Back to lesson plan

Appendix: The Artist In Her Own Words

Drawing and Insubordination

I wanted to draw a dog. I sat beside Carlow's kennel and stared at him for a long time. Then I took a charred stick from the grate, split open a large brown-paper sack and drew a dog on the sack. My married sister who had taken drawing lessons looked at my dog and said, "Not bad." Father spread the drawing on top of his newspaper, put on his spectacles, looked, said "Um!" Mother said "You are blacked with charred wood, wash!" The paper sack was found years later among Father's papers. He had written on it, "By Emily, aged eight." (pp. 29–30)

The Outdoor Sketch Class

Of all the classes and all the masters the outdoor sketching class and Mr. Latimer were my favourites. Every Wednesday morning those students who wished met the master at the ferry boat. There were students who preferred to remain in Art School and work rather than be exposed to insects, staring eyes, and sun freckles. We sketchers crossed the Bay to some quiet spot and I must say people did stare. Thirty or forty men and women of all ages and descriptions done up in smocks, pinafores and sunbonnets, sitting on campstools before easels down in cow pastures or vacant lots drawing chicken houses, or trees, or a bit of fence and bush, the little Professor hopping from student to student advising and encouraging. (p. 46)

Rejected

My pictures were hung either on the ceiling or on the floor and were jeered at, insulted; members of the "Fine Arts" joked at my work, laughing with reporters. Press notices were humiliating. Nevertheless, I was glad I had been to France. More than ever I was convinced the old way of seeing was inadequate to express this big country of ours, her depth, her height, her unbounded wideness, silences too strong to be broken… (pp. 277–78)

Rejected

"Marius Barbeau, Government Anthropologist, told me about your work," said Mr. Brown (Eric Brown, Director of the National Gallery in Ottawa). "He heard about it from the Coast Indians. We are having an exhibition of West Coast Indian Art in the Gallery this autumn. Will you lend us fifty canvases?" We pay all expenses of transportation. Come over for the show. I can get you a pass on the railway. (pp. 283–84)

Emily Carr, Growing Pains: The Autobiography of Emily Carr. Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 2005.

Retour aux Plans de lešons

Annexe: L’artiste dans ses propres mots

Destin et insubordination

Je voulais dessiner un chien. Je suis restée longtemps assise à côté de son chenil, à contempler Carlow. Puis, prenant un bout de bois brûlé dans le foyer, je déchirai un grand sac de papier brun et y dessinai un chein. Ma sœur mariée, qui avais déjà pris dec leçons de dessin, le regarda et dit «Pas mal.» Père étendit le dessin sur son journal, chaussa ses lunettes, le regarda et dit : «Oui!» Maman dit : «Tu es noire de bois brûlé! Va te laver!» Des années après, on découvrit ce sac parmi les papier de mon père. Dessus, étais ècrit : «Émily, huit ans.» (pp. 29–30)

Croquis en extérieur

De tous les cours et de tous les maîtres, le cours de croquis en extérieur et monsieur Latimer étaient mes préférés. Tous les mercredis, ceux qui le désiraient allaient rencontrer le maître au traversier. Certains étudiants préféraient rester à travailler à l’École plotôt que de s’exposer aux insectes, aux regards curieux et aux taches de rousseur. Nous qui suivions le cours traversions la baie et allions nous installer dans un coin tranquille. Je dois dire que des curieux il y en avait! Trente ou quarante hommes et femmes, de tout âge et de toutes descriptions, attifés de sarrau, de tablier et de capeline, assis sur des pliants devant des chevalets, dans des pâturages ou sur des terrains vagues, dessinant des poulaillers ou des arbes, ou un bout de clôture et un buisson, le petit professeur courant d’un élève à l’autre pour conseiller et encourager, ce n’était pas monnaie courante! (p. 46)

Rejetée

Mes tableaux étaient pendus au plafond ou par terre. On les houspillait ou les couvrait d’insultes. Les membres des Beaux-Arts ridiculisaient mon œvre, et en riaient en compagnie des journalistes. Les articles de presse étaient humiliants. Je me félicitais néanmoins d’être allée en France. J’étais, en effet, plus que jamais convaincue que l’ancienne façon de voir ne pouvait exprimer efficacement cet immense pays qu’est le nôtre, sa profondeur, sa stature, sa largeur illimitées, et son silence trop fort pour être rompu. (pp. 277–78)

Rejetée

«Marius Barbeau, l’anthropologue du gouvernement, m’a parlé de votre œuvre,» me dit M. Brown (Eric Brown, Directeur du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada). «Il en avait entendu parler par les Indiens de la côte Ouest. Nous organisons pour cet automne, au Musée, une exposition sur l’art indien de la côte Ouest. Nous prêteriez-vous cinquante tableaux? Nous assumerons tous les frais de transport. Venez à l’exposition. Je peux vous avoir une passe de chemin de fer.» (pp. 283–84)

Emily Carr, Les maux de la croissance: autobiographie. Trad.: Michelle Tisseyre. Montréal, Éditions Pierre Tisseyre, 1994.