Literary Carr

When Emily Carr was occupied as a landlord in Victoria and had minimal time and energy to devote to her painting, she began to imagine translating her childhood memories into short literary sketches. She enrolled in a writing course in 1926 and started to think seriously about becoming a writer. When she returned to painting with renewed intensity and vigour in the late 1920s, she put her writing aside, but in the early 1930s Lawren Harris encouraged her to compile her recollections of her time in First Nations villages and to begin to write her autobiography.1 In 1934 Carr enrolled in a summer course at the Provincial Normal School taught by Bellie de Bertrand Lugrin, a professional writer. Throughout the course, Carr honed her writing style, focusing on animal, First Nations and childhood stories, and one of her works, "The Hully-Up Paper," was voted best in the class.2 She sent her work to the publishers of popular magazines such as Maclean's, Saturday Evening Post and Atlantic Monthly, only to receive a flurry of rejection letters.

Carr continued to draw and paint sporadically throughout the 1930s until a heart attack in 1937 left her bedridden and unable to paint. She began to devote all of her creative energy to writing, and she completed the drafts of most of her works in the years between 1937 and 1941. Carr continued to have difficulty securing publication for her stories, until Ira Dilworth, a CBC executive and teacher who had known Carr since childhood, helped to establish her reputation as a writer. Immediately after he was introduced to her literary works in 1938, he broadcast some of her stories on CBC Radio. He then negotiated with Oxford University Press in Toronto on Carr's behalf and eventually persuaded the press to publish both Klee Wyck and The Book of Small.3

Klee Wyck, first published in 1941, was a huge popular success, partly because Canadians depressed by the war sought refuge in Carr's tales of First Nations communities. The book was a critical success as well: Carr was awarded the Governor General's Literary Award for non-fiction in 1941. The Book of Small, published a year later, solidified her reputation as a successful writer, and she finally won the acclaim that she had hoped to gain with her paintings.

When Carr died in 1945, she left her manuscripts to Dilworth and named him literary executor of her estate. He edited and arranged publication for her remaining texts, including Pause: A Sketchbook, a memoir of the time Carr spent in an English sanatorium; House of All Sorts, recollections of her colourful tenants at Hill House; and Growing Pains, her autobiography.

With the exception of Fresh Seeing, a compilation of her public addresses published in 1972, Carr's writings have remained in print since their original publication. Her stories have been translated into French and Japanese, and new editions of her work with expanded introductory texts by Carr scholars continue to be published. Her books have played an important role in establishing her legacy and continue to influence the ways in which successive new generations appreciate her art and her life.

 

Emily Carr's Published Work

The Book of Small. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1942.

Fresh Seeing: Two Addresses by Emily Carr. Preface by Doris Shadbolt, introduction by Ira Dilworth. Toronto: Clarke, Irwin, 1972.

Growing Pains: The Autobiography of Emily Carr. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1946.

The Heart of a Peacock. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1953.

House of All Sorts. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1953.

Hundreds and Thousands: The Journals of Emily Carr. Toronto: Clarke, Irwin, 1966.

Klee Wyck. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1941.

Pause: A sketchbook. Toronto, Clarke, Irwin, 1953.

1 Paula Blanchard, The Life of Emily Carr (Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 1987), p. 236.
2 Blanchard, Life of Emily Carr, p. 237.
3 Maria Tippett, Emily Carr: A Biography (Toronto: Stoddart, 1994), p. 256.

L'œuvre littéraire de Carr

Prises par ses obligations de propriétaire résidente à Victoria et disposant de très peu de temps et d'énergie à consacrer à sa peinture, Emily Carr commence à penser traduire ses souvenirs d'enfance en courts essais littéraires. Elle s'inscrit à un cours d'écriture en 1926 et envisage sérieusement de devenir écrivaine. Lorsqu'elle recommence à peindre avec une intensité et une vigueur renouvelées, à la fin des années 1920, elle met l'écriture de côté. Mais au début des années 1930, Lawren Harris l'encourage à raconter ses souvenirs des villages des Premières nations et à entamer son autobiographie1. En 1934, Carr s'inscrit à la Provincial Normal School pour un cours d'été dispensé par Bellie de Bertrand Lugrin, une écrivaine professionnelle. Ces cours permettent à Carr de perfectionner son style, en parlant des animaux et des Premières nations dans le contexte de récits pour enfants. Un de ses écrits, «The Hully-Up Paper», est voté meilleur texte de la classe2. Elle envoie son travail à des éditeurs de magazines populaires tels Maclean's, Saturday Evening Post et Atlantic Monthly, mais ne reçoit qu'une volée de lettres de refus.

Carr continue à dessiner et peindre de façon sporadique jusqu'en 1937, année où une crise cardiaque la cloue au lit et l'empêche de continuer. Elle consacre alors toute son énergie créatrice à l'écriture et, entre 1937 et 1941, complète les ébauches de la plupart de ses futurs écrits. Cependant Carr éprouve des difficultés à faire publier ses récits, jusqu'au jour où Ira Dilworth, cadre à la Société Radio-Canada et professeur, qui la connaît depuis son enfance, l'aide à s'imposer comme écrivaine. En 1938, immédiatement après avoir pris connaissance de ses textes, il diffuse des récits de Carr à la radio d'état. Il négocie ensuite au nom de Carr avec l'Oxford University Press de Toronto qu'il persuade en fin de compte de publier Klee Wyck et The Book of Small3.

Klee Wyck, d'abord publié en 1941, connaît un immense succès populaire, en partie parce que la population canadienne, déprimée par la guerre, trouve un réconfort dans les légendes des Premières nations racontées par Carr. Le livre est également encensé par les critiques: en 1941, Carr reçoit le prix littéraire du Gouverneur général dans la catégorie littérature non romanesque. The Book of Small, publié un an plus tard, consolide sa réputation d'écrivaine émérite, et Carr accède finalement à la renommée qu'elle avait espéré atteindre avec ses peintures.

Lors de son décès en 1945, elle lègue ses manuscrits à Dilworth et le nomme exécuteur testamentaire littéraire de sa succession. Il prépare et fait publier ses autres textes, y compris Pause : A Sketchbook, une réminiscence du temps passé dans un sanatorium en Angleterre; House of All Sorts, une collection de souvenirs de ses locataires pittoresques de Hill House; et Growing Pains (Les maux de la croissance), son autobiographie.

À l'exception de Fresh Seeing, une compilation de ses allocutions publiques publiée en 1972, les écrits de Carr sont réimprimés depuis leur publication originale. Ses récits ont été traduits en français et en japonais, et de nouvelles éditions de ses œuvres enrichies de textes d'introduction rédigés par les spécialistes de Carr continuent d'être publiées. Ses livres ont joué un rôle important dans la création de son héritage et continuent d'influencer la façon dont les nouvelles générations appréhendent son art et sa vie.

 

Œuvres publiées d'Emily Carr

The Book of Small. Toronto, Oxford University Press, 1942.

Fresh Seeing, Two Addresses by Emily Carr, préface de Doris Shadbolt, introduction d'Ira Dilworth. Toronto, Clarke, Irwin, 1972.

Growing Pains, The Autobiography of Emily Carr, Toronto, Oxford University Press, 1946.

Les maux de la croissance, autobiographie. St-Laurent, Québec. Traduit par Michelle Tysseyre aux éditions Pierre Tysseyre, 1994.

The Heart of a Peacock, Toronto, Oxford University Press, 1953.

House of All Sorts, Toronto, Oxford University Press, 1953.

Hundreds and Thousands, The Journals of Emily Carr, Toronto, Clarke, Irwin, 1966.

Klee Wyck, Toronto, Oxford University Press, 1941.

Pause: A Sketchbook, Toronto, Clarke, Irwin, 1953.

1 Paula Blanchard, The Life of Emily Carr, Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 1987, p. 236.
2 Blanchard, Life of Emily Carr, p. 237.
3 Maria Tippett, Emily Carr: A Biography, Toronto: Stoddart, 1994, p. 256.