, la nature et la spiritualité et l'imagerie sexuelle qu'a identifiée Doris Shadbolt dans ses paysages de fin de carrière continue d'inviter à une lecture genrée de son œuvre7.

En s'assurant de la publication posthume de la plupart de ses écrits, Carr a joué un rôle déterminant dans sa propre mythification. Elle a créé une Emily Carr solitaire et indépendante dans sa démarche artistique en dépit d'innombrables obstacles. Cette image continue d'influencer les diverses interprétations de son travail et de sa vie.

Même si son appropriation de la culture autochtone, sa vision romantique des paysages de la côte Ouest et sa présumée marginalisation peuvent prêter à la critique, il reste que sa place dans le mouvement moderniste et sa position de figure de proue du développement artistique de la côte Ouest demeurent à ce jour incontournables.

1 David Alexander and John O'Brian, Gasoline, Oil, and Paper: The 1930s Oil-on-Paper Paintings of Emily Carr, Saskatoon, Mendel Art Gallery, 1995, p. 7.
2 Alexander and O'Brian, Gasoline, Oil, and Paper, p. 12.
3 Jeff Wall, «Traditions and Counter-Traditions in Vancouver Art: A Deeper Background for Ken Lum's Work,» The Lectures, Imshchoot, uitgeveres: Witte de With, 1990, p. 67.
4 Marcia Crosby, «Construction of the Imaginary Indian,» Vancouver Anthology: The Institutional Politics of Art, ed. Stan Douglas, Vancouver: Talonbooks, 1991, p. 274.
5 Crosby, «Construction of the Imaginary Indian,» p. 278.
6 Voir Crosby et Gerta Moray, «Wilderness, Modernity and Aboriginality in the Paintings of Emily Carr », Revue d'études canadiennes, été 1998, pour deux interprétations différentes de l'imagerie autochtone de Carr.
7 Doris Shadbolt parle d'une «énergie sexuelle omniprésente» dans les derniers paysages de Carr. Voir Doris Shadbolt, Emily Carr, p. 205.